BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

General Dentistry
Cleanings
Periodontal Treatments
Root Canals
Mercury Free Fillings
Cosmetic Dentistry
Same Day Porcelain Crowns
Veneers
Full mouth reconstruction
Sleep Apnea
IV Sedation
Wisdom Teeth Extractions
Pediatric Dentistry
Zoom Whitening

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vita Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vita Dental include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Vita Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 14, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2009 in OH Business incorporated: 07/30/2010 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Andrew E Jordan, President Dr. Aaron Shaftel, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Dr. Aaron Shaftel, Owner
Business Category

Dentists

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
S: 7:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Su: Closed
H: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, American Express, Care Credit, Mastercard, Visa
Alternate Business Names
Vita Dental-Shaftel & Jordan, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: back in approximately June 2011 I paid $13,182.00 along with 3 more checks totaling another $994.00 for dental work/orthodontics.there were 3 dentists in the practice. recently there was a dispute and the practice use to be called Afinia dental split up. I was told by the same staff who were originally there that my dentist took leave of absence. i later searched on internet and found this not to be true.anyway i found my dentist and i got a copy of my ledger card from vita dental and it shows i was charged a code ***** which is a child's code and was $3029.this was never credited back to my account aand i have asked and written to them asking for that refund so i can finish the last phase of my orthodontics. i was told that there were billing errors and that claims would have to be subbmitted.

Desired Settlement: i want at least the$3029.00 refunded then they can resubmitt whatever they think they need to.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to a complaint filed against Vita Dental by ***** ********. 1 want to first say that this is a very difficult situation and we will do our best to make sure that Mrs. ********s complaint is addressed as quickly and completely as we are able.

On December 21, 2012 we separated from our third partner Dr, ****** ********, the group Afinia Dental, and our former management company **** **** I (solely owned by Dr. ********), Inc. This was a long and difficult process for all parties involved. Dr. ******* and I then began working under the new name, Vita Dental-******* and ******, inc. This is an important fact because all of our insurance and billing before this date was controlled by **** **** *

Mrs, ******** reached out to us on February 18, 2013 asking for her records to be transferred and a credit refund on her account. Our customary process is to perform an internal chart and ledger audit before transferring records or writing refund checks, During our review of Mrs. *** ******** ledger, we discovered several billing errors overlooked by **** **** 1. These errors included billing the same procedure multiple times, billing certain procedures incorrectly, and making invalid insurance adjustments.

Upon discovery of this discrepancy, Vita Dental was ethically and legally bound to correct these errors with ***** Dental, the insurance company, The contracts that dentists and dental practices enter into with insurance companies dictate that procedures performed must be accurately billed. To behave in any other manner may be considered a violation of insurance law. For this reason Vita Dental's top priority was to correct these errors.

On March 5, 2013 we submitted a corrected insurance claim to ***** Dental. We have yet to receive a response from ***** Dental, therefore, we are unable to correctly calculate the balance or credit on Mrs. ********'s account. After we receive a response from ***** Dental, we will follow Aetna's determination. This includes reimbursing not only Mrs. ******** but also ***** Dental if that is necessary. On the other hand, if Mrs. ******** has a balance owing to us after the claim is resolved, we are willing to write that balance off.


VITA

Throughout this process we have continued to follow up with ***** to insure that they are actively working on this claim. In fact, on March 26, 2013 we submitted a narrative along with other supplemental information. In this letter we detailed all of the information associated with this claim in order to expedite this process.

Also, we have attempted to keep Mrs. ********* up to date through multiple emails and phone calls. At the resolution of this process, we will provide her with a final ledger, as well as any documentation supplied by her insurance company supporting the corrections. I want to reiterate that should she have a balance owing to us at the conclusion, we will write off that amount as a courtesy.

I certainly understand Mrs. ********'s frustration and I want to assure you that we are doing everything in our power to make sure this is resolved as soon as possible. At Vita Dental we work very hard to maintain a positive reputation in the community and we will continue to work hard to preserve that reputation. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help resolve this claim, I am happy to supply any documents or information to the BBB to support our position.

****** ** ****** *****

President Vita Dental-******* a** ******* ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

]

Regards,

 

 

It is very clear I was mistakenly charged $3029 and this was not credited back to my account. Vita dental also received a check for $189.30 from my insurance company that was  not refunded to me. They are trying to resubmit claims from over a year ago claiming that initial charges were filed incorrectly. This like other issues is not true. Initially a code for core build up was submitted and now is being refilled for $78 more under misc code. Vita dental is doing anything they can not to refund me in full and I am not playing their game or compromising money that is clearly due to me. Myself and other professionals have researched codes that were initially submitted  and there was no deception. When I asked vita dental where my dentist was I was lied to and was told he took a leave of absence. I am informing my dental insurance company what is going on here and the next step will be to hire an attorney.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to Mrs. ********'s response dated April 5, 2013. As I have previously stated, we are doing everything in our power to address Mrs. ********'s complaint as quickly and efficiently as possible. In no way are we attempting to mislead her or deny a refund if in fact a refund is due to her. Our only concern is to ensure that the procedures performed by Dr. ******** are accurately reported to Mrs. ********'s insurance company.

We agree that Mrs. ******** was mistakenly billed for adolescent orthodontics, however; unfortunately she also has many other errors on her account ledger. These errors include incorrect write offs of patient co-pays, incorrect procedures billed to insurance, and missing codes for procedures performed. In order to correct this matter we have resubmitted all of these corrected claims to her insurance with a detailed narrative describing the billing errors. Again, as soon as these resubmitted claims have been reviewed by ***** we follow their determination. This includes reimbursing ***** Dental and Mrs. ******** if necessary. Also, if Mrs. ******** has a balance owing to us after the resolved claim we will write that balance off as a courtesy.

It is important to reiterate that Vita Dental is ethically and legally bound to resubmit these claims. If the insurance claims remain as they are currently, along with the knowledge that the errors exist (and were not corrected), all parties would be open to an accusation of insurance fraud. This includes the insurance subscriber who has knowledge of inaccuracies and does not inform the insurance company, Delta Dental gives several examples of insurance fraud on their website: I) "Dental offices that routinely fail to charge or collect your full coinsurance or comment amount or deductible." 2) "Incorrect information on your notice of payment (NOP — also called "Your dental benefits statement" or an explanation of benefits)", In order to abide by the law it is important that we make sure all of these claims are correct.


 

At this point in time Vita Dental is still waiting on a response from ***** Dental in order to finalize the claims. In Mrs. ********'s response she stated that she was planning on contacting her insurance company, I think that this would be very helpful. in many cases the subscriber is able to make more headway and achieve an expedited outcome by contacting their insurance company. Again, we will settle this claim immediately as soon as we have received *****'s determination.

In Mrs, ********'s letter she states, "Myself and other professionals have researched codes that were initially submitted and there was no deception." In no way are we su esting that deception was present, only errors that went unnoticed. Vita Dental would be happy to review the opinion of any professional that Mrs. ******** has contacted in order to verify that the claims we have resubmitted are correct.

Please ask Mrs. ******** to bear with us as we await the return of the corrected claims. Vita Dental is trying to correct the errors in an effort to avoid in future claims of dental insurance fraud against the provider and also to protect Mrs, ********'s eligibility with her insurance provider. As soon as we receive *****'s determination we will provide Mrs. ******** with a detailed breakdown of her ledger, including EOB's from insurance company to substantiate any changes. At that time if necessary we will refund ***** Dental and Mrs. ********. On the other hand, if she has a balance owing to us, we will write off that balance.

As we said in the previous letter, we understand Mrs. ********'s frustration and sympathize with her, However, it is very important for all the parties that we go through the proper channels to resolve the errors. Please have Mrs, ******** notify us if she is able to make any progress with her insurance company. Also, please have her forward any information from other professionals if it will help expedite resolution. Please let us know if we can supply any information to Mrs. ******** or the BBB to support our position,

Sincerely,

****** ** ****** ******

President **** ************** *** *******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

***** ********

 

previously vita dental stated it was there policy to review ledgers before refunds were given. I was given a refund on my balance that was showing on my account  and that was without review of my ledger. It was not until I had someone else look at the copy of my ledger card that mistake was found. I want and I need the $3218.00 that is owed to me so I can complete my orthodontic work. I had a contract with my dentist for completion of dental work which was a total of $13,185.00 and I paid that up front.

Business Response:

Mrs, Branzki,

As of 4/20/13 we have not received a response from ***** regarding the submission of your corrected insurance claims. Hopefully they will send their determination shortly. In some instances, insurance companies will process claims quicker after several requests from the subscriber. Have you reached out to your insurance company! Please keep us up to date regarding any communication with *****. Once your insurance company provides us with revised LIOB's we will refund your credit if one is due.

In order to avoid any allegations of insurance fraud and to prevent the loss of your insurance coverage our practice is obligated to correct the previous omissions. As soon as our practice receives information from your insurance company we will begin correcting your account. Thanks for your continued patience.

Sincerely,

***** ******* Vita Dental

Consumer Response:

I don't think it is fair that I am put into these professional differences between the dentists. I was given a quote of 13,185.00 and I paid that.suddenly the practice splits up and because I am due a refund my  account was resubmitted.  I was told that my dentist was out on leave for unknown amount of time and the other dentist would take over my care. I did not but it and tracked down  my dentist. had this separation not occurred with the practice I would be on track with my care. Now I am a couple thousand dollars short of completing treatment which is not my fault.

I think ALL patients at this office should be audited by an outside company. The same people who did the billing on my account are the same people who are there now and also did the other\ dentists billing and filed claims. This is all just a nightmare for me.Is Vita dental going to audit all accounts by an outside service????

 

11/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint with Afinia Dental involves their billing and collections practices.First,I don't have collections issues and have a beacon score above 700 (unless it is lowered because of Afinia)so this incident surprised me.Friday 10-5-12 while painting my house my cell rang, before I got off the ladder it went to voice mail. They left a very vague message to call back. When I did it was a collection agency and it kept sending me to a voice mail and wanting me to leave my information, they were closed.I thought it was a wrong number,so I did not leave my info. I thought all weekend of anyone that would have reason to have me in collections,and came up with NO ONE. Monday 10-8-12 at 8:30 AM (when they open)as I was driving to work I called and found out,they WERE looking for me because of an $87.41 bill with Afinia.I told them there must be a mistake and I called Afinia. Afinia told me I owed them 87.41 from December 2011. I asked why no one sent me a bill if there was a balance, they said they sent a statement in Jan, Feb, March of 2012. When I got home and found the statements and receipts,I was there 5 times in 12/2011,1st was a cleaning and exam which should have been totally covered by *******it was in 12/2010)the other 4 times I paid the amount of my portion they asked for on each visit.There was confusion on the cleaning since a dentist in ******* had used my 2011 benefit for someone else,I contacted ****** and they were fixing that. My insurance has always been****** 200, after a couple visits Afinia told me Afinia had changed to****** 300 and would no longer accept the 200 payment plan,so we decided I would change dentists. The statements sent in Jan & Feb still showed 116.00,I thought it might take a couple months for insurance to pay, When March still showed 116.00 I called Afinia and Anthem and they resubmitted, AND THAT WAS THE LAST I HEARD,NO BILLS, NO CALLS, NO STATEMENTS. I called Anthem yesterday and they paid 28.79 in May 2012,Afinia never gave me a chance to pay the balance

Desired Settlement: I told Afinia and ****** ****** collections I would pay the balance if all derogatory information they caused was removed by them from any and all credit reporting companies. John at ****** ****** first said he would not unless it was their mistake,I assured him it was. He called back and said he talked to Afinia and they would allow him to remove it once I paid. I said great and told him to send me a fax stating that and I would immediately pay him.He said he couldn't.So I have NO assurance~~~

Business Response: ***** from Afini Dental contacted BBB and stated that he contacted the credit agency to get Mr. *******'s credit detail removed but it could take up to 90 days for the removal.