BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

TriStar Indemnity LLC

Phone: (888) 801-8888 Fax: (513) 234-0912 View Additional Phone Numbers 6951 Cintas Boulevard, Mason, OH 45040 http://www.tristarprotection.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers insurance and automobile warranty services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TriStar Indemnity LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TriStar Indemnity LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TriStar Indemnity LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 26, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2000 in 0 Business under new ownership as of: 10/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street, Third Floor Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov
Phone Number: 800-686-1526

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Brian McDonald, President Mr. Rich Oakes, Vice President of Sales and Business Development
Contact Information
Principal: Brian McDonald, President
Principal: Mr. Rich Oakes, Vice President of Sales and Business Development
Related Businesses
Security National Automotive Acceptance Company, LLC
Business Category

Insurance - Auto Auto Warranty Plans

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
Varies on state law
Service Area
United States
Alternate Business Names
TriStar
Industry Tips
Insurance (General Information)

Additional Locations

  • 6951 Cintas Boulevard

    Mason, OH 45040 (888) 801-8888 (866) 585-9747 (866) 250-5160 (800) 995-0591

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 995-0591(Phone)
  • (866) 250-5160(Phone)
  • (866) 585-9747(Phone)
  • (513) 459-6482 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a car while stationed at my first unit and got the extended warranty with TriStar. After completing my first tour I was stationed in a different state. About 2 months ago my car had broken down on me. I had it towed to one of the few car shops in my area that worked on the make of my car. I informed the owner of the shop that I had a warranty on the car and that I would be giving TriStar a call to let them know that my car had broken down and that it was at a shop. The next day the owner of the shop had called me in stating that they had some papers I needed to sign that TriStar had sent them in order to run the diagnostics on the car. The paper that they had sent to the shop stated that I had to give them permission to do a diagnostics test on the car and that I might have to pay for the test in the event the failure of the car was a result of lack of proper maintenance. Of course wanting to get my car repaired I signed the paper and the shop went to work on trying to figure out what was wrong with my car. Almost a month later I had received another call from the shop asking me to come in to go over what they found was wrong after doing the diagnostics test and to go over what repairs were needed. I went into the car shop and spoke with the owner he then told me what went wrong with my car and what caused it to break down. The owner of the shop told me he sent the TriStar a copy of the diagnostics test and an estimate of how much it would be to fix the problem. The owner of the shop informed me that after speaking with TriStar they had informed him that a part on my car should've been changed out at the mileage that I bought it and that it didn't get changed. TriStar had the owner of the shop run another diagnostics test on the car and after doing so gave faxed the shop a quote on what they were going to give for the repairs. The owner of the shop looked over the estimate that TriStar had sent and told them that if they fix the 2 parts on the car that they only wanted repaired that I would run into further problems with my car shortly down the line resulting in me having to take the car back in for more repairs costing me. The owner of the sop sent them a second estimate with the repairs they wanted done and then what it would cost to replace the parts that they recommended get replaced as well. After calling TriStar I spoke with a female in the claims department and I had asked her to explain how they got the estimate they wanted to give the shop and why it was that I was getting the bill for the diagnostics test. I was told that the estimate that was sent to the car shop had a portion of what they were paying for the test. After speaking with the lady and feeling like I was getting no where I got off the phone and was feeling very upset and frustrated. I now have a car that has a warranty and I have to pay out of my pocket a little more then half of what it would take to fix it and that's including the price of the test.

Desired Settlement: I want my car to be at least repaired to same way it was when I bought it without extra cost to me.

Business Response: A member of TriStar’s management team is reviewing the details of the complaint in hopes of reaching
an amicable resolution. We will respond directly to our customer or
the party filing the complaint. The lack of a public response in no way
suggests that we are not investigating and addressing each complaint filed. We
will keep the BBB informed as to any progress we make in our efforts
to reach an amicable resolution.

 

 

 

Thanks for your assistance.

 

 

******* ** ********

Marketing Manager

work: ###-###-####

fax: ###-###-####

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty with this company on a used vehicle I bought. I had the check engine light come on and then a few days later it went off. During those few days I called to double check what was covered in my contract, where I could have it serviced and how long I had left to use it. I was told by a male employee that I had 36 months or 100,000 miles added to what was on vehicle when purchased which was 60,830. I am now over 100,000 and the engine light has come back on. I called today (02/11/13) to make sure what I needed was covered and I was told at that time that my contract was expired. It had expired once I hit 100k. I took my complaint of being misinformed by an employee and now in a huge bind to the Rep. I was talking to and then further to a Supervisor. I was told there was nothing they could do because there was no notation on my account from the first phone call and that an employee there would never misinform and make a mistake. I did not realize that it was my responsibility to make sure their employee was trained correctly and did their job fully. I was spoken to rudely, spoken to with a raised tone, threatened, called a liar, brushed off, and hung up on twice. I also had to fight tooth and nail just to speak to a manager in which I received the same treatment.

Desired Settlement: I desire to have this warranty amended and reactivated to the mileage I was told I had till (160,830 or 36 months) or refunded.

Business Response:

Cincinnati Better Business Bureau 7 West 7th Street, Ste. 1600

Cincinnati, OH 45202

Re:         *** ********** ***** *** ******* **** *****

Contract Number: ***********

Dear *******

This letter is to respond to the complaint levied by ******* **** *****.

The customer purchased a 2004 Dodge Durango from ***** Auto Center on July 30, 2010 and chose to purchase the optional TriStar Protection Plan® offered by the dealership. The included contract indicates the customer chose the comprehensive level of coverage with a thirty-six month term limit and mileage limit that expires when the vehicle reaches one-hundred thousand miles.

I cannot speak to the customer’s statement of a conversation with any employee of our plan administrator indicating different coverage terms. The claims manager reviewed all call files in the time frame and numbers the customer said that they had called from and there is no record on file. Currently we do not know if there is any mechanical problem with the vehicle.

Even though, we have no contractual obligation, I have spoken with the customer and he stated that currently there are some indicator lights on the dash. He is currently moving to ************* ** and he will contact me once he completes his move. I informed him if there is a current mechanical issue that would be covered under an active policy we will explore the possibility of any goodwill assistance once it is diagnosed.

Respectfully,


**** ********

Marketing Manager

10/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable