BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Valentine Research, Inc.

Phone: (513) 984-8900 Fax: (513) 984-8976 View Additional Phone Numbers 10280 Alliance Road, Cincinnati, OH 45242 http://www.valentine1.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company designs, manufactures and markets consumer electronics products and radar detectors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valentine Research, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valentine Research, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valentine Research, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 16, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1983 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated: 07/27/1983 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Valentine, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Valentine, President
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Radar Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Valentine 1
Industry Tips
Market Research

Additional Locations

  • 10280 Alliance Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45242 (800) 331-3030 (513) 984-8900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 331-3030(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mount online for someone else I know because I have a valentine account and they didnt. They emailed me requesting the serial number. I was confused and asked why do they need the serial number for the unit, I got no response to my question and insisted on asking for a serial number. I kept wondering why they need it then they ignored my emails. So the next day I called them to find out what the problem is. Mr. **** said he will have to call me back. All this is for a 10 dollar mount that is available anywhere. Of course a day goes by and nobody calls me back. So I call again, Ms. ****** picks up and says they cant release the order because I did not provide the serial number. I asked to talk to a manager and she said that the manager, Ms. ******** *********, refuses to talk to me. The most disrespecting thing a manager can do is to refuse to talk to a customer. After multiple requests, I was denied the ability to talk to a manager. Ms. ****** kept repeating that they need the serial number. So I gave in and was about to give her the serial number only then she refused and said that I am ineligible to order from valentine because it "seems" like I am a reseller. While in fact I only purchased 2 other mounts, one for me and the other for my cousin and I am a repeat and registered customer. When did Valentine get so disrespectful, it is suppose to be a family owned customer friendly based company, I guess they got too big for their own good. I have been bragging about my unit for years now and encouraged other people to buy from them but all that will have to change due to this disrespecting and insulting issue. If they wont release orders due to serial number, then state that "policy" on the order page, don't come up with random policies just to aggravate your customers.

Desired Settlement: Valentine should explain their actions and prevent such disrespectful actions to happen to anybody again.

Business Response: We do not sell parts without a registered serial number and sell direct only.  These are not random decisions.  We do not sell parts without a registered serial number and do not sell to those who purchase for others as part of our protection of our customers against fraud.

 
Ms. ******* has purchased five windshield mounts in just thirteen weeks.  She said that she was purchasing the item for another person.  We asked for the Valentine One owner's name or the serial number so that we could identify the account and could note on the account that parts had been purchased.   We maintain a high quality control and would want to know if a customer was having a difficulty with an item.
 
We advised Ms. ******* to have the Valentine One owners purchase the parts themselves.  An owner would want us to have a record of his/her purchases so that we can see a history and give advice if there are problems.  Also, an owner would want to have his/her unit registered in the case that the unit was ever stolen.  We are able to assist law enforcement in the recovery of stolen property.  If someone orders parts or sends a unit to us for upgrade, we contact the police so that the unit can be returned to the owner. 
 
No one refused to speak with Ms. *******.  It was explained to her the reasons we would need additional information in order to process her order.  The sales agents did check with management.  It was not necessary for another person to explain the same information.  The first number of e-mails that were sent by Ms. ******* were answered asking for the serial number of the unit for which the item was being purchased.  Ms. ******* did not respond with the serial number.  We did not answer any more e-mails.
 
We are sorry that Ms. ******* disagrees with the manner in which we conduct business with the protections for our customers and the desire for the highest quality control.
 
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
1. No stated policy anywhere on their website
2. I did not purchase 5 mounts, fabricating information
3. I was refused to talk to a manager
4. Disrespecting customer service 
5. Possible Fraud, Collecting Credit card information then canceling orders

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******




Business Response:

Ms. ******* is aware of the serial number registration requirement because it was explained to her when she made the first purchase in 2012.

We have very clear anti fraud procedures concerning credit card information. 

We agree that there may be fraud involved with her account.  She says that she did not make multiple purchases of the same product.  We have orders placed under her name at the same address as the most current order with the same credit card information.  If she did not make the purchases on her account, we will close the account and not process any more orders to prevent further fraud.

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I can not believe how much your lying. I was never asked before for a serial number as you say in 2012. And If you did then why would you ask me again?! This is unbelievable. All you have to do is justify your actions but right now you cant, you are just making up information to avoid the real question of where is this policy of yours on which you denied my order? And please stop acting like your canceling my count due to "fraud suspicion" and acting like a savior. You already cancelled my account because you think I am a re-seller (from those "5" orders that I placed before that you have yet to provide evidence). This is very unprofessional. 

Regards,

**** *******




5/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on their website for a gift. Accessory for a radar detector. After filling out all the forms and providing the company with my personal information and credit card number, I got a confirmation saying orders will typically ship next day. Then the next day I was told I have to provide serial numbers , owners personal information, register the radar detector before they will process the order. I told them it's a gift and gave them as much on formation I had on hand like name etc. They still refuse to process the order. Now they have all my personal information and credit card information. No where during the ordering process was I mentioned that the order would be contingent on providing all this other information that I do not have. Long and short of it is, they tricked me into forking over all my personal information and credit card information when they had no intention of sending me the parts I ordered unless I jumped through a bunch of other hurdles AFTER they got my personal info.

Desired Settlement: I want the parts I ordered and they need to change their ordering process to stop other people from getting tricked into giving out all their personal information if they have undisclosed policies prior to fulfill order.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** has placed two orders using our web site store.  The first order was placed in April 2013 and the second order in January 2014.  His first order was cancelled because he did not respond to our requests for the serial number.  The second order has not been processed because additional information is needed prior to processing.

Mr. ******** would have known when he placed his current order that a registered Valentine One is required to place an order because it was explained to him last April when he placed the first order.

We do not ship orders without a registered serial number as part of our fraud control.  If a customer does not have the serial number, we explain that if he or she can provide any information to identify the unit, we would be able to locate the unit in our database.  It is a suggestion we offer in order to be able to process the order.  A customer is not obligated to give any additional information as a means to identify the unit.

Another aspect of our fraud control is that once an order is processed, the credit card data is not retained. 

Mr. ******** entered his information on our secure web site.  Mr. ******** chose to place an order.  He was not ricked into entering an order.  He seems concerned that we have the information he provided.  We will be happy to remove his information from our database if that is what Mr. ******** would like us to do.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 
 
Valentine has previously emailed me assuring all my personal data was removed and not stored on their system.  Their response stating that they will now remove the data if I request it (as their settlement) seems to contradict this assertion. If the company has this policy, that is fine,  but they need to make the customer aware that they will collect your information including credit card number and all the while have no intention of fulfilling the order afterwards until the customer sends them serial numbers. 
If was made aware of this, I would have no problem whatsoever.  I would have made arrangements to have the serial numbers sent to me before placing the order.
What is unacceptable is the business practice of making you go through the complete purchase process which includes collecting personal information and credit card information, then after the cus***er receives an order confirmation,  hold the merchandise hostage over the delivery of serial numbers that the customer never agreed to provide during the purchase process.
 
What I want here is Valentine to stop this deceptive practice. This can be simple done by stating this intent/requirement and making the customer accept it BEFORE collecting personal data and credit card information. 
 
And to circle back to the original point. YES. I do want Valentine to purge their records of all my personal information as I was assured was already done...but clearly was not.

Regards,

*** ********




Business Response:

 

We do not automatically ask for a serial number for orders placed on our web site because it is not needed for most orders.  It would be an inconvenience for customers to enter the serial number each time when the information is already in our database.

We ask for the serial number of the Valentine One in the case that the customerer did not purchase the unit directly from us or did not register the unit when purchased used. 

We do not sell parts or accessories without a registered serial number as part of the protection of our customerers against fraud.

We sent an e-mail to Mr. ******** at the time he placed an order for parts asking for the serial number of his Valentine One so that we could either find has previous account or register the serial number in his name.  Mr. ******** said that the purchase was a gift for a friend.  We explained that if we were able to locate the unit in our database, we could process the order.  Mr. ******** said he would not be able to obtain the serial number or give us any other information that would identify the unit. 

He now says that he could obtain the serial number(s) that was not possible previously.

We do not have deceptive practices.  We do have excellent fraud control. 

All of Mr. ********'s information has been removed from our database per his request.

 

 

Consumer Response:

It's simple:
 
Stop collecting credit card and personal information from cus***ers without their consent that orders will not be processed without serial number or prior product registration.
 
That's it.
 
Make a little sentence with a check box next to it that customerers need to check before you take their personal information.
 
This is a cheap, simple,  fair and reasonable modification to make to your web site.
 
Make this change to your business practice and I will drop this.
 
-***
 
 
 
 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

*** ********

Business Response:

Mr. ******** placed an order for accessories using our web site ordering system.  He is not a previous owner of our main product so he did not have an account or a registered serial number.  Owners of our products will want to register the serial numbers if they purchase a used unit so that in the case that the unit is ever stolen, we can assist law enforcement in the recovery of the property.  We do not ask for the serial number for placing an order because it is not needed very often.  Most customers already have the unit registered.  It would be an unnecessary burden.  We ask for the serial number if there is not one already registered as part of our protection against fraud for our customers.  We do not sell parts or accessories for units that have been reported stolen.

Mr. ******** had already expressed his opinion to us in February.  At the time of his contacting us, we removed all of is data from our database.

Consumer Response:

It is not an unreasonable request at all.
You must stop collecting personal information, credit card information, etc. if you have no intention of fulfilling the order.
This is not an acceptable business practice.
There are other times other than having a stolen unit, such as if you are trying to buy an accessory as a gift and do not have the information.
At such time, Valentine lets the buyer submit all personal and payment information under the guise that the product will be shipped, when in realty Valentine never had ht intention of fulfilling the order unless registration or serial number was provided.
 
 
 
 
 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

*** ********

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchased Valentine1 Radar Detector online on February 11th, 2014 from the company's website at www.valentine1.com. I've received the item on February 13th, 2014. I haven't opened the item (even the shipping box) and haven't used it. The company's return policy says 30 days money back guarantee. I assume counting 30 days start from the next day which is February 14th, 2014 Friday. 30th day is March 15th, 2014 Saturday and the company was closed. The first business day (March 17th, 2014 Monday) I called the company and explained my situation and asked them I want to return it. However, my request didn't get accepted. I would like my case to be reconsidered and my request for a refund to be accepted.

Desired Settlement: I would like my return case to be reconsidered based on the dates I've provided and my request for a refund to be accepted.

Business Response:

The information in Mr. *******'s letter is accurate.  The order would have had to be received at our company by March 15.  It is true that March 15 was a Saturday and we are closed on Saturday's.  It was explained to Mr. ******* that we would have accepted the package on Monday if a delivery attempt for his package had been made on Saturday, March 15. 

The 30-day return is generous and provides plenty of time to evaluate the product and return it if unwanted.  Also, we add the shipping time. 

Mr. ******* did call our company three times and spoke with three different customer service representatives.  We are sorry that  Mr. ******* did not return the order the 30-day timeframe.  His order is not eligible for return.

Customer Service

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a radar detector from a company called Valentine One in the early spring. I wasnt happy with the product and sent back via *** on the 30th day. They did not get for 4-5 days after due to a weekend and several days for delivery. They called 7-10 days later and said i violated the 30 day return policy because it wasnt at their business by the 30th day. They have the unit and will not refund me. They want me to pay for shipping a 3rd time so they can mail the unit back. I have sent 2 letters to ***** ********* (owner) and he has refused to respond. The employees that answer phones also will not let me talk to him.

Desired Settlement: I want a credit for the radar detector and tax. I understand i am responsible for shipping.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** purchased a Valentine One that was shipped on April 2 and delivered on April 3.  Mr. ****** did return the order; but it was sent after the 30-day return guarantee.  Mr. ****** lives in Ohio.  *** ground shipping is next-day delivery to an address within Ohio.  Also, we add travel time to the 30-day guarantee for both the delivery and the return so the purchaser receives a full 30 days in his/her possession. 

The 30-day guarantee is generous because a person would know within a few days of use whether the the Valentine One is the product for the purchaser. 

There is no one at Valentine Research named ***** *********.

Mr. ****** spoke with a number of customer service agents at our company.  He was not satisfied with speaking with the customer service agents.  He asked to speak with someone higher in the organization.  The only person higher up than some of the people with whom Mr. ***** spoke is Mr. Valentine.  He was transfered to and  spoke directly to Mr. Valentine.  Mr. Valentine explained that it was too lake to return the order.

The customer is responsible for all shipping.   We are willing to split the shipping charge to return the order to Mr. ******.

 

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quality units, just hope you never need a replacement part/mount or service. Their customer service is absolutely abysmal. I've had 3 different dealings with them over a 4'ish year period and every one of them has been a nightmare. They have a mum and pop mentality and really don't give a damn. The primary lady who answers the phone and "responds" to most customer service requests is rude, if she responds at all. Attempted to place an order for a replacement mount for my detector. My detector has been to Valentine Research in the past for servicing (in which they held the unit hostage for months after I paid before releasing it).10 days go by, and I've not received any word of my parts shipping. I contact them to follow up and get a "We emailed you requesting your serial number". First off I'm in I.T and live on e-mail. My spam filter didn't catch it, they flat out just never contacted me. They had my phone/email if they required additional information but instead chose to sit on the order for 10 days. Also of note, their website order process NEVER requests the unit serial number. If it is mandatory, would it not be good business sense to request that number during the order process?.After advising them of this, they asked in the e-mail chain if I had lived at any of the previous addresses. I provided them with my previous address from 1 of the 3 they provided, acknowledging that they had me on record from my previous servicing with them. So they now have my unit serial number. 24 days roll by from the original order date. I've sent numerous follow up e-mails, none of which have been responded too. I knew from my previous dealings they were terrible to deal with and went into this one expecting the worst. They delivered once again.

Desired Settlement: Ship my order.

Business Response:

We wish to thank Mr. ***** for writing to the Better Business Bureau.  The information in his letter has enabled us to verify his previous accounts in our database.

Mr. ***** did place an order for parts on June 2, 2013.  The account on which he placed his order did not show the purchase of a Valentine One.  We sent him an e-mail asking for the serial number of his Valentine One and also asked if a few street names were previous addresses of his.  He said one address was his; but not the others.  It is now verified, through the explanation to the Better Business Bureau, that he did not admit to the two previous addresses and the addresses did belong to him.  He did not give the serial number so that we could find the purchase of a Valentine One unit.

The serial number is needed only when the ownership of Valentine One cannot be verified without it.  We ask for the serial number as part of the protection we offer our customers against fraud and to register the unit in the person's name so that if it is ever stolen, we can assist law enforcement in the recovery of the customer's property.

Mr. ***** does own a Valentine One purchased from us and did send it in for repair.   There is a standard $US45 repair charge.  The charge can be more if the unit is misused, damaged, opened, etc.  Mr. ***** had opened his unit.  The repair charge was $US75.00 plus shipping.  We verify the charge if it is more than the stated $US45.  Mr. ***** refused the package and it was sent back to us.  He claimed that we had not verified the charge and he did not want to pay the shipping and customs fees.  He said that he would issue a chargeback and not pay for the charges.  We explained that the unit would be shipped back to him when the charges were paid.  We explained that now that he had said he would issue a chargeback that we would have to hold his unit for 60 days to wait for the chargeback or he could send us a notarized letter stating that he had either not issued the chargeback or that he had reversed the chargeback request.  The delay in shipping of his unit was caused by his refusal to pay the charges and that he said that he was filing a theft report with his local police department.  The issues had to be resolved prior to returning his unit to him.  His unit was shipped back when all issues were resolved.  It did take a number of months for Mr. ***** to resolve his threats.

During the time Mr. ***** has called our company, he has spoken to a number of women and men; not just one.  All of the sales agents agree that conversations with Mr. ***** were not pleasant experiences.

Our company has chosen not to do business with Mr. ***** anymore.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I guess Valentine Research decided that lying through their teeth was the most professional avenue in dealing with a customer complaint. I attached the e-mail chain showing my communication with Valentine Research for the BBB to review. It clearly shows me providing you the information you requested and your company not replying nor shipping my order in the following weeks. It did not take the "BBB explanation" to verify the unit. I provided you exactly what you asked for and you chose to do nothing about processing the order for weeks on end. 


"he did not admit to the two previous addresses and the addresses did belong to him". No they did not. I've never lived at the addresses you provided as I said. I told you what address I had lived at. What do I have to gain from denying living at an address? I believe I know where I have and haven't lived, but clearly your records are well kept if my serial number, which was purchased new from VR is associated with addresses I've never lived at. Says a lot about how your company is run. 


"Mr. ***** does own a Valentine One purchased from us and did send it in for repair.   There is a standard $US45 repair charge.  The charge can be more if the unit is misused, damaged, opened, etc.  Mr. ***** had opened his unit.  The repair charge was $US75.00 plus shipping.  We verify the charge if it is more than the stated $US45.  Mr. ***** refused the package and it was sent back to us"


Completely false. I never had the opportunity to decline the package because VR never sent it. You tried to collect on an invoice for an amount I never agreed upon up front and was never notified of for the increase in charges. Had I been notified I likely would have agreed, but like any sane customer I don't take kindly to fees/charges being added on that have not been disclosed up front. I advised you if you could not justify the additional charges I would be filing a charge back. After much back and forth I agreed to the charges but not your business practices. At this point you decided to hold my unit (after I'd already paid the invoice in full) for over 60 days. You basically stole my unit with no communication whats so ever while the invoice had been paid. I gave up on the unit until it randomly showed up one day in the mail.


"During the time Mr. ***** has called our company, he has spoken to a number of women and men; not just one.  All of the sales agents agree that conversations with Mr. ***** were not pleasant experiences."

Actually, I've only ever spoken with a gentleman once and that was for technical concerns and he was great to deal with. Unfortunately I don't recall the gentleman's name. The primary female who answers the phones is the "gem" I've dealt with primarily, and whoever you are, your reputation proceeds you. You're well known in the radar/car community as being a cow to deal with. I'm not a push over, you get back what you put out. 


"Our company has chosen not to do business with Mr. ***** anymore."

That is your right to do so. All of your e-mail communication up until my BBB complaint seemed to imply you would be processing my unit however. I guess 3 weeks is considered normal processing time for Valentine Research and when a customer attempts to do something about it, they choose to sit in the corner, sulk and not play anymore. Very professional. I'll be sure to make it publicly known that Valentine Research may or may not support you after they have your money depending on their mood and level of friendship. 

 

Regards,

****** *

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I guess Valentine Research decided that lying through their teeth was the most professional avenue in dealing with a customer complaint. I attached the e-mail chain showing my communication with Valentine Research for the BBB to review. It clearly shows me providing you the information you requested and your company not replying nor shipping my order in the following weeks. It did not take the "BBB explanation" to verify the unit. I provided you exactly what you asked for and you chose to do nothing about processing the order for weeks on end. 


"he did not admit to the two previous addresses and the addresses did belong to him". No they did not. I've never lived at the addresses you provided as I said. I told you what address I had lived at. What do I have to gain from denying living at an address? I believe I know where I have and haven't lived, but clearly your records are well kept if my serial number, which was purchased new from VR is associated with addresses I've never lived at. Says a lot about how your company is run. 


"Mr. ***** does own a Valentine One purchased from us and did send it in for repair.   There is a standard $US45 repair charge.  The charge can be more if the unit is misused, damaged, opened, etc.  Mr. ***** had opened his unit.  The repair charge was $US75.00 plus shipping.  We verify the charge if it is more than the stated $US45.  Mr. ***** refused the package and it was sent back to us"


Completely false. I never had the opportunity to decline the package because VR never sent it. You tried to collect on an invoice for an amount I never agreed upon up front and was never notified of for the increase in charges. Had I been notified I likely would have agreed, but like any sane customer I don't take kindly to fees/charges being added on that have not been disclosed up front. I advised you if you could not justify the additional charges I would be filing a charge back. After much back and forth I agreed to the charges but not your business practices. At this point you decided to hold my unit (after I'd already paid the invoice in full) for over 60 days. You basically stole my unit with no communication whats so ever while the invoice had been paid. I gave up on the unit until it randomly showed up one day in the mail.


"During the time Mr. ***** has called our company, he has spoken to a number of women and men; not just one.  All of the sales agents agree that conversations with Mr. ***** were not pleasant experiences."

Actually, I've only ever spoken with a gentleman once and that was for technical concerns and he was great to deal with. Unfortunately I don't recall the gentleman's name. The primary female who answers the phones is the "gem" I've dealt with primarily, and whoever you are, your reputation proceeds you. You're well known in the radar/car community as being a cow to deal with. I'm not a push over, you get back what you put out. 


"Our company has chosen not to do business with Mr. ***** anymore."

That is your right to do so. All of your e-mail communication up until my BBB complaint seemed to imply you would be processing my unit however. I guess 3 weeks is considered normal processing time for Valentine Research and when a customer attempts to do something about it, they choose to sit in the corner, sulk and not play anymore. Very professional. I'll be sure to make it publicly known that Valentine Research may or may not support you after they have your money depending on their mood and level of friendship. 

 

Regards,

****** *

 

 

Business Response: We do provide excellent support for our customers.  Valentine Research chooses not to do business with Mr. *****. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is their choice to refuse to do business with me. As a paying customer with a unit they will not longer support, I wouldn't say it is an intelligent choice, but theirs none the less. 

Never in my life have a I met a company with such poor service that when questioned about their poor service they pack up their toys and go cry. I want nothing more to do with this company other than for my dealings to be made public. 


Regards,

****** *****

 

 

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went online to a company called Valentine one ******************** and I ordered a power cable for my radar detector that "I accidentally slammed in my car door damaging it".So after I paid them with a **** card online and printed out my invoice the next day I received an e-mail saying we cannot sell you a power cord until I give them the serial number of the unit.I repeat this is "NOT" a stolen unit and when I placed my order there was no information regarding that I had to give them the serial #. In addition the power plug and the power cord is universal for all their detectors.So I am very dissatisfied on the lack of service they claim to hold dear to their product.So as a consumer BEWARE they probably work with the police to catch crooks stealing radar detectors so they demand the serial #. I can buy these cables anywhere ******,***** etc. So this is no big deal for $10.00 but I am writing this because the service dept were not nice at all to say the least.

Desired Settlement: I want Valentine one to state on their website that you cannot receive any product until you give them a serial # in addition I would like them to send me a power cable I ordered free of charge because this put me through mental anguish talking to mean sales people and me taking my time writing this complaint since my time is worth $87.00 an hour.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** placed an order for a power cord using our web site.  We sent him an e-mail asking for the serial number so that we could find his previous account or register the unit to him.  We have not had a response to the e-mail asking for the serial number.

We do not ship parts without a registered serial number as part of the protection we offer our customers and as part of our fraud control.

Mr. ****** states that the unit is not stolen.  It may very well be the case.  We would not be able to verify that because we do not have the serial number.

Mr. ****** would want to register his unit in the case that it would ever be stolen so that we could assist the police in the recovery of the stolen property.

We will process an order once the serial number is registered.  If Mr. ****** chooses not to register his unit, we will cancel his order per his request.

 

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Valentine spending $400.00. Recently, I came in contact with an issue I believed I may possibly be having with the product. Therefore, I called Valentine Research, spoke with a representative who informed me that I can mail it in for a check inspection and if something was necessary to be fixed, I will receive a call to be notified in which I decide what I want to happen further; all I needed to do was send in the item with the required parts and once everything would be finished the item will be sent back to me via the same method I chose to ship it out at no charge (I just pay for sending it). Shortly later I received a phone call from a technician who informed me that my product was taken for multiple tests and is working properly, so it will be shipped back. I have been waiting for the item for nearly a week and a half. Days later I noticed an InfoSticker from *** posted outside of my building, marking "3rd attempt". Never recieving the first two attempts made it to be my knowledge that the driver of *** only actually came by once. Knowing the process and contacting *** that night, I drove to the *** Station to pickup my package since it is always held for about 3 days before being sent back to the company. After my arrival, *** worker told me the item already shipping back the night before (the night I called *** and was told it will be held at the location). Now, after numerous phone calls to Valentine, I am being told that now I must pay for shipping my own item back to myself because it wasnt picked up the first time. This is something unsubstantial due to the face that I was NEVER notified of these things during my first phone call before sending the item. Now, I am being disrespected by reps. and supervisors, treating me like im an idiot, being sarcastic and rude. As a customer I should not be treated these ways because had I known this is how POOR customer service is, Id never purchase the item with them to begin with. Id appreciate someone take concern to this matter.

Desired Settlement: Due to the situation, Id first appreciate a phone call from a hierarchy of the company who can discuss this matter with me where additional information may be crucial to the complaint and so there can be agreement and decision regarding recieivng my item back as I should.Also, considering speaking with their staff if they still believe they should be individuals with such negative approach towards the customers working for the company.

Business Response:

There is a standard $45 charge for out-of-warranty units sent for evaluation.  The charge is for the technician's time spent in testing whether or not any problem is found.  Mr. *** was not charged for any work completed by Valentine Research.

Mr. *** says he was available to sign for his package and that *** did not attempt a delivery.  *** returned the package to Valentine Research saying the consignee was not available to sign for the package.  Mr. *** told us that *** drives by his house all the time without making delivery attempts and it is a frequent problem.  We explained that because his explanation was different from the *** explanation that we had to begin an investigation with *** and there would be a dely until the investigation was complete.  The *** investigation took a long time, so we contacted Mr. *** to verify to which address he wanted the package shipped and that there would be no charge.   We called again and spoke with his wife.  She gave us the shipping information and the package shipped on April 22.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** ***

 

 

 

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my concealed unit in for testing and repair. I sent in my ac plug, curly cord, straight phone cord, and my 6 inch accessory cord. The workers lost my cord and won't replace it with a new one. And to make matters worst they are charging me 25 dollars for testing my equipment and shipment back the post office charges less than 5 dollars for shipping that's how I sent it to them not 25 dollars to UPS for that small box. A new unit cost 39 dollars. I have a problem with such a high cost which I will pay but I want my 6 inch accessory cord that I sent in with the unit that they lost.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of my 6 inch accessory cord for concealed display unit.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******* I sent in three cords one cord which they say was a regular telephone cord, a black valentine 1 curly cord, they sent it back and a 1 inch valentine one accessory cord which they never sent back. All I'm asking is that they send me back my 1 inch valentine 1 accessory cord. Nothing more and oh yeah my unit isn't damaged as the rep states it works fine with the generic 4 wires gray cord that I have running both units but I'm requesting 10 ten dollars for the purchase of a non color matching cord that I was forced to buy because they refuse to send me my 1 inch accessory cord back. My desired settlement is to pay them 15 dollars instead of the 25 dollars that they are requesting from me.

 

 

Business Response:

My original response remains.

I have provided a copy of the paperwork that follows with the unit.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

 ****** *******

 

I have no problem with paying them for their service I'm still asking that they send me my short cord that they never returned I know that if I send the whole amount that they will never send me my 3 inch accessory cord back and just ignore me. the item that they kept is this STRAIGHT POWER CORD ITEM ***** if they agree to send ME my cord back I will send the full 25 dollar amount in with no problem because again they provided a service but never returned my cord.

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am making a complaint about Valentine 0ne. ###-###-#### / M-F 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM ET / 10280 Alliance Road, Cincinnati, OH 45242-4710 I ordered a touring package from them which included 2 of their products. The box arrived to me with sealed tape on it and when I opened it up, the items looked good until I opened up the first item. There were wires torn out of the item. First off,I paid to ship the item back and they never reimbursed me for shipping. I contacted Valentine one several times and they give me 2 options for the item that was damaged. 1. I pay them $25.00 to repair it. 2. They refund me a portion of what I paid for the item. I told them I opened the box and the wires were pulled out of the housing. I told them I would take a lie detector test as I did not break this item. They will not let me talk to the owner or manager and they say the owner refuses to talk to me. They claim there is no way their item would ship like that. I received it with broken wires. Thank you for your help. My number is ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Desired Settlement: see above

Business Response: Mr. ****** did order a ***** Touring Package in July 2012.  The items included in the box were in perfect condition when the packge left Valentine Research.  Mr. ****** claims he was shipped a damaged ******  We did ask him to send the item to us to evaluate it.  We explained that if the damage was a manufactuing defect, the item would be replaced and that he would be reimbursed for shipping to send it to us.  If the product was damaged by a user and not a manufacturing defect, there would be no shipping refund and there would be a repair charge.  The ******Mr. ****** sent was damaged during installation or during use.  We have seen the same damage from a few other users.  It is caused by the user accidently catching the wire and pulling the wires out of the body of the unit.  The distance from the connection area varies from vehicle to vehicle so the amount of wire needed to reach the connections is different depending on the installation.    A clip is supplied so that the wire can be held out of the way when the ******is installed and used.  We have offered Mr. ***** the options of returning the ******with a $25 repair charge deducted from the refund or of having the ******repaired with a $25 repair charge and sent back to him.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

When I received the item it was sealed. I opened the ***** box first and my girlfriend and I witnessed that the wires were pulled out. I was very disappointed. The product never made it to my car. We sent it back the next day. I refuse to pay for them to fix what I did not break and I refuse to return there product for half of what I paid for it. I am willing to take a lie detector test as I am 100% sure I did not pull the wires out.

********

Business Response:

The***** did not leave our company in a damaged condition.

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or around Jan 10, 2012, I placed an order for two items used to mount one of the radar detector styles that they sale. On Jan 12th, 2012 I was emailed by their sales team asking for the serial number of the detector that would be used. There was no other information provided as to why they needed this, and considering all of the fraud theses days, I was alarmed as to why they needed it anyway. I advised them I was giving the generic mounting items I ordered to a friend as a gift and did not know the serial number. A few days later They replied and wanted the persons name. By this time I had missed the birthday deadline for this gift, and was again alarmed that they wanted his name. They would have my info, including private cc and shipping info, what purpose could the info they wanted have? On Jan 25, 2012 I received an email stating that it was for security, and that the BBB supported theses tactics. I wasted three weeks of my time going back and fourth with these nuts, and gave my private cc info and other private info that I would have never gave had I known this would be the case. They seem to have no remourse for the trouble they have caused and I still find it suspect that they require information other than that needed to place the order.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the responses I reciebed from them were bague and borderline rude, totally lacking any good customer service. I would like to see that the company post CLEARLY on the sales website, that the serial number and or owners name will be needed to complete an order. Also an apology would have been nice, since I wasted so much time with this whole ordeal. Also I would like for my complaint to remain in the companys'file for others to see. Thank you,****** *******

Business Response:

Just to clarify, the customer said he ordered parts for one of the radar detector styles that we sell.  There is just one Valentine One.  All parts/accessories ever sold work with all Valentine One's ever sold. 

The customer did place an order for parts and Valentine Research did send an e-mail requesting the serial number of the Valentine One.  We do not ask for a serial number at the time of an order because the information is needed for very few orders.  It is needed only when the customer account does not show the purchase of a Valentine One.  Sometimes the reason is that the customer has moved and the serial number allows the accounts to be merged so that the customer does not have multiple accounts.  The customer explained that he was purchasing the items as a gift and could not provide the serial number.  We replied that possibly we could itentify the unit using the name of the gift recipient.  We also said that if he did not want to give the information, we understand completely.  We had a few orders for parts for during the holidays for gift purchases.  All went smoothly because we were able to identify the Valentine One.  We are very serious about protecting customer information including credit cards.  We do not sell nor purchase customer lists.  The credit card information is not visible to sales agents after the order is entered or to anyone looking up an account.  The customer must give the credit card information each time he or she places an order.  Asking for the serial number is part of our fraud control.  We do not sell parts for nor service Valentine One units that have been reported stolen.   It has been a very effective part of our fraud control.  We are sorry that our protecting our customer base has cause the customer an inconvenience.  The customers whose units have been recoveded using information supplied to the police by Valentine Research are very satisfied.  Again, we are sorry that our business practices of fraud control have caused the customer an inconvenience.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB,

 

Unfortunately I feel the Valentine company has not resolved my concerns, instead managing to basically circumvent the issues almost entirely. Although I appreciate the generic apology that was given, I feel the important questions were not addressed. It was not explained why their policy of requiring a serial number or name of owner was not divulged prior to customers placing an order. Valentine stated that the company only requires this information “for very few orders

”, yet I find that hard to believe when they only sale one (1) RADAR DETECTOR, AND TWENTY-FIVE (25) accessories such as the one I was seeking. Also I resent the level of customer service, in both the way I was spoke to and the time between replies. I was making a purchase for an eleven dollar bracket, to be given as a gift, due to the lack of communication, I missed the date. I wasted a week e-mailing back and fourth. I respect Valentines diligent quest to circumvent fraud, however requiring this information AFTER I place my order, in addition to my credit card and other personal info, is overkill, and in my opinion, another tactic to compile and sale my personal information. Valentine One is not in any way affiliated with any law enforcement organization, and therefore would not have the ability to monitor each unit that is in the market place. Units are bought and sold each day, and to pretend to police them in the name of “fraud protection”, is a not realistic in my view. Please sell the items you list like normal venders, or close shop. If nothing else, let customers know in advance of the Valentines policy.

 

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:

It is fine that Mr. ******* disagrees with our business practices.  It does not follow that the practices are not good ones. 

We did explain why we do not ask for the serial number when the order is placed.  We explained that the question of the serial number does not apply to most orders.  It would be an inconvenience to ask information that is not necessary.  We explained that the serial number is needed to process orders for which there is not already a registered seria number associated with the account. 

Mr. ******* makes an accusation that demonstrates that he does not have all the facts concerning our business.  We do not purchase nor sell customer lists.  We know that other companies do this.  We do not.  We have never done this and will not do it in the future.  We have the highest level of security.  The credit card number does not display on the screen once the order has been placed.  We do not save credit card information. 

Yes, we do work diligently to prevent fraud.   We do not police items sold in the market place.  We do advise people to call us with the serial number prior to purchasing a used unit to see if it has been reported stolen so that they are not taken advantage of by buying stolen goods.  We do make sure that we do not sell parts for nor service units that have been reported stolen.  We do work with the police departments in retrieving stolen property. 

We will continue our business practices because they have been very effective in preventing fraud.  The customers whose property has been recovered are very pleased with the manner in which we track serial numbers. 

We understand that Mr. ******* would prefer other methods of conducting business.  He says that we should do business "like normal vendors".  We choose to set ourselves apart and protect our customer data base.