This business is not BBB accredited.

NKY Family & Cosmetic Dentistry

Phone: (859) 356-5100 Fax: (859) 356-5195 2047 Centennial Blvd, Independence, KY 41051 http://www.nkyfamilydentistry.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers comprehensive dentistry services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for NKY Family & Cosmetic Dentistry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on NKY Family & Cosmetic Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 06, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 03/10/2008 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Dentistry
312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 101, Louisville KY 40222
http://dentistry.ky.gov/
Phone Number: (502) 429-7280
Fax Number: 502-429-7282

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Ashley Joseph Moser, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Ashley Joseph Moser, President
Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Cosmetic

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check & Credit Cards.
Service Area
Tri State

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2047 Centennial Blvd

    Independence, KY 41051 (859) 356-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was seen in the physicians office for dental visit and was advised on a specific amount that I needed to pay for the visit. I was advised that I needed to pay $65.00 for the visit per my insurance. I called my insurance while I was there and they advised that they give a range for what the amount would be paid by insurance but they don't give full quotes because there is a contract amount that they review between my insurance and the physicians office. After paying the amount that the Dr. office advised by my insurance that the office over billed me. When contacting the physicians office for refund for the over payment and pre billing that was incorrect they were difficult and rude. I was advised that they would not return my money until they were paid by the insurance company although my insurance company called them and spoke with them for more than twenty minutes explaining the billing and verifying that they over billed. This office is doing a disservice to their customers and are not suppose to pre bill customers for insurance coverage. The office staff was rude and went out of their way to take their time intentionally to get my money back to me. It is a real shame because they Dr. was fantastic but the office staff ruined my visit and experience.

Desired Settlement: I would not only like my money back but a personal apology with the intentional over charging

Business Response: The patient does not understand how her insurance works. The patient was charged a fee based on what information her insurance company verified to our office. When her insurance company gives us written notification that there is a credit, we will immediately return it to the patient. Until then, we are following protocol.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ********

 

 I understand my insurance policy but my insurance company does not give quotes for service. The dental office took the estament of my civerage of being 80 percent covered not considering cigna does not pay thier full amount due to contrated rate. Mybinsurance company advised me of the poor business practice they are doing pre billing and that they never gave them a quote for yhe amount they charged. The insurance company spent tweenty minutes on the phone explaoning their error in billing and that i am owed that money. They have already heard direct from the insurance company that they did not bill correct. I have had to file claim eith insurance for the return of the over payment. This office intentionally pre bills and over charges patients. Yes the dr should collect co pays but they are suppose to bill insurance to see what services are covered. They took it upon them selves to assume my deductable had not been met in aware of other claims pending so they went ahead and charged my deductable with out running insurance first. How many other patients do they pre bill and never return the diffrencevtobthe customer for thier intentional over charging? I still dont have my money back snd my insursnce already spoke to them. They are intentionally holding that money as long as possible even though they know it is due me just to be difficult. This treatmrnt and responce is inacceptable. 


I have attached the written information received from my insurance that the physician’s office is claiming that they are not aware of. I have provided the written explanation from my insurance that also shows how and where the dentist office is billing for correct information. As stated in the claim I understand my insurance and what my insurance has provided to me as well as the office is a breakdown of charges. I can also provide the notes from ***** showing that what they advised the office is a general over view of how they pay claims but that they would need to submit the charges to them to be billed before giving exact amounts that would be covered. They never tell Dr offices what the charges are going to be until they file a claim. What ***** told them is my coverage would be 80 percent them 20 percent me and if at the time that the claim is filed the deductable. They also advised that they would need to file the claim for exact amounts as they are a contracted provider and there is a separate rate of pay that they are contracted to. They took it upon themselves to pre bill me for the charges before approval from my insurance.  As you can see they billed my insurance for `36.00 dollars in service and that is what they calculated their 20 % from, well that is not correct as in the details listed ***** does not pay the full amount due to them being an in network provider. ***** only pays at 92.00 which is the amount that the 20% would have come into pay if they had proper billing practices. Secondly they assumed that I had not met my deducible for the year, however for all they knew I could have other dental claims that could have been in process to meet that deductible. My point here is that the office is pre billing for amounts that are not correct and my insurance did not tell them to bill me up front and in fact advises against that because they are not able to give exact amounts over the phone until they have received and reviewed the claim. Now second issue at hand is the fact that I have had to fight to get my refund that I still don’t have. I have a (written copy of the benefits ) that I received as well as the dr. office received. My insurance has spoken to them on the phone for twenty minutes explain that I was over charged. They are refusing to give me my money until they have something in writing. Well I am not understanding what more they need it is in writing. IN the first place they are willing to take a verbal estimate from my insurance to charge me but they are not willing to take a verbal estimate to return my money that they over charged in the first place. Something just does not make sense about the way that they are handling their business? I don’t want to see them continue with this type of practice to other patients. How many others have they over billed and never returned their money to or even notified the customer that they over billed them as well?

Business Response: Either the patient does not understand insurance benefits or the insurance company is telling her something completely different than they are telling us. These accusations are not only unfounded, but are flat out wrong. Further, the way she yelled at our staff was unprofessional and uncalled for. This entire matter could have been avoided if she had given our office a chance to explain what the insurance company has told us regarding her benefits. However, she chose to raise her voice and not remain civil. In reagards to being pre-billed, that is called a copay. Every medical and dental office in the US charges a copay when you have insurance, which is exactly what we did. We knew her deductible had not been met because we spoke directly with her insurance company. The practices we are being accused of are standard protocol for all insurance companies, are within our contract with the company, and are supported by written documentation. The patient has been told multiple times that we do not keep credits and when the insurance company gives us written notice of the overpayment, she will be immediately refunded in full. We have never and will never keep credits or intentionally overbill patients. We have spoken to the insurance company again about her claim that we exhibited bad business practices. They denied this accusation. There is nothing intentional about an over charge and to insinuate that is insulting. This patient was seen on an emergency basis.  Not only was she squeezed into our double-booked schedule, but she was also given 2 additional x-rays that she was not charged for.  We explained, multiple times, how our office will handle this overpayment, and this patient continues to be confrontational.  Once our office manager receives the written notice from her insurance company proving the $10.20 overpayment, a check will be issued to her. We encourage the patient to take any further misunderstandings up with her insurance company, and to please refrain from making any further slanderous comments about our office.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ********

 

 I have recieved written documentation from insurance as well as thier payment and written docimentation has been msiled to them as well. I am going off the information from the insurance company. I was on the phone withbthem thecday thdy talked to dr office. I understand insurance and i was not vhsrged a copay was charged the entire visit. I have provided the bbb my documentstion to support my claim. No matter how the ladoes at the office feel about me personally does not chsnge thier billing practices and treatment towards me.  As stated above i still have not recieved my refund and all documents required per the dr office hsve been provided. I still dont have my refund. I would be more than happy to send my explination of benefits to the dr as well if tey eould like to provide an email addres. It amazes me that they are quick to over charge bit difficult to return my money to me. I understsnd thier internalnpolicy theybhave however they hsve been advised of ythier error and should hsve corrected now. That would be customer service. I just hope nonone else ever has to deal with the antics this office has pulled. 

Business Response:

The patient's insurance claim was received by our office today. As the patient has been told many times, if she has a credit, she would receive it immediately. The claim does reflects a $10.20 credit to the patient. Due to the nature of how this patient has interacted with our office, the credit check has been mailed via USPS Certified/return receipt to her today. This rectifies this patient's misunderstanding and concludes our relationship with her.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ********

 

 There was never a mis understanding in regards to my insurance or thier billing practices, the documents speak for them selves. I just hope that no one else has to go through the same hassel I experienced  with this dentist office.