BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures garage and entry doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clopay Building Products Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Clopay Building Products Company, Inc. include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Clopay Building Products Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Clopay Building Products Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated: 12/28/1992 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Lynch, President Mrs. Pat Lohse, VP Residential Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Lynch, President
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Doors OVERHEAD GARAGE DOORS

Additional Information

Clopay Building Products Company Inc. operates 51 distribution centers and 2 manufacturing plants.  The corporate office is located in Mason, OH.  Other BBB business reviews may be available on other locations.

Clopay Building Products Company Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Griffon Corp based in New York.


Additional Locations

  • 8585 Duke Blvd

    Mason, OH 45040 (800) 225-6729 (513) 770-4800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8260 Patuxent Range Rd Ste J

    Jessup, MD 20794

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7460 Pacific Cir

    Mississauga, ON L5T 2A3

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 West Market Street

    Troy, OH 45373

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1630 Satellite Blvd Ste 500

    Duluth, GA 30097

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    183 Business Center Drive

    Birmingham, AL 35244

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 Creek Ridge RdSte A

    Greensboro, NC 27406

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10047 Virginia Ave Ste 0Ste A

    Chicago Ridge, IL 60415

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2360 Pilot Knob Rd

    Mendota Hts, MN 55120

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10789 Satellite Blvd

    Orlando, FL 32837

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13830 Parks Steed Dr

    Earth City, MO 63045

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1025 Avenue SSte 200

    Grand Prairie, TX 75050

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4801 Moline St

    Denver, CO 80239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6818 Patterson Pass RdSte E

    Livermore, CA 94550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1070 S 3800 W Unit 100

    Salt Lake Cty, UT 84104

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3118 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 225-6729(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty claim for peeling paint with two Avante Clopay doors purchased in 2010. The claim was denied allegedly because they think someone had painted the doors. The doors have never been painted since installation. The claim was just denied with no option given how to get to the bottom of how this door may have been repainted, if in fact that is the reason for the peeling.

Desired Settlement: Repair the doors as they were purchased new. If someone painted them, it happened before installation and as such the consumer should not bear responsibility for actions that may have occurred before delivery.

Business Response:

Good morning ***.

I apologize for the issues that you are experiencing with your Clopay Avante Doors.  We would like to further the investigation as this is the first that we have seen an anodized section peel.  In discussing with our Supplier, they have confirmed that Black Anodized surfaces cannot "peel" but obviously in the photos that you have supplied it appears to be the case.  To further the investigation, to understand the cause, we would like to have the "flakes"  analyzed.  If you could supply us a sample of the flaking that would be at least a 1"x 1" size to the following address:

Clopay Building Products

**** **** ****** ******

***** ** *****

Attn: ****** *****

Once we receive this sample we will send to our Supplier to analyze.  We do stand behind the quality of our product therfore if investigation reveals a Supplier finishing defect, Clopay will take action of replacing. 

Thank you.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I can't get a paint sample of at least 1 inch as those were removed when the Clopay representative came to see the door. I can get very small chips off the door and can mail those if useful, however they are very thin and smaller than 1/4 of an inch.

Regards,

*** **********




Business Response:

Good afternoon ****

After further discussion we would like to extend an offer to replace the current sections that you have experienced peeling of the paint.  From what I can see this would be the bottom section of the 16' wide and two intermediate sections for the 8' wide door.  You will be receiving a call from a Customer Service agent on Friday April 11th to follow up with you to ensure that we are replacing the correct sections.

Thank you.

****** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** **********




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Garage door bent in middle called clopay explained problems to them. They started a claim at the beginning of August at that point I filled out their paperwork and never herd from them after that . Called again this month Feb they had me redo paperwork and send pictures they sent installation instructions and said I installed the door opener wrong . When I complained that the installation instructions we're not the ones that came with the door they said they were the only instructions that came with door and recent but the 2nd set was different and matched my installation. At that point they came up with a different reason. after disproving that they won't call me back

Desired Settlement: Replace broken parts

Business Response:

*******

First I would like to apologize to you for your experience as we take our warranty claims very serious to ensure that our customers are satisfied.  As we have reviewed the photos we are going to replace the top section due to the section buckling.  You will be receiving a call from our representative today to talk with you in regards to your case.

 

Thank you.

******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Clopay on four different occassions to order parts for my 7 x 9 insulated garage door and when I called they informed me that the parts had been on back order yet no one called to let me know. When I received the parts I had gotten parts that I didn't order and didn't receive the parts that I needed, when I called to order that part I kept getting transfered to another person saying that they have nothing to do with it, and one representive gave me a number to call to order that part and when I called that person she informed me that she can not send parts out to me unless I was a contractor. I called the 800 number back and got the same gentleman that I origanlly talked to and he told me at that point that he would send them out sat the 1st of feb and I still have not received the part. The part is a bracket that holds the EZ set torsion winding unit, I am suppose to have two of them.

Desired Settlement: I want Clopay to over nite the parts at their cost.

Business Response:

Mr. Berg,

First I would like to start off with apologizing as this is not acceptable Customer Service from Clopay.  As a company we will be looking at this case to see what areas we went wrong and to make sure this does not happen going forward.  After investigating I see that we sent out a a kit on 1/30/14 with a *** tracking # ****************** that delivered on 2/3/14.  In looking at the kit that was provided I noticed it did not come with the mounting brackets of which we are sending out today ****  I have also asked one of our agents to follow up with you to ensure that you have all the parts necessary. 

 

Again, I do apologize and if you have any concerns please contact us.

Thank you.

******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new overhead garage door from this company and had it professionaly installed. The door is a little over three years old and it is rusting already. I contacted the company about the issue. They made many excusses that were not possible due to the garages loaction such as salt. They also stated that is is noramal to have to wax the garage door multiple times per year and paint it evey few years. This door is in a detached garage in the back yard surounded by grass. My garage doors in my attached garage are roughly 10 years old and do get light salt on them and they have no rusting. This company stated their warranty only covers rust threw not surface rust. They also went on to say that the home owner should notice surface rust and repaint the garage door. They stated that if the surface rust causes rust threw it isn't covered either. Bascically they are saying they will not stand behind their product at all!! Product_Or_Service: Overhead garage door for my home Order_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the garage door repainted and reinstalled at no cost to me or A new replacement door be delivered at no cost to me.

Business Response:

The paint warranty for ***** ***r warrants the  sections of a model ***** to 10 years against rust through due to the paint finish cracking, checking, or peeling (losing adhesion) for 10 years from the date of delivery to the original purchaser. 
Clopay has investigated this case and take our customers concerns very seriously.  In regards to this case our warranty stated above covers rust through and reviewing the pictures this door is not covered under our warranty as this is not a rust through and not a result of the failure of the paint system on this steel door.  
With this being a surface rust, we only suggest that outside elements such as chemicals from a spray or something like this that could be eating away at the paint of the steel door.  Again, these are only suggestions that possibly could have caused this but due to this not being rust through it is not covered under our warranty. 

Thanks.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This company has made no attempt to resolve the issue. Each time they come up with a new excuse why they should not cover their defect. Each time the excuse is not true or doesn't apply they come up with a new excuse. They basically said that even thou they have a warranty that is doesn't cover the things is says it does.

 
Regards,
**** ****** *****




Business Response:

In regards to your complaint on your model ***** that you have purchased from ***** ***r I have attached a copy of the warranty that we supply with this model.  The model ***** has a Limited Lifetime warranty on the paint system.  ***** **** warrants the sections of the model ***** against rust-through due to the paint finish cracking, checking, or peeling (lose adhesion).  In reviewing the photos that you have provided it appears that this would be surface rust and not rust-through of which would not follow under our warranty. 

We are more than happy to provide you a paint allowance of up to $100 of which we can provide a ******* gift card or a check if you so choose. 

Thank you

******** *****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  This response is just the company dodging the responcibility. All rust threw must first start as surface rust. The company should stand behind their product. I am not a painter or a garage door installer/ remover. I purchased a painted garage door and that is what I want is a proper garage door with proper paint ahearsion. A can of paint and a rusted garage door do no equal a properly painted door. Like I stated in the complaint both of the ten year old garage doors in the attached garage that do receive t other negative factors  such as salt contact show any of this type of results. Why would a three year old product of this companies that is installed in a detached garage with no salt contact show these defects. Do you know any one why waxes or repaints their garage door every few years. I do wet the door with tap water and lightly scrub the door with a soft brisseled broom a few times a year. Most people dont even do this. I expect the door to be replaced or repaired to the original specs at no cost to me.


Regards,
**** ****** *****


Business Response:

In regards to your complaint we still hold position that this is surface rust and is not covered under our warranty, however we would like for you to be satisfied as we typically do not have these types of issues.  We would like to offer to you to replace all sections for your door that have been affected. 

We will have a Customer Service Representative call you on Monday to follow up with you on your order.

Thank you.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 

I plan to except the solution once product change out is complete. I was told this will be four weeks or more by the rep when they called. I do not feel comfortable closing this complaint until the job is done.
Regards,

**** ****** *****




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase two garage doors from *******, built by Ideal Door (or Clopay). I finished the doors, and sealed them in a heated garage, as per their instructions. I have contacted Clopay many times because the door panels warped and "sunk-in" as the wood doors were hollow and have, in spots, completely pulled out of the main frame. I have sent pictures to them, and have also had two contractors look at them, both agree that the damage to the doors are due to the poor craftmanship. One of the contractors even called Clopay himself, hoping they would listen to him, being a contractor. These doors had been re-stained and sealed year after year. Clopay uses the excuse that they were not sealed properly, but they were time and again.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace the doors, or fix the doors. The top section with the windows is fine, but the bottom two sections have warped out of their original position. I am curious to know if they build this door the same, or if they have made modifications so this does not happen anymore.

Business Response:

The Clopay warranty on a wood door is as follows: The warranty on a Clopay wood door is for one year from the date of installation.  This is for both sections and section components.  The door in question is over 9 years old and therefore does not fall under our warranty guidelines.  Attached is the Ideal Door Limited Warranty information page in the installation manual that states whtat the warranty is and what the warranty covers.

****** ******

Supervisor

Customer Service

Clopay Building Products

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
***** *******


I know the doors are 9 years old now, but I have been going back and forth with *******, and Clopay for many, many years. This is the fourth time I have contacted Clopay with the defective doors. When I contacted ******* with regards the doors, they were still under warranty, ******* directed me to Clopay. Clopay did not send anyone out to look at the doors, and after several complaints I finally sent pictures from each door. The doors began to warp or sink inward and pull out of the main rails within a year of installation, this is NOT because of improper sealing and staining which I myself did according to the instructions. I do have a Case#*******, so you know this is been an ongoing complaint. I have been round and round with Clopay, and I will not just let them tell me its my fault, when I have two different contractors to back me up. This is a defective product. 

Thank you
***** *******
 
Again, its not the entire door, its the bottom two panels. I would be happy with them replacing or repairing the bad sections....not too much to ask on a $1500.00 dollar door.


Consumer Response: BBB,

I don't have the exact date that I contacted clopay about the doors beginning to warp and pull out of the frames. I first contacted ******* in **** ***** ** (where the doors were purchased) I believe in 2004, when I first started to notice warping. This started while the doors were under warranty. I believe I first contacted clopay (who ******* directed me to) in 2005 or 2006, the doors were clearly damaged at this point. After that I have been contacting clopay numerous times, and the last time I contacted them was in 2012, I did email you that documentation with pictures. I also have two contractors, who will also testify that the doors were not constructed properly.
Thank you
 
***** ******* 
If you need anything further please let me know.

Business Response:

We, at Clopay, stand behind the products that we sell and the warranties that come with said products.  This wood door comes with a 1 year warranty.  If the product was purchased in October of 2003, Clopay should have been contacted by  October 2004.  We are sorry to here that you have been having a problem with your wood garage door.  Please understand that when you contacted us in late 2012, it was stated that there is only a 1 year warranty on our semi-custom wood doors which is the type of door that you purchased.

*** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
***** ******* 

 
The doors began to warp, etc. before the year warranty was up. I contacted ******* first, then they directed me to Clopay. Clopay knows that I have contacted them MANY times regarding this, 2012 was the LAST time I contacted them. They are not standing behind their doors or they would at least repair them. Again, the doors began to warp while under warranty, and they should do something to compensate.
 
*****  




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our vinyl garage door has alot of black areas. I contacted the company. After emailing them numerous pictures, I was told that "...you can see the primer under the topcoat which would suggest that the topcoat only is being attacked." THey told me that due to the age of the door, we owned the house eight years, that the warranty on the paint system is only good for rust. Well eventually it is going to rust. Their solution was to touch up the door with their painting/maintenance instructions. We purchased a vinyl door, not wood. If we wanted to paint a door we would have purchased wood. My concern is that more of the topcoat is going to be attacked. This is not the way you stand behind your product.

Desired Settlement: We would like the door REPLACED. If the door is being "ATTACKED" that is not comforting. Telling me to paint it is not an option.

Business Response:

******
We received this complaint and has been assigned Case # ********  After review by our quality department, the cause of damage is not covered by our warranty.  Our warranty does not cover damage caused by environmental exposure. 
We apologize for any inconvenience.  If the customer would like to replace the affected section(s), they can visit our website atwww.clopaydoor.com to locate a dealer in their area.  The information needed to replace the section(s) is serial #, model, size and color.
 
Sincerely,
 
 


 
 
*** ****** ****** ******** ******** ********** *** ************* **** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

I was told in an email from ****** ***** that according to the pictures I emailed them, "you can see the primer under the topcoat which would suggest that the topcoat only is being attacked."

Attacked by what?  Their response said that this was environmental exposure. I live in Florida, there was no hail or snow here.  Just sun and rain.  Its not like the door was only damaged in one section, its all over. 

I DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR RESPONSE.  What a way to treat a consumer.  Their product didnt hold up and now I have to suffer for it.  There was no resolution.  Their solution to me was to paint it.  Are you kidding me.  Its vinyl, not wood.  

If you want a copy of the email from the company stating that it was attacked, I will email it to you. 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response:

The paint warranty for the Ideal Door warrants the sections of 6RST to 10 years against rust through due to the paint finish cracking, checking, or peeling (losing adhesion) for 10 years from the date of delivery to the original purchaser.

Clopay has investigated this case and take all customer concerns very seriously.  In regards to this case, our warranty stated above covers rust through and after reviewing the pictures, the issue with this door is not as a result of rust through.  To clarify our prior emails in regards to this door, we as a company only suggest of the potential elements that could have caused this.  So when we referred to the door being "under attack", we are only suggesting that outside elements, such as chemicals  from a spray, could be the reason for the spots on the door.  Again, this is only a suggestion for the cause but since this is not a rust through, this is not covered under warranty.

Thank you,

****** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******



The response is not acceptable.  There is no way that the garage door should not be covered.  I submitted numerous pictures to the company.  The only way to have it confirmed to me that it is not covered is to have their representative in the area come and make an appointment to look at the door.  ***** ******

Business Response:

I have reached out to my representative in the state of Florida.  He is my only rep for the entire state.  I gave the rep Mrs. Auteri's contact info, however I can not give a time table for a call or a visit as this rep has the entire state as their territory.

*** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9658873, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Linda Auteri



UPDATE;  They sent a Rep to my house today.  First it was he hadnt seen what happened to the door.  Then it was that I had the driveway sprayed and it splashed up on the door. (Didnt happen)  Then it was there was a palm tree next to the driveway and maybe that caused it because they looked at the neighbors house next to me and there was the same kind of pitting that was happening and they had a palm tree in front of their house (NOT NEXT TO THE DOOR). 


This was a complete waste of my time.  They had no intention of doing anything.  WILL NEVER DEAL WITH ONE OF THEIR PRODUCTS AGAIN.    MATTER NOT RESOLVED.

***** ******


Business Response:

I apologize that you do not agree with Clopay's final decision in this matter.  Based on all the information we obtained (pictures, inspection by the installer and Clopay field rep), this claim is denied based on Clopay's belief that this is not a warranty issue.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: IDEAL Garage Door (Clopay) case # **************** we took posessioin of our IDEAL Garage Door, purchased at ********. It is a 5 star Premium quality door.This past December (14 mo later)I noticed a small dent like mark in the bottom panel door. Over the following weeks (to present) the small dent has turned into sever fold/buckle,pucker,etc. Creases by each corner of each window. Causing problems with the door raising and lowering. On Feb 4 I sent pictures and an e-mail to IDEAL Warranty explaining the problem. On Feb 5 I received an e-mail back saying that the structure damage was caused by "being exposed to high wind gust recorded in your area". Which is not true. The windcode for their doors (from their website) 'nominal wind speed is 85mph+.' This morning Feb 12, I recieved a phone call and spoke with a supervisor re the damage, and she stated that the warranty only covers paint and since it was wind damage, they will not give me any assistance. That if any panel receives any damage it is to be replaced immediately to prevent other damages. Now, I never heard anything like that before, I have seen many garage doors with dents, bangs and such and they worked fine for many many years. If I don't replace these panels soon, I am afraid I will not get the garage door open to remove car.

Desired Settlement: Refund the purchase price of the replacement panels I have already ordered. Purchase order (from ********* **** ********

Business Response:

I apologize you do not agree with our handling of your warranty.

During our telephone conversation the customer explained the door received a dent/damage resulting from an unknown external force.  Our warranty does not cover accidental damage nor "Acts of God".  Continue use after the door receives a dent/damage from an external force can lead to more extensive damage.  It depends on the location and stress area of the damage.  This type of damage is outside of our control.  If damage is repaired or replaced it will eliminate further damage as shown in the photos received.  Our limited lifetime warranty is in relation to rust through.  However, if at any time it is determined damage is caused by a product defect we will stand behind our product.  If the origination of the damage in this case is due to accidental damage or an "Act of God" this is not covered by our warranty.

If you wish to replace the product, please contact a dealer or  retailers of your choice.  You can visit our website at www.clopaydoor.com for where to buy information.

Sincerely,

**** ******************** ******** **********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

Clopay is saying the damage was initially caused by Act of God or unknown external force. Which I disagree with. I had the County Building Inspector, a Building Contractor and the Insurance Agent look at the door. They all agree it was NOT damaged by Act of God, ie wind damage or external force or my any thing I may have done. The Building Inspector and Contractor feel, in their expert opinion that it is poor quality workmanship in the door. We have not had any weather to cause that type of damage and the installation was done properly.  The 2 inch dent noticed in mid-December would of given no indiction that it would result in such horrenous damage affecting 3 panels.

Clopay may stand behind their warranty (a warranty that covers against Rust as long as the paint is not cut, knicked, scratched, dented or damanged in any way) but do not stand behind the quality of their product.

Business Response:

I apologize you are not in agreement with our determination concerning damage to your garage door.  As a manufacturer we are unable to control exposures, use and proper maintenance of our doors. This is why damage caused by "Acts of God", environmental exposures or  accidental damage is not covered by our warranty.  We did have this confirmed by two installation companies for which is an expense we did cover.  If you would like us to speak directly with the building inspector or contractor you have mentioned, please give us a call directly.

Sincerely,

**** ******************** ******** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Clopay Garage Door on 5/25/2005, when we built our home. (Clopay sub contracts for **** ***** ** *********** *J) Ever since we had it installed, we've had problems. Every maintance man that comes out & sees this garage door, states it was installed with the improper overhead track. But yet no one has yet to fix it. It is a very large 16'x6'6", Coachman Series garage door Model C21. The track that is pulling the door is too small & buckling in, causing even a crack in the middle of the door. (I have pictures for proof of this) All of the parts were 'undersized' /improper parts for this size door. ******* ****** **** *** had to come back & even install a larger motor, because the motor they originally put in would not pull the door properly. It was too small for the door. But they never replaced the bar, & the strap hinge is coming off now, because it is buckling in. I have had several communications with *** ******* ***** from Clopay, & today she stated that she cannot help me in any way. I also spoke with **** **** **** ***** & he had quite an attitude with me. He will not take responsibility for the improper installation of his door. I have original receipts of purchase, pictures, emails, dates of phone calls & letter from Clopay, stating they, too, will not help me in any way. All I want is for the correct bar to be installed. I have 4 children and my worst fear is that the door hinge will break & fall on one of my children. I told that to *** today & he said "you don't need a garage door opener to open it. You can pull it with cord & open it manually." He had no concern for the possible Hazard this could have on my family. Neither did Clopay. We paid $3,000.00 for this door, and no one will take responsibility for its 'improper installation.' We have had problems since day one. Every maintance man that comes out says "I've never seen anything like this!" Can you please help me?

Desired Settlement: Replace garage door (which is cracked down middle) and also the bar/pulley with strap hinge. (I don't know technical names of the parts of this door)

Business Response: According to the information on file, this is case *********  The findings received and noted are the door was not maintained annually per our specs.  However, I will review all photographs and quality reports to see if there is any relation to product defects for a final determination.  I am out of the office until Monday, but will review immediately upon my return.  I can be reached directly beginning Monday at ###-###-####, option *, ext **** ** discuss.

Sincerely,,

**** ***********/Consumer Services Supervisor

Business Response:

Good afternoon ******
 
Please disregard my earlier voicemail.  In speaking with our engineering department, I am going to order an inspection report from another installer as a second opinion.  As it currently stands your garage door damage is not due to a product defect.  Our warranty has a 5-year hardware warranty and a limited lifetime warranty for rust through. 
 
You will hear from one of our installers to schedule an inspection.  Once I receive this information I will review and advise our final decision.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** ***********

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this is a start, but is not a resoulution. I would like to leave this case open until the second inspection is completed.  Thank you! 

Regards,

******** *********

 

Consumer Response: Per phone call:  Customer has not has an inspection set up yet.

Business Response:

H* *********

I apologize for the inconvenience.  We have followed up with the installer that advised he has left messages for a returned call to set up a service.  You have stated you did not receive any messages.  My office has contacted the installer direct and provided them with the phone number to reach you and states he is contacting you now.  Please call my office direct at  ###-###-#### if you do not hear from him today and ask for *****  She is handling your case processing.  As explained, due to the age of the door we need a second inspection for proper evaluation.

Sincerely,

**** ***********/Consumer Services Supervisor

Business Response:

Hi Jennifer,
 
I have received the second inspection report from the installer. In the expert opinion of the two independent garage door installers, the damage is not a product defect.  It would have been prevented with proper maintenance per our installation manual.
 
If you wish to replace the product, please contact the original place of purchase to order and obtain pricing.
 
Please give me a call if you wish to discuss.  I will be out of the office until Tuesday, February 12th.  If you need immediate assistance please call ###-###-#### and ask for Barb.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** ***********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

We had 2 inspectors here and both could NOT explain our garage door.  They did NOT tell me it was from 'improper maintainace!"  And I did not recieve any calls or messages from the  second inspector, as Clopay states that they called & left messages.  That is not true.  I checked both home phone answering machine & cell phone & did not have one message from them.  I am not blaming Clopay for my damaged garage door, I'm just looking for an explanation for why a garage door of this astromical cost does not last 7 yrs?!  They should stand behind their product.  I don't appreciate them trying to make me look like I'm avoiding phone calls and not taking care of garage door, when in fact we have!  A garage door should not have metal that becomes warped and twisted and bent!  This is outrageous.  If they cannot make good for 2 parts, that the installer said would only cost a little over a hundred dollars, then they should not remain in business, in my opinion.  Buyer Beware!

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ideal / Clopay Roll-Up Door I purchased an Ideal/Clopay Roll-Up door from ******** and installed it 10-12 years ago. During the Summer of 2012, the torsion bar holding the door, sheared in two (2), right at the point it contacts the (left-side) support-bracket. The door as designed had metal on metal contact, and it essentially cut right through the torsion bar, akin to what occurs with a can-opener/tubing-cutter. When I contacted Ideal / Clopay, they'd stated my door was outside of its five (5) year Warranty (convenient, as most people don't stay in their homes for more than five (5) years before moving/selling). I explained the shed door had been subjected to fewer than two-thousand (2,000) cycles (up/down) given a worst-case use scenerio (3x a week for 12 years = 1872). As we don't use the shed in Winter, our Winter lasts five (5) months of the year in *********, so I'm sure the number of cycles the door experienced was closer to (1,400). The fact I couldn't even purchase replacement parts, resulted in my stating that I wanted to file this issue as a complaint. Their response... nothing, they didn't even respond. Thinking I might be able to repair it myself, a friend and I took it down and inspected it. Now I know why they only warrantied it for five (5) years, as this things was a jury-rigged piece of junk! Everything was welded together, and you couldn't just replace the bar, you'd be required to purchase new drum supports and collar-guides too. You'd have thought in this day and age, that a company would have installed some bearings or other components to reduce friction (metal/metal), but not Ideal / Clopay. I suspect Ideal / Clopay assumes they'll obtain new-business when their doors fail, as the consumer is forced to purchase another door, as theirs can't be repaired! All I can say is we're furtunate no-one was hurt when the bar was cut-in-two, whereby I could foresee the roll-up door easily crushing someone. On further inspection, I noted it was only a matter of time before the right-side of the bar sheared too, as it had worn extremely thin too.

Desired Settlement: I would have appreciated some corespondance beyond stating that my door was out of warranty, and a free-replacement, or at least a discount. There was nothing I could have done to have caused this problem, it had to do with their poor design! The fact they wouldn't even comment on my complaint, made it all the worse!

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for your feedback.  In order for us to properly evaluate your concerns, we need to obtain some additional information.  Do you have a copy of your receipt for proper documentation?  Even though the warranty has expired we will evaluate your concerns more closely.  You will be receiving an email from our Guest Warranty department requesting this information.  In the meantime, if you would like to call into the department directly please call ###-###-#### and select the guest warranty option.  Anyone that answers your call can properly assist you.  Please refer to case *********

Sincerely,

**** ************Consumer Services Supervisor

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** ********

I appreciate the offer, but had the door been designed properly, I wouldn’t have to replace it…  My initial cost was $207, the replacement cost is $240.68, for a total cost of $447.68.

Please note, the costs denoted do not include the initial installation cost, or the cost to remove, pick-up, deliver and re-install the new door.

Hence, an offer of $52 is 11.6% of my total cost, which hardly compensates me for my loss, effort and frustration in dealing with this matter.

Our home is nineteen (19) years old, and we still have both of our garage doors, neither of which have failed, and these doors are used a minimum of 4 times daily (wife/I traveling to/from work), for 365 days of the year, for 19-years ( = 27,740 cycles), hence the reliability of our shed Roll-Up Door is quite miserable in comparison...

So I need to ask, do you feel $52 is adequate for the trouble this “Ideal” door has caused?

Regards,

****** ** ***** **** ****** **** ****** ********* ** ***** *************

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologize you are not in agreement with our offer as guest satisfaction concerning your garage door complaint.  Our roll up doors are not designed or used for the same purpose as our sectional doors.  That would explain the initial cost difference between both doors including the warranty information.  We have received  a copy of your receipt which indicates the roll up door was purchased in 1998.  This is well past our warranty period.  As a manufacturer we do not have control over any type of exposures, usage or maintenance of our products.  Annual inspections or maintenance is very important in making any adjustments or repairs needed to prevent damage as you have experienced.

There are many options available in regards to the roll up doors depending on the exposure and intended use for each guest.  If you would like to discuss you can visit a local retailer or contact a local dealer of your choice.

Sincerely,

**** ******************** ******** **********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After having notified Ideal / Clopay doors that I wasn't satisfied with their offer of crediting me $52.00, their response was the quality of the door wasn't suppose to match the other garage doors available, whereby the problems encountered where due to exposure, use, or lack of maintenance on my behalf.

First; it's obvious this person knows very little regarding the product they manufactured, while ******* currently sells traditional garage doors similar in size (Desert Tan Finish Steel 9'0" Width x 7'0" Height Sku: ******* Model: 3-Star_M5ST_9X7_DTan $253.00) for a fraction more than I paid for this door in 1998.  Their current selling price (2/4/2013) doesn't reflect the inflation that's occurred during the past fourteen (14) years, as this door was quite expensive when purchased, while traditional garage doors of similar size sold for considerably less.

Secondly; there are (NO) parts on this door that required maintenance that could have prevented this problem (i.e., NO BEARING, NO GREASE-FITTINGS, NO-ADJUSTMENTS), hence the ignorance of this statement is appalling, and the fact Ideal / Clopay is insinuating my installation or lack of maintenance caused this problem is insulting!

Their design caused this problem, where metal-on-metal contact cut through the torsion-bar, and there was nothing a consumer could have done to have prevented it!

The facts: 1) These doors were designed so poorly that they would fail within 1000-2000 cycles, 2) They never replied to my initial-complaint until I involved the BBB, 3) They ignored the safety-concerns these doors posed, whereby their failure could potentially crush someone, was never even addressed...

In my opinion, these doors should have been RECALLED for GROSS SAFETY/NEGLIGENCE!

Ideal / Clopay's claim that they should be protected against a consumer's complaint due to their stated warranty-period/price-point is ridiculous! 

If Ideal / Clopay wanted to satisfy their customer-base, they should try being more apologetic for the problems they themselves caused, and not blame the customer for their own mistakes.

The fact Ideal / Clopy has up-graded these doors as alluded to below, serves to illustrate the poor-performance of these initial doors, and the danger they posed to the consumers using them!

As I had ordered a replacement door from ******* prior to lodging this complaint, I would have gladly accepted an offer to have purchased it at their manufacturing cost, or slightly more to off-set their shipping, but to have them offer me a credit of eleven-percent (11%) of my total cost as stated below, was less than "IDEAL".

The fact they never even offered to counter their initial offer, stands in-mute-testament to their poor customer service/attitude!


****** ** ***** **** ****** **** ****** ********* ** *****

*************



**** *******,

I appreciate the offer, but had the door been designed properly, I wouldn’t have to replace it…  My initial cost was $207, the replacement cost is $240.68, for a total cost of $447.68.

Please note, the costs denoted do not include the initial installation cost, or the cost to remove, pick-up, deliver and re-install the new door.

Hence, an offer of $52 is 11.6% of my total cost, which hardly compensates me for my loss, effort and frustration in dealing with this matter.

Our home is nineteen (19) years old, and we still have both of our garage doors, neither of which have failed, and these doors are used a minimum of 4 times daily (wife/I traveling to/from work), for 365 days of the year, for 19-years ( = 27,740 cycles), hence the reliability of our shed Roll-Up Door is quite miserable in comparison...

So I need to ask, do you feel $52 is adequate for the trouble this “Ideal” door has caused?

Regards,

***** ** ***** **** ****** **** ****** ********* ** ***** **************



*** ******

I apologize for the issues with your door. As a guest satisfaction we can offer you a $52 ******* customer credit toward your new door. The model you purchased has been modified and improved with enhancements. Please let me know if you accept this offer.

 

Thank you,

*******



**** *** ************

After spending a considerable amount of time searching for our receipt, it was found (see attached).

We purchased our Roll-Up Door (Model# 200, Color Brown) on 4/20/98 at the ******* in **** ****** (***** * ****), SKU# (*******), Order# ******.  Cost $207.00

The door arrived 4-6 weeks later, and it was installed later June/July 1998 upon completion of our shed.

I initially reported the door might have been twelve years (12) old; whereby in actuality it is fourteen (14) years old.

As such, my original assessment as to the worst-case scenario should be modified to: 3-cycles per week, 52 weeks per year, for 14 years = 2184 cycles.

However, I highly doubt this door ever saw this type of use, as we live in Minnesota, our shed isn’t used in the Winter or early Spring (November – April), hence the actual number of cycles would be half (½) the number of cycles calculated (1092).

As this was an error on my behalf, I have notified the Better Business Bureau to update this case (** *******) accordingly.

Regardless, my initial error as to the doors installation date doesn’t counter the danger this door posed when it broke while I was opening it, nor the fact that I never received a response from your personnel after stating I wanted to file this matter as a complaint (see attached).

If I can provide any further information, please notify me and I’ll reply accordingly.

Sincerely,

****** ** ***** **** ****** **** ****** ********* ** ***** ************* 


Dear *** ******

Thank you for your feedback.  In order for us to properly evaluate your concerns, we need to obtain some additional information.  Do you have a copy of your receipt for proper documentation?  Even though the warranty has expired we will evaluate your concerns more closely.  You will be receiving an email from our Guest Warranty department requesting this information.  In the meantime, if you would like to call into the department directly please call ###-###-#### and select the guest warranty option.  Anyone that answers your call can properly assist you.  Please refer to case #********

Sincerely,

**** ******************** ******** **********


I appreciate your notifying me of the warranty period, but desire to lodge this issue as a complaint.

This door has had relatively little use, whereby if you calculate it’s use 2-3 times per week, for 26 weeks x 12 years, it would have lasted for fewer than two-thousand cycles.  I live in ********** and without my having to mow our lawn, our shed remains closed for 6-7 months of the year, and though I typically only mow our lawn once (1x) per week, I included the worst-case scenario as to the doors use.

I can’t imagine such poor engineering practices, where you allowed steel on steel contact, without thought as to the consequences, whereas I would have thought bearings would have been mandatory.

We were fortunate the door failed when I was opening it, whereas I was capable of securing the door to prevent it from coming out of the tracks and potentially crushing someone!

I found this doors longevity to be less than “Ideal”, and would at least have expected some assistance in replacing the defective parts or a discount as a loyal customer towards a new door.

Please pass this complaint on to management, as I find this response to be less than acceptable.

Sincerely,

****** ** ***** **** ****** **** ****** ********* ** ***** ************ *************

 

***** ******* ******* ***************************  ***** ******* ******* *** **** **** ** *** ************* ******** ***** *******  

******,

 

I have attached the warranty for the Roll up door you installed 12 years ago. The warranty coverage is for only 5 years from the date of purchase.

 

 

Thank you for your interest in Clopay garage doors.  Your home is a personal statement and Clopay gives you more ways than anyone to accent its unique design.  We offer the largest array of designs including panel selections, color options and decorative windows that allow you to match the aesthetics of your home.

 

Attached is the literature that you’d requested.  Upon review if you are interested in ordering our product you may visit our website at *******************************************  to select a local dealer/installer for more details.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 Garage Doors from ******* made by Clopay. I installed oe of them. The second one is missing the track screws and nuts. I have contacted Clopay twice by calling the customer service phone number. It was after hours so I left a msg. I asked for them to please mail the screws to me that were missing. I left my name, address, phone. They did not call me back and as of today, 5 weeks later I still do not have the fasteners to install the garage door.This is great customer service the kind that should put this business in the poor house if they keep it up.

Desired Settlement: I want the screws and nuts that I need to install the door. Or I want them to come out here and install the door without the fasteners.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

My name is **** ***********, Customer Service Supervisor, at Ideal Door.  I want to apologize for the inconvenience concerning the purchase of your Ideal garage door.  Most importantly, your feedback concerning the message you have left without a response.  I will check into this issue to make sure it does not happen again.  In the meantime, you have two options in obtaining the missing parts from your garage door order as follows:

1)  You can return to ******* and let them know what parts are missing and they can give them to you from their stock or missing parts box at no cost.  Please let them know to contact me personally at ###-###-####/option1/x **** and I will ship them replacement parts at no charge.

2)  Please call my number or respond to this complaint so I can verify the parts needed and I will ship them UPS directly to your home.

The office is closed until Monday to observe the Easter holiday but will reopen on Monday.  My hours are 8am-5pm Eastern and will be happy to assist you at that time.

I would like to offer a $50 in store credit for ******* as a token due to the inconveniences concerning your purchase. 

In order for us to properly investigate this issue and make the necessary corrections within our company I would like to obtain the following information that would help to improve our guest services:

-Purchase Order number located on your ******* receipt...starts with letters followed by a sequence of numbers

-Did the box have any extra parts?  Our hardware boxes are weighed in the plant and this will help us to determine if the incorrect parts were picked or if our checks were not properly maintained.

-Did it appear the hardware box had been opened?

-Did you check to make sure no other parts were missing?

Again, your help in securing this information will allow us to find a solution to prevent future reoccurrences to other guests that purchase our product.  Your assistance is very much appreciated.

Please give me a call at the number provided above so I can make sure you have been taken care of accordingly.

Thank you!

**** ***********

Customer Service Supervisor

###-###-####/option 1/x****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased two Clopay steel doors(pre-painted) in the Spring of 2010. Within less than a year large amounts of mold accumulated on both doors that would not come off with bleach or any other cleaner. We live in Northern NJ and this is not a humid climit. We filed a compliant with the company and they responded it was an environmental issue without even coming out to see their product. I did not accept this and they offered a one-time replacement of the doors(which could mold again!) and that I would have to pay the installation for the doors. The customer service rep(no customer service at all!!!) seemed annoyed that we would question their product which I believe is cheap paint used to bake on the finish. They accept no responsibility for their inferior product and I would never buy one again and have told all our friends never to purchase the product. We also contacted a mold remediation experet who said the paint has become a host for the mold. In fact to say the mold was envrionemntal is non-sense as there is mold in everything and it was only their inferior product that allowed it to thrive. We have no mold anywhere else but on their steel doors.

Desired Settlement: I want my entire purchase price refunded as I believe the product is completely inferior and the company really does not want to back their warranty. It was only after I said I would not accept their one paragrahp letter telling me I was "SOL" did they respond.

Business Response:

Dear *** *******

Customer satisfaction is top priority of our company.  Please give me a call at ###-###-####/option 1/ext.**** so we can discuss this further.

Sincerely,

**** ***********

Customer Service Supervisor

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2011 Delivery Issues
1