BBB Accredited Business since


Additional Locations

Phone: (859) 291-3300 Fax: (859) 291-9687 View Additional Phone Numbers 20 W 11th Street, Covington, KY 41011 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers salon, mail order and online sales of faux fur apparel and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fabulous-Furs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Fabulous-Furs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 26, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Donna Salyers, President Ms. Marge Jones
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Salyers, President
Related Businesses
Fabulous-Furs Donna Salyers' Fabulous-Bridal Boutique
Business Category

Fur Novelties & Accessories Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Internet Shopping

Business Management

Donna Salyers is also identified in BBB files as the President of Fabulous Bridal. A separate report is available upon request.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fabulous-Furs has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20 W 11th Street

    Covington, KY 41011 (800) 848-4650 (859) 291-3300

  • 25 W Robbins Street

    Covington, KY 41011


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Faux Fur from Fabulous Furs in December, 2015. I received the coat before Christmas. I returned the coat for an exchange for the same coat, just a smaller size. My exchange came and that coat didn't fit me well, so I returned that coat for a different Faux Fur at a lesser price. The first Faux Fur cost me $261.75, The exchange (2nd) coat cost me $149.25. I received an invoice stating that Fabulous Furs owe me a balance of $112.50. I called them to inquire about my refund and was told by the Manager: Beth P******, that a check was mailed out on Jan. 15,2016. I waited for 2weeks, no check never came, I called her again, she told they would investigate, she called me back and said they cancelled the 1st check, and re-issued out another one on Feb 10 2016. To date, I still have not received my refund. I called her again to see if thy had the correct address. We noticed no apt number was listed. She claim she would look into the matter again. I even went to my local Post Office to see if their was mail there from Fabulous Furs that could not be delivered due to no apt number. They checked and did not find any such mail with my name on it from Fabulous Furs I began to wonder if any checks were ever mailed out to began with. If so, shouldn't both checks would have been "Returned back to Sender". Beth P****** did not contact me after that either! I had to make another complaint about my refund. On Monday, February 22, 2016, after trying to contact Ms. Beth P******, leaving a message, no answer. I get a call from another Manager: Jim R***, who stated they would refund my money back to the original payment method, (debit card), providing he get in contact with accounting. Mr. ***** called me back in less than 10 minutes and told me that the money was refunded back to my account , to give it some time to show up. Still to date, nothing showed up! I am very upset with the way this company operates. Something is NOT right with this company. This was my first time ordering from them, and to have to put through "hell", just to get my refund is ridiculous! This is very bad business practice! What ever happen to the Customer comes first? Is this a legitimate company? Please help me to get my refund!,

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY REFUND THAT IS DUE TO ME FROM JANUARY. They should give me something for all the mental anguish they caused me, just to get back what is mine, An apology is not acceptable, they need better practice on how to handle customers, without customers purchasing their products they wouldn't be needed!, perhaps jobless!

Business Response: Ms. ******,

I am sorry to hear of the difficulty you have had receiving your refund with our company.  I spoke with my Customer Service Manager, Jim ****, this morning after he spoke with you again today. He did issue a credit to your **** of $112.50 yesterday at 4:20 p.m.  I have attached a copy of the report generated by our system of our daily credits and deposits to the bank.  As Jim stated this morning credits generally appear on your account within 24-48 hours, depending on how quickly the banks process the transfer back and forth.

I also show where we were contacted by your attorney, ******** ** *** on Friday, February 19th.  Beth P******, our Assistant Customer Service Manager, has attempted on three separate occasions to speak with Ms. *** but has been unable to do anything but leave a message .  Two separate refund checks were issued one on 1/15/16 which was just returned to us late last week.  The second refund check was issued 2/8/16 and has not yet been returned to us.  Unfortunately the delivery issue arose due to us not having the apartment number for your address.  Your orders were able to arrive to you because *** performed an address correction to obtain your apartment number which we were unaware of.  We have since corrected your address in our system to avoid any further confusion.

Your next questions is probably why did we not issue a refund to your credit card right away?  Unfortunately when an order is exchanged in our system the credit card information is removed from that order and forces us to issue a refund check.

Again, I am sorry for the difficulty and you should see the refund post to your account within the next 24-48 hours.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you have any other questions or issues.

Dianne C****
Director of Operations
Donna Salyers' Fabulous-Furs

1/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a new book today from Fabulous Furs and on page 48 and 50 they have their full/queen bed coverings listed as $99.00. I tried calling and ordering this item and they would not let me order it because they had priced it wrong. Their regular price. according to them is $999.00. The lady told me that they have a Misprint policy listed in the book...but this is printed as follows...Fabulous-Furs endeavors to ensure the accuracy of all information. We cannot, however, be responsible for errors of omission. Well, to my belief...this is not an omission because they have a price listed. They did not omit the price they just listed the price wrong. I thought when a business listed a price (although wrong) they have to honor it. Is this right or wrong? Thank You for your time. Sincerely,

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor their price.

Business Response:

Our Winter 2014/2015 catalog was printed with a pricing misprint on pages 48 and 50 regarding our custom couture bed throws #*****. The correct pricing should have been $999 not $99 as printed. The item listed below #***** the King size custom couture bed throw is priced at $1,099.   The Misprints section in our catalog on page 28 does state that Fabulous-Furs endeavors to ensure the accuracy of all information. We cannot, however, be responsible for errors of omission. This was a misprint or omission of a 9 in the pricing of our catalog and I am very sorry but we cannot honor the $99 misprint.

If Ms. **** is still interested in the product I would be happy to extend a 25% discount to her on the order but the price for item #***** would be $999.


Thank you,

****** *****

Director of Operations


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I received a new Fabulous - Furs catalog  after Christmas and after looking through the book a couple of times, I noticed that the queen size bed coverings had a price of $99.00.  I was thrilled...thinking that this is real.  So immediately

I called the company and told the operator that I wanted to place an order for the queen size coverings.  After she told me they were $999.00;  I told her that my book said they were $99.00.

She first asked for the yellow box number which was on the back of the I gave her the number.   Next she wanted the blue box I gave that to her.  Then she wanted to know

what was on the front of the catalog, so I told her that.  Through all of this, she kept telling me that the $99.00 wasn't the correct price.  I told her my book had a price of $99.00.  I told her that according to the 

law any item with a wrong price had to be sold for that price.  I told her that was okay and that I would call the BBB.  Oh, no, she didn't want me to do that...and finally asked if I would hold on for a minute?

I told her, yes, I would hold on.  When she came back on she wanted to know if I would speak with her manager.  Again, I told her yes.  Naturally she told me the same thing as the operator had.  I finally said, fine, I'll

just call the BBB. 

After all of this, I went and looked on the internet, on their site, and there were no bed coverings to be found.   Also, they have a whole page of how you have to first put in an order,  get a piece of their materials,  match it to your home,

and see how you like it. Then if you like it you can put in an order for a bed covering - which will take weeks and weeks foe them to make.  And once you've placed an order for one...there's no refunds. Wonder why all of this

isn't in any of the catalogs?   Do you have to do the same thing when you order a coat or a throw?

My catalog also has - "Sale prices are good for orders placed from this catalog only." "Catalog prices and offers honored through June 30, 2015." 

How would I or anyone else know that this wasn't a sale price?

You can wipe information off of your website but what are you going to do about all of those catalogs?

And my catalog has queen size bed coverings - $99.00.

I am sorry for the misunderstanding.  How was I to not know but that maybe you had a lot of extras left over after Christmas or for what ever reason you might have had?




**** ****

11/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around Oct.15,2014 I order some leg warmers at the price that was advertised and the type of leg warmers that was advertised received them. On Oct.24th of I placed another order for the same leg warmer as advertised they would not sell them to me at advertised price..... The manager said I got lucky on the first order and he was not going to sell them to me at the advertised price of $19.95. I told him he needed to change the advertisement. He said he wasn't changing nothing. I have been ordering from these people for years never had a problem.

Desired Settlement: I want the leg warmers I tried to order at the advertised price.

Business Response:

I apologize for the difficulty Ms. ******** has had with our customer service department.  I have looked into the issue regarding the price of the items she purchased and I have included a link to our website showing the product. 

The product in question is a pair of women's faux fur leg warmers sold regularly for $49.  We carry several fur types but only one is clearly marked down at a price of $19, which is the leopard fabric, see link below.********************

When Ms. ******** placed her first order the customer service agent gave her the sale price on two fur types that were not on sale.  This was a mistake on the side of our agent.  Our Customer Service Manager tried explaining this to Ms. ******** when she called back on October 23.

We have honored the order entry mistake made by our representative once but I regret we are unable to honor that price again on any of the fur types beyond the leopard which is the only one marked down to $19.

Again I apologize for the misunderstanding and for the way the situation was handled.  I am noting Ms. *********s account that I am extending to her a one time 25% off a no minimum purchase thru 12/31/14.  Any of our agents are capable of taking this order but if she has any issues or concerns I am adding my direct phone number so that she may contact me.


Thank you,

****** *****

Director of Operations



Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* ********

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday December 11, I made a $400 order for Christmas and paid extra for 3-day select shipping. UPS has the departure scan on the same day, the 11th. Therefore, It should have arrived on Monday the 16th at the latest. It is now the 19th and still no delivery. This was supposed to be a Christmas gift, so I looked up the tracking number. There was a delay in Mesquite, Texas due to weather that ended on the Friday the 13th. However, it didn't leave Mesquite until the 17th which was Tuesday. Even then, it should have arrived by Wednesday on 3-day select. It is now Thursday and NOTHING! So I called the company. When I called the company their Customer service personnel, a woman named Vanessa, was too busy defending their procedures and UPS to ever actually listen to the problem. I asked for a manager because she was being incredibly rude. Jim, the alleged supervisor, wasn't much better. I did, at the very least get to speak, but then his attitude was "Well I was right here and you didn't let Vanessa speak". Which is patently untrue but, even it it HAD been the case, I am the customer and she should have listened before telling me anything. Once I explained the situation, his attitude was "It was UPS's fault and not our problem or responsibility". Jim's actually said "We gave you the tracking number" as if that alleviated their entire responsibility to me. They CHOOSE to do business exclusively with UPS and saying they'll refund me $10 is just not enough, especially with that attitude. This is the holidays and people are purchasing gift for family and friends. A little concern and consideration of that fact is in order. PLUS, the storm was annotated both on the 12th and the 13th but not on on the 14th, 15th or 16th on the tracking. So what was my package doing on those days? Why wasn't it moving at least on Monday the 16th or, if the storm was still in effect - why was it not annotated? A little courtesy, a bit of concern, perhaps some attempts to actually determine what my issues were and let me get some answers, not to mention some form of notification of the delay BEFORE it was too late so I could have made other plans would have been nice. What Jim should have said (AFTER ACTUALLY LISTENING) was: "I'm terribly sorry that your daughter won't get her gift by Christmas. It was an unfortunate, unavoidable ice storm and we definately need to look into the excess delay in Mesquite. I agree that our customers should be notified by us when such a delay happens, especially during the holidays. I will pass that recommendation on to our shipping department. In the meantime, we will definately refund your entire shipping fees" If it were MY customer, I would have also provided an additional $40 (10% of the order) gift certificate by way of apology. But they were too busy telling me I was 'yelling' (I NEVER raised my voice) and that it wasn't their fault or responsibility to actually do anything vaguely resembling actual customer service.

Desired Settlement: I want (1) a sincere apology for the horrid customer service and the rude and false accusation that I was ever yelling (2) an acknowledgement that even with the storm, my order should have been delivered no later than Wednesday (which would still have been early enough to get it shipped by Christmas) (3) an admission that they do owe the customer more service than just a tracking number. Until that product is in the customer's hands, the item is THEIR responsibility. (4) I want my shipping fees back

Business Response:

Ms. ****'s order was delayed in shipping due to weather and then the weather caused a back log of packages with UPS thus adding additional days to an already late delivery.  Although we do not have control over UPS that doesn't mean there wasn't more we could do to assist Ms. **** with her order.  The holiday season always seems to escalate the stress in these types of situations and our customer service representatives should have been able to defuse the situation instead of escalate it.

I have listened to the call and we have had additional training with all of or customer service represantatives on how to handle situations like this in the future.  I am truly sorry for the frustration this situation has caused and how Ms. **** was treated by our representatives.   We have credited Ms. **** her shipping expense along with an additional 25% off her order.

We are also working with our UPS Preferred Customer Service Department on a method to notify us of delays so that we can be proactive and not reactive in communications with our customers in shipping delays like this.

I have been in contact with Ms. **** and have attached our email chain.  I believe we have come to a satisfactory conclusion to this issue.

If any further information is needed please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

****** *****

Director of Operations


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    

This was resolved with Ms. ***** who responded to my complaint to the company and offered to direct ship my daughter's gifts to her and allow me to return the ones that were delivered here.  That was a wonderful response to the situation and one that should have been considered by the customer service staff.  As it turned out, the solution was unnecessary as my daughter decided to surprise me and come to town for the holiday.  
At any rate, I had intended to withdraw the complaint yesterday but situations beyond my control made it impossible.  At any rate, this is better since I can let the BBB and anyone who looks them up know that, while front-line personnel may or may not be customer service oriented, the movers and shakers at the business care about the customers.
I am more than satisfied with Ms. ***** response.  She not only apologized, offered the shipping refund and the generous offer to direct ship to my daughter, but she also refunded me 25% of my order which was more than generous.
We may have gotten off to a rocky start, but thanks to Dianne *****, they have a customer for life and I want everyone to know it.  


******** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Fabulous-Furs
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart