BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home, garden and patio products via catalog and website.  

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Improvements Catalog include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Improvements Catalog
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 07/03/2001 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sharon Kives, Operations Manager Mr. Charlie Pellenberg, Brand President Ms. Sheila Howell, Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Kives, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Charlie Pellenberg, Brand President
Related Businesses
Travel Smith Frontgate Catalog Cornerstone Brands, Inc. Alsto's Ballard Designs Outlet
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Method(s) of Payment
Check, money order, Visa, MC, Amex, Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
At Improvements, we're committed to providing products that perform as promised. If you're not happy with your purchase for any reason, let us know and we'll make it right. Simply return it within 90 days and we'll gladly replace it (providing the product is in stock) or refund your money (excluding S&H). The choice is yours.
In addition, for up to a year from the date of purchase, you can exchange any item for the same product (providing it is in stock) or for a merchandise credit in the form of a gift certificate.
Exceptions: Holiday merchandise returns will not be accepted after 30 days from the date of purchase.
Any products that are monogrammed, customized or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. 
 
Alternate Business Names
HSN Catalog Services, Inc. Improvements
Industry Tips
Buying by Mail Mail Order and Catalog Shopping

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16501 Rockside Road

    Maple Heights, OH 44137 (216) 662-6553

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5566 West Chester Road

    West Chester, OH 45069 (800) 634-9484 (800) 642-2112

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 642-2112(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a curtain rod on the 19th of February 2014. When I received an email from the company after the order it stated the curtain rod was in stock. I've waited several weeks and still no curtain rod. I spoke with customer service on 3/9/14 and was told the item had been out of stock but they now had it in and it would be delivered shortly. I called again on 3/17 and was told it was in the warehouse but not yet shipped. A week later, 3/21/14, I called and was told it had not been shipped yet but it would be going out either Monday or Tuesday of this week. I just called again today and was told it wasn't shipped yet but is scheduled to be shipped today.

Desired Settlement: refund of shipping charges, apology.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent Improvements order.  We appreciate the time you spent and the feedback you provided.

 

We apologize for the inconvenience of the delay of the ********* Curtain Rod.  Because of this, we would like to offer a refund of your shipping charges of $17.95. This refund will be processed immediately.  Additionally, this item will be available for shipment within 24 hours, so you should receive it within 7-10 business days.  We hope this is an acceptable solution for you. 

 

We strive to offer the best quality products, accompanied by world-class customer service.  If you feel you did not receive this, please do not hesitate to make us aware of where we can improve. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and appreciate your business with Improvements.

If you need any additional assistance, please contact via email at ********************************, or via telephone ###-###-#### 7am to 2am EST.

 

Best regards,

 

Improvements Customer Service

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an xhose from this company in December. I understand delays but this company is not being honest with me. My order has been delayed several times due to the manufacturer not shipping the product. When they emailed me on 2/18/14 saying it was further delayed until 2/19/14 I called the company. When I first called I could not even speak to someone in customer service because they could not transfer me. They stated a customer service rep would call me back (which never happened). I called again that day and when I was finally transferred to a supervisor, they informed me that the product was not even expected to be in their warehouse until 2/21/14. So they completely lied to me because when they said it would ship, they knew they would not even have the product yet. They said they would send me a gift certificate even though I will not use it because I will never order from this company again. I was told the hose would ship on 2/21/14. Today it is 2/26/14 and I had not received an email stating that the shipping was further delayed. When I spoke to someone this morning (who could not transfer me to a supervisor due to high call volume) they informed me that their manufacturer is not expecting to even ship to them until mid march yet I received NO notification about this. I understand delays are out of their control but I am completely being lied to by this company and it is a disgrace.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive the order I am expecting with a discount. Since they are saying they do not have it at all, I will probably end up canceling my order all together and finding this somewhere else. I feel this company needs to be reported since they have clearly lied to me several times in the past month.

Business Response:

Dear ***** *******,

Thank you for contacting Improvements regarding order # ********.

Unfortunately, item #****** is still temporarily unavailable. We expect the item to be available for shipment on 3/17/14 . You can expect to receive the item within 3-5 business days from the date it ships. The gift certificate mentioned below shipped via **** on 2/19/14. We apologize if you have not yet received it. If you decide to use the gift certificate, all you will need to do is reference the certificate number which is *********. For the inconvenience of the delay, we are also going to waive the shipping fees for the order. Once the item ships, you will receive a $13.95 credit back to your card for the shipping fees. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

If you need any additional assistance, please contact via email at ********************************, or via telephone ###-###-#### 7am to 2am EST.

Sincerely,

Improvements Catalog Customer Service

***************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a piece of furniture from Improvements Catalog that required assembly. The box was completely damaged when I received it. I have the piece of furniture almost together and noticed a chunk of wood missing from one of the boards. Apparently it was manufactured this way, as it was painted over it, so someone knew that it was damaged, but sent it anyway. This assembly took 2 hours to put together, now I have to spend another 2 hours to take apart and another 2 hours to put a new one together. This company (after me sending pictures) will take only 15% ($24) off if I kept this damaged product. I asked them for more, as my time is more valuable than having to take it apart. Spoke today (April 29, 2013) to Rachel/Supervisor and she said absolutely no more can be taken off. I explained that something this shoddy should never be allowed to go out and if so, there needs to be compromises made. I have to find a huge box to send this out. So, they are willing to ship it back to them for $29.66, and if I wanted another one, reship it for $29.66. And $20 for the box. I was only asking for $80 to keep it, (because, again, my time in taking this apart is worth something, that is why I am willing to keep the damaged piece!) and they are spending this all in shipping. This piece is damage beyond they ever repairing and reselling, so it will be thrown in the garbage. I feel this is completely taking advantage of me and all the time I have involved in this furniture.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for $95 off this piece of really shoddy product. 50% off

Business Response: I've reviewed the issue with the customer and she is getting a 20% discount on the item and a replacement part. The customer accepted this being fair.

Business Response: A credit of $32.08 was issued on 5/12/2013

The replacement part will ship on 7/8/2013

Thank you,
*******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered for a 36 Pair Adjustable Shoe Rack and they have failed to deliver it twice. Furthermore, I never heard from them as well. And, they still have my money and I do not have my product and they never ever bothered to reach me out for that.

Desired Settlement: I need the product delivered ASAP like NOW and to make up for delay and trouble they caused me, they ought to give me a reasonable compensation.

Business Response:

Looks like the original order came back as undeliverable. The customer was given a full credit when the item was returned. A replacement order has been set up at no cost for a next day delivery. Customer will have item on Monday.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel skymall is dragging me along and doesn't care. The site said ships in 14 days. Other sites let you know something is backordered before you purchase the item. If I would have known I would not have received this item until January I would have looked elsewhere. Skymall took the money from my account and then told me the item is back ordered twice now. I feel like I have been scammed. I asked customer service to please do something to make this right like giving me free shipping or cancel my order and refund my money. My order number is; ********

1/30/2013:  The business in question is Improvements.  They contacted me and told me that my shipping would be refunded to me but I have not received anything yet.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my dog bed expidited less shipping for the inconvenience or refund my money.

Business Response:

Contacted customer as we were unable to locate his order, this is actually a complaint against Improvements.  Advised customer a supervisor from Improvements will contact him.

 

Thank you,

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  The business in question is Improvements.  They contacted me and told me that my shipping would be refunded to me but I have not received anything yet.

Regards,

***** *****

 

Business Response: I request has been sent to Skymall requesting the shipping credit. This was done on Monday. Customer should see credit reflecting in 3 business days.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  I have received the dog bed 2 months late and was promised a refund of the shipping costs.  The refeund never came.  I guess this company doesn't care.  I will never use them again.  The costs are not my concern.  I feel ripped off and as if the company could care less.  I wonder how many more people feel as I do but never complain?

Regards,

***** *****

 

Consumer Response:

I have not received a refund even though I was told I would get my shipping refunded.  I give up.  This has been going on since November.  I am no longer going to waste my time on sky mall or the BBB.  Once again the customer gets *******!!!  Close this complaint and don't even bother.  I should have known.

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item listed in the on-line catalog that showed the accessories in the descriptive photo of what you would get. They shipped me only the main item. I called and they said the accessories shown in the item picture were only to show the other things you could buy with this item. Listed above the item I purchased shows a smaller version of what I purchased without accessories. The item I purchased shows the item with the accessories. Why were the accessories not included? This is false advertising. I called them and they would not resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: Send me the accessories that were shown as part of the item I purchased.

Consumer Response: I Viewed this website:
http://www.improvementscatalog.com/*************-sprayer/*******defattrib=&defattribvalue=&listIndex=0
with the item below listed.

Green Gorilla 2.5 Gallon Sprayer
***** ******* 2.5 Gallon Sprayer
******
Quantity:
Was $69.99
Now $29.97


I purchased Item ******, a two gallon sprayer that comes with an extension wand, a battery pack and charger and a twenty foot hose as shown in the picture of the item. It also has a zoomed in picture that shows these items as a package included in product # ******.

I received only a sprayer without any of the accessories.

The picture above this item shows a smaller sprayer without the accessories, below this item the accessories are shown individually. The webpage I saw is still up and the same except that now someone from Kentucky has posted a similar complaint as mine on the site.
Let me know if you need anything else.
Thanks
*** *****

 

Business Response:

I have reiewed Mr. ******* complaint regarding the ***** ******* Sprayer with our corporate office.  The photo Mr. ***** has attached to his complaint is a photo showing the sprayer and all the attachments.  The description does not state that the attachments are included.

After further review with our web team, we found that the option to purchase the attachments was removed from our website as the attachments had sold out and were no longer available for sale.  Our website did clearly state that the power pack was sold separately; however, there was no indication regarding the sale or purchase of the Extended Spray Wand and Extension Hose. 

In good faith, we have removed the item from our website, so future customers will not be confused by this advertisement.  We are also going to have our vendor send *** ***** an Extended Spray Wand and Extension Hose at no additional cost.  *** ***** can expect these items shipped to him directly from our vendor in approximately 10 business days.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

********* *******
Brand Services Supervisor, Improvements

5568 West Chester Road
West Chester, Ohio 45069

************* **** **** 
******************************
 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

***** ***** 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite canceling the mail order catalogue from this company over the phone, they have continued to send me more in the mail.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to remove me from their mailing lists indefinitely, and stop sending me catalogues that I've canceled.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint submitted by ****** *****, I have discovered that Mr. ***** had multiple accounts in our system, which is why he continued to receive our catalogs. I have merged his accounts into one and processed a catalog removal request. Mr. ****** may receive catalogs for up to 90 days, but after that, they will stop.

 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

 

Sincerely,

*********

 

********* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Place two online orders. Both otdersd were returned back to this merchant in their entirety. I have provided them with proof of return via ***. Merchant has responded via email and confirmed to me that they received all the items from the two orders. However, they have refused to refund my money to date and now have refused for weeks to reply to my emails.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response: I have reviewed Mr. *****’s order history in response to his complaint.  I have found 3 different web orders placed from December 2011-January 2012.  I have included a summary of each order.
 
******** – all credit issued less shipping and handling
Charges Refunds Date
$89.99  $79.99  2/3/2012
$850.34  $755.86  2/3/2012
$116.99  $103.99  2/3/2012
 
******** – all credit issues less shipping and handling and $8.95 for *** return label
Charges Refunds Date
 $151.04  12/23/2011
$586.20  $319.02  12/27/2011
 $60.77  12/22/2011
$1,092.02  $1,031.25  12/27/2011
 
******** – only 1 item returned and credit issued less shipping and handling
Charges Refunds Date
$363.04  $0  
$1,515.74  $0  
$45.37  $0  
$226.89  $0  
$229.54  $15.04  1/27/2012
 
Per our records, Mr. ***** has received full credit for 2 of his orders placed on our website.  If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.
 
Sincerely,
*********
********* *******
Brand Services Supervisor, Improvements

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

The following orders: ******** & ******** have been returned back to this business in their ENTIRETY with my request for a refund.  All the items were returned back to the merchant. The entire orders were sent by the carrier ***.  The tracking information for the returns: ******************; ******************; and one of the merchant's prepaid labels was used as well.  

 

 

 

Order J58176153- lighted flag decorations; santa in sleigh; light flurry projector, water chemistry monitor, spa skin, 3- happy lights, gold reindeer kit, 2 super grip barsOrder ********

Storage house, cascade fountain, outdoor cooler, life ring, pool bin, 4 border makers, fountain clear 16oz, THESE ITEMS WERE RETURNED BACK TO THE MERCHANT VIA ***, TRACKING NUMBER  ******************.  *** CONFIRMS THE MERCHANT RECEIVED ALL OF THESE ITEMS BACK.  THE MERCHANT ALSO CONFIRMED FOR ME IN A 2-2-12 EMAIL THAT THEY HAD RECEIVED ALL OF THE ABOVE REFERENCED ITEMS BACK.  THEY HAVE NOT ISSUED A REFUND FOR ALL OF THE ABOVE ITEMS, PERIOD!

 Order *********** was returned back to the merchant via ***, TRACKING NUMBER ******************.  AGAIN, *** CONFIRMS THE MERCHANT RECEIVED THIS ITEM BACK.  THE MERCHANT ALSO CONFIRMED FOR ME IN A 2-2-12 EMAIL THAT THEY HAD RECEIVED THE SPA BACK.  THEY HAVE NOT ISSUED A REFUND FOR THIS ITEM, PERIOD!

 

Other items were included in a package using a prepaid label which the merchant ackowledges again that they received these items back because they charged me $8.95 for using one of their labels.   THEY OWE ME A FULL REFUND FOR ALL THE ORDERS- THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THEY HAVE NOT ISSUED FULL REFUNDS FOR ALL THE ORDERS.  I HAVE PROVIDED THEM AND YOU WITH PROOF OF THE RETURNS; THEY HAVE ACKNOWLEDGED TO ME IN AN EMAIL/IN WRITING THAT THEY HAVE RECEIVED ALL THE ITEMS; YET THEY STILL HAVE NOT REFUNDED MY MONEY AND ACKNOWLEDGE THE SAME IN THEIR RESPONSE.  THUS THIS RESPONSE IS NOT ACCEPTABLE, PERIOD!

 

Regards,

 ***** *****

 

 

Business Response: Per the additional response from the customer, we have completed further investigation on this customer’s account.  We have found multiple accounts from this customer and another customer’s name at this same address.  All accounts are showing large orders with returns on each order.  Each time, it seems the customer has stated items were returned to us and credits were never processed.  The customer’s latest web order, ********, placed on 01/13/12 was cancelled as the bank for the credit card company had advised the credit card had been lost or stolen. 
 
As for the customer’s response regarding orders ******** and ********, I offer the following:
 
******** has been credited in entirety less any shipping and handling charges per my email below.  Contrary to Mr. *****’s claim that no refund has been issued as of the date of his most recent letter, a credit was issued on 02/03/12 to a **** card ending in 9760.  These items were received by us under *** tracking number ******************.
 
******** has been credited for $15.04 on 01/27/12 per my email below.  In addition, I have issued a credit in the amount of $1336 yesterday, 03/21/12, for the return of the ******* ******** *** on *** tracking number ******************.  This credit will be visible on **** card ending in 9760 within 72 hours. As a side note, the product was shipped directly to the customer from the manufacturer and Mr. ***** should have contacted our customer service drop ship department for instructions on returning the spa as it should have been returned directly to the manufacturer rather than our warehouse. 
 
We are unable to issue any further credits as the 2 tracking numbers the customer referenced were associated with another order he returned and received credit for earlier.
 
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.
 
Sincerely,
*********
********* *******
Brand Services Supervisor, Improvements 
 
From: ********* *******
Sent: Tuesday, March 13, 2012 2:30 PM
To: ********************************
Subject: BBB ID ******* 
Hi ******,
 
I have reviewed Mr. *****’s order history in response to his complaint.  I have found 3 different web orders placed from December 2011-January 2012.  I have included a summary of each order.
 
******** – all credit issued less shipping and handling
Charges Refunds Date
$89.99  $79.99  2/3/2012
$850.34  $755.86  2/3/2012
$116.99  $103.99  2/3/2012
 
******** – all credit issues less shipping and handling and $8.95 for *** return label
Charges Refunds Date
 $151.04  12/23/2011
$586.20  $319.02  12/27/2011
 $60.77  12/22/2011
$1,092.02  $1,031.25  12/27/2011
 
******** – only 1 item returned and credit issued less shipping and handling
Charges Refunds Date
$363.04  $0  
$1,515.74  $0  
$45.37  $0  
$226.89  $0  
$229.54  $15.04  1/27/2012
 
Per our records, Mr. ***** has received full credit for 2 of his orders placed on our website.  If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.
 
Sincerely,
*********
********* *******
Brand Services Supervisor, Improvements

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is regarding my order: ******** placed sometime in November 2011. I placed this order for item *******, *********** Plaque. I was purchasing this for my parents as a Christmas gift. I placed the order in plenty of time for it to be delivered prior to the Christmas holidays. It arrived as expected, aside from the spelling error on this personalised plaque. It was to read '*******' and showed up saying '*******'. This was very upsetting as I had asked the representative on the phone to read back spelling to ensure accuracy. Although I was discouraged, I called in and explained my problem to a very understanding representative who replaced the order at no charge. At this time I inquired about the additional 'international shipping' charge that we had paid on the original, wrong plaque of $25.00, as we were not wanting to pay this again, for an error that was not ours. She assured me she would look in to this and agreed we should not have to pay this twice for the companies error. She called me back and said that once we recieved the second plaque, to fax them a copy of our *** receipt and they would reimburse us. A few days later I received a phone call and voicemail advising my order was on hold due to insufficient information. I called in inquiring, since this was a replacement order, they should have all correct information for processing. They said '"thank goodness you called as your order was schedualed to be canceled if we did not hear back from you by tomorrow" this angered me, as I did not understand how they could cancel something that I had already paid for. They assured me the order was being sent to the vendor and although it wouldnt be there in time for Christmas, all was resolved. I was sent a $20 gift certificate which we will not be using and again made sure that once my replacement order came that I could send the *** receipt for reimbursement, she advised due to the troubles that we could send in both receipts (for the original and the replacement). This was confirmed. After Christmas I called to inquire about status of order, they advised me order was still on hold. Someone had dropped the ball and would be coached on this issue. I was escalated twice to two seperate suprvisors. At this time I was assured that my order was being sent to the vendor for replacement.On January 18th we received the replacement. It still had an error, now my parents name was spelled '** *****" (with a space)... given everything we had been through we settled on this and didn't bother calling in again. On Friday I scanned and emailed the *** receipts and have now been told by ******** and ******, via email that I will not be receving a reimbursement. "This order was sent at no charge to you. There was no product charge and no shipping charge. In addition, we note that there was an order for a $20 Gift Certificate sent as well. The order number for the gift certificate is ********. Since you were not charged anything on the replacement order, there will not be a refund on shipping charges. None were charged. *** This is not true, as I was charged the international shipping fee of $25, which if she look at my order notes she would see*** The new order was shipped on our account at no charge to your account."This entire experience has been so upsetting and frustrating. This is my first and very last time every shopping with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on my *** charges as well as a full refund on the plaque as it came twice with error and the customer service was less than helpful.

Business Response:

In response to Improvements Complaint ****** for ******* *********, I have found that Ms. ********* and her boyfriend, *******, have contacted our office after the complaint was submitted. Credits in the amount of $79.99, $13.73, and $50.48 were issued back to Ms. *********** **** card on 02/21/12, 02/21/12 and 02/27/12 respectively.

 

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Sincerely,

*********

********* *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a purchase through Improvements Catalog with the understanding on their website return policy that $8.95 would not be refunded to me for the return S&H. As of today, there is no indication on their return policy web page ( http://www.improvementscatalog.com/returns-and-exchgs/content ) or return receipt that the amount of S&H for the original delivery of the product ($13.00) will also not be refunded. Because this language was not present on the website nor the return receipt, this is an unexpected cost to the consumer. The representative I spoke with on the phone stated that it's not the company's problem that I didn't like the color of the curtains and they aren't responsible for this cost; that "no company refunds S&H charges." Not only is this an inaccurate and moronic statement, it's a flat out lie. The company should be held liable for not stating in complete detail its FULL return policy in all communications with a prospective consumer, providing the consumer with an opportunity to make an informed decision before making a purchase.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $13.00 for original S&H charges as it was not indicated on the company's website or return receipt that this amount is not refunded, only the return S&H charges. On 12/13/11, I was only refunded for the cost of the curtains but not the original S&H charges.

Business Response:  Subject
 BBB ID ******* 
Dear ****** **********,
 
I am responding to the subject complaint ID submitted by**** ********.  According to the customer, she is requesting her original shipping be refunded to her because she did not like the color of the item she received. 
 
If you view our return and exchange policy on our website (http://www.improvementscatalog.com/returns-and-exchgs/content), you will see that we do state the refund will exclude the shipping and handling charge when an item is returned.  I have underlined this statement below taken directly from our website:
 
·          “At Improvements, we're committed to providing products that perform as promised. If you're not happy with your purchase for any reason, let us know and we'll make it right. Simply return it within 90 days and we'll gladly replace it (providing the product is in stock) or refund your money (excluding S&H). The choice is yours. In addition, for up to a year from the date of purchase, you can exchange any item for the same product (providing it is in stock) or for a merchandise credit in the form of a gift certificate.”
The customer would not be due her $13 original shipping and handling charge as stated above.  If you need any additional information or you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,
 
********* ******* ***** ******** *********** Improvements
5568 West Chester Road
West Chester, Ohio 45069
###-###-####, **** ****
******************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8853287, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The language provided does not clarify that shipping and handling on both the receiving and returning side will not be refunded.  The company should be liable for making said language transparent.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/22/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1