BBB Accredited Business since

The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company

Phone: (877) 677-4888 11820 Kemper Springs Dr, Parkdale, OH 45240 http://guttershutter.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a manufacturer of gutters and downspouts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated 09/24/2007 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner Mr. John Cross, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Cross, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Related Businesses
GutterShutter
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards

Service Area
Tri-state
Alternate Business Names
Mid-America Gutters, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11820 Kemper Springs Dr

    Parkdale, OH 45240

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased gutters 7 years ago, paying a high price thinking with life time warranty this would last longer then they did. They are installed in correctly. Since the time of installation the gutters have pulled away from the middle of the house. We were told it was from the weight of the gutters that cause the problem. We have contacted Mr ***** ****** at ************. *** in Customer service which connected us to someone else that did not answer. We left a message for a return call but as of today never received a call from anyone. This started in May and it is now July. We have now purchased gutter from American Home Design for the front of the house costing us another *******. We feel that since Gutter Shutter could not service us, that they should be responsible for the charges.

Desired Settlement: We feel like Gutter Shutter should pay for the replacement gutters. Since they has happen we have had lots of rain and with the gutter being incorrect we have water that is now going under the house, which may cause more problems.

Business Response:

Good afternoon Mr.****,

 

All GutterShutter Locations are independently owned and operated. Mid-America Gutters, Inc  produces and sells the GutterShutter product to each location. Any warranties and guarantees that each location offers are and can only be honored by the companies that sold and installed the homeowner any products. The only warranty that we, the manufacture, have is a 20 year guarantee on the baked on enamel paint- That it [ the baked on enamel paint] will not crack, fade, chip, or peel. If you have an additional questions, I will personally be more than happy to contact you.

 

 

 

Respectfully,

 

Melissa Crain

Director of Dealer Services

Mid-America Gutters, Inc.

11820 Kemper Springs Dr.

Cincinnati, Ohio 45240

W: 513.671.3505 opt. 3

F: 513.671.3575

www.GutterShutter.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

   We feel the business  did not stand behind there product and the warranty we thought we had was customer satisfaction, but boy we were wrong.  According to the people that removed the gutter, it was structure problems that cause the gutter to fall, which they should have noticed before installing the gutters.  I know we won't get anything out of this, but I do hope this complaint will help others in going with someone other then Gutter shutter.

Regards,

****** ****

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had The Gutter Sutter install Gutters and they never installed drip edges and used the old one. They came out and replaced but under the awning they never and told me they was. It drips under the awning cause the old drip edge was bent and cut. *** told me on the phone a couple weeks ago he would replace all the way around the house and his team didn't do it again like he said. He told me his service team is a different team so they can see if they are doing the work correctly and even told me his team inspected it last time and was done wrong.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to come out and finish.

Business Response:

This is in Regards to **** ******:

 

We service Mr. ******* home on 7/1, and took care of his concerns.  My apologies for not responding earlier.

 

Respectfully,

 

**** ***** GM. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******

6/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with Gutter Shutter since Mid April. I now hav maple trees growing in my gutters and wanted to have the, pressure washed but I don't hear from them at all. They sent someone out a coup,e of weeks ago to measure my gutters but they haven't been cleaned out. II CANNOT CLIMB A LADDER AND GET UPON MY ROOF? THAT IS THE REASON WE SPENT ALL THAT MONEY TO HAVE GUTTERSHUTTERS PUT ON MY HOUSE? I HAVE MY PURCHASE ORDER AND CANCELLED CHECKS BUT THAT DOESN'T SEEM TO MEAN ABYTHING!

Desired Settlement: Need to have the gutters cleaned like they advertise!

Business Response:

We have a service set up for Monday 22, 2015. to clean the gutters.

 

**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

They came today and pressure washed my gutters and cleaned them out.  Hopefully I won't have this problem next year when the Maple trees unload on my house.
Thanks for your help!

6/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the GutterShutter system installed on our house in September 2013. The gutter on the front of our house is clogged, and we've had to unclog it several times. The GutterShutter warranty states "The GutterShutter system has a lifetime No-Clog Warranty and, in the event the gutters become clogged, the Company agrees to clean the gutters at no charge to the Customer." We attempted to contact the dealer/installer of our GutterShutter, ***** ********, owner of A******* ***** **** *********, to address this issue. At the time of installation, we expressed concern that there was only one downspout for the front gutter, but he assured us it would be sufficient, and he would be happy to return and install an additional downspout if we felt it was necessary. The front gutter gets clogged, so it may need an additional downspout or it may have been installed at the incorrect angle. The office number for A******* ***** **** ********* is no longer in service, there is no longer a website for the company, email to the company is returned. We reached him on a cell number on 4-21-2015 which he answered with a simple "Hello", not with a business identification. He said he would arrange a visit early the following week. We did not hear from him, so on 5-2-2015 we called him again, and he assured us he would be in touch the following week. We have never heard from him. Since it it the GutterShutter product that has the lifetime warranty, we sent a letter, 5-15-2015, via certified mail, to the GutterShutter Manufacturing Company explaining the situation and asking for their assistance in getting this warranty honored. They received it 5-18-2015. We did not get any response, so on 6-1-2015 we called the GutterShutter Manufacturing Company. I initially spoke with service manager *** ******, who transferred me to ******* who handles our area. I spoke with ******* ***** at 11:06 a.m. She said she had been out of the office for 3 weeks and had not seen our letter until just now. She said ***** ******** is still the dealer for our area and still in business and she would contact him and she would get back to me by the next morning at the latest. When I did not hear from her, I called her 6-2-2105 at 1:22 p.m. She said she spoke to Mr. ******** and that he would contact us that day to arrange to install the additional downspout. We heard nothing from Mr. ********. On 6-3-2015 at 2:30 p.m. I called ******* and left a voice message that we had not heard from Mr. ******** and to please call me. On 6-4-2015 11:55 a.m. I called ******* and left a voice message that we still had not heard from Mr. ******** and were concerned at what they were going to do to help us with this issue and to please call me. On 6-5-2015 11:30 a.m. I called ******* and left a voice message to please call me. The same day at 11:33 a.m. I left a voice message for service manager *** ****** to please call me. On 6-8-2015 I called and asked to speak to someone in customer service regarding questions about the warranty, and was transferred to *** ****** and got his voice mail. I left a message to please call me regarding questions about the warranty. It seems clear that Mr. ******** is no longer in business, however it is the GutterShutter product that carries the lifetime no-clog warranty, so the GutterShutter Manufacturing Company should be held to the lifetime warranty. They are not returning my calls. We are unable to get this warranty honored.

Desired Settlement: The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company needs to honor the contract with the Lifetime Warranty. This would require, at the very minimum, cleaning the gutter, but would probably need an adjustment to the gutter in order for it to function properly.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


I, ******* *****, have personally spoken with Mrs. ***** **** a couple of times in regards to ***** ********. As I have explained on any calls, all GutterShutter Locations are independently owned and operated. *********** *******, Inc D.B.A. The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company produces and sells the GutterShutter product to each location. Any warranties and guarantees that each location offers are and can only be honored by the companies that sold and installed the homeowner any products. After returning from my trip and receiving her letter, I did personally speak with Mrs. ***** **** and she confirmed verbally as well as in her letter that ***** ******** was not returning her calls and she is in need of a new downspout added to her existing GutterShutter system. The same day I tried to contact Mr. ***** ******** and after going over her [Mrs. ***** ****] concerns about her system, as well as his website being shut down and him [***** ********] not returning her calls; Mr. ***** ******** informed me that he would contact ***. **** immediately to set up the install.  I did call Mrs. ***** **** again today [ June 9th, 2015 @ 4:45 pm ] and explained how each GutterShutter location is independently owned and operated and that any warranties and guarantees that each location offers are and can only be honored by the companies that sold and installed the homeowner any products. The only warranty that we, the manufacture, have is a 20 year guarantee on the baked on enamel paint- That it [ the baked on enamel paint] will not crack, fade, chip, or peel. 

If there are any additional questions or anything else I can assist you with, please contact me at any time. 

 

 

Respectfully,

 

******* *****

Director of Dealer Services

*********** *******, Inc.

***** ****** ******* *** *********** **** *****

W: ************ opt. 3

F: ************

www.GutterShutter.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've asked this company to remove my name from their mailing/calling list at least eight times over the past 10 months. They keep calling and called me again today. I've filed complaints and cannot get them to stop this harassment.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to confirm I have been removed from their calling / mailing lists and will never be bothered again with an email via BBB.

Business Response: Mr. ****** has been removed from our data Base and will not be contacted again.

Respectfully,

**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. While I don't think it should have came to this and I expected an apology I want the issue to be resolved.

Regards,

******* ******