BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers dental and orthodontic services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lange & Lange DDS., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lange & Lange DDS., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lange & Lange DDS., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 1997 Business started: 09/13/1973 in OH Business incorporated 09/13/1973 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tracy Hammer III, Office Manger Mr. D. William Lange Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tracy Hammer III, Office Manger
Principal: Mr. D. William Lange Sr., President
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Orthodontist

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Lange, D William DDS Lange, David W DDS

Additional Locations

  • 905 Main St Ste 210

    Milford, OH 45150 (513) 248-7100

  • 9157 Montgomery Road
    Suite 103

    Cincinnati, OH 45242 (513) 791-0777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the evening of Friday, January 24, 2014 my wife and I opened separate letters from ***** ***** **** containing our ******* credit score. Both of our FICO credit scores had plummeted. We immediately got a credit report from *******'s website and had a credit alert registered with all 3 credit agencies. (We went under the early assumption that we had stumbled on some sort of fraud; reasonable given the fact that our scores had been pristine.) Later, we found the following: In our credit report, under "negative information,” there was a note about "collections." It said the following... "A collection is an account that has been turned over to a collection agency by one of your creditors because they believe the account has not been paid as agreed." The agency was ************** Inc. The “creditors” was Lange and Lange, DMD. The amount was $180. (This was the final bill of thousands of dollars of previously paid bills.) That evening I called Dr. Lange’s home number. Dr. Lange said this was highly unusual, and the collections department of his office makes every effort to make sure that this doesn't happen. He said he would have his office call us first thing Monday. On January 27th at 8:15 AM I and wife called Lange and Lange, DMD's office and talked to a billing representative. The billing representative stated that there were 4 statements and 2 past due letters mailed to us. All of these letters were sent to an address in which we have not lived for over two years. The present owners of our previous home have not resided in the house for some time; during much of the time in question, they were overseas. This may explain why letters were not returned to sender. During the January conversation the billing representative promised to send us certain requested documents (old bills, etc.). Again, however, the billing representative did not request our new address. My wife pointed out that if she sends anything it will be sent to the wrong address. We updated the address with the billing representative Why were we not called? (Lange and Lange, DMD's office have 2 of our working phone numbers) When we asked the billing representative if Lange and Lange, DMD's office had called us she stated “Now that I don’t know.” We asked the billing representative if there was any standardized collection procedure and she said there was not. Why were we not emailed? (Lange and Lange, DMD's office have our present email address) The billing representative said that Lange and Lange, DMD's office did have our present, working, email address. Why we were not contacted? One possible explanation is something the billing representative brought up early and again several times during our January 27th phone conversation. The billing representative said that there was a notion among Lange and Lange, DMD's staff that we would not pay for treatment provided. As the billing representative stated “It sounded like you didn’t want to pay it.” This notion, according to the billing representative came from a phone call I had made regarding a replacement retainer. Lange and Lange, DMD's office has a record of that call, and we do not dispute that record. However, my request was for treatment that was not provided. We had never refused any due payment. That we would refuse to pay for treatment provided was incorrect and untruthful was made clear by the billing representative herself during our January 27th conversation… Me: “Is it your understanding that my issue there (in the phone call your office has notes for) was for a new retainer, a replacement retainer?” the billing representative : “Yes.” Me: “Not the previous retainer that had been provided?” the billing representative “No. No.” We believe that Lange and Lange, DMD's office staff purposely failed to reach out to us using phone and email because of a concocted notion that we would not pay what was owed. We believe this is not just unprofessional; it was retribution. The action of Lange and Lange, DMD's office has caused us a lot of stress. We’re sure you are aware of the dozens of financial matters affected by a lowered credit score. We have spent dozens of hours and phone calls trying to clean up this mess. We continue to work the problem.

Desired Settlement: There are are two things that we believe would help rectify the situation. 1) a change in a stated and written collection procedure of Lange and Lange, DMD's office so that before collections go to an outside collection agency and the process of reporting the outstanding bill to credit agencies, there is a good faith attempt to reach customers through mail, on their phone, and where applicable, through e-mail. 2) financial recompense for the cost of reestablishing our previously pristine credit score.

