This business is not BBB accredited.

Ballard Designs Outlet

Phone: (513) 603-1333 8939 Union Centre Blvd, West Chester, OH 45069


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home furnishings and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ballard Designs Outlet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ballard Designs Outlet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 1999 Business started: 11/01/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kim Spalvis, Customer Sales & Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kim Spalvis, Customer Sales & Service Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Beds - Retail

Additional Information

This report pertains only to the firm's retail outlet located in West Chester, OH. Inquiries and complaints regarding catalog or website orders should be directed to the Atlanta, GA BBB where the company is headquartered. Information may be available online at www.bbb.org.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ballard Designs Outlet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8939 Union Centre Blvd

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 603-1333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/22/15, I placed an order for ******* Serving Table in Graywash. Last week, I decided to track the order to determine why the table wasn't received yet. The status update indicated that the order had been cancelled by the customer. Neither myself or my interior designer cancelled the order. The customer service representative was apologetic and indicated that they would honor the original amount charged (it was placed when the company was running a special). That amount--according to the tracking link provided by Ballard Designs was $560.18. When I called to replace the order the pricing was ~$618. The representative indicated that this is the only record that they have of price of table on my order. I was encouraged to reach out to a product specialist. I sent the product specialist a snapshot of the status update I received with the original amount. The Product specialist responded 01/11/16 apologizing and indicating that they would honor the original amount of the order. She provided a new order number and told me to call in the payment. When I called in to pay for the table Jan 12, 2016. The amount was still $618. Somehow there is a discrepancy in their accounting system. What they are sending out to their customers is not matching the amount(s) that they have in their internal records. This is an unethical business practice to say the least. I provided my credit card information to replace the order today, however, I want my bill adjusted and want it to reflect the pricing displayed in the e-mail I received for the original order last month. If you need me to provide a snapshot of what I received, I am able to do so. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I have record (screenshot) of the original pricing of the table when it was ordered in December. I would like that price honored. The grand total for the original order was $560.18.

Business Response: The first order's total of $560.18 did not include the $40 Truck fee for delivery. The 2nd order total is $600.18, not $618.00. When the order ships we will credit the $40.00 fee, which will then be the requested order total of $560.18. Total Product $ 509.25 Sales Tax .00 THRESHOLD 90.93 Total for order is 600.18

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  


It would have been helpful to have this explained to me at the point of service. I spoke with 4 customer representatives and no one could figure out what the discrepancy was. Also communicated with a product specialist. Too many layers to go through with no one knowing how to resolve it. 

I would encourage you, Ballard Designs, to look at your internal processes to ensure that the information that is sent to the customer reflects the true cost. As mentioned previously, the tracking information that I received--on the original order--did not include all of the information. I have attached a screenshot of it for your review. 

Better training of representatives on how to problem solve these types of issues will be critical to securing great customer and a good reputation. 

Regards,

* *

12/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ballard Designs Outlet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart