BBB Accredited Business since

Rusk Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (859) 431-4040 Fax: (859) 431-6079 View Additional Phone Numbers 666 W 3rd St, Covington, KY 41011 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.docrusk.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating & air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rusk Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rusk Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Rusk Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1949 Business started: 01/01/1865 Business incorporated 01/24/2002 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB)
6606 Tussing Road , Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: 614-644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.state.oh.us

Kentucky Housing, Buildings and Construction
101 Sea Hero Road , Suite 100, Frankfort KY 40601
http://dhbc.ky.gov/
Phone Number: 502-573-0364
Fax Number: 502-573-1057
mike.powers@ky.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven J. Morrison, President Ms. Angie Morrison, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven J. Morrison, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Duct Cleaning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
VISA,MASTERCARD,DISCOVER,AMERICAN EXPRESS,FINANCING
Alternate Business Names
Doc Rusk Heating & Cooling
Industry Tips
Duct Cleaning Tips Ohio Residential Contractor License Requirements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rusk Heating & Cooling, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 666 W 3rd St

    Covington, KY 41011 (513) 771-4040 (859) 431-4040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a complete Amana Heat pump system installed in Late Spring 2010. Was told that the original ducts were fine and would be reused. By early fall 2010, we noticed a foul musky/moldy smell coming from the vents when the air would first kick on. I called Pete Murphy, the original estimator, and he came out and said that the duct work in my crawlspace had pulled away from the flooring and had a tear in it. He continued to say that the tear was the source of the moisture in all of my duct lines, and that I should replace the duct work and the insulation. I paid to have everything replaced in my crawlspace, and everything seemed OK through the winter time. Late Spring 2011, we noticed a slight musk smell had returned, and called Rusk once again. They had said it was normal to get smells during the season change as the Heat Pump sits longer between runs. So we let it go, thinking they know best, however every season since the smell had got worse. By September 2013, I called again stating the smell was almost unbearable (every time the unit would kick on, the musky/moldy smell was very potent). They came out and adjusted the fan speed and changed the drain to a lower hole. Not sure why that would affect the smell, but they claimed it did. Through the winters the smell was not nearly as bad, but again this spring 2014, the smell returned. This summer has been very cool, so we did not run the air very much at all, however, the past week or so has been hot, so the air has been working very hard again. The smell was returning strong and the indoor unit started leaking water in my utility room. I called them out again, and they insisted it was a clogged drain line, and no big deal, instructed me to use a shop vac to clear it. I attempted to do so, however the drain was not accessible to do so. I called back, and they acted as if it would be a service call, not believing that I had a true issue. The gentleman came and found that the indoor unit had a crack in the water pan, and had been leaking inside the unit. I have insisted that the indoor unit had issues with moisture from the get go, but always told it was something else causing the issues. I called again to state the unit had been introducing moisture into my duct work, and was told that there is no way to tell how long it was occurring. The duct work in the crawlspace and registers now have stuff growing in/on them again and I would like them replaced.

Desired Settlement: I would like the duct work and registers replaced and any other damaged components to the Heat Pump (indoor unit). We had a Trane system that lasted from 1988 to 2010 and never had moisture/mold/smell issues until this new unit was installed. I believe that this unit was defective from the get go. I already replaced the duct work within 6 months of the original install and do NOT believe I should have to foot the bill a second time.

Business Response: i would like to visit the job with my service and install managers to evaluate the situation.  Please give a day and time when we can have access to the equipment and crawlspace.

 
Thanks,
 
Steve Morrison
President
Rusk Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Consumer Response: Anytime they have available during the week, I can make myself available.  They can call my workplace at ************ and schedule a time to come out and look at the current state of the system.  I am available at work from 8:30am to 5PM Monday thru Friday.  In the evenings they can reach me at ************ (home) to schedule a visit.  I do not consider the promise of a visit as a resolution to this mater and only consider this as a step in the right direction.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

I will personally call Mr. ***** to schedule the visit to his home to evaluate the system. 

Thanks,

Steve Morrison

President,

Rusk Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ******** **** ******* *** ****** ********* *******************************


************ from 9am to 5pm, ext. 101 or ************ after 5:30pm
 
I will not be available this evening though.
 
I will be at work for another 45 minutes tonight.
 
****

Business Response:

I spoke with Mr. ***** yesterday and we are meeting at 11:00 am on Thursday.  let me know if anything changes with that day and time.

Thanks,

Steve Morrison

President,

Rusk Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ******** **** ******* *** ****** ********* *******************************

On my way home, will be ready for our 11AM meeting at **** **** ******* *****.
 
******* ***** ************

Business Response:

On September 18, 2014, I visited the home of Mr. ******* ***** with my service manager, concerning his complaint registered with the BBB, ID #********. We contacted our distributor to confirm that the Amana, model ASZ14024, heat pump was a match with the indoor fan coil, model AEPF3137, and it was confirmed that it is a match. We complained that we were not able to slow the blower down enough to obtain the proper air flow.

Our distributer contacted the manufacturer and they were able to forward an instruction sheet for the adjustment to lower the CFM for a 2-ton heat pump match up such as is what we have here. We made this adjustment on Thursday, September 25, 2014 and returned on Friday September 26, 2014 to replace the flexible ductwork in the crawl space, as per Mr. Lloyd’s request. I believe that with the air flow adjustment that we made, per the manufacturer’s specifications, and by replacing the ductwork in the crawl space, that we have taken action to satisfy the complaint of Mr. Lloyd.

I would also like to mention that on the first day that I visited the job site, I found the crawl space to be wet. I asked Mr. ***** about this and he did say that the crawl space does become very wet after a hard rain and will remain wet for approximately two weeks until it dries out. Since all of the supply duct for this home are in this damp, wet crawl space area the environment is such that will cause mold to grow and thrive. Action must be taken to water proof the crawl space area by the home owner or this problem could re-occur.

I left a copy of the sheet forwarded to us, from the manufacturer in the forms holder on the unit, so that any future service technician will be able to see the adjustments on the existing air handler. Hopefully this will find favor with the BBB and Mr. ***** to satisfy this complaint. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to call me at *************

Sincerely,
Rich Morrison

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]


Rusk came out and rewired the unit correctly (was not wired correctly when installed) so the air flow is now correct.  They also re-installed new duct work and registers.  I am very happy with the work provided and the unit is even much quieter than when originally installed.  Great company, would have been even better if it was wired correctly from the get go, however, I think the work was outsourced to a contractor originally, so it may have not been entirely their fault..


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 17, 2014, a Doc Rusk representative came to conduct an annual check and cleaning of my central air conditioning unit. I was quoted a price of $107.00. My central air was working fine and this was just a maintenance call. The repairman was late. When he did arrive, he spent several hours here. He came into my home and claimed that my unit was low on refrigerant. He also claimed that this was due to a leak in the cooling system. He claimed that he put more refrigerant in my system and said that I would have to have another repairman come to my home and inspect the system to find the leak. He said that I would have to pay him 252.00 that day or it would cost $600.00 to have someone come and find the "leak". I gave him a check for $252.00. On June 20th, the "repairman" came and "inspected" the HVAC system and said there was a leak in a coil just above my furnace. He left a bill for $320.00. I went down to see if I could find a this leak, but could see no evidence. Then, Doc Rusk sent an estimate to "repair" the coil for $2710.00. At that point, I called my nephew who put me in touch with an ethical HVAC repairman who came to the house and inspected the system from top to bottom. He said there was no leak and no damaged coil. Doc Rusk is sending me bills for their bogus inspection ($320.00) after I have already paid them more than double the cost of the original service call (quoted $107.00, paid $252.00). They lied about the leak, they lied about adding more refrigerant, they lied about repair costs of something that was not broken. These people are criminals!

Desired Settlement: 1) I want a full refund of $252.00 from the initial service call (no refrigerant was added, and I was mislead into thinking I had a major problem when there was none, and pressured into paying more (252.00) on the spot so that I wouldn't have to pay twice as much for an inspection (600.00), and as far as I can tell, they did not do what I wanted them here for in the first place). 2) I want the $320.00 bill for the fake inspection to be dismissed. 3) I want the police to investigate this business for FRAUD.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ********* *** *****, concerning the service work that we provided on June 17, 2014. I believe that this complaint is being filed by Ms. ********* *** *****’s daughter ***** *****. In regards to the complaint being filed, I would like to provide you with all of the information that I had sent to Ms. ********* *** ***** on June 23, 2014. This letter is attached.

On June 24, 2014, I received an email from ***** ***** (the daughter) at 10:23 am to which I promptly responded to on the same day by 11:31 am. In this response email, I provided her with a copy of the letter that I had sent to her mother the day before and a copy of the original sales agreement from June 3, 2009. This provided the information that she was requesting concerning the warranty information on the Carrier/Payne system that we installed.

You will notice in the customer’s complaint that she is indicating that we wanted to charge $2710.00 for the repair. This is completely incorrect, as you will see that number is the price that was quoted originally in June of 2009 for the original equipment that we had installed. The letter dated June 23, 2014 that I sent to Ms. *****, specifically defines the price that we had originally quoted for installing the coil of $1282.00 less $682.00 if we were able to get the manufacturer to cover the evaporator coil that was just outside of the original manufacturer’s limited warranty. By the way, I did have the approval from my local supplier for this to happen.

I then went on to say in the third paragraph that we would credit her account for the leak search and refrigerant in the amount of $465.00 from invoice 147036. Actually, I had made a mistake in this amount since the three hundred twenty dollars had never been paid. The correct amount should have been a credit for $145.00 leaving a balance due of $455.00 for the new coil that we were proposing to install. We would then do a journal entry for the balance of $320.00 to her account.

As for the statement that we lied to her in regards to the work needed to repair her system, I can only say that there aren’t many comments in her complaint that we would agree happened except for the fact that we did quote the price of $107.00 to do a cleaning on the air conditioner in her home. Upon doing this cleaning, we did find the unit low on refrigerant and recommended adding refrigerant to bring it up to par, which was approved by the home owner before the refrigerant was added for an additional $145.00. This made the total due $252.00.

At that point our service technician recommended a leak search for an additional $320.00, which is our standard price, not $600.00 if it wasn’t paid for at the time of service. The $600.00 is from the conversation that I had with Ms. ***** ***** for installing the coil, less the service credits that I had discussed with her.

It is my understanding from speaking with our service technicians that Ms. ***** ***** was not there the first day but was present the second day when we provided the leak search. The facts and figures have been grossly misrepresented in her complaint and I would like to request that we could revisit the site with a Better Business Bureau Representative present or her ethical HVAC company to show them where the leak is in the existing evaporator coil.

I welcome the opportunity to do this to clear our good name. If Ms. ***** agrees to allow us the opportunity to happen, I will gladly refund her the $252.00 for the services that we provided and credit her account for the $320.00 leak search and agree never to work for her or her mother in the future.

If we determine that the evaporator coil is leaking and in need of repairs, Ms. ***** will have received all monies back from us and can go about having the unit repaired by her HVAC company. If we have made a mistake in determining that there is a leak in the evaporator coil, we will certainly be the first to admit and apologize for this. However, I absolutely believe that we should be allowed the opportunity to determine whether or not the coil is in fact leaking. I will await your response.

Sincerely,

Steve Morrison

President

Rusk Heating and Cooling, Inc.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Rusk Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart