BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati

Phone: (513) 724-0539 Fax: (513) 327-2277 View Additional Phone Numbers 1375 State Route 131  Ste C3, Milford, OH 45150 http://www.guildquality.com/mastermylist View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers home repair, remodeling and handyman services including basements, bathrooms, carpentry, decks, doors, drywall, electrical, flooring, kitchens, masonry, painting, plaster repair, roofing, siding, and tile.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ProMaster Home Repair & Remodeling of Cincinnati
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 10, 2007 Business started: 08/29/2006 in OH Business incorporated: 08/28/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald R. Kennedy III, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald R. Kennedy III, President
Business Category

Handyman Services Christmas Lights & Decorations Water Damage Restoration Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Windows - Repairing Fence Staining Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Gutter Cleaning Kitchen Remodeling Deck - Repair Remodeling Services Deck Builder Soffit & Fascia Home Repair & Maintenance Carpenters Doors - Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Painting Contractors Siding Contractors Skylights Construction & Remodeling Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MC, AMEX, Disc
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year labor and materials warranty
Alternate Business Names
Red Pill, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1375 State Route 131  Ste C3

    Milford, OH 45150 (513) 724-0539

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 574-5150(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro master came out to our house to repair a rotted floor in our upstairs bathroom caused by a broken seal around the toilet. ProMater came out around Jan 30th 2014 and fixed the floor (still unfinished) and got the toilet working. However, since we had tile in the bathroom they were going to look for replacement tile and come back and finish tiling and putting the molding back. Also, due to the water damage we had discoloring in the garage which was not repaired. Promaster only cut access holes in the ceiling but did not fix the water damaged ceiling. We paid them for their work on that day with the expectation that they would come back and finish the job. It is now March 9th 2014 and not only is the job still not finished but after multiple attempts to contact them and asking them to drop the tile off for us to look at they still have not dropped the tile off or fixed the ceiling Each week we we're promised that the tile would be dropped off for us to look at so we would know how to proceed with the rest of the job and each week the tile is not dropped off. We are now in a position where we have to find another company to come in and finish the work.

Desired Settlement: We would like a cash refund for what we will be charged to finish the work Promaster started. This does not include the tiling but includes the additional work the new company will need to do to finish the ceiling in the garage, change seal on the toilet (since the one they put on was suppose to be temporary until they could finish), address the mold, and all other repairs the new company will need to do to get it to the point of installing the tile

Business Response:

An examination of the company phone system, Customer Relations Management (CRM) records and email communication was reviewed to establish the following chronology of events.  Company determined that it fulfilled its contract to client and address any subsequent concerns.

The original contract did not specify replacing any floor tile or repairing the drywall.  Contract was to remove drywall from the ceiling beneath the leaking bathroom, find the source of leak, repair the leak and the toilet.  After the leak repair was completed, a post service follow-up call was made by the company on 2/6/14.  CRM notes on the call: “Left voice mail regarding expectations being met, questions, continuation of tile searching for bathroom.”  No mention of client dissatisfaction was noted at this time.  It took several weeks to locate similar tile.  Once the tile was located, company asked client to bring samples to home.  Client was dissatisfied with the delay in finding and delivering tile and indicated to company they would select an alternate contractor to complete the tile work.

Company did not complete the tile work because a) the client did not originally contract for it and b) client indicated they did not want company to perform it after tile samples were obtained.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business is half true.  We did contract with them to repair the floor and toilet however they work day to day so the follow up was to finish the bathroom. They were to come out and finish the tile and trim.  The fact that they admit in their response they were looking for tile is evidence of this.  I understood at the time it would take a while to find the tile and waited for their call.  Once I received their call I responded multiple time to have them leave it on our front porch so we could review.  They kept promising to leave it on the porch but never made an attempt.   The company obviously does not have good records because months later they called me to see if I was happy with their work and asked if I had anything else we needed done.  When I told the person on the phone that the repair person never came back to finish the job she laughed and made light of it.   She had no idea the job was not completed.   Sounds like since they have no record of my calls and dissatisfaction their is a severe communication issue inside the company.

Regards,

**** *******




Business Response:

It appears the homeowner is advancing 3 core arguments, namely that:

  1. ProMaster was contractually responsible for performing the tile work.

  2. ProMaster made no attempt to contact client when matching tile was found.

  3. ProMaster made no follow up attempts to schedule future work or check satisfaction with the work that had been done.

Documentation (the contract itself) disproves (1). Audio recording of phone calls substantiated by CRM database records disprove (2) and (3).

ProMaster invested significant time to locate matching tile for client.  It follows that ProMaster desired to earn the opportunity for the additional work from the client.  When client decided they did not want ProMaster to complete the tile work, the company obliged.  ProMaster was not made aware of any client dissatisfaction as client did not return the Operations Manager’s standard post-service follow up call (which resulted in a voicemail) on 2/6/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  • I have since had a contractor out to fix the bathroom and the contractor had to replace the floor in the bathroom that pro-masters installed.
  • I guess in comes down to this, does Promaster stand behind their work and promises?  If so, then I would be willing to settle for a refund of half the amount we paid for the work Promaster did.  I think that is more than fair.
  • If Promaster does not stand behind their work and promises then I think it is important for future customers to know and I think they should be up front about this before they start any job.
Regards,

**** *******




Business Response:

The question was asked, "Does ProMaster stand behind its work?"

The answer is "Yes."  This subject was covered previously where ProMaster made two separate attempts to check up on clients' satisfaction with job after work was complete.  If client had an issue with work performed, they could have responded to our service follow up calls, or called/emailed our office any time to set up a service call, under warranty.

However, this not apply to work we a) didn't contract for to perform or b) that another contractor altered later.  Both conditions are true in this case, as ProMaster did not contract to perform tile work for client and by clients' own admission, hired their own contractor to alter existing work.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9960222, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per the original complaint filed on 03/09/2014- We would like a cash refund for what we will be charged to finish the work Promaster started. This does not include the tiling but includes the additional work the new company will need to do to finish the ceiling in the garage, change seal on the toilet (since the one they put on was supposed to be temporary until they could finish), address the mold, and all other repairs the new company will need to do to get it to the point of installing the tile


First response from Promaster was 05/01/2014 - I have since had a contractor out to fix the bathroom due to lack of response.

  • Since the original complaint on 03/09/2013 The new contractor had to replace the floor in the bathroom that pro-master installed. 

  • My request of half refund was an attempt to settle this dispute and work with the company on the resolution.

     

Let me clarify a few points.

The company said there were two attempts to contact me about the satisfaction of their work.  I only received one in which I returned the call and expressed my dissatisfaction as stated previously.  

The response from Promaster does not address the multiple communications made with the service person. I communicated directly with service person on multiple occasions since he was the one who had the tiles.  I was coordinating a time in which I could review. I worked out a solution where the service person could drop them off at my home.   After many promises by the service person to drop off the tiles spanning multiple weeks he did not deliver the tiles.


I am requesting from the company to send me:

  • Copy of the original contract entered into with the company with time date stamp.

  • Copy of the work order for the work performed that day with time date stamp.

Certainly this is a reasonable request


Regards,

Mike Kraemer




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid ProMaster $79 for an estimate on a home repair to the exterior of my house on Friday, 04/13/2012. ProMaster's agent was on time and viewed the area visually only - pointing out the areas I already knew needed repair. Some discussion was had and at one point he asked me what could I afford - I did not respond with a figure, only saying the work had to be done. I asked specifically for a ballpark figure for "worst case scenario" so I'd know if I could afford the work, if it would require requesting a bank loan to meet repair costs. After much delayed silence he said only one word as answer to my question which was "Eight" with a shrug, which I took to mean $8,000. I replied "That I could manage that" and from there he said he had no equipment with him, and would have to come back for a 2nd estimate. He handed me a paper saying I had to sign it in order for ProMaster to charge for $79 for the estimate and I signed, and never mentioned the paper detailed a 2nd estimate at a cost of $600 - $800. Over the weekend I read his notations on the paper I signed and discovered his "Eight" was NOT an estimate for the cost of the repair, but an estimate for $600 to $800 to do a 2nd estimate. The only 'estimate' I received for my $79 was an estimate for a 2nd estimate... ProMaster's agent was deliberate in misleading me. I called ProMaster Monday, 04/16,2012, to talk about this and they immediately became defensive defending the agent and not answering my question regarding the lack of an estimate for my $79. I said unless I have some idea of the total cost I cannot afford $800 more just to find out. The man on the phone, still very tense and overreacting, agreed to have the agent call me back the next day at 10am, but he never called.I wasted 10 days just waiting for them to come out to make their estimate - time I could have spent looking for another contractor.I called ProMaster on Tuesday, 04/17/2012, and cancelled the 2nd estimate.

Desired Settlement: I paid $79 for an estimate I never received, and ProMaster should refund my $79. I was not told I was paying $79 for an estimate for a 2nd estimate costing an additional $600.00 - $800.00.

Consumer Response:

 

***** **** ************************** 
04/19/2012 04:20 PM 
 To: info@cincinnati.bbb.org
 
Please be informed ProMaster left a message on my phone agreeing not to charge for the $79 Estimate fee since I didn't receive an Estimate. 
Thank you! 
***** **** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.