BBB Accredited Business since

Riversbend Dental

Phone: (513) 494-0333 Fax: (513) 494-0222 6028 S State Route 48, Maineville, OH 45039 http://www.riversbenddental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers dental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Riversbend Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Riversbend Dental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Riversbend Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 28, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2011 in OH Business incorporated 05/19/2011 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Brandon Romick, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Brandon Romick, Owner
Business Category

Dentists

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 8:00 PM - 5:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check and Credit Card.
Service Area
Tri State
Alternate Business Names
Brandon W. Romick, D.M.D., Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 6028 S State Route 48

    Maineville, OH 45039 (513) 494-0333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this dentist as a new patient in late November (21) 2013. At my cleaning, they found a cavity. I had told the receptionist at the checkout that I was changing jobs and wanted to make sure my insurance would cover the filling or I would wait until my new insurance started 12-1-2013. The receptionist lady was very pushy to get me scheduled asap. She contacted my insurance, ****** **** ****, to check coverage. She could not get a hold of the insurance at that time. She contacted the insurance the next day and yes she said I was fully covered. "Not a problem," she told me and she rushed to get me scheduled that day with Dr. Megan W***********. I went in got my cavity filled and went on my way. On December 28, 2013 I paid my co-payment of $182.40 via check which was cashed without a problem. In mid-October 2014, I received a bill from Riversbend Dental for about $550. Of course, I was in shock. I called the office and I was told, "There was a glitch in my insurance and ****** **** **** had requested their payment made to Riversbend Dental be returned." I was told by the office manager that the money had been returned and I owed $550. I had told her what had happened regarding that visit and I was assured by her office staff I was fully covered by ****** **** ****. The office manager was completely rude, dismissive and unapologetic about the situation. She told me I would have to pay the $550 or be sent to collections. I contacted ****** **** **** immediately, no money had been returned by Riversbend Dental. Obviously, the office manager lied to me. I do not know if they don't have their act together or they are in the practice of trying to defraud their patients and/or insurance carriers. I have now been contacted 3 times by a collections agency, **** *********** out of New Jersey. I have explained the situation each time.The collections agency is unable to get a response from Riversbend Dental but I remain to be harassed about this situation that is the FAULT of Riversbend Dental. Again, today I checked with ****** **** **** and surprise no money has been returned. There are multiple reviews about Riversbend Dental with the same billing/fraud issues I have encountered. I wish I would have done more research before and known going to Riversbend Dental, Dr. R***** or Dr. W***********. I would have never gone there in the first place. It is appalling and unethical for doctors to treat patients in this manner. I do not want any one to experience what I have

Desired Settlement: I want Riversbend Dental doctors and staff to take ownership of their mistake in this matter. I also want the collections contact to end. I want the doctors and staff to get their act together so no patient ever experiences what I have. I believe fraud is against the law.

Business Response:

see attached

To: ********** *********** 
Date; June 9, 2015
Assigned ID# ********
Patient is correct that she visited our office as a new patient on 11/18/2013. At that time she did make us aware that she was changing jobs, so we did in fact call the insurance company and make sure her coverage was active. We were told by ****** **** **** that coverage Was active the morning of her treatment. Patient was diagnosed with 3 cavities. Upon leaving the office that day, patient agreed that treatment could be completed before coverage ends and took an appointment for the following day. We did receive payments from insurance in the amount of $540.99. The patients Copay was $120.90 for her treatment and her husband had a balance of $61.50 for a total of $182.40. This payment posted to patients account on 1/3/2014. Up to this point everything was fine and account was at a zero balance. But in February 2014, I received a letter from ****** **** **** (which was the patients insurance carrier at the time of service) stating that I must return the funds of $540.99 because patients employer backdated insurance coverage dates to the time the employee left that employer. Now I fully agree that insurance companies should not be allowed to practice like this and I hate that it effects the patients trust in us, but it is a reality. I, the office manager, do not believe I have ever spoken to this patient, I have left Several messages regarding insurance requesting the money back and I have Several detailed . notes of other desk staff speaking with her regarding this issue. From this point until August of 2014, fought with ****** **** **** to try to get them to rectify this situation. I resubmitted claims with an appeal letter, all with no luck. On Aug 7", 2014, I sent check #13557 in the amount of $540.99 to ****** **** ****. The very same day, I left a message with patient to see if any other coverage had overlapped at that time and to tell her that I had to send original payments back to insurance, I also sent a copy of the ****** **** **** request letter with a copy of the check to the patient, so she knew that it was sent. l, personally never received a return call. We do have other notes pertaining to patient speaking with other front desk staff. During one call patient stated she was going to contact HR and get back with us, but we never heard back. During another call she stated that she was not going to pay this bill. Over the next few months, we continued to send statements and make phone calls regarding balance. With no additional payment made, on Feb 27, 2015, referred this account out to second party for collections.

On 5/27/15, ******* from our collection Company called stating that patient had called them and said that we kept her money from insurance and are trying to double bill her. I told ******* that ****** **** **** had requested money back, that claims sent were paid in error. Coverage had termed on 11/15/13. | then called ****** **** **** and spent an hour on the phone, first with ***** who confirmed that refund check was sent by us and cashed by them. Next spoke with ***** in the Claims Auditing Dept. She confirmed what we already knew. The patients claims were paid and then a few months later a request for money back was sent due to patients coverage terming just days prior to treatment. *****, from ****** **** ****, tried a 3 way call with patient while I was on the phone but didn't get an answer, ***** said she would call patient again and let her know that check was sent back to them by us and that technically she should owe us the full amount of $959 with no write offs since coverage had termed. I actually left the write offs in tact since patient was going to owe such a large balance due to the insurance issue. This was done as a courtesy.

I only sent $540.99 to collections, the amount of the check that I sent back to ****** **** ****, I have notes on each phone call, a copy of the payment request letter from insurance and a copy of the cashed check we wrote to ****** **** ****.
We pride ourselves in great customer service but we cannot foresee circumstances like these. This is actually an issue between the patient and HR of her former employer.

The insurance companies need to have a standard as well. Should employers be able to back date coverage dates? Should insurances be allow to request money back months after they paid for treatment? I would say no to these questions, but a patients insurance is their responsibility.
I feel like I have worked numerous hours to try to help this patient avoid having to pay this bill, but in the end, my efforts did not work and the dentist deserves payment for services rendered.

Practice Manager - Riversbend Dental


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Riversbend Dental
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)