BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a manufacturer of gutters and downspouts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated 09/24/2007 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner Mr. John Cross, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Cross, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Related Businesses
GutterShutter
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards

Service Area
Tri-state
Alternate Business Names
Mid-America Gutters, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11820 Kemper Springs Dr

    Parkdale, OH 45240 (877) 677-4888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 5th, we purchased a gutter system through this company. During the Sales Pitch the salesman quoted me a price on the gutter system along with new fascia wrap, and new soffits (fascia wrap and soffits in aluminum). After contacting someone at his office he requoted me a price and told me that it would be cheaper for me to just go with the fascia wrap and said "You will want us to do the fascia wrap because it has to be done with the gutters down. Otherwise you will have to remove the gutters to replace the fascia wrap later." Thus we paid the extra 500+ dollars to have the fascia wrap replaced while the gutters were off. When I came upon my house after work on the day they were replacing the gutters I found that they had installed the gutters without the fascia wrap being replaced. At first they argued with me about me not purchasing this product but after verification they just said they had to continue and they would fix it later. We called the company and they instructed their crew to stop work on the job immediately. The crew continued to work and said they would be back another day for the "easy fix." They came back a few days later and just slid new fascia wrap behind the gutters (without removing them). I know this because the old fascia wrap can still be felt underneath the "new" wrap. It was installed haphazardly and looked terrible; however, they came back out and repaired that issue and it looks nicer. My concern comes from a few issues: 1. After contacting the company they sent out an inspector to review the work. That worker said they would called me in a couple days to inform us of the work they were to do to repair. That call was never made to us and the work was done to fix what he thought was the issue. 2. The company came out to fix the issue without calling and it still had not replaced the old fascia wrap just covered it...it did "look" better though. When my son called to discuss that issue Brittany told my son either she or the general manager would call back the next day. That call was never received by myself or my son. 3. Upon calling today (still dealing with the issue 1 month later), the operations manager did not like my son's "tone" (which I would think would be understandable given the runaround we have been given) and stated that he would do the job "our way" but would make us sign a statement to the affect of us assuming liability because it was not the way he recommended it (which is unacceptable). He then said he would do it if we contacted another agency that could confirm that they disagreed with the way they had done the work; thus I am contacting you to seek your opinion on the matter. 4. The salesman quoted us a price product and work that was not followed through with the way he explained it would be done. Either we should be refunded our money on that part of the job or a sizable discount because they used less man hours without removing the old fascia wrap, and less aluminum fascia product since they could not have covered all the way to the drip edge with aluminum like they had quoted. 5. I have been bounced around from one person to another without anyone taking ownership of fully resolving the issues. 6. I'm concerned that with the product being installed the way it was that the fascia wrap will fail and cause damage to my house. 7. They charged me the 2nd half of my payment without approval from my son (who paid) since the repairs had not been finished(who paid). They initially called and asked for payment after installation and we did not want to pay until we were satisfied; however, they used the same credit card used for the 1st half without approval from me or my son (I would imagine this is illegal). All in all I do like the gutters which were installed. I am not satisfied yet on how the fascia wrap was installed and am concerned with its future viability. I also, do not believe that the company's customer service handles customer complaints well. Your operations manager should not get argumentative with a customer when they are complaining about an issue that has not been resolved or even communicated about. People along the way I felt handled the issues well: Keith (the inspector) - seemed transparent and went out of his way to make me an my son not feel like the bad guys. Said multiple times "We will fix this," and told us we should get a call back (which we did not). Brittany (answered the phone) - handled my son's complaints multiple times and calmly took notes and said she would forward them on to the managers (sometimes they did not return our calls). Chris (one of the manager) - Always dealt with us in a dignified manner and felt as if he understood our concerns.

Desired Settlement: Honestly, I'm not sure how this should all be rectified. My best case scenario is this: Come back to the house remove the gutters, remove the old fascia wrap, install new fascia wrap properly, install gutters back on the house properly, and do not require signing any assumption of liability statement because you quoted the work that way in the first placed. Along with this I believe it prudent to have a refund of some sort because of the continual hassle that we have had to deal with (this is the first time I have even considered asking for this, but I am so beyond myself at this point that I feel compelled). Simply put, do it the way you said you would from the beginning and make sure the work is the highest standard that would not need extra coverage from liability. I would appreciate better communication along the process as well as it is being completed. I would also like to request a different crew to work on the job because I do not trust their workmanship or their dedication to doing the job the right way (I'm worried they will be annoyed at having to fix their own work that they believe was done right). If the company cannot follow that, I would like to have the money for the fascia wrap refunded, and this complaint to remain in their file, and for them to assume all liability if the fascia wrap were to fail at any time.

Business Response:

Response to complaint ID #********

04/05/16

Factory Rep provided the customer estimate on doing soffit, fascia wrap, and leaf & debris gutter system. After figuring out cost to do what customer wanted done, customer decided it was more than they intended on spending at the time. The rep then wrote up 2nd estimate to just for the gutter system only. While explaining everything about the system and how things work , the customer ask if the gutters would cover entire fascia board. Customer was worried about the having new gutters and still seeing old aluminum fascia cover under gutter. At this time the rep explained that gutter wouldn't cover the entire fascia board on home due to fascia board being 8" not 6" which is the size of the gutter. So they decided to do the fascia cover only on the areas that would have gutters installed . This was for aesthetic reasons only, the home already had aluminum soffit and fascia cover installed.  Customer agreed and wanted to move forward with the estimate to do the gutter system, and doing fascia cover on areas of the home where gutters would be as well.

The change on the contract to add fascia cover was not clearly written on the second contract, as originally it was on the first contract written and he just added the cost to the second one. This was clearly an honest mistake made by the rep.

04/19/16

Installers went to the customers home and started working, 3/4 way into the installation is when customer brought to the installers attention that we were to be installing fascia cover as well. Installer told customer that he didn't have anything on his work order about the fascia cover. Customer brought out her copy and showed him, therefore customer contacted office and that's when we found out the proper information wasn't transferred to the 2nd contract. Since installer didn't have materials to do the fascia cover with him, he decided to go ahead and finish the gutters and come back the next morning to install the fascia cover.

This is where confusion took place based on the information given to the customer during the visit by the factory rep. During this time as usual the rep explained how the work was performed, and the process in how everything would be done. Due to the fact the original contract was written to replace all the soffit, wrap, and gutters on the home. The rep. explained that installers would remove everything and do soffit work first, followed by wrapping all the wood and capping off the soffit. Then the gutters would be installed last, this is why customer thinks we didn't do the job properly. Remember that all this was explained when thought we were doing everything on the home. The contract was changed to do the gutter system and fascia cover, for aesthetic reasons we were to do fascia cover where the gutters were to be installed only. The following day the installer went back and installed fascia cover over the existing  cover and slid it behind the gutters that were already installed. This is why the customer feels like we are not doing the job as it should be. Because they were under the impression that only way to do it was remove the gutters and existing fascia cover on the home before we installed the fascia cover.

Do to the circumstances and the reason for the fascia cover, there would be no reason to remove everything prior to installing the fascia cover on the customers home. Tried to explain this to customer that the way the installation was performed is correct and would have no issues. The installation looks great, and sure the customer would agree as well. I do apologize for the miscommunication that took place, and do admit it was on the companies behalf that this occurred. We do try to explain everything in detail to any customer, and in this case where changes were made it has clearly caused more harm than good.

As for the resolution to this matter, if the customer wants reimbursement on the fascia cover and this will resolve the issue. I will discuss this with the owner of the company and maybe we can put this behind us. The last thing we want as a company is an unhappy customer, and or customer that feels we intentionally done them wrong.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the reimbursement for the fascia cover is an acceptable response; however, this issue (complaint) is not resolved until we receive full reimbursement for the fascia cover.

Regards, 

***** *******

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the reimbursement for the fascia cover is an acceptable response; however, this issue (complaint) is not resolved until we receive full reimbursement for the fascia cover.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

Ok, please find a liability release form attached. We will need a signed copy from the customer prior to issuing a check, will send the form to email address listed for the customer as well. Let us know if there is anything else needed, and upon receiving a signed copy we will issue a check in the amount of $540.00 to the customer. Thanks

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will sign the Liability Release form once I receive written confirmation from Steve *****, The Gutter Shutter Co., that my life-time warranties on the system and products I purchased remain valid and active.  I spoke with Steve ***** on Friday, May 20, 2016 (1:35 p.m.) and he gave me a verbal confirmation on the warranties. He agreed to email a written confirmation to me, but I have not received one as of this time.



Regards,
***** *******

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased gutters 7 years ago, paying a high price thinking with life time warranty this would last longer then they did. They are installed in correctly. Since the time of installation the gutters have pulled away from the middle of the house. We were told it was from the weight of the gutters that cause the problem. We have contacted Mr ***** ****** at ************. *** in Customer service which connected us to someone else that did not answer. We left a message for a return call but as of today never received a call from anyone. This started in May and it is now July. We have now purchased gutter from American Home Design for the front of the house costing us another *******. We feel that since Gutter Shutter could not service us, that they should be responsible for the charges.

Desired Settlement: We feel like Gutter Shutter should pay for the replacement gutters. Since they has happen we have had lots of rain and with the gutter being incorrect we have water that is now going under the house, which may cause more problems.

Business Response:

Good afternoon Mr.****,

 

All GutterShutter Locations are independently owned and operated. Mid-America Gutters, Inc  produces and sells the GutterShutter product to each location. Any warranties and guarantees that each location offers are and can only be honored by the companies that sold and installed the homeowner any products. The only warranty that we, the manufacture, have is a 20 year guarantee on the baked on enamel paint- That it [ the baked on enamel paint] will not crack, fade, chip, or peel. If you have an additional questions, I will personally be more than happy to contact you.

 

 

 

Respectfully,

 

Melissa Crain

Director of Dealer Services

Mid-America Gutters, Inc.

11820 Kemper Springs Dr.

Cincinnati, Ohio 45240

W: 513.671.3505 opt. 3

F: 513.671.3575

www.GutterShutter.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

   We feel the business  did not stand behind there product and the warranty we thought we had was customer satisfaction, but boy we were wrong.  According to the people that removed the gutter, it was structure problems that cause the gutter to fall, which they should have noticed before installing the gutters.  I know we won't get anything out of this, but I do hope this complaint will help others in going with someone other then Gutter shutter.

Regards,

****** ****

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had The Gutter Sutter install Gutters and they never installed drip edges and used the old one. They came out and replaced but under the awning they never and told me they was. It drips under the awning cause the old drip edge was bent and cut. *** told me on the phone a couple weeks ago he would replace all the way around the house and his team didn't do it again like he said. He told me his service team is a different team so they can see if they are doing the work correctly and even told me his team inspected it last time and was done wrong.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to come out and finish.

Business Response:

This is in Regards to **** ******:

 

We service Mr. ******* home on 7/1, and took care of his concerns.  My apologies for not responding earlier.

 

Respectfully,

 

**** ***** GM. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******

6/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with Gutter Shutter since Mid April. I now hav maple trees growing in my gutters and wanted to have the, pressure washed but I don't hear from them at all. They sent someone out a coup,e of weeks ago to measure my gutters but they haven't been cleaned out. II CANNOT CLIMB A LADDER AND GET UPON MY ROOF? THAT IS THE REASON WE SPENT ALL THAT MONEY TO HAVE GUTTERSHUTTERS PUT ON MY HOUSE? I HAVE MY PURCHASE ORDER AND CANCELLED CHECKS BUT THAT DOESN'T SEEM TO MEAN ABYTHING!

Desired Settlement: Need to have the gutters cleaned like they advertise!

Business Response:

We have a service set up for Monday 22, 2015. to clean the gutters.

 

**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

They came today and pressure washed my gutters and cleaned them out.  Hopefully I won't have this problem next year when the Maple trees unload on my house.
Thanks for your help!

6/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the GutterShutter system installed on our house in September 2013. The gutter on the front of our house is clogged, and we've had to unclog it several times. The GutterShutter warranty states "The GutterShutter system has a lifetime No-Clog Warranty and, in the event the gutters become clogged, the Company agrees to clean the gutters at no charge to the Customer." We attempted to contact the dealer/installer of our GutterShutter, ***** ********, owner of A******* ***** **** *********, to address this issue. At the time of installation, we expressed concern that there was only one downspout for the front gutter, but he assured us it would be sufficient, and he would be happy to return and install an additional downspout if we felt it was necessary. The front gutter gets clogged, so it may need an additional downspout or it may have been installed at the incorrect angle. The office number for A******* ***** **** ********* is no longer in service, there is no longer a website for the company, email to the company is returned. We reached him on a cell number on 4-21-2015 which he answered with a simple "Hello", not with a business identification. He said he would arrange a visit early the following week. We did not hear from him, so on 5-2-2015 we called him again, and he assured us he would be in touch the following week. We have never heard from him. Since it it the GutterShutter product that has the lifetime warranty, we sent a letter, 5-15-2015, via certified mail, to the GutterShutter Manufacturing Company explaining the situation and asking for their assistance in getting this warranty honored. They received it 5-18-2015. We did not get any response, so on 6-1-2015 we called the GutterShutter Manufacturing Company. I initially spoke with service manager *** ******, who transferred me to ******* who handles our area. I spoke with ******* ***** at 11:06 a.m. She said she had been out of the office for 3 weeks and had not seen our letter until just now. She said ***** ******** is still the dealer for our area and still in business and she would contact him and she would get back to me by the next morning at the latest. When I did not hear from her, I called her 6-2-2105 at 1:22 p.m. She said she spoke to Mr. ******** and that he would contact us that day to arrange to install the additional downspout. We heard nothing from Mr. ********. On 6-3-2015 at 2:30 p.m. I called ******* and left a voice message that we had not heard from Mr. ******** and to please call me. On 6-4-2015 11:55 a.m. I called ******* and left a voice message that we still had not heard from Mr. ******** and were concerned at what they were going to do to help us with this issue and to please call me. On 6-5-2015 11:30 a.m. I called ******* and left a voice message to please call me. The same day at 11:33 a.m. I left a voice message for service manager *** ****** to please call me. On 6-8-2015 I called and asked to speak to someone in customer service regarding questions about the warranty, and was transferred to *** ****** and got his voice mail. I left a message to please call me regarding questions about the warranty. It seems clear that Mr. ******** is no longer in business, however it is the GutterShutter product that carries the lifetime no-clog warranty, so the GutterShutter Manufacturing Company should be held to the lifetime warranty. They are not returning my calls. We are unable to get this warranty honored.

Desired Settlement: The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company needs to honor the contract with the Lifetime Warranty. This would require, at the very minimum, cleaning the gutter, but would probably need an adjustment to the gutter in order for it to function properly.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


I, ******* *****, have personally spoken with Mrs. ***** **** a couple of times in regards to ***** ********. As I have explained on any calls, all GutterShutter Locations are independently owned and operated. *********** *******, Inc D.B.A. The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company produces and sells the GutterShutter product to each location. Any warranties and guarantees that each location offers are and can only be honored by the companies that sold and installed the homeowner any products. After returning from my trip and receiving her letter, I did personally speak with Mrs. ***** **** and she confirmed verbally as well as in her letter that ***** ******** was not returning her calls and she is in need of a new downspout added to her existing GutterShutter system. The same day I tried to contact Mr. ***** ******** and after going over her [Mrs. ***** ****] concerns about her system, as well as his website being shut down and him [***** ********] not returning her calls; Mr. ***** ******** informed me that he would contact ***. **** immediately to set up the install.  I did call Mrs. ***** **** again today [ June 9th, 2015 @ 4:45 pm ] and explained how each GutterShutter location is independently owned and operated and that any warranties and guarantees that each location offers are and can only be honored by the companies that sold and installed the homeowner any products. The only warranty that we, the manufacture, have is a 20 year guarantee on the baked on enamel paint- That it [ the baked on enamel paint] will not crack, fade, chip, or peel. 

If there are any additional questions or anything else I can assist you with, please contact me at any time. 

 

 

Respectfully,

 

******* *****

Director of Dealer Services

*********** *******, Inc.

***** ****** ******* *** *********** **** *****

W: ************ opt. 3

F: ************

www.GutterShutter.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've asked this company to remove my name from their mailing/calling list at least eight times over the past 10 months. They keep calling and called me again today. I've filed complaints and cannot get them to stop this harassment.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to confirm I have been removed from their calling / mailing lists and will never be bothered again with an email via BBB.

Business Response: Mr. ****** has been removed from our data Base and will not be contacted again.

Respectfully,

**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. While I don't think it should have came to this and I expected an apology I want the issue to be resolved.

Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart