BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Ballard Designs Outlet

Phone: (513) 603-1333 8939 Union Centre Blvd, West Chester, OH 45069

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home furnishings and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ballard Designs Outlet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ballard Designs Outlet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 18, 1999 Business started: 11/01/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kim Spalvis, Customer Sales & Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kim Spalvis, Customer Sales & Service Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Beds - Retail

Additional Information

This report pertains only to the firm's retail outlet located in West Chester, OH. Inquiries and complaints regarding catalog or website orders should be directed to the Atlanta, GA BBB where the company is headquartered. Information may be available online at www.bbb.org.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8939 Union Centre Blvd

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 603-1333

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ballard Designs took 10 yards of fabric that I had shipped to them from a textile company and upholstered two of their chairs with the fabric. They put the fabric on upside down. I have requested they refund me the cost of the fabric and they are giving me the run around. I have requested they pick up the chairs. They asked me for photos on 7/31/12 which I provided and again they asked for photos which I provided on 8/2/12. They are giving me the run around. I can't move these chairs to an offsite location without additional expense and I'm without potential injury due to heavy lifting. I do not have storage space for the chairs. They are wrapped in plastic. The boxes they came in are damaged now and I can't ship them back in the boxes. They will not accept COD deliveries.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the 10 yards of fabric first. Second, take back the two chairs. Third, no charge to me for the cost and shipping of the chairs. If I have to store these chairs off site I want reimbursement for storage and moving services.

Business Response:

According to our records, Ms.**** ***** is working with our Custom Department, *** ***** and ***** ***********, to arrange for her chairs to be returned.

We received the receipt showing the cost of fabric on 08/06/12.  We have requested a reimbursement of $491.29 to be issued to Ms. ***** credit card.  This credit should be viewable on her statment within 72 hours.

On 8/6/12, we requested a truck pickup and pack for the 2 chairs currently in Ms.***** possession.  The trucking company will contact Ms. ***** within 7-10 business days to schedule a pick up appointment.  Once the chairs are returned to us, we will issue a full credit in the amount of $675.61.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me.

********* *******
Brand Services Supervisor, Ballard Designs
5568 West Chester Road
West Chester, Ohio 45069
###-###-####, ext. 2050 
******************************

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

**** *****

 

p.s. take me off the email marketing list and the mailing market list.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As of today, Ballard Design has not sent me a check to reimburse for the fabric they put on furniture upside down.

Regards,

 **** *****

 

 

Business Response:

As stated in my original response, a credit for Ms.****** fabric costs was refunded to the ********** that was used to place the order. 

A credit in the amount of $491.29 was issued on 08/09/12 and should have been viewable on her credit card statement within 72 hours of the issue date.

If there are any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

*********

 

4/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 22,2011, two ******* chairs which I had ordered were delivery.They were upholstered in the wrong fabric (not the fabric specified in my order). The chairs were returned by UPS on January 12,2012.In December I received an e-mail asking that I pay for the upholstery fabric when it was sent to the Upholsterer. O December 12 I made an electronic payment of $%189.48 which was credited to my ******** account.My January ******** bill (Nov 22 Dec 23) charged me for the $189.49 and $392.77. This was incorrect because I had paid the $189.49 on December 12, 2011.I have written two letters to ******* requesting a refund of my $189.48 cents and have paticipated in a three person conversation with **** ***** (Ballard Designs) and ****** (******** Customer Service) assuring me my payment would be refunded. I have not seen it!

Desired Settlement: Ballard Desigs should credit my ******** for I would like a cash refund Of $189.48 or c credit to my ******* account. It has been more than three nonths that I mhave been without this money!I would li8ke a cash refund from489.48 write me a check for this amountwith $189.48. Then I can ask for a cash refund. I have been without access to my money for over three months.

Business Response:

After review of Ms.****** account, I have found that she has been credited in full for her purchase. 

The following charges were placed on Ms. ****** ******Card ending in ****:

  • 11/24/11 - $189.48:  This was the charge for the fabric and associated shipping
  • 12/19/11 - $392.77:  This was the charge for the chairs and associated shipping

The followng refunds have been issued to Ms.****** ******Card ending in ****:

  • 01/09/12 - $392.78:  This was the refund for the chairs and associated shipping (reference number: ***********************)
  • 01/09/12 - $163.20:  This was the refund for the fabric (reference number:  ***********************)
  • 03/02/12 - $26.28:  This was the refund for the assoicated shipping for the fabric (reference number:  ***********************)

Ms. **** is not due any additional credits from Ballard Designs as she has received a full refund for her purchase and any associated shipping.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

********* ******* 


***** ******** **********, Ballard Designs

5568 West Chester Road
West Chester, Ohio 45069
###-###-####, ext. **** 
******************************

 

2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/15/11 I made an on-line purchase (order #******** NAME: ***** *** RUG BLUE 3.9X5.9.I received the rug on 12/24/11 but it was not the rug I thought I ordered. On 12/24/11 I sent an email to Ballard Customer Service (Thread:*******) letting them know that the blue rug in the on-line picture has a brown and blue checked border. The rug I received was only blue. I received a reply via email from ***** ***** in customer service on 12/26/11 informing me that I would receive a response to this situation within 72 business hours. On 12/2711 I received the following response from **** ********, This is a follow up to your request for if rug is correct order T4###-###-####. We are currently working with the manufacturer to obtain this information. We will continue to keep you informed as we receive any updates. Please advise if you want to return the rug or if you would like an exchange. Please accept our apologies for the delay and rest assured we are working diligently to get this information to you as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience and look forward to assisting you. I responded via email that I may exchange the rug if there is a blue and brown square version like on the website and that I would wait to hear from her and/or the manufacturer before I decided on the return. On 12/30/11 I received an email with a *** return label (******************).On 1/1/12 I received an email that said This is a follow up to your request for status of shipping for the ***** *** rug order ******** - ****. We have been updated by the manufacturer of the shipping information. The rug will be shipping out this week.I called the 800# listed on the email the next day. The Customer Service person with whom I spoke advised me to take a picture of the rug that was shipped first. That way they could send it to the manufacturer and show them the difference between what we ordered (the blue and brown checked border with black bees) and the rug we received (blue and beige). I asked that they do this before they send the rug that is scheduled to ship out in the 1/1/12 email. That way they don't ship the same blue/beige rug again.On 1/9/12 I received the following from ******** *******, I apologize for the delay. The original email that included the picture of the rug appears to have never been received. I forwarded the email I just received. The vendor should respond shortly. We will advise once we hear from them. On 1/10/11I received a shipment verification confirm email for order #: ********/Ship Date: 01-09-12.On 1/10/12 I sent another email informing that I received the wrong rug again. I again asked them to work with the manufacturer and show them the picture and word document (that I resent) so they can see the difference between what we ordered (the blue and brown checked border with black bees) and the rug we received (blue and beige). I asked them to send me a return ship label for the rug I just received so I could send it back. I also asked them to confirm if the picture on their website was correct or not. My message was read on Tuesday, January 10, 2012.The week of 1/16/12 I called the 800# again and asked for a return ship label for the both the 1st and 2nd incorrect rugs. I also asked for her to confirm if the rug pictured on the internet actually exists. She was very nice and seemed concerned but I was on the phone, mostly on hold, for 25 minutes. When she returned on the line she said she needed to do additional research but that I would receive a call within 72 hours with a resolution. Today is 1/25/12 and I have yet to hear back from anyone at Ballard.

Desired Settlement: If the rug pictured on their website is not avaible or doesn't exist I want to return both of the rugs I received.

Business Response:

I spoke to *** ***** today, 01/29/12. 

A member of our corporate office contacted her on Friday, 01/27/12.  They are working with our vendor to have a special order placed for her to ensure the rug arrives in the correct color.  At this time, Ms. *****'s complaint has been resolved, and we are currently waiting on the manufacturing and shipment of a new rug.  If this 3rd rug does not work for the customer, she will return the 3 she will have for a full refund to her credit card.

If you require any additional information, please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Sincerely,

********* *******
***** ******** **********, Ballard Designs

5568 West Chester Road
West Chester, Ohio 45069
###-###-####, ext. **** 
******************************

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received a *** InfoNotice dated 1/31  informing me that a first attempt was made for a pick up.  When I last spoke with a person in the Ballard Corporate Office it was agreed upon that the two incorrect rugs in my possession would not be shipped back until I received the third, hopefully correct, rug.  That way if the third rug is incorrect I can send them all back at the same time.

It is my understanding that the correct rug has been ordered from the vendor but  I have yet to receive a status on this order.   It would be helpful if Ballard could follow the return instruction agreed upon.  The incompetence of this company is surprising and I'd really like to complete this transaction and be finished with them. 

I would like to have an accurate status on the latest order correction and I would appreciate not receiving further *** InfoNotices until the next rug has been received.

Thank you for your assistance.

 

 

Business Response:

Hello,

The customer has been in contact with, ****** ******.  ****** is our customer service manager at our corporate office.  ****** is working with the customer to have all but one rug returned.  ****** is also providing copies of the customer's payment history from Ballard Designs to review any questionable charges.

If any further follow up is needed, please let me know.

Thank you,

*********

********* *******
***** ******** **********, Ballard Designs

5568 West Chester Road
West Chester, Ohio 45069
###-###-####, ext. **** 
******************************

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  *** has picked up three rugs for return.  According to Ballard Design I have been charged only for the rug I kept.

 

Regards,

 

 

********* *****