This business is not BBB accredited.

Gym Tech, LLC.

Phone: (859) 866-5415 7595 River Road, Hebron, KY 41048 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gymtechfitness.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers exercise equipment sales and repair.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gym Tech, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gym Tech, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 2008 Business started: 07/01/2007 in KY Business incorporated 02/14/2013 in KY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Hils, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Hils, Owner
Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales

Industry Tips
General Retail Report Code

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7595 River Road

    Hebron, KY 41048 (859) 866-5415

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used treadmill from Mr. Hils which he delivered to my home. The purchase price included a one year parts and labor repair warranty. The treadmill is unsafe to operate and Mr. Hils refuses to service the treadmill or even to refund the part of the purchase price reflecting the repair warranty

Desired Settlement: I want Mr Hils to do the repair service that I paid for or refund a part of the purchase price and supply me with the repair parts to service my treadmill

Business Response:

Mr. ******* did purchase a treadmill from us.  Mr. ******* is a treadmill witness in court cases that testifies about the safety of treadmills.  His concerns are valid but in consistent with his actions and words he said the treadmill functionality is good and has continued to use it.  If Mr. ******* felt the treadmill was unsafe why is he continuing to use it?  Mr. ******* has been a VERY difficult customer from the beginning. 
   When he purchased the treadmill it needed an adaptor for a residential plug in which we don't provide.  Mr. ******* said his local hardware store didn't carry it.  He was going on vacation the next day and out of kindness we offered to send him one.  Mr. *******  gave me an address with a PO box.  I purchased the adaptor online and had it sent.  the delivery was slowed down do to the POT box address but was figured out by his local post office.  The delivery still made it to Mr. ******* before his return from vacation.  Mr. ******* left me a very nasty voice message about not being able to use a treadmill he purchased because he didn't have an adaptor.  Before I received the voicemail he left another voicemail being very apologetic for his over reaction and found or received the adaptor.  I told him no worries and moved on.
    After Mr. ******* explained to me his concerns about the safety I told him we would get the parts ordered and to him.  Mr. *******  mentioned countless times in email and on the phone he would put the parts on himself since it is typically a 5 min repair and its a 4 hour commute for us.   Mr. ******* immediately started to complain about not receiving the parts the first week.  I explained to him I had to order the parts and they can take sometime to get in.  I explained to him as a tech and service provider its my biggest obstacle in keeping my commercial gyms hospitals, colleges..... happy.  When I recivieved the parts I sent them through *****.  They were returned about 2 weeks later stating the address was in correct.  The *** ** employee stated the they can not deliver to a PO box.  That was the address Mr. ******* provided to me for the adaprtor.  When I contacted him he apologized and gave me another address that had a street address but also a PO box.  I told Mr. ******* that the parts are being resent. 
   Mr. ******* sent me a threat letter.  It indicated that he never received parts.  I sent proff of delivery from *****.  I spent countless hours dealing with him and this matter.  My local ***** store where I shipped from gave a delivery date, address and exact time of delivery.  Mr. ******* continued to call me a liar by indicating they weren't sent and I didn't know how to ship or mail items.   I explained to him the parts were delayed by the manufacture and he is the one that provided 2 address that can't be delivered to easily. 
    Even though Mr. ******* to be a very difficult customer I know I should still try to help him.  I offered him many times a full refund on the treadmill price.    His response was on the lines of wh;y don't you just send the parts.   He then wanted me to come down make the repair.  I explained to him he asked and harassed me to send him the parts so he could do it.  Now that he lost or misplaced the parts we don't feel its our responsibility to furbish him with more parts.  We also don't feel comfortable or safe entering the customers home from his actions and voice mails.  We feel Mr. ******* is unstable.  As we mentioned multiple times to Mr. ******* with apology that we will honor a full refund of the treadmill purchase price and will take a loss on the parts he lost.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
I have never received the repair parts that Mr Hils claimed he sent me. I have doubts that he ever sent it in the first place.

I do not have the equipment available to return the treadmill to him.
I have a purchase order and a copy of the cashed check for that purchase order which gives me one year of parts and labor for my treadmill and that is what I expect.
To resolve this I offered Mr Hils the opportunity to send me the repair parts that I will install because the treadmill was defective when I received it and refund to me the portion of the purchase reflecting the parts and labor part of the purchase price. He conveniently forgot to explain that fact 
**** *******

Business Response: I will see if parts are available to be sent AGAIN.  I will need a valid address NOT a Po box.  The items MUST BE SIGNED FOR.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

My purchase agreement with Mr. Hils required that he provide parts and labor for one year on the defective treadmill he sold me. He has refused to repair the treadmill as required by the agreement.
With Mr. Hils refusal to honor this agreement and in an attempt to settle the issue I offered to let him out of the purchase agreement if he supplied me with the part(s) needed to repair the treadmill,supply clear information on how to install the part(s) and refund the dollars I paid him for the parts and labor portion of the contract.
I have never received acceptance of this compromise from Mr Hils
I have never received any repair parts from Mr. Hils and he cannot produce a document signed by me or my wife that anyrepair parts were ever received.
I have not received payment for the parts and labor charges within the purchase agreement.
Mr Hils can send send repair parts and reimbursement to the below address by **** or **** etc
**** *******
** *** *** *** ********* ***** ***** ********  *****  

Business Response:

I have produced a document from ***** showing the parts were delivered.  Mr. ******* lost the parts.  as you see he posted another address with a PO Box.  I'm not sure how to help **** understand what is going on in this matter.
I will like to go on record that Mr. ******* is lying when he states "He has refused to repair the treadmill as required by the agreement. With Mr. Hils refusal to honor the agreement and in attempt to settle the issue I offered to let him out of the purchase agreement if he supplied me with parts needed to repair the treadmill, supply clear information on how to install the parts and refund the dollars I paid him for the parts and labor portion of the contract".

As I was clear in previous statements I have gone far and beyond to help Mr. ******* from supplying and adaptor that resulted in a few ugly voicemails then followed by an apology.    Mr. ******* told me of the issue he is having with the treadmill and said he could make the minor repair himself if I sent him parts and directions.  Mr. ******* some how refuses to except the legal barring document of delivery from *****.  He continues to call me a liar stating I never sent the parts.  I never refused any kind of service to Mr. ******* and take offense to this lie.

I will RESEND parts to Mr. ******* to replace the parts that he LOST.  I will do this on the obligation that the parts are signed for and Mr. ******* and retracts his statement of refusal to supply service.   We will take a loss on the parts he lost and purchase more

If this is denied we will still offer a full refund of the treadmill price. 

 We want to resolve this and will act immediately if we can come to agreement

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

I will answer this message in an adult manner
If I had received whatever Mr Hils sent I did not receive it. We would not be having this conflict if I had received the parts.
He successfully delivered to me a treadmill and shipped an adapter but could not properly send a second shipment. If it was delivered I did not get it and did not sign for it.
I don't know where the problem was but if something was delivered the delivery company screwed up.
Mr Hils has 3 choices
He can honor his purchase agreement as a responsible company would do and I paid for and repair my treadmill
Mr Hils has refused to honor his obligation to me so I offered the option to him of sending me the repair parts with installation instructions and help on the phone if I need it
AND a refund of my payment for a year of parts AND labor.
The third option is I will see him in small claims court.
**** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per phone call (12/15) with Mr. *******, he apologized if last rebuttal was confusing.  Mr. ******* did say that he is would accept the parts along with simple instructions as to how to replace the parts.  He would also like a refund for the "parts and labor" contract.

Confirmed his mailing address as:
*** ********* ***** ****** ******** ***** ** ** **** ********* ******* ** ** *** **** *** **** *** *** ****** **  *****



Business Response:

The complaint should be resolved at this time.  

We shipped the parts and the customer has confirmed receiving the parts.

Thank you,

*****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Mr Hils has NOT completed what is needed to resolve this complaint.
I received what I believe to be the repair parts during the week of 12/24/15. I will not know if the treadmill operates safely until the 
parts are installed and the treadmill is operated.
I e-mailed Mr Hils that I received the parts that week and requested installation instructions. I have received no response and no instructions for installation.
Additionally I have not received restitution of the payment I made to Mr Hils at the time of purchase of the treadmill for the one year parts 
and labor his contract outlined

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:  At the last point in our process of correcting this issue Mr. ********  agreed to satisfaction if we shipped the parts.  I've stated from the beginning that we did not feel safe entering Mr. ********s home.  We offered him a full refund many times which is documented.   Mr. ******** opted out of the full refund and was very clear he just wanted the parts shipped.   After sending two orders of parts accumulating to an estimated $240 ($140 more than the cost of the warranty). not calculating hours lost on this matter.  Mr ******** has shown once again he rather drag this out instead of using the many many facets of information and resources to do the very simple install. 


As mentioned before we will not give me Mr. ******** two sets of warranty parts and also refund his warranty.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In response to Mr Hils

I have in fact received one set of repair parts. I don't know if Mr Hils ever sent the first set he claims were sent or if he sent them to the wrong address or what but I never received two sets of parts.
 The first set of parts he claims were sent were not signed for so I dispute that two sets were sent.
Mr Hils has not as yet sent instructions on how the repair parts are to be installed which is the reason I wanted to buy a treadmill with a parts and labor agreement so I would not have to install parts.
I agree with Mr Hils in part that the money I paid him for the parts and labor agreement we had can be reduced by his cost of ONE set of repair parts.
Finally I object to the personal,vindictive,nonprofessional and insulting e mails I receive from Mr Hils on a too regular basis.
I will certainly consult with the BBB before I make a similar purchase.
  


Regards,

**** *******

9/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gym Tech, LLC.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)