Business Response: Mr. & Mrs. ******'s daughter (****) had first phase orthodontic treatment with us from 8/24/09-6/10/13.  We last saw her on 6/10/13.  Attached is a copy of the signed contract which clearly states there is a fee for broken or lost appliances.  Also attached are copies of letters sent to the address we had on file.  On 4/26/10 we removed ****'s braces and placed an upper removable retainer.  On 10/25/10 we receieved a call that ****'s retainer was broken.  We scheduled her for that day and took a new impression to make a new one.  The fee was $150.00.  On 10/28/10 we seated the new retainer.  On 10/29/10 we posted payment for $150.00 with credit card ending in 3852.  We continued to see **** for regular office visits.  On 6/5/13 we received a phone call that **** had lost her retainer.  We again saw her on that same day to take a new impression.  The family was notified of the fee $175.00 at the phone call for the appointment and at the impression appointment.  On 6/10/13 we seated the retainer for **** and again notified them of the fee.  We billed the account since we did not receive payment at the seat appointment. (This is common with accounts that are current with no past due).  On 6/19/13 Mr. ****** called and wanted to know why there was fee for the retainer.  We advised him the first retainer given at the deband is included in treatment fee and all other lost or broken appiances are replaced or repaired at a fee.  He stated that after all the money he spent with us he couldn't believe we would charge him.  He did not pay for the retainer at that time.  We sent monthly statements to the address we had on file.  On 8/15/13 we sent a past due notice (which is attached).  It was not sent back as returned mail.  On 9/16/13 we sent another past due notice (which is attached).  It also was not sent back as returned mail.  We send statements monthly for all accounts with current and past due balances.  None of the statements were returned as undeliverable or no longer at that address.  We were never notified at any point that the Levines had moved.  We do not have any way of knowing that someone has relocated if we didn't get back returned mail or were  not contacted by the family.   We continued to send statements to the address on file and did not receive any response.  On 10/24/13 we turned the account over for collections due to non-payment on account.  In Jauary 2014 Mr. ****** called Dr. Lange at home after hours on the emergency dental #.  This number is reserved for patients with dental emergencies.  Dr. Lange spoke with Mr. ****** regarding the past due account being turned over to collections and told him our financial coordinator would call him first thing in the morning.  Dr. Lange was unable to assist him since it was after hours and all patient files are locked in the office.  Mr. ****** called at 8:15am the next day.  The financial coordinator spoke with him regarding account.  She explained the process of sending statements and letters for all accounts with balances.  Mr. ****** paid for the retainer at that time with a credit card ending in ****.  Regarding the desired settlement: 1) We now will not seat any appliance without payment in full at time of service.  2) We update all patient information and note account with date information was updated. 3)  There is no financial recompense needed since Mr. ****** requested and accepted services rendered and was made aware of the fee (at the phone call, seat and his call to our office on 6/19/13).  He chose not to pay at that time. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Please note that some of the errors made by Dr. Lange's office (correspondence to the BBB 5/1/2014 11:45:04 AM) reflect the fact that two letters, sent to both Drs. Lange, on the 15th day of March, 2014 seem not to have been read by the office staff providing the BBB response. A copy of the 15th day of March, 2014 letter is attached. Irrespective, we will --again-- explain the basis of our complaint. We believe our community should know of 2 incidents regarding this dental practice; Issue 1: If a patient relocates, Drs. Lange's office will not use normal lines of communication but instead go to a collection agency; Issue 2: Drs. Lange's office will attempt to "blame the victim" (the patient's family) for the damage to the family’s credit. Regarding issue 1: It is our contention that Drs. Lange's office behaved in a careless way with regard to billing our family. At any point in time Drs. Lange's office could've used either of the 2 working phone numbers and/or the working e-mail address they had. Regarding issue 2: Drs. Lange's office now unsubstantiatedly, and potentially libelously reiterated and as of the last correspondence added to the assertion that it was our family's fault.

Our hope is that potential patients will be hyper vigilant to correct their address should they move. Potential patients should be made aware that if they move and they do not inform Drs. Lange's office, the patient's family will not be contacted. Instead the patient's family's financial responsibility will be sent to a collection agency which will then report to all credit agencies, resulting in damage to that family’s credit score. Note that Drs. Lange's office new assertion that Mr. ****** refused to pay our bill is also unsubstantiated, does not appear in Drs. Lange's office notes of the conversation and, within this context, potentially libelous. Again, this is an attempt by Drs. Lange's office to deflect responsibility. "We now will not seat any appliance without payment in full at time of service." This statement is indicative of the callousness with which this office operates. We cannot imagine trusting Dr. Lange's office again.

The reason we are requesting recompense is simple: Drs. Lange's office damaged our family's credit, and they should help pay for the restitution of that credit.

As stated in our previous correspondence to the BBB:

There are two things that we believe would help rectify the situation. 1) a change in a stated and written collection procedure of Lange and Lange, DMD's office so that before collections go to an outside collection agency and the process of reporting the outstanding bill to credit agencies, there is a good faith attempt to reach customers through mail, on their phone, and where applicable, through e-mail. 2) Financial recompense for the cost of reestablishing our previously pristine credit score.

Best,

***** * ******

P.S. We hope that Drs. Lange's office will update their records to replace "Mrs. ******" with her name; Ms. *****.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lange & Lange DDS., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)