BBB Accredited Business since

Mulcahy Dental Associates

Phone: (859) 283-1111 Fax: (859) 283-0116 8433 Us 42, Florence, KY 41042 http://www.mulcahydental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service dentistry including braces, dentures & cosmetic work.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mulcahy Dental Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mulcahy Dental Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mulcahy Dental Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2001 Business started: 03/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Dentistry
312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 101, Louisville KY 40222
http://dentistry.ky.gov/
Phone Number: (502) 429-7280
Fax Number: 502-429-7282

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Andrew T. Mulcahy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Andrew T. Mulcahy, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Pauline Viel, Practice Administrator
Business Category

Dentists


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mulcahy Dental Associates has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8433 Us 42

    Florence, KY 41042 (859) 283-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Can you help me? I am ** and very stressed out trying to resolve my denture discomfort problem with Mulcahy Dental Associates. I have lived with it now for almost 8 months. Stress is not good for me. VERY IMPORTANT - If you will provide me a direct email address, I want to send you “all” email correspondence between my self and them, “especially the two emails with pictures of my dentures” in which I show the problem areas. Also, if you have a dental expert who could review my problem description and the pictures I will send you, I hope they can help you determine if I have a justified complaint, and if a partial refund is in order. I would happily let your expert check my dentures to verify my problems. I had hoped for a refund in June so I could choose a new dentist who uses a traditional denture fitting approach requiring about 5 weeks, rather than the “same day dentures approach” which didn't work. Since June 1, 2015, I have tried to obtain a “partial” refund for my poor fitting dentures made by Mulcahy Dental Associates in northern Kentucky. I proposed what I view as a win-win type solution, with them keeping about 2/3 of the money, and refunding me 1/3 for services “not yet received”, that is, for “5 remaining adjustments that I am due, and for cancellation of the last 4 ½ years of the 5 year warranty”. I want to terminate our patient dentist relationship with the “partial” refund because I now have no confidence or trust in them. They have refused to make any “partial” refund. My opinion of a fair partial refund is them keeping $700 of the total cost of $1,075 for their efforts and denture costs, and refunding me for future services not yet used/received (via adjustments and warranty). I think that should be at least $375, based on 5 remaining adjustments at $55 each is $275 plus at least $100 for the remaining warranty = $375. $55 is what they charge for an adjustment. I sent them this proposal again on July 21, but no reply. Their last correspondence with me was on July 20. There have also been billing and advertising related problems, including failure to give me the advertised military/senior discount. I discuss these below. For example, in an email dated July 14, they apologized for not giving me the 10 percent discount for being a veteran & a senior, and said they would mail me a check, for $7.50. As of August 14, a month later, no check has arrived even for that. The Problem - I request your assistance and advice on my problem with Mulcahy Dental Associates. I am ** years old and have been wearing full dentures for 50 years, so I know how to eat with a proper fitting denture set. Last December I decided to get new “same day” dentures from Mulcahy Dental after checking their BBB rating on your website and seeing it was a high A+ rating. I decided to try “same day” dentures so I would have them before leaving for Florida the first week of January. Unfortunately they made a lab mistake on the original dentures, and then Dr. M******'s denture design on the redo has been causing significant daily discomfort for 7 months, a problem which an adjustment won't fix and that is why I seek a partial refund, for services “not yet received”. Although the remake corrected probably 80 percent of the severe lip/cheek biting, the denture design and the way the lab positioned the new teeth (slanted outward) has caused a different and very uncomfortable problem which I have not been able to deal with. Further, I don't believe an adjustment can correct this problem. They are sort of "buck teeth" shaped, with the teeth slanting outward, and they become quite uncomfortable as the day goes on. My upper lip still hangs just a bit lower than the teeth, so the front teeth press out into the inside of the upper lip all the time. The lower teeth also press outward into the inside of the lower lip. When I close my mouth to chew or swallow, my lips rub up and down over the edges of the slanted teeth. In addition, the upper dentures always come loose when eating---a problem I have never had before in the 50 years I have had dentures, and there is still some occasional biting of lips due to the denture design, and food bits easily get under the dentures. I will send you pictures when you give me an email address. There are also a dozen or so rough spots and places adding to the discomfort, like the sharp-like back edge of the upper. I have these problems even though I chose what they advertise as their “best” customized set called an “Individualized Personal Denture”. The dentures were made in one day, and the price included 6 adjustments, and a 5 year warranty. I will send you all email correspondence between them and me, if you provide me an email address. Please review the emails, especially the two with pictures showing the denture problems, some have captions. Mulcahy Dental came no where near providing me quality comfortable fitting dentures. Interestingly, in the one negative review on your website from March of this year, the lady wrote “He did a visual exam of my mouth and said "you don't want dentures, they are terrible". http://www.mulcahydental.com/SameDayDentures.aspx weblink to their dentures Original denture set – a lab mistake, per Dr. M****** 1. Dr. F***** was the original dentist. After impressions were made and I was about to leave for a lunch break, I was called back into the exam room because the impressions had broken and they wanted to do them again. But after a short time, they said the lab could fix them. Then at the wax try-in, I was concerned because I could not see any portion of the upper teeth, not even the bottom tips of them when I looked in the mirror. Dr. F*****'s reply to that was the teeth would look like “horse teeth” if they were more visible. I was a bit intimidated by his reply. Anyway, the original set caused me severe lip and cheek biting problems, creating tiny sores where the bites occurred. When I contacted them about the problem, they set up an appointment with Dr. M******. 2. Dr. M******, upon checking the original set for the cause of the lip and cheek biting, said the lab made a mistake. He showed and explained to the dental assistant what he said was causing the problem. He even left to room to talk to the lab staff, he said. Dr. M****** then designed a new set which unfortunately has caused me great discomfort for the last several months, due to my upper lip in particular overhanging the upper teeth, which are slanted outward into the lip, causing all day pressure and discomfort when I close my mouth, chew food, and swallow. Plus the remake still fits too loose, and has very similar fit issues as did the original set. The remake corrected about 80 percent of the lip biting problems, but not all of them. I sent them pictures of the dentures as well as descriptions of the problems. (NOTE: Because Dr. M****** said the lab made a mistake on the original denture set, December 17 became in my opinion the first day of work, and I had one adjustment on December 24 as they were closing for the holidays until early January. Therefore, I have 5 adjustments remaining plus the remainder of the 5 year warranty. The value of these should be refunded to me as they are services not yet rendered. This is how I arrived at a partial refund of 1/3 of the total costs. See details in the emails I sent to Dr. M******'s office.) 3. Although they said it was a new set, it has some of the same fit issues as the original, so now I don't know if it was a new set or if they just tried to “remold” the original set. In both instances, they used my old dentures (about 27 years old and very worn down) as the basis for the impression, rather than a standard impression tray. I wonder if that has led to the problems. In both sets, my upper lip totally overhangs the upper teeth. Maybe they erred in determining the occlusion height; if so, maybe using my old dentures led to that. I don't know. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I agreed to visit them on July 23, but they did not reply to my email, nor reply since then On July 20 they asked me to come in at 9:30 on July 23. On July 21 I agreed to come to their office on Thursday July 23 as they requested. I told them I would do that to allow Dr. M****** to verify my problem with the dentures so we could try to agree on a partial refund, and I said they needed to agree not to charge me for an office visit if I came. I asked them to notify me if they agree to that and I would be there. They did not reply. They have not replied to me anytime after that either. Their last reply to me was on July 20. And as stated above, the military/senior discount refund of $7.50 has not arrived. I do not have confidence or trust in letting them try again. They admitted a mistake on the first set which caused severe lip & cheek biting, and Dr. M****** designed a new set which has caused great discomfort for the last several months, plus it does not fit well. He was able to correct about 80 percent of the lip biting problem. They said it was a new set, but it has some of the same fit issues as the original, so I don't know if it was a new set or if they just “remolded” the original set. Billing, veteran/senior discount, and insurance issues In addition to the dentures not being a good comfortable fit, I have also had problems with their billing, insurance reimbursement, and not being given the “advertised” 10 percent veteran or senior discount. 1. When presented with my bill at the first visit, I saw they had charged me $35 for an x-ray that I had not received. After I questioned the charge, they checked with the staff and then corrected the bill. 2. They advertise a 10 percent veteran and senior discount. They did not give it to me; they refused to give it to me even after I asked again for it. The lady said that since my insurance was making a small payment I could not get the discount because that would constitute a double discount. I explained to her, to no avail, that it was not a double discount because the total price was the same, and I had to pay the remainder of what the insurance did not pay. Mulcahy had no agreement with my insurance company for dentures at a lower price than normal. The total bill was $1,075 ($1,000 for dentures and $75 for the appointment) and they assumed the insurance would pay $22 so I paid $1,053. I can send you my copy of the bill. Finally, in an email dated July 14, they apologized for not giving me the 10 percent discount, and said they would mail me a check, for $7.50. As of August 10, no check has arrived. This has just increased my lack of confidence and trust in our relationship. http://www.mulcahydental.com/SpecialOffers.aspx the 10 percent discount link 3. Several weeks later I learned that my insurance company had paid them $37.50, not $22. My insurance paid for ½ of the appointment fee. They had not refunded me the $15.50. I had to call them to get this refund, and they did send me a check after I called. I question the appropriateness of a Form they claim I signed, which they are using to deny me a refund. I seriously question whether my signature on the December 17th document is original or maybe copied by them from a Form I signed earlier. Regardless, I have only requested a refund for “services not yet rendered” to me. I want to know if the BBB considers this a legitimate form and a form used by ethical companies. I only recall signing one form and that was on my first visit. The dental assistant gave me the form after having shown me a box/tray of individual teeth so I could choose the color I liked, how white, etc. I didn't have my reading glasses in the exam room, so I asked the dental assistant what it said. She said it was for me to agree to the teeth I had chosen. She did not tell me it stipulated no refunds. No one in their office had ever said there was such a policy, nor is this form posted anywhere on their website. Had I known that, I never would have gone there. Also, is it a legitimate business practice to ask patients to sign such a form “in the middle of their dental procedure”? What is a patient supposed to do? Get up and leave and be charged for a visit and impressions and get nothing in return? I find this Form and its non-disclosure in advance of an appointment very troubling and unfair. Does the BBB think it should be used to deny a refund for “services not yet rendered? Do you consider the Form, if I did sign it, an ethical form/proper business practice in a situation like “same day dentures”. Can you “verify my signature on the original” rather than just looking at a copy they send, to prove it was not copied from a previous document. All of the above are the reasons why I no longer have confidence and trust in Mulcahy Dental Associates. If the BBB cannot help me get a refund, who do you suggest I The remake corrected probably 80 percent of the lip/cheek biting, but the way the lab positioned the new teeth (slanted outward) has caused a different and very uncomfortable problem which I have not been able to deal with.  Further, I don't believe an adjustment can correct this problem.  They are sort of "buck teeth" shaped, with the teeth slanting outward, and they become quite uncomfortable as the day goes on.  My upper lip still hangs just a bit lower than the teeth, so the front teeth press out into the inside of the upper lip all the time.  The lower teeth also press outward into the inside of the lower lip. When I close my mouth to chew or swallow, my lips rub up and down over the edges of the slanted teeth.

Desired Settlement: I proposed what I view as a win-win type solution, with them keeping about 2/3 of the money, and refunding me 1/3 for services “not yet received”, that is, for “5 remaining adjustments that I am due, and for cancellation of the last 4 ½ years of the 5 year warranty”. I want to terminate our patient dentist relationship with the “partial” refund because I now have no confidence or trust in them. They have refused to make any “partial” refund. My opinion of a fair partial refund is them keeping $700 of the total cost of $1,075 for their efforts and denture costs, and refunding me for future services not yet used/received (via adjustments and warranty). I think that should be at least $375, based on 5 remaining adjustments at $55 each is $275 plus at least $100 for the remaining warranty = $375. $55 is what they charge for an adjustment. I sent them this proposal again on July 21, but no reply.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

12/2/14 - ***** ****** was seen in our office as a New Patient, at that time *** ****** completed new patient paperwork, in that paperwork he indicated he experiences lip and cheek biting and blisters on lips or mouth.  His last dental visit was in 1988.  *** ****** seen Dr. F*****, Dr. F***** did impressions for new dentures, *** ****** decided to purchase the Individualized dentures set (considered our best set).  The price of the Individualized dentures includes Same Day fees, 5 yr. warranty, 6 free adjustment.  At 11:30 am that same day *** ****** was seen by Dr. F***** for his wax trial.  We offer wax trials to our patients to allow them to try in the dentures set up in wax, at the wax trial this allows time for the patient to make any changes to the dentures before the denture is sent to the lab for final processing.  After trying in the dentures at the wax trial, *** ****** approved the look and fit of the dentures and okaying for final process.  (see attached labeled #1).  *** ****** came back later the day to pick up the dentures, no adjustments were needed at that time.

12/8/14 - *** ****** came into the office and seen Dr. F***** for adjustments on his dentures (which is very common when receiving a new pair of dentures)

12/9/14 - I received an email from *** ******, stating he has some concerns regarding his dentures.  Lip biting, and not being able to see the upper teeth when smiling.

12/18/14 - *** ****** was seen by Dr. M******, Dr. M****** decided at the appointment he would remake the dentures at no additional cost to the patient to fix the issues *** ****** had.  *** ****** came back at 3:00 pm that day for his wax trail.  Again signed off approving the looks and fit of the dentures and okaying to final process. (see attached labeled #2)

12-19/14 - *** ****** came back to our office Dr. M****** delivered his dentures, made a slight adjustment to the denture.

12/24/14 - *** ****** was seen in our office by Dr. M****** for an adjustment on his dentures. 

6 months went by with no contact from *** ****** stating he was having issues with the dentures.

6/1/15 - I received an email from *** ****** requesting partial refund for his dentures.  Stating he is still biting his lip, there were adjustment spots needed and the look of the teeth slanting outward.  I returned *** ******'s email apologizing for his discomfort with the dentures and ask him what day and time would work best for him to come in and let Dr. M******  address and fix these issues since we haven't seen or heard of any issues for 6 months.  *** ****** stated he did not want to make the drive to our office unless we would guarantee him a refund.  I responded to *** ****** that I can not guarantee him a refund with out the doctor seeing him.  *** ****** proceeded to send pictures of the dentures in and out of his mouth and did try to explain the issues.  I again offered appointment days and times to *** ****** to come into our office to allow Dr. M****** to take a look at him.  I explained to *** ****** we are willing to work with him to correct the issues, but he did not want to come in unless he was going to get somewhat of a refund.  I explained again, I could not agree to that until Dr. M****** looked at the dentures.  I again offered him an appointment time, no response.

During the back and forth emails *** ****** kept referring to involving a third party, if we can't come up with an agreed refund amount.  I again explained, we can not make a decision on pictures, we as a dental office need to see the patient to see what we can do (if anything) to fix the issues.  If there is nothing we can do, we will obviously "make good" on our end.   *** ****** did not want it that way.  We are not refusing any actions on our end, just simply needing to see the patient with the dentures, after a 6 month period of not hearing ANYTHING from him. 

With *** ****** not seeing a dentist since 1988, we can only assume his prior dentures were that old also, when getting a new set of dentures they will not obviously look or feel the same way as the 27 year old dentures do.  Again, we are willing to work with the patient to make him happy but will not willing to agree on a refund amount unless seeing that we can not make the denture right for him. 

As far as the senior/veteran discount, the amount is $7.50.  I was going to give to him at his appointment, but will put into the mail today.

I can send you any needed paperwork needed, please let me know.

Thank you!

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and with some clarification/additional specifics regarding "what they mean", I may accept their offer.  Also, should the BBB need proof of anything said in email communications between me and them previously, I can send any or all emails if the BBB wants to review them.   I am a retired federal auditor and keep detailed records. 

For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  From the start, I have sought a win-win solution to this issue.
Their offer says/implies they might agree to a refund if they cannot make the denture right for me.  Does making the denture right for me mean "they are willing to make new dentures to replace my current ones, including 6 adjustments and the remaining 4+ years of warranty"?  If so, I would agree to that.  Or, if they prefer to just give me a partial refund upon seeing me and verifying the problem, I would agree to that also, as it would be better for me health-wise.  If they might choose the partial refund, I want to know if they agree to the amount I requested.  If not, what?  A new denture set is definitely better for me financially, but less desirable health-wise.  It will be stressful for me to visit them multiple times for new dentures.  I assumed, maybe incorrectly, that it was better for them to give me a partial refund, rather than to make a new denture set.
Update-  The $7.50 check for the senior discount arrived today.  Not receiving it earlier was a factor affecting my trust, because their email of July 14,  they said "The 10% discount is not a problem, I apologize for not giving the discount at the time of service, the discount will be given on the office visit of $75.00 as we do not offer the discount on lab work.  I will mail the check for the $7.50 discount to you."   I waited a month for the check before filing my complaint about the dentures, and it never came until after I filed my complaint.

Their response said I did not respond to requests to visit, but I did.  Their most recent request for me to visit came on July 20, and I replied on July 21 that I would come in for them to verify my problem.  They did not reply; and July 20 was their last email to me.  As with the senior discount check, I waited a month for any response before I filed my complaint.  My confidence and trust are shaken, and that is what will make visits very stressful.
 They say they didn't hear from me for 6 months, and that is true, but my first email to them on June 1 explained why  (e.g. winter trip to Florida), plus it explained my frustrated attempts to adjust to the dentures.
Again, I can send you any or all email correspondence, or pictures of the dentures themselves, some having captions to explain the problem.  

Thank you and Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

As explained in previous communications, we are more than happy to schedule *** ******  for an appointment to have Dr. M****** look at the dentures in his mouth to diagnosis and treat the issues.  Our goal is for *** ****** to be a satisfied patient and to have a smile he is proud of.  Mulcahy Dental is not refusing any agreement or satisfactory results.

*** ****** has several issues listed with the dentures and those issues need to be addressed with the doctor and the patient and of course the dentures.  Again, we are not refusing to work and make *** ****** happy/satisfied.  Please let me know what day *** ****** can make an appointment to resolve this as soon as possible.

 

Thank you for your time.

Pauline V***

Practice Administrator

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and I am willing to visit tomorrow at 1 pm (Thurs. Oct 15) to hopefully see if we can resolve this.  If tomorrow does not work, I can visit on Monday or Wednesday of next week at 1 pm.  (i.e. Oct. 19 or 21).


Regards,

***** ******

Business previous reply:

As explained in previous communications, we are more than happy to schedule *** ******  for an appointment to have Dr. M****** look at the dentures in his mouth to diagnosis and treat the issues.  Our goal is for *** ****** to be a satisfied patient and to have a smile he is proud of.  Mulcahy Dental is not refusing any agreement or satisfactory results.

*** ****** has several issues listed with the dentures and those issues need to be addressed with the doctor and the patient and of course the dentures.  Again, we are not refusing to work and make *** ****** happy/satisfied.  Please let me know what day *** ****** can make an appointment to resolve this as soon as possible.

 

Thank you for your time.

Pauline V***

Business Response: Dr. M****** can see *** ****** at 9:30 am tomorrow 10/15 or 9:30 am Wednesday 10/21?

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

(reference to complaint ID ********)

I reviewed the response and accepted their offer to visit, and did visit the office on Wednesday October 21, at 9:30 am.  Dr. M****** reviewed my discomfort problem, explained some things, and then gave me a refund check, in exchange for the dentures.  The refund check is dated October 23, 2015 so I could not deposit it on Wednesday, but I plan to deposit it on Friday which is the 23rd (the date on the refund check).   This resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mulcahy Dental Associates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart