BBB Accredited Business since

Sportsman's Market, Inc.

Phone: (513) 735-9000 Fax: (513) 735-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 Sportys Drive, Batavia, OH 45103 http://www.sportys.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers airplane pilot & household supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sportsman's Market, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sportsman's Market, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sportsman's Market, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1960 in OH Business incorporated 10/23/1967 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harold Shevers Jr., Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harold Shevers Jr., Chairman
Related Businesses
Eastern Cincinnati Aviation Inc.
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Internet Shopping Aircraft Schools

Method(s) of Payment
all
Refund and Exchange Policy
Returns, exchanges and repairs handled the day they are received.

Just return in same condition as received and in a timely period
Alternate Business Names
Sporty's Sporty's Shops Sporty's Pilot Shop Sporty's Preferred Living Sporty's Preferred Living Catalog Sporty's Tool Shop

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sportsman's Market, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2001 Sportys Drive

    Batavia, OH 45103 (513) 735-9100 (513) 735-9000 (800) 776-7897

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a flight bag on the website over the weekend. On Monday I received a call that the bag that ordered was no longer available. I was asked if I wanted another bag that was similar to the bag I had ordered but was 12 dollars. more. I agreed that the new bag would work. Once I was able to access the website I noticed that the bag they replaced the one I wanted with was back ordered by three weeks. I called about this and was told that was correct. I cancelled the order since I felt that they should have notified me when they called to offer me the other bag that the one they offered was back ordered. I was also very disappointed that since their site allowed me to order the original bag that they didn't offer to sell me the replacement bag at the same price. I sent an e-mail with my complaints to the customer service area at which time they began to put the blame on me. Had I simply been told during the original call that the item they were offering me was back ordered and maybe even offered it at the advertised price of the original this would not be an issue. Sporty's customer service is a sham. I would recommend not doing business with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to design the website so that a item that is no longer available can not be ordered and that they let customers know that the replacement offered is on back order when such a condition exists. The replacement item at the originals advertised price would probably be a bonus.

Business Response: November 5, 2013

Mr. ***** ****
*** **** ****** ******
******** ** **********

Dear Mr. ****:
received the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding your recent order. It is important that I know if a customer has a concern with any part of our operation. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I talked to the Customer Service Supervisor and the individual involved and emphasized they should not make the customer feel he is to blame. Additionally, you should have been told of the "out of stock" situation on the recommended bag. We have built our reputation on reliable, efficient, and courteous service and this is not a good example of what has made us a leader in the industry.

I am sorry you are disappointed with Sporty's. We have fixed our website to prevent customers from being able to order dropped items. If we are out of stock, our website gives a date of when the item will ship.

I apologize we are out of stock of the ****** **** Mission Bag. When they come in, I will ship one to you, free of charge. I want to assure you, that at any given time, 98% of our products are in stock and available for shipping the same day.

I recognize that you have many shopping options. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and hopefully you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with the quality merchandise and service our customers have come to expect when dealing with Sporty's.
Sincerely,


**** *****
Executive Vice President

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sportsman's Market, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart