BBB Accredited Business since

ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati

Phone: (513) 724-0539 Fax: (513) 327-2277 View Additional Phone Numbers 1375 State Route 131  Ste C3, Milford, OH 45150 http://www.guildquality.com/mastermylist View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers home repair, remodeling and handyman services including basements, bathrooms, carpentry, decks, doors, drywall, electrical, flooring, kitchens, masonry, painting, plaster repair, roofing, siding, and tile.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2007 Business started: 08/29/2006 in OH Business incorporated 08/28/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald R. Kennedy III, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald R. Kennedy III, President
Business Category

Handyman Services Christmas Lights & Decorations Water Damage Restoration Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Windows - Repairing Fence Staining Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Gutter Cleaning Kitchen Remodeling Deck - Repair Remodeling Services Deck Builder Soffit & Fascia Home Repair & Maintenance Carpenters Doors - Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Painting Contractors Siding Contractors Skylights Construction & Remodeling Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MC, AMEX, Disc
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year labor and materials warranty
Alternate Business Names
Red Pill, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB News: Home Improvement Contract Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1375 State Route 131  Ste C3

    Milford, OH 45150 (513) 724-0539

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro master came out to our house to repair a rotted floor in our upstairs bathroom caused by a broken seal around the toilet. ProMater came out around Jan 30th 2014 and fixed the floor (still unfinished) and got the toilet working. However, since we had tile in the bathroom they were going to look for replacement tile and come back and finish tiling and putting the molding back. Also, due to the water damage we had discoloring in the garage which was not repaired. Promaster only cut access holes in the ceiling but did not fix the water damaged ceiling. We paid them for their work on that day with the expectation that they would come back and finish the job. It is now March 9th 2014 and not only is the job still not finished but after multiple attempts to contact them and asking them to drop the tile off for us to look at they still have not dropped the tile off or fixed the ceiling Each week we we're promised that the tile would be dropped off for us to look at so we would know how to proceed with the rest of the job and each week the tile is not dropped off. We are now in a position where we have to find another company to come in and finish the work.

Desired Settlement: We would like a cash refund for what we will be charged to finish the work Promaster started. This does not include the tiling but includes the additional work the new company will need to do to finish the ceiling in the garage, change seal on the toilet (since the one they put on was suppose to be temporary until they could finish), address the mold, and all other repairs the new company will need to do to get it to the point of installing the tile

Business Response:

An examination of the company phone system, Customer Relations Management (CRM) records and email communication was reviewed to establish the following chronology of events.  Company determined that it fulfilled its contract to client and address any subsequent concerns.

The original contract did not specify replacing any floor tile or repairing the drywall.  Contract was to remove drywall from the ceiling beneath the leaking bathroom, find the source of leak, repair the leak and the toilet.  After the leak repair was completed, a post service follow-up call was made by the company on 2/6/14.  CRM notes on the call: “Left voice mail regarding expectations being met, questions, continuation of tile searching for bathroom.”  No mention of client dissatisfaction was noted at this time.  It took several weeks to locate similar tile.  Once the tile was located, company asked client to bring samples to home.  Client was dissatisfied with the delay in finding and delivering tile and indicated to company they would select an alternate contractor to complete the tile work.

Company did not complete the tile work because a) the client did not originally contract for it and b) client indicated they did not want company to perform it after tile samples were obtained.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business is half true.  We did contract with them to repair the floor and toilet however they work day to day so the follow up was to finish the bathroom. They were to come out and finish the tile and trim.  The fact that they admit in their response they were looking for tile is evidence of this.  I understood at the time it would take a while to find the tile and waited for their call.  Once I received their call I responded multiple time to have them leave it on our front porch so we could review.  They kept promising to leave it on the porch but never made an attempt.   The company obviously does not have good records because months later they called me to see if I was happy with their work and asked if I had anything else we needed done.  When I told the person on the phone that the repair person never came back to finish the job she laughed and made light of it.   She had no idea the job was not completed.   Sounds like since they have no record of my calls and dissatisfaction their is a severe communication issue inside the company.

Regards,

**** *******




Business Response:

It appears the homeowner is advancing 3 core arguments, namely that:

  1. ProMaster was contractually responsible for performing the tile work.

  2. ProMaster made no attempt to contact client when matching tile was found.

  3. ProMaster made no follow up attempts to schedule future work or check satisfaction with the work that had been done.

Documentation (the contract itself) disproves (1). Audio recording of phone calls substantiated by CRM database records disprove (2) and (3).

ProMaster invested significant time to locate matching tile for client.  It follows that ProMaster desired to earn the opportunity for the additional work from the client.  When client decided they did not want ProMaster to complete the tile work, the company obliged.  ProMaster was not made aware of any client dissatisfaction as client did not return the Operations Manager’s standard post-service follow up call (which resulted in a voicemail) on 2/6/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  • I have since had a contractor out to fix the bathroom and the contractor had to replace the floor in the bathroom that pro-masters installed.
  • I guess in comes down to this, does Promaster stand behind their work and promises?  If so, then I would be willing to settle for a refund of half the amount we paid for the work Promaster did.  I think that is more than fair.
  • If Promaster does not stand behind their work and promises then I think it is important for future customers to know and I think they should be up front about this before they start any job.
Regards,

**** *******




Business Response:

The question was asked, "Does ProMaster stand behind its work?"

The answer is "Yes."  This subject was covered previously where ProMaster made two separate attempts to check up on clients' satisfaction with job after work was complete.  If client had an issue with work performed, they could have responded to our service follow up calls, or called/emailed our office any time to set up a service call, under warranty.

However, this not apply to work we a) didn't contract for to perform or b) that another contractor altered later.  Both conditions are true in this case, as ProMaster did not contract to perform tile work for client and by clients' own admission, hired their own contractor to alter existing work.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9960222, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per the original complaint filed on 03/09/2014- We would like a cash refund for what we will be charged to finish the work Promaster started. This does not include the tiling but includes the additional work the new company will need to do to finish the ceiling in the garage, change seal on the toilet (since the one they put on was supposed to be temporary until they could finish), address the mold, and all other repairs the new company will need to do to get it to the point of installing the tile


First response from Promaster was 05/01/2014 - I have since had a contractor out to fix the bathroom due to lack of response.

  • Since the original complaint on 03/09/2013 The new contractor had to replace the floor in the bathroom that pro-master installed. 

  • My request of half refund was an attempt to settle this dispute and work with the company on the resolution.

     

Let me clarify a few points.

The company said there were two attempts to contact me about the satisfaction of their work.  I only received one in which I returned the call and expressed my dissatisfaction as stated previously.  

The response from Promaster does not address the multiple communications made with the service person. I communicated directly with service person on multiple occasions since he was the one who had the tiles.  I was coordinating a time in which I could review. I worked out a solution where the service person could drop them off at my home.   After many promises by the service person to drop off the tiles spanning multiple weeks he did not deliver the tiles.


I am requesting from the company to send me:

  • Copy of the original contract entered into with the company with time date stamp.

  • Copy of the work order for the work performed that day with time date stamp.

Certainly this is a reasonable request


Regards,

Mike Kraemer