BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers online sales of secured mailboxes and posts.




BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Artisan Steel Mailbox Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Artisan Steel Mailbox Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artisan Steel Mailbox Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1996 in OH Business incorporated 05/10/2011 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Blanka Misconi Lee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Blanka Misconi Lee, Owner
Business Category

Mail Boxes - Manufacturers & Distributors Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Artisan Steel Mailbox Company offers the following product(s): Collection Steel Units, Mailboxes, Posts, Secure Drop Units

Refund and Exchange Policy
http://www.steelmailbox.com/html/to_order.htm





Alternate Business Names
Artisan Productions Steel Mailbox Co. Steel Mailbox Company LLC Steel Mailbox.com
Industry Tips
Internet, Shopping on the

Additional Locations

  • 5114 Stonelick Williams Corner Rd

    Batavia, OH 45103 (513) 732-3508

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The original manufacturer is no longer in business (****** Company owned by the estate of **** *******). Steel Mailbox Co. is the reseller of record and sold me a mailbox that was recommended "for installation at or near the coastal regions". Unfortunately, this turned out to be an invalid recommendation despite proper installation of the mailbox. As the reseller, Steel Mailbox Co. should accept some responsibility for selling me a mailbox that was not suitable for my area. I have since removed the ****** mailbox in question (at my own expense) and replaced it with a ********* mailbox, which is working just fine. When I first formally raised this issue on June 16, 2013, Steel Mailbox Co. responded by trying to invoke its "Return Policy", which clearly was not applicable in this particular case. The reseller was well aware from the very beginning that I was in ********** when I bought the ****** mailbox and was moving to *******. (The mailbox in fact was shipped to *******.) The reseller also knew that I was moving into a new home and the mailbox could not be installed until construction was complete. As the reseller, Steel Mailbox Co. also should have known whether or not it was suitable for the area where I was moving. I certainly should be able to rely on this reseller's professional expertise in selecting my mailbox. I am asking Steel Mailbox Co. to accept partial responsibility in this matter. The reseller's current position that I am totally responsible since I know my area better than Steel Mailbox Co. does is simply not tenable.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund in the amount of $298.30.

Consumer Response: Complaint ID *******

Attached is the invoice and warranty information you requested.  Please note that this is the only information that I received, which is why I am questioning the authenticity or validity of a contract.  Model Number ******* was simply not suitable for use as evidenced by the fact that the replacement ********* mailbox is working just fine.
Thank you for your assistance in this matter.
****** ****

Business Response:

Steel Mailbox company LLC don't accept Mr. **** claim in general or partial version.

Mr. **** claim was investigate by his own CC company and ours Merchant services in details for several weeks,

with all existing documentations and statement from specialist and d Vault manufacture professionals.

Result form both investigators in in favor of Steel Mailbox Company LLC !

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. can not  be responsible for wrong mailbox installation, manipulation or use.

******* Company write own statement , see  our previous  statement.

******* company still exist,  with different owner.

** *. *** - owner

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Steel Mailbox company LLC don't accept Mr. **** claim in general or partial version.

Mr. **** claim was investigate by his own CC company and ours Merchant services in details for several weeks,

with all existing documentations and statement from specialist and d Vault manufacture professionals.

Result form both investigators in in favor of Steel Mailbox Company LLC !

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. can not  be responsible for wrong mailbox installation, manipulation or use.

******* Company write own statement , see  our previous  statement.

******* company still exist,  with different owner.

** ** *** - owner

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
 
Steel Mailbox Company LLC is not correct.  My credit card company actually accepted 50% responsibility for erroneously re-crediting Ms. ***'s account while our dispute was still ongoing (thereby reducing the disputed amount to $398.30).
 
No one is asking Steel Mailbox Company LLC to accept responsibility for wrong mailbox installation, manipulation, or use.  What is being asked is for Steel Mailbox Company LLC to accept some responsibility for the mailbox being recommended "for installation at or near the coastal regions". 
 
Steel Mailbox Company LLC is also missing the point that the "different owner" purchased only the assets and trademarks of the manufacturer (not the business itself).  Accordingly, I have no recourse now other than to pursue a claim against Steel Mailbox Company LLC or the ****** Company owned by the estate of **** *******.
 
Again, Steel Mailbox Company LLC is the reseller of record and sold me a mailbox that was not suitable for my area as evidenced by the fact that the replacement ********* mailbox is working just fine.

Regards,

****** ****




Business Response:

All Steel Mailbox Company LLC. customers, agree with our Return policy in the order process,

see bellow and here: *********************************************

Mr. ****** ****:

  1. accept Steel Mailbox Company LLC.  RETURN POLICY  on FEBRUARY 14 th 2013, when he placed order for mailbox.
  2. doesn't placed claim or Return mailbox in time quote which is describe in Return Policy - "within thirty days"
  3. placed claim with his credit card company several month after time quote expire - on JUNE 24th 2013

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. is not responsible for  wrong mailbox installation, manipulation and use.

Your sincerely,  **** ***

 

Return Policy

You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resaleable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below.  All parts, packaging materials, original cartons, and instruction materials must be included. Items such as ***s, ******** Drop Boxes, ****** Lockers, all Masonry and Column Mailboxes, Courier Boxes, Letter Boxes, ******s, ******* **********, ******* ***** ******, **** ******, ******** ******** and ******** ******** ******** Mailboxes, ******* Chests, ********** Boxes, **** **** Mailboxes, **********, ******* **** products, Mail Safes, ***** and ***** Jr. Mailboxes, ****** Mailboxes, ****** ***** Mail Vaults, all Drop Boxes, *********, **** **** Mailbox, ******* Mailboxes, ALL ********* Mailboxes, ALL Posts, Locking Inserts and accessories, will incur a 25% Restocking Charge.  All returns must have a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, so please contact us before returning any item.  Items returned without such authorization will incur an automatic Restocking Charge.  Please include your receipt (usually a print out of your emailed invoice which you should receive at the time you placed your order online). Refund includes the cost of merchandise, and not shipping expenses either coming or going unless such merchandise is defective.  Any warranty problems will be handled by the respective manufacturer, although we assist with any warranty claims.   Items damaged by *** or other shipper during delivery are not considered “defective,” but are “damaged by shipper.”  It is the customer’s responsibility to contact us if an item is received in damaged condition, so that we may file a claim with *** or other shipper.  All packing materials must be kept for claims to be honored in such instances.  Please note that Custom Fabricated Orders, Bulk Orders (e.g. address plaques, customized Drop Boxes, etc.) are non-returnable unless defective. Mailboxes with Custom Addresses installed are not eligible for refund because they are not in new, resaleable condition, and cannot be sold as new. Custom Addressed mailboxes or plaques are therefore non-returnable.  Please be sure you are ordering the correct item when selecting a custom addressed mailbox or address plaque.  Items returned with damage, missing parts or packing materials, or without a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, will be eligible for partial or no refund at the discretion of Steel Mailbox Company.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

All Steel Mailbox Company LLC. customers, agree with our Return policy in the order process,

see bellow and here: *********************************************

Mr. ****** ****:

  1. accept Steel Mailbox Company LLC.  RETURN POLICY  on FEBRUARY 14 th 2013, when he placed order for mailbox.
  2. doesn't placed claim or Return mailbox in time quote which is describe in Return Policy - "within thirty days"
  3. placed claim with his credit card company several month after time quote expire - on JUNE 24th 2013

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. is not responsible for  wrong mailbox installation, manipulation and use.

Your sincerely,  **** ***

 

Return Policy

You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resaleable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below.  All parts, packaging materials, original cartons, and instruction materials must be included. Items such as ***s, ******** Drop Boxes, ****** Lockers, all Masonry and Column Mailboxes, Courier Boxes, Letter Boxes, ******s, ******* **********, ******* ***** ******, **** Chests, ******** Security and ******** ******** Security Mailboxes, ******* Chests, Collection Boxes, **** **** Mailboxes, **********, ******* **** products, Mail Safes, ***** and ***** Jr. Mailboxes, ****** Mailboxes, ****** ***** Mail Vaults, all Drop Boxes, MailSwing, Mail Safe Mailbox, ******* Mailboxes, ALL ********* Mailboxes, ALL Posts, Locking Inserts and accessories, will incur a 25% Restocking Charge.  All returns must have a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, so please contact us before returning any item.  Items returned without such authorization will incur an automatic Restocking Charge.  Please include your receipt (usually a print out of your emailed invoice which you should receive at the time you placed your order online). Refund includes the cost of merchandise, andnot shipping expenses either coming or going unless such merchandise is defective.  Any warranty problems will be handled by the respective manufacturer, although we assist with any warranty claims.   Items damaged by *** or other shipper during delivery are not considered “defective,” but are “damaged by shipper.”  It is the customer’s responsibility to contact us if an item is received in damaged condition, so that we may file a claim with *** or other shipper.  All packing materials must be kept for claims to be honored in such instances.  Please note that Custom Fabricated Orders, Bulk Orders (e.g. address plaques, customized Drop Boxes, etc.) are non-returnable unless defective. Mailboxes with Custom Addresses installed are not eligible for refund because they are not in new, resaleable condition, and cannot be sold as new. Custom Addressed mailboxes or plaques are therefore non-returnable.  Please be sure you are ordering the correct item when selecting a custom addressed mailbox or address plaque.  Items returned with damage, missing parts or packing materials, or without a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, will be eligible for partial or no refund at the discretion of Steel Mailbox Company.


 [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
 
Steel Mailbox Company LLC's position is untenable.  The reseller was well aware from the very beginning that I was in ********** when I bought the ****** mailbox and was moving to *******.  (The mailbox in fact was shipped to *******.)  The reseller also knew that I was moving into a new home and the mailbox could not be installed until construction was complete.  It would therefore have been impossible to place a claim or return the mailbox within the time quote described in the Return Policy, thereby calling into question the authenticity or validity of a contract in this particular case.
 
Again, no one is asking Steel Mailbox Company LLC to be responsible for wrong mailbox installation, manipulation, and use.  The only issue at this point is the fact that Steel Mailbox Company LLC sold me a mailbox recommended "for installation at or near coastal regions".  I relied on that recommendation and it turned out to be invalid despite proper installation of the mailbox.  As a result, I had to replace the ****** mailbox (with a ********* mailbox) at my own expense. 
 
As a professional reseller of ****** mailboxes, Steel Mailbox Company LLC needs to accept some responsibility for selling me a model that was not suitable for my area.

Regards,

****** ****




Consumer Response: Please provide details of how the business recommended this mail box for you.  (Dates, time, who you spoke to, website information, emails, etc.)  


On February 14, 2013, ****** ********** ***, owner of Steel Mailbox Company, verbally agreed with the attached (filename-1-11) recommendation on ******'s website, i.e., ****** recommends Model Number ******* "for installation at or near the coastal regions".  Ms. *** further stated that her company had never had any problems with ****** mailboxes.  As ******'s reseller, I thanked Ms. *** for her professional knowledge and proceeded to place an order on her website for ****** Model Number *******.

On June 14, 2013, when my wife ******** called Ms. *** and complained about the problems we were having with ****** Model Number *******, despite proper installation, she told my wife it sounded like the mailbox was not suitable for our area.  After receiving the attached (filename-1-13) e-mail from me on June 16, 2013, Ms. *** denied ever making such a statement.  Ms. *** also refused to acknowledge that the ****** website recommendation, and her subsequent endorsement of Model Number *******, formed the basis for my February 14, 2013 order (Number ********). 

As a final note, Steel Mailbox Company's "Return Policy" is not relevant since this dispute involves the suitability of ****** Model Number *******, which could not be determined until after proper installation.  Unfortunately, the original manufacturer is no longer in business (****** Company owned by the estate of **** *******).  ***** **********, the owner at the time of my complaint, had offered to help me settle this dispute with Steel Mailbox Company; however, my credit card company erroneously re-credited Ms. ***'s account while our dispute was still ongoing.  By the time I got that resolved, Ms. ********** was no longer the owner.

At this point, I am simply questioning the authenticity or validity of the February 14, 2013 order in light of Ms. ***'s endorsement of ****** Model Number *******.  Accordingly, I am requesting that she accept some responsibility (partial refund in the amount of $298.30) for selling me a mailbox that was not suitable for my area (as evidenced by the fact that my replacement ********* mailbox is working just fine).

I appreciate your efforts in this matter and hereby request that you continue as an intermediary to help achieve a fair and reasonable settlement with Steel Mailbox Company.

Thanks very much,

****** ****       

Business Response: In last days I respond to complaint by send BBB all available documents from 

 
Steel Mailbox company LLC - invoice, return policy, communication evidence  with Mr.****** ****
****** company - statement from specialist 
*** merchant services Chargeback department files - Refuse Mr.**** claim, investigations results in favor of Steel Mailbox company LLC.
Handwriting Mr. **** complain placed in CC company - Customer refuse return mailbox back to manufacture for expertise
 
Summary:
on 02-14-2013, 1.22 AM ET - customer by placed order on website Steelmailbox.com accept 30 days return policy, without any previous communication, or consultation, order was placed in deep night, phone service is not available after 5pm- see Original order, Return policy
 
on 05-20-2013 customer call Steel mailbox company LLC describe how he is satisfy with mailbox and  ask how order flag.
Steel Mailbox company LLC contact manufacture ****** and send customer flag for free, see email communication with customer.
 
Approximately one month after call customer wife, 
find in mailbox cockroach and claim then mailbox is flimsy and humidity is collecting in mailbox, also describe then flag is not straight.
 
 Steel Mailbox Company LLC  recommended professional mailbox reinstalation for prevent future problems and inform customer, then company can't be responsible for wrong mailbox installation and customer mailbox selection on website.
 
on 06-24-2013 *** Merchant services Chargeback department receive handwriting Mr.**** claim- customer declare then he want full refund for mailbox, but refuse send mailbox back to manufacture for expertise - citation -"unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed."
Steel Mailbox company send all available documentation in chronological order - see complete documentation
****** company new owner send professional - specialist statement - see ****** company statement - offer expertise, solution and help.
 
on 07-17-2013  after several weeks investigation ***  bank merchant services chargeback department close claim in favor of Steel Mailbox company LLC and send $796.60 back to business account.
 
on 08 -20-2013 Mr.**** seeking full credit for mailbox from ****** company by phone - 
Steel mailbox company LLC is informed by ****** company owner **** *******, which refuse refund for - citation from e-mail "damage caused by mailbox improper installation"!
 
on 09-16 -2013 Mr.****** **** placed complaint on BBB, ask for full mailbox refund, like in previous claims.
 
Steel Mailbox Company the same day send to BBB all previous documentation from *** merchant chargeback department with comments and make phone call with BBB representative.
 
 Steel Mailbox company find,  then Mr.**** already receive from his CC company refund for incriminate mailbox 
and mailbox which he refuse send back for expertise to ****** manufacture, was replaced with ********* mailbox - see Mr.**** information on BBB documents.
 
on 10-30-2013 we was informed by BBB, then Mr.**** placed new complaint - change full refund to partial refund, see complaint and compare all available documentation about primary full refund, secondary partial refund.
The same day we send our writing statement to BBB by e-mail.
 
on 11-07-2013 BBB  leave voice mail and ask for call back. 
On phone call we make detail recapitulation of complaint.
BBB receive by fax the same day and also in PDF format handwriting document claim from June 24th 2013 - Mr. **** declare then mailbox is unable to return .
 
Conclusion :
 
Steel Mailbox Company LLC Return policy accept returns and refunds in 30 days time quote under conditions describe in Return policy.
 
Customer doesn't accept specialist statement from ****** company for mailbox observation and expertise, refuse send mailbox to manufacture.
 
Customer in his claim use non valid informations about communication with Steel Mailbox company LLC. 
 
We are not able recognized from customers orders if mailbox is order for customer, family member or somebody else. Shipping address is very frequently different, then invoice address.
We doesn't judge customers decisions buy specific mailboxes.
We doesn't recommend  mailboxes for specific geographical  or weather zones, it's up to customer make own free decision!
 
Steel Mailbox company doesn't accept full, or partial refund to Mr. ****** ****.
 
Mr. ****** **** placed order on Steelmailbox.com website without our assistance, with respect and confirmation to our Return Policy,
 
with his free decision and will and he is fully responsible for own mailbox selection and professional mailbox installation.
 
By refuse return mailbox to ****** manufacture for expertise, Mr.**** also lost option for manufacture professional service,  help and support.
 
Steel Mailbox Company LLC. still cooperate with ****** manufacture, sell ****** mailboxes in all USA, without any problems or complains!
 
Customers are very satisfy with our service and quality of products!
 
Yours sincerely
 
 ****** *. ***, owner
 
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my
complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

MESSAGE FROM
BUSINESS:

In last days I respond to complaint by send BBB all available documents from

Steel Mailbox company LLC - invoice, return policy, communication evidence with Mr.****** **** ****** company - statement from specialist
This was never sent to me (but see my comment in * below).

*** ******** services Chargeback department files - Refuse Mr.**** claim, investigations results in favor of Steel Mailbox company LLC. This is not correct. My credit card company accepted 50% responsibility for erroneously re-crediting Ms. ***'s account while our dispute
was still ongoing. I received a $398.30 credit from my credit card company on September 23, 2013. I notified ****** Companies, Inc. (Mr. **** ********) of this
fact on September 23, 2013 and copied the BBB of ******** ******** Inc.

Handwriting Mr. **** complain placed in CC company - Customer refuse return mailbox back to manufacture for expertise I never refused to return the
mailbox. In fact, I never received a request to return the mailbox. I was simply pointing out to my credit card company that the mailbox was installed in
concrete.  *Since the question on the table was whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area, the only fair and logical solution would have been for Steel
Mailbox Company/****** to dispatch a local specialist to my home to examine the mailbox (as installed) and make a determination of suitability.

Summary:

on 02-14-2013, 1.22 AM ET - customer by placed order on website Steelmailbox.com accept 30 days return policy, without any previous
communication, or consultation, order was placed in deep night, phone service is not available after 5pm- see Original order, Return policy This is not correct. The order
was placed in ********** where it was not "deep night". Also, there was prior communication and consultation with Steel Mailbox
Company earlier that day (02-13-2013). I know this because I specifically called Ms. *** about the attached (highlighted in yellow) sales tax information
on her website (filename-1-15). I wanted to make sure with her that I did not have to check the box for Sales Tax in ********** since I was having the
mailbox shipped to my installer in *******. That is when we got into a discussion about my moving into a new home, which was under construction in
*******. Ms. *** assured me that there was no need to check the box for Sales Tax in ********** under my set of circumstances.

**We then got into a discussion about the different types and brands of mailboxes for sale on her website. I told her I was particularly
interested in ****** Model Number ******* since ****** had recommended it "for installation at or near the coastal regions". I asked her what
she thought and she provided an unqualified endorsement of ****** and its products. I remember complimenting Ms. *** on her expert knowledge of the
mailboxes for sale on her website. She obviously took great pride in her business.

on 05-20-2013 customer call Steel mailbox company LLC describe how he is satisfy with mailbox (installation) and ask how order flag.

Steel Mailbox company LLC contact manufacture ****** and send customer flag for free, see email communication with customer. What is not mentioned here is
the fact that Ms. ***'s website shows ****** Model Number ******* with a flag (see filename-1-16). Please also note that there are certain
"representations" made (on this same page of Ms. ***'s website) regarding standard features, some of which turned out (after proper
installation) to be questionable, as noted in my initial June 16, 2013 e-mail complaint to Ms. ***.

Approximately one month after call customer wife, find in mailbox cockroach and claim then mailbox is flimsy and humidity (actually rain)
is collecting in mailbox, also describe then flag (plastic rather than metal) is not straight. (The quality was disappointing
for a $630.00 mailbox.)

Steel Mailbox Company LLC recommended professional mailbox reinstalation for prevent future problems and inform customer, then company can't be responsible for
wrong mailbox installation and customer mailbox selection on website. The mailbox was professionally installed in the first place. There was no need for
re-installation. The same installer installed the replacement ********* mailbox and it is working just fine. Customer mailbox selection on website has already
been addressed (see ** above).

on 06-24-2013 *** ******** services Chargeback department receive handwriting Mr.**** claim-customer declare then he want full refund for
mailbox, but refuse send mailbox back to manufacture for expertise - citation -"unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed." (This was not a refusal. It was
simply a statement of fact (see the words in blue above). Steel Mailbox company send all available documentation in chronological order - see complete documentation 
****** company new owner send professional - specialist statement - see ****** company statement - offer expertise, solution
and help. (This is news to me. In any event, as previously stated, the only fair and logical solution would have been for Steel Mailbox
Company/****** to dispatch a local specialist to my home to examine the mailbox (as installed) and make a determination of suitability. This should have taken
place not with the new owner but with ***** **********, whom Ms. *** notified back on June 16, 2013. Ms. *** apparently failed to follow up. In
fact, I received no communications from her after June 16, 2013 (other than the current BBB responses). I have attached filename-1-17 to
illustrate just how little help Ms. *** provided in response to my initial June 16, 2013 e-mail complaint. In particular, note her closing comments: "I
hope you find solution to your problem. Have a great day, ******." on 07-17-2013 after several weeks investigation *** bank merchant services chargeback
department close claim in favor of Steel Mailbox company LLC and send $796.60 back to business account. This is not correct (see the words in green above).

on 08 -20-2013 Mr.**** seeking full credit for mailbox from ****** company by phone - The words "by phone" are inaccurate. Mr. **** ******** actually received a letter from me on September 9, 2013.

Steel mailbox company LLC is informed by ****** company owner **** *******
(he is not the owner), which refuse refund for - citation from e-mail "damage caused by mailbox improper installation"! This is not correct. Mr. ******* actually offered to
send me a check for $100.00, which I accepted on October 18, 2013. That is why the claim with Steel Mailbox Company is only for $298.30 rather than $398.30.

on 09-16 -2013 Mr.****** **** placed complaint on BBB, ask for full mailbox refund, like in previous claims. It should be noted that the aforementioned claim, filed
with the BBB of ******** ******** Inc, was subsequently reduced to $398.30, and then was closed out after acceptance of the $100.00 check from Mr. *******.

Steel Mailbox Company the same day send to BBB all previous documentation from *** merchant chargeback department with
comments and make phone call with BBB representative.

Steel Mailbox company find, then Mr.**** already receive from his CC company 50% refund (in the amount of $398.30) for incriminate mailbox 
and mailbox which he refuse (not correct) send back for expertise to ****** manufacture, was replaced with ********* mailbox (which is working just fine)- see Mr.**** information on BBB documents.

on 10-30-2013 we was informed by Cincinnati BBB, then Mr.**** placed new complaint - change full refund to partial refund, see complaint and compare all available documentation
about primary full refund, secondary partial refund. The same day we send our writing statement to BBB by e-mail.

on 11-07-2013 BBB leave voice mail and ask for call back. 
On phone call we make detail of complaint.
BBB receive by fax the same day and also in PDF format handwriting document claim from June 24th 2013 - Mr. **** declare then mailbox is unable to
return .  As I previously stated, I never refused to return the mailbox. In fact, I never received a request to return the mailbox. I was simply pointing out to my
credit card company that the mailbox was installed in concrete. Since the question on the table was whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area,
the only fair and logical solution would have been for Steel Mailbox Company/****** to dispatch a local specialist to my home to examine the mailbox
(as installed) and make a determination of suitability.

Conclusion :

Steel Mailbox Company LLC Return policy accept returns and refunds in 30 days time quote under conditions describe in Return
policy. As I noted in an earlier communication, the conditions of the Return policy were impossible to perform under the circumstances
of my particular order, i.e., moving into a new home that was under construction. When something is impossible to perform, there is not a valid
contract. Even if it were enforceable, the Return policy would not be relevant to a dispute over whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area because
such a determination could not be made until after installation (thereby negating the first condition of the Return policy).

Customer doesn't accept specialist statement from ****** company for mailbox observation and expertise, refuse send mailbox to manufacture. I never saw the specialist
statement, but again see my comment in * above.

Customer in his claim use non valid informations about communication with Steel Mailbox company LLC. That is not correct. My claim is based on a factual accounting of what happened.
Unfortunately, as is the case in many disputes, not all of the communications were in writing.

We are not able recognized from customers orders if mailbox is order for customer, family member or somebody else.  Shipping address is very frequently different, then invoice address. As
previously noted, there was prior communication and consultation with Steel Mailbox Company earlier in the day (on 02-13-2013). I know this because I
specifically called Ms. *** about the attached (highlighted in yellow) sales tax information on her website (filename-1-15). I wanted to make sure with her
that I did not have to check the box for Sales Tax in ********** since I was having the mailbox shipped to my installer in Florida. That is when we got into
a discussion about my moving into a new home, which was under construction in Florida. Ms. *** assured me that there was no need to check the box for Sales
Tax in ********** under my set of circumstances.

+We then got into a discussion about the different types and brands of mailboxes for sale on her website. I told her I was particularly
interested in ****** Model Number ******* since ****** had recommended it "for installation at or near the coastal regions". I asked her what
she thought and she provided an unqualified endorsement of ****** and its products. I remember complimenting Ms. *** on her expert knowledge of the
mailboxes for sale on her website. She obviously took great pride in her business.

We doesn't judge customers decisions buy specific mailboxes. See my comments in + above.

We doesn't recommend mailboxes for specific geographical or weather zones, it's up to customer make own free decision! See my comments in + above.

Steel Mailbox company doesn't accept full, or partial refund to Mr. ****** ****.  What is your basis for not accepting any responsibility in this matter?
I accepted some responsibility by removing the ****** mailbox and replacing it with a ********* mailbox at my own expense. (**** ******* in effect offset some
of that by sending me a check for $100.00). My credit card company accepted 50% responsibility and provided a credit of $398.30. So far, Steel Mailbox Company
has offered $0. Why is that?

Mr. ****** **** placed order on Steelmailbox.com website without our assistance, with respect and confirmation to our Return Policy, That is not correct as previously noted (several times)
above.  with his free decision and will and he is fully responsible for own mailbox selection and professional mailbox installation. I was fully responsible for a professional mailbox
installation; however, it was not unreasonable for me to seek the "guidance of professionals" in selecting a mailbox, i.e., ****** and its reseller of record, Steel Mailbox Company.

By refuse return mailbox to ****** manufacture for expertise, Mr.**** also lost option for manufacture professional service, help and support. This was never a viable option as previously noted (several times) above.

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. still cooperate with ****** manufacture, sell ****** mailboxes in all USA, without any problems or complains! What relevance does this statement have to my particular complaint?

Customers are very satisfy with our service and quality of products!
What relevance does this statement have to my particular complaint?

Yours sincerely

****** *. ***, owner

[To assist us in bringing this
matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I have tried to set the record straight (comments in multiple colors above) as best I can. If Steel Mailbox
Company is still unwilling to accept any responsibility in this matter, I need direction from you, the Cincinnati Better Business Bureau, on what steps to
take next.

Thanks very much,
 ****** ****

Business Response:

Ad BBB Cincinnati:

 

Steel Mailbox Company LLC doesn't accept Mr. ****** **** arguments,

in his complaint ID *******:

 

Mr. ****** **** arguments in his several claims are not valid, truthful and accurate.

see our all available EVIDENCE

Steel mailbox company LLC react immediately, the same day, when customer  Mr. ****** **** ask about help or placed complaint – see all available documentation. From the starting point till today we react without any delay.

Steel Mailbox Company send immediately to :

  • Customer – Mr. ****** ****

  • ****** company

  • *** Chargeback department

  • BBB – Cincinnati

all available documents, which without reasonable doubt  support our statement.

First Claim was not accept by *** chargeback department ,

 

Mr. ****** **** claim was close in Steel Mailbox company LLC . favor.

Chargeback sum for $ 796.60 was send back to Steel Mailbox Company LLC business account – Reversal.

 

BBB Cincinnati   three complaints Mr. ****** **** 

 

In first complaint primary ask Mr. ****** **** for full refund for $796.60

without published information , then he already receive refund from his CC and ignore Steel Mailbox Company LLC Return Policy, which he accept , when he placed order on our website, citation “You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resalable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below. “

 

In second complaint Mr. ****** **** secondary ask about partial refund – without published information’s about refund from * ***** Company.

 

In third complaint Mr. ****** **** published non valid information :” Ms. *** apparently failed to follow up. In fact, I received no communications from her after June 16, 2013 (other than the current BBB responses).”

 

 

Here bellow is EVIDENCE in chronologic order with valid documents, then Steel Mailbox Company LLC. react immediately, the same day when customer ask about help, or placed claim.

on 02-14-2013, 1.22 AM ET - customer Mr. ****** **** by placed order on website Steelmailbox.com accept 30 days return policy- see bellow - buy new mailbox  - see invoice – *** documentation point 1

on 05-20-2013 –phone call customer very satisfy with mailbox,  want buy mailbox flag, send  flag for free – see *** documentation point 2

on 06-14-2013 - phone call complaint from Mrs. ********  **** - see  *** documentation  - point 3

on 06-16-2013 - e-mail complaint from Mr. ****** and Mrs. ******** ****   -see *** documentation - point 4

 

on 06-16-2013 - the same day was by e-mail  send to customer - detail explanation why we can’t accept his  complaint and the same days was complaint forwarded to ****** company for professional opinion. – see *** documentation – point 5

 

on 06-24-2013 *** Merchant services Chargeback department receive handwriting Mr. ****** **** claim, Mr. ****** **** in his claim declare then he want full refund for mailbox, but refuse send mailbox back to manufacture for expertise - citation -"unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed." see  Mr. ****** **** handwriting documents.

 

on 07-08 -2013 ****** Company send professional statement – to Mr. ****** **** claim.

"Damage caused by mailbox improper installation"!

 

Claim was not accept by *** chargeback department,

Claim was closed in favor of Steel Mailbox company LLC.

Claim placed several months after expire 30 days – Return Policy, citation: “ You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resalable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below”

Steel Mailbox Company LLC is not responsible about mailbox installation and damage mailbox by installation, see professional statement document from ****** Company.

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. can’t be responsible for reactions, statements, agreements , or communications forms and time quotes in Mr. ****** ****  claims, which make other subjects – like is ****** Company, *** Bank, Mr. ****** **** CC company,  BBB Cincinnati etc

Our reaction to other two Mr. ****** **** claims see BBB – Cincinnati published documentation.

******  ** ***

 

Return Policy

You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resaleable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below.  All parts, packaging materials, original cartons, and instruction materials must be included. Items such as ***s, ******** Drop Boxes, Letter Lockers, all Masonry and Column Mailboxes, Courier Boxes, Letter Boxes, ******s, ******* **********, ******* ***** ******, **** ******, ******** Security and ******** ******** Security Mailboxes, ******* Chests, Collection Boxes, **** **** Mailboxes, ****Vaults, ******* **** products, Mail Safes, ***** and ***** Jr. Mailboxes, ****** Mailboxes, ****** ***** Mail Vaults, all Drop Boxes, *********, Mail Safe Mailbox, ******* Mailboxes, ALL ********* Mailboxes, ALL Posts, Locking Inserts and accessories, will incur a 25% Restocking Charge.  All returns must have a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, so please contact us before returning any item.  Items returned without such authorization will incur an automatic Restocking Charge.  Please include your receipt (usually a print out of your emailed invoice which you should receive at the time you placed your order online). Refund includes the cost of merchandise, and not shipping expenses either coming or going unless such merchandise is defective.  Any warranty problems will be handled by the respective manufacturer, although we assist with any warranty claims.   Items damaged by *** or other shipper during delivery are not considered “defective,” but are “damaged by shipper.”  It is the customer’s responsibility to contact us if an item is received in damaged condition, so that we may file a claim with *** or other shipper.  All packing materials must be kept for claims to be honored in such instances.  Please note that Custom Fabricated Orders, Bulk Orders (e.g. address plaques, customized Drop Boxes, etc.) are non-returnable unless defective. Mailboxes with Custom Addresses installed are not eligible for refund because they are not in new, resaleable condition, and cannot be sold as new. Custom Addressed mailboxes or plaques are therefore non-returnable.  Please be sure you are ordering the correct item when selecting a custom addressed mailbox or address plaque.  Items returned with damage, missing parts or packing materials, or without a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, will be eligible for partial or no refund at the discretion of Steel Mailbox Company.

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Ad BBB Cincinnati:

 

Steel Mailbox Company LLC doesn't accept Mr. ****** **** arguments,

in his complaint ID *******:

 

Mr. ****** **** arguments in his several claims are not valid, truthful and accurate.  Can you please be specific?

see our all available EVIDENCE

Steel mailbox company LLC react immediately, the same day, when customer  Mr. ****** **** ask about help or placed complaint – see all available documentation. From the starting point till today we react without any delay.  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area?

Steel Mailbox Company send immediately to :  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area?

  • Customer – Mr. ****** ****

  • ****** company

  • *** Chargeback department

  • BBB – Cincinnati

all available documents, which without reasonable doubt  support our statement.  What statement are you trying to support?

First Claim was not accept by *** chargeback department ,

 

Mr. ****** **** claim was close in Steel Mailbox company LLC . favor.

Chargeback sum for $ 796.60 was send back to Steel Mailbox Company LLC business account – Reversal.  Why are you not mentioning the fact that the foregoing happened because my credit card company made an error while the dispute was still ongoing?

 

BBB Cincinnati   three complaints Mr. ****** **** 

 

In first complaint primary ask Mr. ****** **** for full refund for $796.60

without published information , then he already receive refund from his CC and ignore Steel Mailbox Company LLC Return Policy, which he accept , when he placed order on our website, citation “You may return your order for a refund so long as it is innew, resalable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below. “  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area?

 

In second complaint Mr. ****** **** secondary ask about partial refund – without published information’s about refund from d Vault Company.  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area? 


In third complaint Mr. ****** **** published non valid information :” Ms. *** apparently failed to follow up. In fact, I received no communications from her after June 16, 2013 (other than the current BBB responses).”  What exact communications did I receive from Ms. *** after June 16, 2013 (other than the current BBB responses)?

 

 

Here bellow is EVIDENCE in chronologic order with valid documents, then Steel Mailbox Company LLC. react immediately, the same day when customer ask about help, or placed claim.

on 02-14-2013, 1.22 AM ET - customer Mr. ****** **** by placed order on website Steelmailbox.com accept 30 days return policy- see bellow - buy new mailbox  - see invoice – *** documentation point 1  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area? 

on 05-20-2013 –phone call customer very satisfy with mailbox,  want buy mailbox flag, send  flag for free – see *** documentation point 2  Why are you not mentioning the fact that your website pictured the mailbox with a flag?

on 06-14-2013 - phone call complaint from Mrs. ********  **** - see  *** documentation  - point 3

on 06-16-2013 - e-mail complaint from Mr. ****** and Mrs. ******** ****   -see *** documentation - point 4

 

on 06-16-2013 - the same day was by e-mail  send to customer - detail explanation why we can’t accept his  complaint and the same days was complaint forwarded to ****** company for professional opinion. – see *** documentation – point 5  Why did I not receive any further communications from Steel Mailbox Company LLC after this date (other than the current BBB responses)?

 

on 06-24-2013 *** Merchant services Chargeback department receive handwriting Mr. ****** **** claim, Mr. ****** **** in his claim declare then he want full refund for mailbox, but refuse send mailbox back to manufacture for expertise - citation -"unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed." see  Mr. ****** **** handwriting documents.  How can you characterize a statement of fact as a refusal?

 

on 07-08 -2013 ****** Company send professional statement – to Mr. ****** **** claim.

"Damage caused by mailbox improper installation"!  How was this determination made without even seeing the mailbox, let alone examining it as installed?

 

Claim was not accept by *** chargeback department,

Claim was closed in favor of Steel Mailbox company LLC.  Why are you not mentioning the fact that this happened because my credit card company made an error while the dispute was still ongoing?

Claim placed several months after expire 30 days – Return Policy, citation: “ You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resalable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below”  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area?

Steel Mailbox Company LLC is not responsible about mailbox installation (who said you were responsible?) and damage mailbox by installation, see professional statement document from ****** Company.  How was this "professional statement" made without even seeing the mailbox, let alone examining it as installed?

Steel Mailbox Company LLC. can’t be responsible for reactions, statements, agreements , or communications forms and time quotes in Mr. ****** ****  claims, which make other subjects – like is ****** Company, *** Bank, Mr. ****** **** CC company,  BBB Cincinnati etc

Why did Steel Mailbox Company LLC not communicate with me between June 16, 2013 and the ****** Company "professional statement" on July 8, 2013?

Our reaction to other two Mr. ****** **** claims see BBB – Cincinnati published documentation.

******  ** ***

 

Return Policy

You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resaleable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below.  All parts, packaging materials, original cartons, and instruction materials must be included. Items such as ***s, ******** Drop Boxes, Letter Lockers, all Masonry and Column Mailboxes, Courier Boxes, Letter Boxes, ******s, ******* **********, ******* ***** ******, **** Chests, ******** ******** and ******** ******** Security Mailboxes, ******* Chests, ********** Boxes, **** **** Mailboxes, **********, ******* **** products, Mail Safes, ***** and ***** Jr. Mailboxes, ****** Mailboxes, ****** ***** Mail Vaults, all Drop Boxes, MailSwing, Mail Safe Mailbox, ******* Mailboxes, ALL ********* Mailboxes, ALL Posts, Locking Inserts and accessories, will incur a 25% Restocking Charge.  All returns must have a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, so please contact us before returning any item.  Items returned without such authorization will incur an automatic Restocking Charge.  Please include your receipt (usually a print out of your emailed invoice which you should receive at the time you placed your order online). Refund includes the cost of merchandise, and not shipping expenses either coming or going unless such merchandise is defective.  Any warranty problems will be handled by the respective manufacturer, although we assist with any warranty claims.   Items damaged by *** or other shipper during delivery are not considered “defective,” but are “damaged by shipper.”  It is the customer’s responsibility to contact us if an item is received in damaged condition, so that we may file a claim with *** or other shipper.  All packing materials must be kept for claims to be honored in such instances.  Please note that Custom Fabricated Orders, Bulk Orders (e.g. address plaques, customized Drop Boxes, etc.) are non-returnable unless defective. Mailboxes with Custom Addresses installed are not eligible for refund because they are not in new, resaleable condition, and cannot be sold as new. Custom Addressed mailboxes or plaques are therefore non-returnable.  Please be sure you are ordering the correct item when selecting a custom addressed mailbox or address plaque.  Items returned with damage, missing parts or packing materials, or without a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, will be eligible for partial or no refund at the discretion of Steel Mailbox Company.  Why is this relevant in determining whether or not the mailbox was suitable for my area? 

 [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I am hereby requesting that Steel Mailbox Company LLC answer each of the questions in red above.  Thank you! 


Regards,

****** ****

Business Response:

add: BBB

Option 1 

For our customers, who want return mailbox,

see our Return policy here and full text also down bellow: *****************************************

Return Policy

You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resaleable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below.  All parts, packaging materials, original cartons, and instruction materials must be included. Items such as ***s, ******** Drop Boxes, Letter Lockers, all Masonry and Column Mailboxes, Courier Boxes, Letter Boxes, ******s, ******* **********, ******* ***** ******, **** ******, ******** Security and ******** ******** Security Mailboxes, ******* Chests, Collection Boxes, **** **** Mailboxes, **********, ******* **** products, Mail Safes, ***** and ***** Jr. Mailboxes, ****** Mailboxes, ****** ***** Mail Vaults, all Drop Boxes, MailSwing, Mail Safe Mailbox, ******* Mailboxes, ALL ********* Mailboxes, ALL Posts, Locking Inserts and accessories, will incur a 25% Restocking Charge.  All returns must have a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, so please contact us before returning any item.  Items returned without such authorization will incur an automatic Restocking Charge.  Please include your receipt (usually a print out of your emailed invoice which you should receive at the time you placed your order online). Refund includes the cost of merchandise, and not shipping expenses either coming or going unless such merchandise is defective.  Any warranty problems will be handled by the respective manufacturer, although we assist with any warranty claims.   Items damaged by *** or other shipper during delivery are not considered “defective,” but are “damaged by shipper.”  It is the customer’s responsibility to contact us if an item is received in damaged condition, so that we may file a claim with *** or other shipper.  All packing materials must be kept for claims to be honored in such instances.  Please note that Custom Fabricated Orders, Bulk Orders (e.g. address plaques, customized Drop Boxes, etc.) are non-returnable unless defective. Mailboxes with Custom Addresses installed are not eligible for refund because they are not in new, resaleable condition, and cannot be sold as new. Custom Addressed mailboxes or plaques are therefore non-returnable.  Please be sure you are ordering the correct item when selecting a custom addressed mailbox or address plaque.  Items returned with damage, missing parts or packing materials, or without a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, will be eligible for partial or no refund at the discretion of Steel Mailbox Company.

 

 

Option 2

For our customers, who can't return mailbox in Return Policy - 30 days time quote or resalable condition,

like Mr ****** **** - see Mr ****  handwriting reaction to our Return Policy:

"unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed."

see manufacture ****** company statement -  offer,  expertise, solution and help from July 8th 2013 in attachment.

****** ********** ***,  12-18-2013

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

add: BBB

Option 1 

For our customers, who want return mailbox, 

see our Return policy here and full text also down bellow: *****************************************

Return Policy

You may return your order for a refund so long as it is in new, resaleable condition within thirty days of receipt, under the conditions noted below.  All parts, packaging materials, original cartons, and instruction materials must be included. Items such as ***s, ******** Drop Boxes, Letter Lockers, all Masonry and Column Mailboxes, Courier Boxes, Letter Boxes, *******, ******* **********, ******* ***** ******, Mail Chests, ******** ******** and ******** ******** Security Mailboxes, ******* Chests, Collection Boxes, **** **** Mailboxes, ****Vaults, ******* **** products, Mail Safes, ***** and ***** Jr. Mailboxes, ****** Mailboxes, ****** ***** Mail Vaults, all Drop Boxes, MailSwing, Mail Safe Mailbox, ******* Mailboxes, ALL ********* Mailboxes, ALL Posts, Locking Inserts and accessories, will incur a 25% Restocking Charge.  All returns must have a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, so please contact us before returning any item.  Items returned without such authorization will incur an automatic Restocking Charge.  Please include your receipt (usually a print out of your emailed invoice which you should receive at the time you placed your order online). Refund includes the cost of merchandise, and not shipping expenses either coming or going unless such merchandise is defective.  Any warranty problems will be handled by the respective manufacturer, although we assist with any warranty claims.   Items damaged by *** or other shipper during delivery are not considered “defective,” but are “damaged by shipper.”  It is the customer’s responsibility to contact us if an item is received in damaged condition, so that we may file a claim with *** or other shipper.  All packing materials must be kept for claims to be honored in such instances.  Please note that Custom Fabricated Orders, Bulk Orders (e.g. address plaques, customized Drop Boxes, etc.) are non-returnable unless defective. Mailboxes with Custom Addresses installed are not eligible for refund because they are not in new, resaleable condition, and cannot be sold as new. Custom Addressed mailboxes or plaques are therefore non-returnable.  Please be sure you are ordering the correct item when selecting a custom addressed mailbox or address plaque.  Items returned with damage, missing parts or packing materials, or without a Returned Merchandise Authorization Number, will be eligible for partial orno refund at the discretion of Steel Mailbox Company.

 

 

Option 2 

For our customers, who can't return mailbox in Return Policy - 30 days time quote or resalable condition, 

like Mr ****** **** - see Mr ****  handwriting reaction to our Return Policy:

 

 

 

"unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed."

 

 

 

see manufacture ****** company statement -  offer,  expertise, solution and help from July 8th 2013 in attachment.

****** ********** ***,  12-18-2013

 

 

 



 


Regards,

****** ****




Business Response: ad BBB:

  1. Respond from ****** company from July 8th 2013, was send the same day by e-mail to Mr.**** complaint,
  2. document is integral part of Mr. ****** ****  Card holder claim -  - see complain *** **** ***** **** *** ***********, placed on JUNE 24th 2013
  3. document is integral part of Steel Mailbox documents send to *** Merchant services case # ******, see also the same documents send to BBB on 09-16-2013
  4. document was repeatedly publish in answers to Mr. ****** **** complaints in BBB website, see all attached documents in BBB complaint case ID *******
  5. Mr. ****** **** personally contact representatives of ****** company, receive verbal explanation, why they cant accept his complaint and accept partial refund.


****** *. ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
  1. Respond from ****** company from July 8th 2013, was send the same day by e-mail to Mr.**** complaint,
  2. document is integral part of Mr. ****** ****  Card holder claim -  - see complain *** CASE ***** **** USA ************ placed on JUNE 24th 2013
  3. document is integral part of Steel Mailbox documents send to *** Merchant services case # ******, see also the same documents send to BBB on 09-16-2013
  4. document was repeatedly publish in answers to Mr. ****** **** complaints in BBB website, see all attached documents in BBB complaint case ID *******
  5. Mr. ****** **** personally contact representatives of ****** company, receive verbal explanation, why they cant accept his complaint and accept partial refund.

How could a document that was not generated until July 8th 2013 be an integral part of the cardholder claim placed on June 24th 2013?  The fact of the matter is I did not receive the document until December 18th 2013.

Regards,

****** ****




Business Response: Respond from ****** company from July 8th 2013, was send the same day by e-mail to Mr.**** complaint, also to original order address ****** * **** Jr , ********* *** **** ******* ***** ** ********** .

  •    document is integral part of Mr. ****** ****  Card holder claim -  - see complain *** **** ***** **** *** ***********, placed on JUNE 24th 2013
  •     document is integral part of Steel Mailbox documents send to *** Merchant services case # ******, see also the same documents send to BBB on 09-16-2013

    "Customer reject return mailbox on June 16th and on June 24th - see document with customer handwriting:

     unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed"
  •     document was repeatedly publish in answers to Mr. ****** **** complaints in BBB website, see all attached documents in BBB complaint case ID *******
  •     Mr. ****** **** personally contact representatives of ****** company in September 2013, receive verbal explanation, why they cant accept his complaint and Mr ****** ****  - after ****** explanation accept partial $100.00 refund.
 ****** ** ***

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:


Respond from ****** company from July 8th 2013, was send the same day by e-mail to Mr.**** complaint, also to original order address ****** * **** Jr , ********* *** **** ******* ***** ** ********** .  The *******additional_rebuttal_response_1_3_2014.pdf document from Steel Mailbox Company provides no evidence to support this statement.
  •    document is integral part of Mr. ****** ****  Card holder claim -  - see complain *** **** ***** **** *** ***********, placed on JUNE 24th 2013 The July 24, 2013 letter I received from ***** indicates that the FAX from Steel Mailbox Company LLC to *** ** Legal Department is dated 2013-07-05 17:04:33 GMT, which is 3 days before the ****** company letter from July 8th 2013 was written!
  •     document is integral part of Steel Mailbox documents send to *** Merchant services case # ******, see also the same documents send to BBB on 09-16-2013 The FAX from Steel Mailbox Company LLC to *** MS Legal Department is dated 2013-07-05 17:04:33 GMT, which is 3 days before the ****** company letter from July 8th 2013 was written!  "Customer reject return mailbox on June 16th and on June 24th - see document with customer handwriting: unable to return, mailbox has been permanently installed"  This is why it was so important for Steel Mailbox Company to make sure that I received the ****** company letter from July 8th 2013!  The *******additional_rebuttal_response_1_3_2014.pdf document from Steel Mailbox Company provides no evidence to support that Steel Mailbox Company met the foregoing customer service obligation.
  •     document was repeatedly publish in answers to Mr. ****** **** complaints in BBB website, see all attached documents in BBB complaint case ID *******  Steel Mailbox Company's customer service obligation was to make sure that I received the ****** company letter back in July when it would have really helped me. The *******additional_rebuttal_response_1_3_2014.pdf document from Steel Mailbox Company provides no evidence to support that Steel Mailbox Company met the foregoing customer service obligation.
  •     Mr. ****** **** personally contact representatives of ****** company in September 2013, receive verbal explanation, why they cant accept his complaint and Mr ****** ****  - after ****** explanation accept partial $100.00 refund. Page 8 of the *******additional_rebuttal_response_1_3_2014.pdf document from Steel Mailbox Company documents my phone call with **** ******* (Sales at ******) on 20 August 2013.  It is important to note that there is no evidence therein that Steel Mailbox Company complied with ******'s request to confirm that I had received the ****** company letter from July 8th 2013!
 ****** ** ***
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
 
Based on the above, it is clear that Steel Mailbox Company's "zero responsibility" position in this matter is indefensible.  My credit card company accepted responsibility for $398.30.  I accepted responsibility by replacing the ****** mailbox with a ********* mailbox at my own expense.  (I might not have had to incur that expense had Steel Mailbox Company met its customer service obligation to ensure my timely receipt of the ****** company letter from July 8th 2013.)  As a courtesy, to close the BBB case in southern ********, ****** also contributed $100.00 even though the current owner of ****** was not the manufacturer of record.

As a result of the foregoing, the remaining amount in dispute is $298.30.  It is time for Steel Mailbox Company to move off its unreasonable position, which is simply not supported by the facts and evidence in this case.   

Regards,

****** ****




10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In error a large number of standard mailboxes were purchased from this company. When this was discovered I contacted the company right away to resolve the issue as we hadn't been notified of anything shipping yet at that time. When I contacted the company they said no refunds can be issued for a bulk order; I informed them that this was a mistake and we were never intended to order in bulk and that nowhere were we informed that this was a bulk order. I was not notified in any way through the purchase process or on receipt that there was no refund because of the status they labeled this order on their own. I tried ************ly to contact the company and explain this error that has a cost of $4,400 and that I simply wanted to cancel the order and or at most only needed 1 mailbox; the company still refused and stated that the product was shipped that day and there would be no refund at all. No notification of any shipment had been sent to me at all but then was forwarded from Steel Mailbox when I contacted them. So I did the only thing I could and refused the order so it was sent back to the company because now we have a company holding $4,400 of my money for no product, no service nothing. All the company repeatedly responded to me was an email of their return policy, which is no where listed on their home page, no where listed when purchasing or agreed to by the consumer and not listed on any receipt. After I refused the products the company did email me that they will refund part of my money but would still be keeping the shipping charge of $599 and charged me another $599 for the return and then again charged a 25% restocking fee on the original total, which is $951.75. So this company still has about $2,149.75 of my money for nothing. I mean mistakes happen and aren't the normal and you would think any business would work with someone in this situation. I personally do not have an extra $2,149.75 to give away for nothing. I think the 25% restocking fee for standard products returned unopened is extreme in addition to the shipping cost charged and then being charged that amount twice. This is a lot of money to be out for an individual with nothing to show for it.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a full refund of my money for this situation and having to go through all this trouble for a return. This is Steel mailboxes chance to show that they are a good ************ company and work with their customers instead of a company that tries to take advantage of you as a consumer anyway that they can financially. I hope they will decide to do the right thing and refund all monies.

Business Response: Hi ,

 in attachment  you find Steel Mailbox Company LLC reaction

for ****** ************ ***** Complaint from 09-24-2014

 in PDF format including evidence and documents  beyond reasonable doubt.

have a nice day,

****** ** *** owner


Dear Madam’s/Sir’s,

I wish contest customer concern

down below you find all available evidence, including documents beyond reasonable doubt.

In case, then customer don’t accept our evidence without reasonable doubt, we accept BBB Biding Arbitrage for this complaint with respect to BBB arbitrage legal guidelines.

Your Sincerely, ****** ** ***


On 09-24-2014 11.39 AM Steel Mailbox Company LLC receive phone call from ****** ************ *****, Mr.***** ******. Customer describe, then he is subcontractor and his customer change opinion and want change Bulk Order ID: ******** which ****** ************ ***** placed on 09-15-2014 on 16.05PM on steelmailbox.com website –see ADD 1 from 27x ***** Aluminum mailboxes, Hand Rubbed Bronze, change to 1x ***** mailbox. We inform customer then we can not on 09-24-2014 cancelled or change his BULK order, which he placed before 9 days on 09-15-2014 , because his order was already shipping from manufacture and by *** ** ******* Priority is the same day 09-24-2014 “OUT for delivery”. See ADD 4.

Customer receive Receipt from Steelmailbox.com - All our customers immediately after is placed order on our website – steelmailbox.com - receive to their e-mail accounts - automatically from our Secure terminal Receipt with specific order ID and detail information’s. Customer e-mail address is: *****.******@********.com  The same information’s is send by website secure terminal to our e-mail account. Technically is impossible, then customer don’t receive Receipt from our Secure Terminal. Fact then customer know and describe his order ID # ******** on phone call from 09-24-2014 is evidence and verification without reasonable doubt then customer receive Receipt for his order from our Secure Terminal on 09-15-2014, otherwise he doesn’t know unique specific order ID numbers combination.

After we find on 09-24-2013 customer order by customer given order ID # ********,

Customer was informed, then his order was placed before 9 days, proceed and pending to manufacture ******* **** immediately and manufacture start working on customer BULK order the same day.

Manufacture ******* **** shipping Bulk order on Monday 09-22-2014, customer receive *** ** Freight tracking number by e-mail. Customer e-mail address which was use for send tracking information is identical with e-mail address to which customer receive Receipt from our website: *****.******@********.com.

Customer is informed about RETURN POLICY. By placed order on our website customer is informed about our Return Policy see ADD 1-ADD 3 and ADD 9 – Interactive link with Return policy in our website Secure Payments part . Technically is impossible, then customer is not informed about our Return Policy, before customer continue with placed order on our website. Here is our Return Policy-http://www.steelmailbox.com/html/to order.htm

Manufacture ******* **** shipping customer mailboxes on 09-22-2014,

see *** ** tracking number, which we send customer by e-mail -***** freight Priority with tracking **********

On 09-24-2014 on 1.25 PM, customer REFUSED order delivery. See ADD 7 - we receive information from *** ** Freight Priority - ****** ************ ***** refused delivery for order ID ******** placed on 09-15-2014 for 27x ***** Aluminum Mailboxes, Hand Rubbed Bronze. Steel Mailbox Company LLC contact manufacture ******* **** and negotiate about Return Bulk order – manufacture agree with return with obligatory 25% Restocking Fee and shipping from and return back to manufacture for all 27 ***** mailboxes. Steel mailbox Company LLC in cooperation with *** ** Freight Priority on 09-24-2014- organized return for all 27x ***** mailboxes to manufacture ******* ****. Bulk orders are in our Return Policy not returnable.

On 09-24-2014 Steel Mailbox Company LLC process customer partial Refund $2,256.25 for order ID, - minus 25% Restocking Fee and minus double shipping charge *** ** Freight Priority from customer shipping address and return from customer shipping address to manufacture ******* **** –see ADD 6

Return Transaction 09/24/2014 03:25 PM

**************************

The same day we receive from customer e-mail, with this citation: “I look at this refusal to refund money as theft out of my pocket “ see ADD 7 and our answer see ADD 8.


ADD 1 Order with Order ID, date and time

Order ID: ********                                                                                                    INVOICE

Date: 9/15/2014 Payment by: Card

Invoice to:                                                                           Shipping to:

***** ******                                                         ***** ******

****** ************ *****                                      ****** ************ *****

**** ***** *** *** *                                            **** ***** *** *** *

********                                                               ********

** *****                                                                              ** *****

United States                                                       United States

Tel: ************ Fax:

Quantity Product                                                                                                          Price               Amount

27             ***** Aluminum Mailbox, Hand Rubbed Bronze                             141.00                 3,807.00

Voucher                               - 0.00

Discount                             - 0.00

Shipping                     599.00

Tax                                 0.00

TOTAL                                         4,406.00

ADD 2 send repeatedly text and link to our website- see published Return 

Consumer Response: Date Sent: 10/2/2014 3:17:35 PM
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Steel Mailbox is trying to justify keeping over $2,100 of my money for an ordering mistake for nothing to show for the money at all. There is no way I can justify this.  As I stated I needed only 1 mailbox not multiples and when this error was discovered I contacted Steel Mailbox.  Steel mailbox would not work with me and pretty much implied too bad, no refund at all and emailed me their return policy. I then discovered that Steel Mailbox has unjustified hidden charges to make an addition profit off nothing at all.   A 25% restocking fee is an unfair un************ charge for a return in general. In this case with a large error like this that is almost an $1,000 charge.  For an unopened or  still 100% packed product to be placed back on the shelf at the business cost no where near $1,000 or even 25% of the product cost. This is just bad business in general but on top of that if you are going to charge this then the customer needs to be notified. The customer shouldn't have to search or ask about policies and have them emailed after the fact to be informed.  If a company is going to hold so firm to a strict return policy and restocking fees, these policies and fees should be disclosed on the main page of their website, the same info should be displayed when purchasing, should be agreed too when purchasing and copied on the receipt after a purchase has been made. None of this occurred. Especially when money and charges are involved.

 
The additional money Steel Mailbox is keeping of mine and will not refund is for shipping charges. The shipping cost for the original delivery then the same charge again because I had to refuse the order to get any type of response from Steel mailbox in regards to a return/refund. The first shipping charge total was a mistake due to the number of mailboxes on the incorrect order but then I was charged that same about again.  Due to the mistake in the amount of the mailboxes this order came freight which is a cost a lot less than standard mail/UPS/*** ** regular delivery.  The charges I experienced appear to be overstated for additional gain. A simple search online can show you to freight a large delivery item say around 600 pounds from ** all the way to *** ******** ** is around $350. Steel Mailbox is only maybe 50 miles max from my location. So then maybe they will say they shipped this directly from the manufacturer - well it appears ******* **** is in ********** **, which is not very far from my location unlike from here to Los Angeles, CA in my example. I also used a heavier weight than I expect the package would weigh and not to mention a company like Steel Mailbox and or ******* **** should have better pricing being a standard regular client/customer over a personal one time rate.  I was charged $599 for shipping one way; Then I was charged and additional $599 again for the return which I did not agree to in any way but was decided by Steel Mailbox.
 
I am a fair person and I tried to work with Steel Mailbox ************ and reasonably but they would not work with me in anyway.  Mistakes happen.  After all this I don't want anything from Steel Mailbox other than my money back, they have their mailboxes packaged, never opened or even the boxes touched. There is no benefit for me in ordering the wrong number of mailboxes having my money not refunded and having to spend time and more time going through channels like this for a refund.  Still today Steel Mailbox has close to $2,200 of my hard earned money for nothing. 
 
If Steel mailbox still refuses to refund my money I think this is a good example of how Steel Mailbox does business and treats its customers. I would caution any potential customer from making any purchase with this company. A return and refund is stand business practice. 
 
I am still asking for a full refund for the issues I have had to go through. 
 
If Steel Mailbox agrees to refund my money I will agree to drop this complaint and it doesn't ever have to be shown on the BBB or I will write a letter explaining that Steel Mailbox did work with me on my full refund. If Steel mailbox still agrees to not refund my money in full I want this complaint posted on the BBB site for all potential customers to read and be warned of their practices. I hope this doesn't have to happen but the ball is in their court ....They have their product all I want is my money back. 
  
Regards,

***** ****** 


Date Sent: 10/8/2014 6:23:45 PM

I pulled the emailed receipt that I received and made it PDF to attach and send to you. This was all I ever received from Steel Mailbox until I called them about the issue.  
 
Please let me know of any Q's.
 
Thanks.
 
***** ****** 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Artisan Steel Mailbox Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)