BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a manufacturer of gutters and downspouts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 03, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated: 09/24/2007 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner Mr. John Cross, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Cross, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Related Businesses
GutterShutter
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts

Service Area
Tri-state
Alternate Business Names
Mid-America Gutters, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 11820 Kemper Springs Dr

    Parkdale, OH 45240

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Gutter Shutters installed in December 2012. We were attracted by the idea that we would not have to clean out gutters again. That was a mild winter, and the problem did not materialize until the following winter (2013-2014). Our gutters were totally encased in ice dams, and we had ice along the sides of the house as well. As the ice melted, it leaked into the house. When Gutter Shutter came to inspect in March 2014, they found that its gutter installation was improper, in that the installers failed to install a flashing (drip edge). Gutter Shutter told us this was the cause of the ice around the sides of the house, but that the ice dams were caused by insufficient insulation. We have always had sufficient insulation for all purposes, and have never had a problem with ice dams previously. In installing the gutters, Gutter Shutter never indicated that ice dams could be a problem. In March 2014, Gutter Shutter finally installed the flashing. But you could see from the street and close-up pictures that it was not installed properly. We had the work inspected by a contractor (Rick ***** at Stan Better Construction) who had previously worked on the house, who told us that the way Gutter Shutter installed the flashing would make the ice dams worse. In July 2014, Gutter Shutter did reinstall the flashing. But upon inspection Mr. ***** concluded that the job done by Gutter Shutter was still defective. The flashing as installed is raising the first row of roof shingles so water will pond, creating the possibility of leaks and making the ice dam situation worse. According to Mr. *****, it is necessary to either lower the profile of the flashing or lowering the gutter to accommodate the flashing as installed. I sent pictures which show the problems and an explanation to our Gutter Shutter representative, Dave *********. I told him that Mr. ***** asked to have Mr. ********* explain the problem and what needed to be done to fix it. But despite multiple requests, Mr. ********* has refused to do so.

Desired Settlement: The product is inherently defective, and was not installed properly. Gutter Shutter told me that the flashing would only take care of the ice around the sides of the house, and not the ice dams. I don't buy the explanation that the ice dams are caused by insufficient insulation, and neither does Mr. *****. However, the failure to properly install the flashing will make the ice dams worse. The product is not suitable for a climate like Cincinnati, where we can get a great deal of ice and snow. Moreover, rain is overshooting the gutters. Gutter Shutter does not seem capable of installing the gutters, or the flashing properly, and would prefer if we just "get lost." We are very worried about what will happen over the winter, as the ice dams can damage the house. I regret doing business with them. We want our money back ($3,873) so we can purchase new gutters before winter that will not cause ice dams.

Business Response:  We will be at Mr. ******'s home on 9/11/14, at that time we will inspect the system and if it needs to be rehung we will do so.


John Cross
GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Gutter Shutter did come today to inspect, and we appreciate that.  We are waiting to receive their written evaluation of the situation, which we will review with our advisors.  At this point it is too early to determine if the response resolves the matter.

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: Gutter Shutter did send a technician to inspect the gutters and make recommendations.  He came almost 2 weeks ago.  Gutter Shutter told us they would provide us with a written report.  We are still waiting.  They say we will get it next week.  

  **** ******

Business Response:

I have reviewed both with the production manager and the installer that was sent to your home to do an inspection. After many conversations and reviewing the pictures, the consensus opinion is that you shingles are pushed up because of the way your fascia was installed. It is above the roof line and that’s what is causing the issue. As far as your original contact concerned about “ice dams”, I have included a link you might find useful.

 

http://www.icedamremovalguys.com/learning-center/ice-dam-myth-busters/myth1-gutters-cause-ice-dams/

 

I do apologize in the delay in getting this to you but I wanted to make sure all the different angles were weighed and opinions heard.

 

At this point, the only logical fix would be getting with a contractor to trim back the fascia board so that is even with or slightly below the roof-line edge.

 

Should you need anything else from me or the Gutter Shutter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Respectfully,

 

John cross

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.

I would not recommend Gutter Shutter to my worst enemy.  Let's focus on what we know.  First of all, we know Gutter Shutter is incompetent.  This is proven by these facts: (1) GS failed to install a drip edge when the gutters were originally installed in December 2012.  (2) When GS finally installed a drip edge in March 2014, the installation was so defective the problems were visible from the street.  Secondly, we know GS is not reputable.  (1) As shown by the fine print of the contract, which was not called to our attention, GS knew that icing problems were likely to occur, yet said nothing. (2) When the drip edge job was redone in July 2014, according to GS it was obvious that the drip edge, gutters, fascia, and shingles were not meeting properly, yet GS said nothing.  (I suppose this one is really a combination of incompetence and lack of reputability.)

The roof was installed in 2008. We had absolutely no problems with icing or anything else until the Gutter Shutters were installed.  We had no problems with the temperature of our roof, or the amount of insulation in the attic, or anything else.  If there was the potential for icing problems, due to how the gutters and roof were meeting, or any other reason, GS had an obligation to tell us.  Had they alerted us to any of these possible problems, we would never have purchased the Gutter Shutters.

So our contractor who installed the roof tells us that the current problem stems from the improper installation of the drip edge.  Gutter Shutter tells us that the problem is with the way the fascia was installed by the contractor.  We have a long record of high satisfaction with the work of our contractor. We have a long record of dissatisfaction with Gutter Shutter.  Who should we believe?

Regardless of the cause, we need to get the problem behind us.  We have absolutely no faith in the ability of Gutter Shutter to deal with it.  So we have no choice but pay additional funds to hire someone else to resolve the problem.

So we accept the business's response, not because we are satisfied, but because we have no faith in the ability of Gutter Shutter to deal with the problem.  It's just time to move on.
   
With regrets,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had The Gutter Shutter Company put gutters and downspouts on home on June 13th 2014. The installers didn't show up until 5:00pm. We made a comment that it is was awfully late to be starting a job. When they were finished it was to late to inspect their work, but they wanted the remaining balance, it was 10:05pm.Our inspection on June 14th 20141. Used Torpedo level instead of 4 X 6 level2. Inside and outside miters cut at 45 degree angle, with 2 straps used to secure, should have been cut to overlap like other companies3. Topper in the back of the house had to be removed, because caulking was not at the miters4. Toppers do not lay flat, which can create a place for debris and bees to get in re-installation of the topper using the same screw holes does not hold as strong or tight5. Screws were spray painted after being installed, which left runs and drips on the gutters and downspouts and overspray on the soffit 6. Extra downspout was added to the back of the house, by the installers, stating 3 would not handle the fall, 3 worked fine before with our old gutters and downspouts7. Downspout to the cistern doesn't fit properly8. Clear silicone used instead of gutter sealant9. One end cap leaks and drips every time it rains10. Drip edge was not installed11. More water comes out of the cleanout, than the downspout12. Clean out box was removed to trim the box and scratched the paint13. Found screws and metal piece in the yard, flowerbeds, and drivewayWe would not recommend using The Gutter Shutter Company to anyone.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a prompt refund.

Business Response: This letter details the facts concerning our product installation at the home of Mr. and Mrs.
CJ *******.
The *******s called us on June 10, 2014, responding to an advertisement in Reach
magazine. They wanted a gutter/downspout installation as quickly as possible, and made an
appointment for our company to visit their home on June 11, 2014. Enclosed is a contract signed
by the *******s on June 11, 2014. Because the *******s were anxious to get the installation
underway, they waived the 3-day right of rescission (see contract), and an appointment for
installation was set for June 13, 2013.
The *******s’ letter mentions that the installers “didn’t show up until 5:00 p.m.” However,
the installation occurred just days away from the longest day of the year, and there was sufficient
light to work until after 9:00 p.m. The installation team has many years of experience and knew that
the job could be fully completed within the time available Although the contract calls for the
installation of drip edge on all new gutters, Mr. ******* refused to have the drip edge installed. The
*******s’ letter details seemingly specific complaints, yet the disk of photos sent to us by Mr.
******* does not show any of the items on his list, other than a closeup showing two screws on the
ground (The *******s’ letter to the BBB says “[f]ound screws and metal piece in the yard,
flowerbeds, and driveway”)
The contract provides that “Customer agrees that the entire contract price shall be paid
immediately upon completion of installation. Payment may be given to installers at time of
completion. Accounts are delinquent when they are unpaid after 5 days past the completion date...”
However, as noted by our installers on the Buyers’ Certificate of Completion” (copy attached),
“Cust. Refused to sign till talks to sales rep. The guy was really drunk.” Mr. ******* refused to pay
the balance due on the installation after it was completed on July 11, 2014.
Mr. ******* called our office on June 16, 2014, wanting return of his down payment and
claiming to be unhappy with the product. Mr. John Cross spoke with him and told him that the
company would take care of any concerns that he had. Mr. ******* said he did not want anyone
from our company on his property.
Despite Mr. *******’s comment, Mrs. ******* spoke with our company’s service manager
to set up a service call for June 23, 2014. When our company team arrived at the *******s’
residence, Mrs. ******* refused to permit our service team access to the property, saying that she
wanted her husband home. Our company tried again that same evening, and was still not permitted
by the *******s to address their concerns.
The company’s service manager contacted the *******s on July 2, 2014 about their unpaid
balance, since they had refused to let the company back on their property to address any concerns.
We were informed by Mr. ******* that he was composing a letter to our company president. Our
company’s service manager spoke to Mrs. ******* on July 8, 2014, who again said that a letter was
forthcoming.
Our company’s view is that we rushed to accommodate the *******s in their request for an
installation as quickly as possible, Mr. ******* refused to let our installers perform the work as
contemplated on the contract, the *******s refused to let our company address any concerns that
the *******s said they had about the installation, and the *******s refused to pay the balance owed.
The complaint made by the *******s to the Better Business Bureau seeks a refund of the down
payment for the installation. The *******s refused to let our company’s service team on their
property, but sent us a CD filled with photos that do not conform to the list of issues in the
*******’s letter to the BBB. It is our view that the *******s have told us of no legitimate
complaint and need to pay the balance due.
Very truly yours,
John Cross
General Manager of The GutterShutter Companies
Enclosures:
Installation Contract For ******* dated June 11, 2014
Buyers’ Certificate of Completion for *******

Consumer Response:

RE: Response to letter received via email 07/22/2014 Installation By the Gutter Shutter Company at the following address

**** ********** ***** ****** **** *****

 

Dear Ms. *********

CJ and I would like to put an end to this matter, in our original photos you can clearly see a photo showing a pile of 9 to 10 screws. The drip edge was not left at our home on the day the gutters and downspouts were delivered, June 12, 2014, nor was it on the truck when the installers were on the premises. We do have witnesses to the time the installers completed for the night at 10:05. Photos of end cap that leaks, clean out where water runs out, scratched clean out and downspout to the cistern were all included, in the original photos. More photos are attached, as now because of improper installation of gutters the roof sheeting is rotting.

Now for the drip edge, if CJ had refused to have the drip edge installed then your installers should have had a Change Order signed or have stopped the job. The cost of installation would have changed at this point.

Now as for finishing a job after 10 p.m. You can't inspect work, in the dark. Not being able to inspect the work performed, is the reason the balance was not paid. The installers were requested to have their boss and the owner of Gutter Shutter contact us on Monday, 06/15/2014. No call. A message was was left on the emergency line on, 06/15/2014 and no call again.

No Show. Appointment had been scheduled with Dave, for 5:00 p.m., on 06/23/2014. Nobody was refused access to the property, because nobody showed up. ******* was not at home from approximately 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., she was at her friends place all day.

Finally, on 06/30/2014, someone finally showed up. An installer came and walked around and took pictures.

Now I would will address the fact that you have slandered my name. You have no idea, other than the information you have received through sub-contractors, on my character, and behavior. Therefore a judgment of that magnitude, was made unjustly.

Due to the improper installation of the gutters, downspouts and no drip edge being installed, we are having damage done to roof sheeting and until the gutters and downspouts are removed, will not be able to see any other unseen damages.

Best Regards

CJ & ******* L. *******

 

Enclosed: Photos

 

Enclosed : Witness Letter



Business Response:

Thank you for your recent email of July 24, 2014 about the installation of gutters and downspouts by our company at the home of Mr. and Mrs. CJ *******.

The *******s’ most recent letter states “the drip edge was not left at our home on the day the gutters and downspouts were delivered, June 12, 2014,” and that the drip edge was not “on the truck when the installers were on the premises.” We do not understand the *******s’ point about the location of the drip edge, since they refused to let our installers install it. However, drip edge does not come pre-manufactured or “off the shelf”; it is custom made at the time of installation right on the job site. Therefore, it could not have been pre-delivered or been seen sitting on the installers’ truck.

Although the contract states that “Company will install drip edge on all new gutters,” Mr. ******* refused to let our installers put drip edge on his home. His reason given at the time was that we needed to paint it to match the color of the gutters after it is custom made, and after he saw the roll of white material that would be formed into the drip edge, he said he was having a new roof installed in two weeks and wanted the roofers to install it when doing the roof work. Mr. ******* said he needed to have wood replaced on the decking and would request that it come in a factory color, so he did not want the material painted.

We believe that the *******s’ home needs to have drip edge installed, yet they refused to let our company install it. Mr. ******* refused to sign our standard certificate of completion and refused to pay the 50% contract balance due on the job. We completed the installation of gutters and downspouts on their home on Friday, June 13, 2014 and on Monday, June 16, 2014, Mr. ******* called us and wanted all of his down payment back. There was no specific complaint or request that we come to review the installation. Unreasonably, Mr. ******* wanted to keep the work and avoid paying for it.

We have reviewed the photos sent by Mr. ******* and observe that whoever took the pictures appears to have broken the seal on the shingles by lifting them up for photos. We find the installation in accordance with practice in the industry. However, on one matter, after viewing the photos, we would install a reducer on the one downspout where it meets the drainpipe at ground level.

The *******s’ complaints appear centered around the time of day the installation occurred and the location of the drip edge. The installers finished the job with sufficient daylight, but in any event the *******s refused to let the company return to the premises to have the *******s point out their concerns. They just wanted their money back. After specifically requesting drip edge on June 11, 2014 at the time the contract was signed, Mr. ******* refused to let the installers install it. His comments about it being missing from the materials delivery are irrelevant to the fact of his refusal, and show that his doesn’t understand the nature of the product, which is custom made, or his complaint is pretextual.

Our Company is willing to install the drip edge and install the reducer on the single downspout at the ground level. This would complete the job as contracted, and our Company would expect to receive the balance due under the contract. We will waive any late charges or interest. Our company went above and beyond to accommodate the *******s in their desire to expedite the gutter/downspout installation on their home. But since they refused to let us make any attempt to address their concerns, and immediately demanded a refund on the next business day following the installation, we question the motivation behind their filing of a complaint. Nonetheless, we would like to see this matter amicably resolved.

Very truly yours,

John Cross
General Manager of The GutterShutter Companies

 

Consumer Response:

We are responding to the recent offer made to install the drip edge and install the reducer to one downspout at the ground level. These 2 items will not correct all of the issues that have been brought to the companies attention. As we have previously stated an installer came to our home and took pictures and looked at the installation performed by your company.

 

We did not demand an immediate refund of our money, but after being ignored, given the run around, slandered and lied to and about repeatedly, we feel that the best result for both your company and for ourselves would be the removal of your product from our home and the refund of our money.

 

 

Best Regards,

 

CJ and ******* L. *******

Business Response:

Our company has exchanged several letters with the *******s. The *******s' initial complaint filed with the Bureau on July 10, 2014 asked for a "prompt refund." The *******s' next letter wanted a "full refund." Now we received the *******s' August 11, 2014 letter which says that "[w]e did not demand an immediate refund of our money. . ." even while they demand "removal of your product from our home and the refund of our money."

We know that the Bureau seeks to act as a facilitator in resolving disputes between customers and companies. But that role presupposes that a customer is willing to budge an inch. The *******s are actually moving in reverse-- from asking for a full refund in their initial complaint to now wanting removal of the product and a full refund too.

Our company has repeatedly offered to address the *******s' concerns with a walk-through, but they won't permit us on their property. We offered to install drip edges and a reducer and forgo late fees and interest. Since all of the movement in this dispute is coming from our side, we now again offer a proposal: that both sides walk away. The *******s will then have their installation at half price. Our company would need to receive a release from the *******s and their promise of non-disparagement of our company.

We believe this is a generous offer, and we would truly appreciate a reasonable response from the *******s.

Very truly yours,

John Cross
General Manager of
The GutterShutter Companies

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installation team was very sloppy with the installation leaving the old gutter hangers, screws, washers and cigarette butts scattered on the ground all around the house. There were even old parts from the downspouts on the roof. The crew smoked and put out a cigarette on the screen door of my sunroom melting a hole in the screen. I was told no repair as the screen is close to the grill and that was the cause. Not so it was Dec. At the first rain, there were leaks between the gutter and the faciaboard across the front porch and sunroom.They have repaired the front porch issues but were unable to correct the sunroom issues at the time as it was too cold (Jan.)and would schedule the repair when it was warmer and dry. Since it has been warm for some time and I have seen no repair crew. I called the service manager 2 weeks ago and left a message with no return phone call.

Desired Settlement: Replace the screen and make correction for the gutter leaks.

Business Response:  Serviced customer on May 1st, took pictures of screen with burn hole, inspected back gutter for leaks did not find any indication of leaks. Will have answer on screen on May 2.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below .
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Until they determine if they will replace the screen and do so, caulked the gutter across the sunroom as promised in January  since it doesn't state that it was done, and as far as the leaks, I will need to check the gutters after the next heavy rain to see if the problem is resolved before signing off.


Regards,

****** *****



Consumer Response:

 

Attached you find pictures of the gutter across the front of the sunroom. The view is taken from inside the sunroom as it leaks between the gutter and the facia board and needs caulked. I could not take a picture of the 2nd floor rear on the east side. That gutter is leaking from the end cap. The pictures were taken after the storm last weekend.

 

I also thought that I originally had taken pictures of the screen but I was mistaken. Now the screen is stretched due to plugging the hole to prevent bugs from entering and it has stretched the hole.

 

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

 

Respectfully

****** *****





Business Response:  We will be servicing the Home on May 28th, to take care of her concerns.

John Cross

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****


I accept this response but will not totally sign off on this matter until all is satisfactorily corrected.

Regards

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My gutter were installed with one down spout turned up hill. after 3 phone calls and being talked to very rudely this was fixed, But the water still runs behind the gutter . And the company has waited out the 30 day satisfaction guarantee. So they wont have to fix. The excuse I was given was my roof was cut to short. Now this roof was on the house when I was sold the gutter and the man looked at it. If this was the case he should have told e then. Now I want it fix , or the satisfaction guarantee carried out am a senior on a fixe income, PLEASE help me get it fixed,

Desired Settlement: correct of problem or a refund so I can have it corrected myself.

Business Response:  we are servicing the customer on May 7th, we will take care of her concerns

John Cross

Consumer Response:

My gutters are now fixed, thank you for your help' 



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When i bought this Gutter System, I was given a Life Time Warranty, that the system would not fail or clog. If so the company would come out and fix. I recently noticed that a 3-5 ft section of the gutter cap was missing from the second floor gutters. I called the company and asked them to go out and see what happened and to fix it based on the Lifetime Warranty. They called me back and said that it would cost $71.00 to replace, that someone must have removed it to clean the gutters and never replaced it. I told them that was not possible since the gutters aren't supposed to ever need to be cleaned and I never touched them. Then the gentleman said that maybe a tree hit it and knocked it off. So I said, isn't it possible that it wasn't installed tight and could have blown off during a storm. His reply was, that my homeowner's insurance should cover that. My definition of Lifetime guarantee against fail includes the system coming apart.

Desired Settlement: The Gutter Shutter Company should keep their Contractual Agreement and fix the minor repair at no cost to me.

Business Response: We have contacted BBB, we have set up a service call for Monday, June 25th.

Respectfully,




John Cross

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

****** *******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The gutters that were promised, even guaranteed to work do not. The water runs off my roof onto the ground. During the winter when the snow melts off the roof it runs down my porch, down my front door and when the temp drops it freezes,leaving a solid sheet of ice outside my front door. This puddling of water has also rotted my porch posts. The gutters on the side/corner of the house collect leaves (which is the whole reason for the system to begin with) and do not collect the water as a gutter should. This has allowed water to drip and create a crack in my foundation. Also the gutters on the back of the house were put on wrong which has created leaking in my upstairs bedroom. I also have wood on my house rotting due to how the downspout was installed.There have been two different people come out to "repair" the problem but they never do anything just tell me they need to talk to the supervisor and get back with me. ***** ***** left a message back in November letting me know he was looking into the problem and looking at the pictures that were taken and assured me he would contact me. I have yet to hear from him. I have had problems since the gutters were installed. They do not work and a licensed contractor has assured me the gutters will not work.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the gutters which was close to $4000.00 and for Gutter Shutter to fix the problems with my foundation, wood that has rotted, the roof leak fixed and plaster repaired as well as the side of my house that is rotting due to the placement of the downspout to be fixed.

Business Response: We installed the gutter system in Feb. 2008.  The first call we received from customer was April 2010 complaining about water dripping of the end of the roof and water backed up in valleys.  After inspection we informed customer the dripping off the edge of the roof was in know way due to the gutters it was do to the design of the roof.  The back up on the valleys was due to the customer allowing debris to collect in the valleys of the roof. I have attached photos.

Respectfully,

**** *****
P.S.,

More pics are being sent, ran out of room on attachments. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My response is this:

The roof pitch being too steep and the gutter shutter gutters should not have been used was determined by a contractor I  had look at my gutters. I was the one that informed them of this, not the company determining this. If the company is saying that the pitch of the roof is too steep for the gutters then they should not have been installed and I should still receive a full refund as well as the other repairs I've requested. As for the debris collecting in the valley's the reason I purposefully left the debris there is so the company could see that when they came out for my second and third complaint, which they are showing no record of but I have the guards on the valleys because of my complaint, is to show the company that the guards they installed to "collect" the water was creating another problem. I had the gutters installed so I would not have to get on my roof to clean them. They are still responsible for what is going on. There still has been no contact from the manager who said he would call. 
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** *****

 

 

Business Response:

********** ***** ** *** ******************************* *** ** ******* ******** ***** **** ******* ** ********** ******** *****

As mention before in no way is Queen City Gutters at fault  for damages
claimed by customer.  The damages was incurred due to the amount of debris
left in the roof valley, causing water back up and or ice damming. Our
guarantees is that our gutter system will not clog.  In no way can is our
company be responsible for the debris the customer left on her roof. (
Picture Attached)

Respectfully

John Cross

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

To the Better Business Bureau,

The Gutter Shutter Company's current claim to their product is that I (or any other customer) will not have to get on the roof and clean the gutters. I would like to point out that it was after my first complaint of the water not flowing into the gutters from this section of the roof (along with the other sections of the gutters) that the company installed this "guard" (for lack of a better word) to insure that the water from the rain would go into the gutters, which it never did. The picture that the company took which was submitted is misrepresenting of the complaint and of the problem. First due to the fact that I had stated that the guard that was installed created more of a problem because of the debris which would collect and it cancelled the reason I installed their system in the first place ( so I did not have to get on the roof and clean the gutters). Secondly the leaves or debris which they are calling it was left there for this particular day so the company could see just how their claim of not having to get on a ladder again was false and a misrepresentation of what their product promises to do and did not help direct the water to the gutter. Third they are totally misrepresenting my complaint to them. The debris that is in the picture does not have anything to do with the other gutters on the rest of the house which does not allow direct water into the gutters and which still forms ice during the winter. Also before I contacted the BBB the Gutter Shutter company had given me a totally different reason for why the water wasn't going into the gutters. The gutters do not collect the water and take it away from my house as it is supposed to. I paid almost $4000.00 dollars to have gutters that I would not have to get up onto the roof and clean out debris and to do what gutters are designed to do and what these gutters fail to do. The company has made many other claims as to why it is not the gutter system. It is definitely the system. They installed the "guard" to solve the problem which it didn't and their product does not do what it claims it should do. It is warranted to do so . Why this company will not take care of this is beyond me. This will hurt their business. This reason they have given is only one of the many excuses and no of which are true or accurate ( I hope I have stated this point enough).

Regards,

******** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they were agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

12/28/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues