BBB Accredited Business since

West Chester Dental Group

Phone: (513) 942-8181 Fax: (513) 682-6188 5900 West Chester Road  Suite A, West Chester, OH 45069 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.westchesterdentalgroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental services including orthodontics, cosmetic dentistry, oral surgery, dentures,  dental implants, sedation dentistry, Invisalign and laser dentistry.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Chester Dental Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Chester Dental Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on West Chester Dental Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 2005 Business started: 11/05/1970 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Sanjeev K Goel, President Ms. Jayne McAfee Ms. Kolleen McDonald, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Sanjeev K Goel, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Jayne McAfee
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Visa/Mastercard
American Express
Discover Card
Care Credit
Springstone
Additional Information

Prior to August 2003 this company operated under the name Drs. Maag, Buchhiolz, Jenkins & Wendt, Inc.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

West Chester Dental Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5900 West Chester Road
    Suite A

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 942-8181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been working with west Chester dental group for over a year now, and extremely dissatisfied not only with how they are handling mg case but customer service as well. When I began my orthodontic work with this company I was told that I would start out with a payment plan and once I got my insurance they will have insurance cover my braces for me. Once I got my insurance I came in and dealt with a new person by the name of Courtney and she was to get me approved. She told me she would and explained to me that we would stop payment on my braces until she gets an answer from my insurance company. The communication between I and this company is HORRIBLE! Whenever I call no one answers and I am forced to leave a voicemail and my call is never returned. When I went back in December to get my braces checked they told me I was 9 payments behind harassed me to make a payment that day. I lost my job in September and from what the sectary told me was nothing was finalized with my insurance until November. She said I was still payments behind even though I was told I didn't have to pay anything. I told them to set payment up for the tenth and call me if any problems arised because my bank has been denying them access to my account. Sp they call me the 15th of December harassing me for my card and threatening to send me to collections if payment was not made that day. She tried to discuss my account and payments on SPEAKER PHONE and I have never met one of these women before. She called herself a manager but could not help me with anything! And got upset because I didn't want to give her my card. She made me feel uncomfortable to discuss anything with her and gave me a hard time about taking me off speaker phone. I was also told that they will stop seeing me. There are several other things that have gone on with my account that has not been corrected or explained to me, and its upsetting that I keep getting told different things. I feel led on by this company because they made me believe they could do something they couldn't do. And I am extremely aggravated because despite the attempts I have made and directions I have asked them to follow they will not work with me or my needs as the consumer.

Desired Settlement: I would like better communication and customer service from this business from here on out.

Business Response:

*** ******* came to our office for orthodontic treatment in October, 2014.  At the time, she had no insurance and as a self pay patient she made her initial down payment and set up monthly, automatic deductions from her credit card to pay the balance over time.  In early 2015, *** ******* starting receiving ********** benefits and asked to have her treatment submitted to ********** for payment.  After several attempts to have her treatment covered through **********, she was declined coverage.  Their decision to decline coverage for her ortho is totally out of our hands.  She was told that she would have to continue paying for her treatment out of pocket.  Her auto pay has declined 9 times and she actually just called today and made her first payment since February, 2015. 

I am sorry that *** ******* feels our customer service does not meet her expectations.  However, she does need to keep her account up to date and provide us with a valid credit card for monthly payments as per the original agreement that she signed.  As long as monthly payments are made as agreed, we would not call her or send her to collection. 

There are not many businesses that would allow a customer to go 10 months without paying for services that were received without follow up phone calls asking for payment.  What *** ******* calls "harassment" was simply phone calls asking for payment, no one was ever unkind to her, and it was percipitiated by her own actions.

We will work together with her to make sure we meet her customer service and communication expectations in the future.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue is I did not miss 9 payments although I was told repeatedly by the person that works at this establishment that I would not have to pay until they figured out if they would cover it or not. Bad business is practiced here by telling a customer they don't have to pay and calling it "missed payments" and still trying to run my credit card while telling me this. I have had bad communication with this company from calling in and never getting a call back from the nastiness of the employees at this establishment. When I came in in December for a check up I was harassed for payment and I gave them the same card that they had on file again. I told them to run my card on Thursday and if it didn't go through to give me a call because my bank was not allowing them to withdraw from my account. No one ever gave me a call, and when they did the first thing said to me was if you dont make a payment we are sending you to collections because you have missed nine payments. My issue with the company is how they are lying and trying to make a mess of my account that is not 9 payments overdue, and being very rude to me when I talk to them. Customer service is HORRIBLE I leave messages that are NEVER returned, and I have to deal with someone being rude to me when I was told something different by the person handling my account. My issue is that West chester dental group is telling me I am 9 payments behind when I was told I would not have to pay until my insurance was finalized. From my understanding it was finalized in November so how am I 9 payments behind? I feel lied to and taken advantage from and I am extremely unhappy. 

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: In response to *******’s rejection response:
 
******* is now making monthly payments on her account.  Again, I apologize that she did not feel she received good customer service.  I believe all is now Ok as she is making payments and coming in for her scheduled appointments.

12/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business is NEVER on time for my scheduled appointments. In fact, the earliest time I've been seen is 20 minutes passed the scheduled appointment and as of now, 45 minutes at the latest.

Desired Settlement: Appointments on time.

Business Response:

While it is our goal to see all patients on time, in the medical business unforeseen emergencies do happen.  Or, a patient's care may turn into more time than we scheduled for.  We are sorry that this has happened to ***** on several occasions but it is very hard to know when someone's appointment may take a little more time than expected.  Someday ***** may need a little extra attention beyond her appointment time and she might better understand how this can happen. 

We have called ***** to discuss her concerns.  As of today, she has not returned our phone call.  We will try to work with her to schedule times that are least likely to have a wait, such as the first appointment in the morning or the first appointment after lunch.

Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future if ***** doesn't feel like this has been resolved to her satisfaction.

Jayne M*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


I have varied my appointment times from first in the morning at 7am (this appointment was 20 minutes late and an addition 10 minutes waiting in the room waiting on Dr. G*** to arrive.) I was told by the assistant that he's always late and she's glad I spoke up and complained. Appointments at 830am are late and even my consultation originally around noon was 45 minutes late. 

Although I do agree "things happen," consistently tardy appointments are not acceptable.



Regards,

***** ****

5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: West Chester Dental on several occassions has incorrectly invoiced us for extra money post services. Most recently and what this complaint is solely focused on is an additional $30.60 invoice I recieved on 8/5/13. West Chester Dental Group claims an additional $30.60 is owed for services rendered on 6/18/13. Upon the conclusion of my visit to their office I was asked to pay my 20% for the services rendered. Subsuquently, my insurance coverage would cover the other 80%. After speaking with a billing coordinator at their office she confirmed indeed that the insurance did pay 80% of the total. With the payment of the 80% and my 20% I paid on 6/18/13 there is no way that I owe $30.60. The coordinator stated the insurance company did not pay as much as they were supposed to despite confirming that the insurance company did pay 80%. That contradicts her statement that the insurance paid their 80%. She could not tell me how all of sudden I owed more money.

Desired Settlement: Eliminate the unexplained $30.60 balance.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that our patient, ***** ******, had a billing
complaint that he felt needed to be resolved through the Better Business
Bureau. We take all complaints very seriously.

I have attached a copy of the patient's EOB
from ***** ****** showing his payment responsibility is $111.20. He paid
$80.60. The remaining balance due in $30.60.

As a courtesy to our patients, we handle all
insurance needs as best we can. We work with many patients on many different
insurance plans and strive to give insurance information as knowledgeably as
possible. While we can estimate what the insurance will pay, is just that, an
estimate. It is ultimately the responsibility of the patient to understand
their benefits and coverage. While his plan did cover 80%, he still had a
deductible amount that was not met and that may not have been taken into
account when the payment was made.

The balance on the patient's account is the
patient's responsibility.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you or the customer have
any other questions or concerns on this matter.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Business Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I spoke to their billing office I indeed was told that my insurance paid their 80% and I had already paid my 20%. There is no reason that I have to pay more. 

Regards,

****** ******




Business Response: 10/3/13

Attn:
****** ****

Cincinnati Better Business
Bureau 7 West 71h Street, Suite 1600 Cincinnati, OH 45202

*** ****** ***** ****** ** ********
**** *** *****

As stated in our previous correspondence, the amount
that was paid was an estimate of the patient's benefits. The patient is ultimately responsible for understanding
what their insurance covers.

The amount due is because
his insurance did not cover that amount, not because he was asked to pay an
estimated 20%.

A prompt payment would be
appreciated as the account is over 60 days past due.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Business Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was specifically told by their office that my insurance company paid their 80% and I had already paid my 20%. Obviously they are trying to squeeze more money out of me. The timing is terrible as I recently lost my job. I simply can not afford to pay this extra money nor do I feel I am responsible for based on information from their own office. 

Regards,

****** ******





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on West Chester Dental Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart