BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers chimney cleaning and repair, gas, wood, pellet stove and fireplace sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vonderhaar Fireplace, Stoves and Masonry, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vonderhaar Fireplace, Stoves and Masonry, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Vonderhaar Fireplace, Stoves and Masonry, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 1998 Business started: 01/02/1995 in OH Business incorporated 09/19/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gregory W. Vonderhaar, President Mr. Kirk Vonderhaar, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory W. Vonderhaar, President
Business Category

Fireplace Equipment - Retail Stoves - Wood, Coal Chimney Cleaning Mason Contractors

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, checks, credit cards, 6 months same as cash
Alternate Business Names
Air Rite Air Rite Chimney Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Vonderhaar Fireplace, Stoves and Masonry, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9348 Cincinnati Columbus Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45241 (513) 755-7545 (513) 242-1110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vonderhaar was contracted to replace crown/cap and damaged brick on the upper portion of my masonry brick chimney. Previous repairs were done to the home prior to my purchase. It was understood by both parties a "as close to possible" brick match would be selected as the home was 28 years old at the time of the repair. Vonderhaar failed to adequately clean mortar and "washed" the gray mortar across all the replaced bricks resulting in obvious haze. I allowed several months to pass hoping weathering would diminish the obviousness of the repairs but as time went on the sloppy mortar work and cleanup became more apparent. On January 16th 2015 **** Vonderhaar indicated there was visible mortar issues and recommended when the weather broke he would send a crew out to scrub and cleanup the repairs. He verbally stated they may need to use an acid solution as well. Several months passed and Vonderhaar failed to come back out to my home or follow up. I texted **** Vonderhaar who responded his crew has already been back out, per his scheduling records. There has been no return and no additional remedy to date. When I questioned **** Vonderhaar he became accusatory and rude on 4/23/2015 as did back in January. **** Vonderhaar plays "dumb" in all our contacts on the phone and via text.

Desired Settlement: I do not wish to have to speak to a business owner who has poor customer service skills and who is confrontational. I simply wish for the scope of repairs to be completed as promised this past winter and made whole- clean up the excessive mortar that outlines and highlights all the repairs in order for me to be able to properly seal the chimney.

Business Response: **** Vonderhaar went out on January 16, 2015 to check out the chimney and told the customer when it warmed up, we would come back out and clean the chimney. **** Vonderhaar didn't see any mortar on the bricks but told him we would return and clean the bricks. We returned on January 20, 2015 when it was almost 60 degrees and cleaned the bricks. There was no mortar on the bricks themselves, this was haze on the bricks, that is actually the brick itself. We had to do the repair in 2 phases to ensure the stability of the chimney because of where the repair was located. **** Vonderhaar went back out on April 24, 2015 because customer texted him on April 23, 2015. He was concerned about when we were going to come out. **** Vonderhaar assured him we had already been back out and asked him what kind of problems had arisen. He was reluctant to give additional information about the chimney. We do see the difference in the mortar from the right side versus the left side. We propose to have the original mason come out on Wednesday, April 29th (weather permitting & customer approval) and blend the mortar in to match.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me pending it is completed.

Regards,

****** ******

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Vonderhaar Fireplaces install a fireplace insert. The trim does not properly line up with the insert because they installed the insert too low. I asked them to raise the fireplace insert and fix the trim, and they said they would do it for an extra $395.00 + tax. I told them that I've already paid for the installation, and since they did not do it correctly, that they should not be charging me again. Further, they later contacted me about having my chimney liner swept. It was expensive, but I told them that if they fixed the fireplace insert that I would do the chimney sweep. They sent out guys to do the chimney sweep and they told me that they didn't do installs. They were all very kind to this point, so I asked if I let them do the chimney sweep, would they send other people out to take care of the fireplace insert issues. They assured me that they would. After that is when they sent me the quote to do the work for $395 + tax.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to raise the fireplace insert and set the trim correctly.

Business Response: Vonderhaar FP installed the stove in October of 2010.  No complaints noted in the installation file.  In 2011 customer had water issues which we provided a quote for exterior work.  No work was contracted on exterior quote per our records on file.  Did note that we had gone back to reseal a top plate that was a part of the liner and stove installation.  In August of this year,  the customer responded to our sweep request that he had a draft issue and wanted that resolved before a sweep was done.  **** ********** went to the customer's house.  At that time the customer said that the draft issue was that he felt cold air coming into house from bottom of stove.  The fireplace insert was not the cause of the draft and is working properly.     The masonry fireplace is on side of house and masonry fireplaces do not have insulation, they are all brick and mortar.  The reason for having the stove installed is to heat the area.  At that time he mentioned that he wanted the area above the fireplace insulated and also that he wanted the framing of the stove changed and the stove raised so that the lines in the insert would line up to his satisfaction with the surround.  The stove was installed according to the mfg specifications in 2010.  The customer requested insulation and changes which would require us to uninstall the liner from the stove and raise floor and insulate above the stove.  The customer even mentioned that he was going to have some marble cut to fill the gap that would be there on the floor since we would have raised the fireplace and there would be a gap as a result of the changes made.    This is not part of the normal installation or service so he was quoted a reasonable price to do the changes he requested.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Vonderhaar is incorrect that I didn't complain initially.  As soon as the insert was installed, I saw the trim was floating 1/2" above the floor, and that there was a gap over the "hotplate area".  I complain about it immediately with the installer, and they told me it was normal and okay.  I was still uneasy about it, so I went to the store to look at their inserts, but they didn't have that many inserts on display.  While I was there, I talked to them about it, too-- but their response was that I would just get used to it.    

But, I never did get used to it-- but I also didn't know enough about the fireplace insert and trim to know what was wrong, so I was assuming Vonderhaar was being truthful and that the trim was installed correctly.  Nothing about my trim ever looked correct.  For instance, there is a gap right over the "hot plate" area on top of the insert, and lines of the trim have never matched up with the lines on the insert.   I've tried fiddling with it several times to get it seated correctly, but never could.  I didn't like the gap, but I didn't know whether it was normal or not.  
 
In August this year, when they came out to look at the liner, I finally understood what was causing the issues with the trim.  And now I know that the gap over the "hot plate" area is not correct, that the trim floating off the floor is not correct, and that the lines of the trim not matching up with the insert is not correct.  Ideally, the insert would sit on the floor like it is now, and the trim would come down to match it.  However, the trim is not big enough to cover a gap over the insert if that was done.  I am okay with floating the insert and trim to be sure we cover the gap at the top, but when they were measuring for or installing the insert, Vonderhaar should have recognized the issue and asked me how I wanted to handle the issue.  Instead, they took a shortcut, and then told me that the issues were normal.  And now they want me to pay to fix their shortcut.
 
And note, I am NOT asking Vonderhaar to 100% fix the situation.  After they fix the insert/trim matching up, I plan on figuring out a solution to fix the issue of the trim and insert floating off the floor.  That will likely cost me $500+ if I were to put a piece of granite under there. 
 
I would like to reiterate, that before the chimney sweeper came out that I wanted the issues with my insert remedied first.  When Vonderhaar came out, I showed them the issues, and they said they couldn't fix them, that they were only the chimney sweep crew!  So I am not sure why they were sent out first.  Anyway, they asked me if they should continue.  To figure that answer out, I asked them if the installers would take care of the issues with the trim, and they said yes, of course.  So, I paid for that cleaning, which was more expensive than I would have typically paid for, as an act of good faith between Vonderhaar and me.  After Vonderhaar received my money, that is when they gave me a very expensive quote to fix their improper installation.
Regards,

***** ******




Business Response: The insert is floating because we had to raise the floor of the firebox to raise the surround / trim to cover the opening of the fireplace.  The customer should have chosen the oversized surround to cover the gap but decided that he did not want to purchase the oversize surround.  Mr. Schehl did not mention that he was the one who insisted on using the standard surround that was not going to properly cover the fireplace opening.     The customer also did not mention that he wanted us to install insulation into the smoke chamber area of the chimney that is not required to eliminate what he thinks is causing cold air to come into the room.   This would also require us to uninstall part of the stove.  Vonderhaar still believes it has fulfilled its contractual obligations. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We were I was told that the insert that I had chosen would work and that I did not need an oversized surround.  I would only bought this particular insert because Vonderhaar had told me it would work.  During installation, I was around, and the installer could have easily asked me I wanted the trim to look wrong, or if I would want him to raise the insert.  At that time, I would have asked the insert to be raised so that the trim would not look wrong.  Instead, the installer took a shortcut, and then told me it was normal for the trim to look that way.

 
In fact, I just went back and reviewed the original estimate, and the person who did the measurement apparently knew the insert needed to be raised:  Here is the text from the estimate "NOTE: Install price includes raising firebox floor 1/8" - 1/4" so top of surround covers firebox".  I think the person who made that measurement only measured to the brick opening of the firebox instead of to where the mortar tapers off between the bricks.  When the installer noticed that the insert did not go up high enough to hide the gaps in the mortar, they installed the trim wrong instead of raising the insert even higher.  Also, please note, that it is hard for me to tell, but I believe the insert was not raised at all.  I saw the installer insert some flat nails under the insert, but it looked like he only did that to give the insert level footing, and not to raise it enough to properly cover the firebox.

Regards,

***** ******




Consumer Response: Here is information that was requested.  I am having trouble finding the receipt.  Also, I shrank the image files a lot to transfer more quickly, but I can resend with more resolution if needed.  Please let me know.

 
Please note on the estimate that it says "NOTE: Install price includes raising firebox floor 1/8" - 1/4" so top of surround covers firebox".  I think they did insert flat nails in the firebox area to make it level, and that was about 1/8" to 1/4", but they did not tell me they were going to install the surround incorrectly in order to get it high enough to hide the firebox.  I fully expected the trim to be installed properly, and that the trim would conceal the firebox.  How they achieved that wasn't anything I was particularly concerned about-- they measured it, and said it would work.  And it would work, they just needed to raise the firebox floor higher so that the trim could be installed properly.
Thanks,
***** ******

Business Response:

Vonderhaar Fireplace installed the standard surround per the customer's choice because he did not want the oversized surround that would have covered the entire area. That is the bottom line to the entire situation.   The techs who do the sweeps do not install the stoves so they would not have been able to lift the 300 pound stove out of the firebox and lift it up in any case.    And our price for sweeping the inserts is well within the range of our area sweep prices, so the comment about being expensive is out of order.  The services proposed to lift the insert would not be needed if the oversized surround had been ordered in the first place. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The bottom line is that in the estimate, Vondehaar said they would raise the firebox floor by 1/4", but they did not raise the firebox floor.
 
It is irrelevant for Vonderhaar to discuss other solutions that could have avoided this problem, such as that I could have chose a different oversized surround or a different insert or that I could have had the masonry around the firebox redone.  The fact is, that Vonerhaar and I had a solution of raising the firebox floor, and Vonderhaar did not perform that task.  I think it is especially disconcerting to me that I had recognized that something looked off about the trim as soon as it wad done being installed, and Vonderhaar assured me that it was normal.
 
It is also irrelevant how difficult it is for Vonderhaar to fix the issue.  If Vonderhaar had installed properly according to the estimate, then there would be no issue.  The Vonderhaar who measured the firebox recognized the need to raise the firebox floor to create a professional looking install.  The installer messed up.  Vonderhaar shouldn't be asking the customer to pay for the installer's mistake.
 
Regards,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Vonderhaar previously stated that to fix this issue correctly that they would need to remove the insert.  In this current proposed resolution, they said they would leave the insert in and pry the sides up and slide shims in.  So, I am concerned that the current solution is not proper.  If the current proposed resolution is proper, I would like to know why they were going to charge $421.66 to pull the insert out in order to raise it, and why they feel that it is no longer necessary to do that.

 
Also, while the original estimate says they would raise the floor up to 1/4", the intent of raising the floor was to make sure the top trim piece adequately hid the firebox.  I think the floor will need to be raised by around 1/2" to achieve that.  I think Vonderhaar now sees that this was an installer's mistake, so I hope that Vonderhaar will take whatever steps needed to lift the insert high enough to have the trim properly installed and hide the firebox along the top.  As a consumer, I did not remeasure and check to see if a 1/4" would be enough-- I put my trust in Vonderhaar.  However, if Vonderhaar feels they must charge extra for them to raise the floor by 1/2" instead of 1/4", then could they please send me a quote for how much that will be?  If it is a trivial amount, then I would be willing to pay it so as to reach agreement.
 
I am okay with waiting till after March 1st to have this corrected. 
 
Lastly, just as another note.  The installer shimmed the current insert with some nails on the outside bottom flange of the unit.  Both the nails and the flange have bent (See attached image).  I don't think fixing the flange is important, but I do want to be sure that the unit is properly supported as part of this fix.

Regards,

***** ******




Business Response: Putting a shim or putting a 1/4 concrete board under the stove is raising the floor of the firebox.  There is no definition of specifically how to raise the floor.  If it is not raised enough it is another issue.  The customer does not dictate what material is used to raise the floor up to increase the height of the stove as long as it is a stable and non combustible.  We offered a solution to raise the floor up at no cost to the customer 1/4 of an inch.  The surround needs to be removed to accommodate the raising up of the stove if it is not 1/4 inch.  The surround will then be reinstalled after the stove is raised.  Hopefully that will satisfy the customer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hi Vonderhaar, 

 
I am hoping you will be flexible on this matter:  the original estimate that says "Install price includes raising firebox floor 1/8" - 1/4" so top of surround covers firebox".  The intent was that the insert should be raised so that the surround covers the firebox.  Following the working strictly would mean that the firebox floor should be raised by 1/4"-- but I am hoping that we can do a little give and take.  I will be flexible on using shims instead of raising the floor if you will be flexible on raising the firebox as much as necessary to have the top surround hide the firebox.  I think the insert needs to be raised by about 1/2", but maybe it is just 1/4".  
 
 
I feel that I am being very flexible in this resolution: 
 
    1.  I am flexible on waiting months for the fix to be performed
 
    2.  I am flexible on shims being used instead of "raising the floor" 
 
    3.  I am flexible on whatever material uses to shim up the insert to fix, so long as it is non-combustible and doesn't shrink or cause damage, short term or long term
 
    4.  I am flexible on the fix being done by prying up the sides to fix the insert instead of them uninstalling the insert, so long as it doesn't cause any damage.  (Note, Vonderhaar previously told me that the insert had to be uninstalled in order to not cause damage, so this still has me a bit worried, and I would be happy if Vonderhaar explained the discordance)
 
    5.  I am flexible on Vonderhaar NOT straightening the bent flange caused by the insert not being properly shimmed during the original install
 
 
The points that I am not flexible on:
 
    1.  I want the surround to be properly installed on the insert
 
    2.  I want the top surround to hide the firebox
 
    3.  I don't want any damage to be done to the insert, liner, or elsewhere (short or long term)
 
 
 Regards,

***** ******




Business Response: Lets get it done. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution seems satisfactory to me.  I believe their latest reply was an acceptance of my last proposal which was to raise the insert by 1/2", have it properly supported, and have the surround aligned properly.

 
They are scheduled to come fix the installation on Friday March 21st.
 
In my initial complaint, I didn't stay focused to the particular problem at hand, and I don't think some of my commentary is fair to Vonderhaar to have posted on BBB's website for 3 years.   A complaint of "The fireplace insert was not raised per estimate, and the surround is not aligned properly" would be simple and accurate.
 
 
I appreciate your and BBB's involvement in this matter, as I don't believe this would have been resolved outside of a court case otherwise.   Thanks you!
 
 
 
Regards,

***** ******




11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an appointment scheduled to have our pellet furnace cleaned for about 4-6 weeks now. Today, when they were scheduled to arrive between 8-9, I called at 9:30 to see when they would arrive. I was told by one office staff member that they were on their way. I was then placed on hold and another staff member came on the phone and told me that they no longer had anyone on their staff who could provide this service. I asked for how long that person has not been with their company and the representative could not remember. I stated my dissatisfaction with no phone call to let me know that they could not provide this service, as I had made arrangements in my schedule to be home today for this work to be completed. I was disappointed in the lack of concern for their client's schedule and satisfaction with their work. I had asked for a referral and they reluctantly gave me another company's name.

Desired Settlement: I would just like this to be posted on their information for others to read.

Business Response: Vonderhaar's has a new inside rep who set up an appointment with *** ***** by mistake. We no longer service this customer Pellet Furnace and even though our notes state not to call them in our scheduler program, he made the mistake of setting up appointment. I might suggest that the customer call the company she purchased the pellet furnace from for all future repair and maintenance.

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the fall we hired Vonderhaar to install our wood burning stove. A few weeks later I noticed something didn't seem right so we contacted them to have them check and make sure everything was in proper order. He assured me it was even though he wasn't part of the two original men that did the installation. He didn't get on the roof to see if everything was working properly. This week I was on my roof and noticed what an awful job they did. The collar for the chimney cap was not even secured. The chimney cap was held on with nothing but caulking, no screws at all. There were probably about 2 tubes of caulking used and it looks like a big blob of gum. Needless to say with the wind that we have had lately it just circles around leaving an opening for the rain, bees, etc to come in through the chimney. It's wobbly and dangerous. We contacted Vonderhaar and told them about the situation and included pictures. They emailed us back and told us the job was done right and that it was normal that the weight of the chimney should hold it down. Obviously this hasn't worked.

Desired Settlement: Seeing as how I feel I can no longer trust this company to do any work for me. I have to hire someone to do the job correctly and clean up their mess. I think we are entitled to some sort of compensation.

Business Response:

The customers uncle actually contacted Vonderhaar Fireplace and harshly spoke to my office manager who provided the details of the conversation to me.  The customers uncle mentioned on the phone that he was a builder, contractor etc and when he was up on the roof he saw the top plate had shifted.  He also mentioned that he was going to immediately report to the BBB.  He did send information to the office via email with the pictures.  The message was responded to in a timely manner and it is true we told him that usually the weight of the liner would hold the special air cooled pipe adaptor plate down.  It appeared that the wind had moved the top of the liner cap.  We mentioned that we could come out to resolve the issue.  And we still will if the customer allows us to come back out.    This customer originally hired Vonderhaar to install a stove not bought from Vonderhaar fireplace into an existing air cooled chimney pipe already installed at the customers house.  Since it was an air cooled pipe, Vonderhaar Fireplace installed a recommended liner into the existing air cooled pipe and the modification called for adding a special air cooled pipe adaptor to the top of the existing pipe so that it would continue to function properly.  That air cooled pipe adaptor sits on top of the existing pipe outside of the house, the liner goes through it and then a top plate is siliconed to the top and a cap is attached to the liner.  The top plate appears to have lifted to show the silicone and the air cooled adaptor has shifted.  The uncle could have just pushed the air cooled adaptor back into place while on the roof until we came back to sure it up.  Vonderhaar will stand by its work and is willing to go back out to fix the situation.  At no time did Vonderhaar Fireplace state that we would not go back out.  It was installed correctly and in this case the top adaptor shifted. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I stated before I feel like I have already given Vonderhaar the opportunity to fix the problem.  I feel as if they should have actually taken some pride in their work and checked things out when I called to tell them my concerns the second time. As I stated before the worker that was sent out did not get on the roof.  He looked at it from the deck and stated it looked ok to him.  I no longer trust them to do any work at my home.  Vonderhaar states the job was done correct.  I disagree.  It does appear the wind has moved the liner, which if it were done correctly at the time of installation this would not have happened.  This also goes for the silicone.  This looks like some child played with wads of chewing gum around it.  I find it hard to believe that anyone would put anything on top of a roof and not secure it.  We all know that it can get pretty windy here in <st1:city w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Cincinnati.   If we were not up on the roof at the time we were we would not know about this problem until it escalated.  We are already having bee issues since there is an opening there.  Not to mention the snow and rain that has probably been coming through since the installation.  I did not buy the stove from Vonderhaar, but that didn’t seem to be an issue.  I gave them a down payment of $500 after being told they needed it to buy the parts.  The remaining balance was paid once the work was completed.  Now, I have to hire someone new to fix the issue that they caused. 

Regards,

******* **********