BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers general and cosmetic dentistry procedures such as crowns, bridges, inlays & onlays, invisalign, veneers, botox and derma fillers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that L.A.N.U. Dental, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for L.A.N.U. Dental, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for L.A.N.U. Dental, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on L.A.N.U. Dental, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 2012 Business started: 05/18/2012 in OH Business incorporated: 05/18/2012 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Leslie Ann Nechvatal-Uhelski, Dentist
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leslie Ann Nechvatal-Uhelski, Dentist
Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Cosmetic

Method(s) of Payment
We Accept All Major Credit Cards.  We also have a payment plan through Care Credit.

Additional Locations

  • 4874 Wunnenberg Way

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 860-1940

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 860-1995 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reason for complaint: Lanu Dental refuses to make a refund for services that were not provided. I had an appointment on 12/5/13 to start the work on two crowns. Due to emergencies at work I realized that I will not be able to make it to the 3:00 PM appointment so I called the dental office around 2 PM and I was rescheduled for 5 PM. I left from work, located in downtown Cincinnati, at 4:00 PM however due to bad weather and traffic conditions I arrived at the dental office just before 6:00 PM. The dental office was closing so I was charged $75.00 no-show fee and I was asked to pay in advance half of the cost for the two crowns and I had the appointment rescheduled for 12/19/13. I realized afterwards that although I did not make it for the appointment the $75.00 fee was overzealous considering that I have been using this dental office since 2008 with no similar situations. My husband went to the dental office on 12/9/12 to discuss the $75 no-show fee however the office manager did now show any intent to cancel the fee or to at least reduce it. On 12/15/13 I sent an email to the dental office communicating that I made the decision to cancel all appointments and request for the advanced payment to be refunded. My husband went to the dental office again on 12/19/13 to request the refund for the pre-paid services and he was told that I have to be there in person to obtain the refund. I went to the office today 12/23/12 and the office manager told me that she cannot issue the refund check because the doctor is out.

Desired Settlement: My request is for Lanu Dental to issue a refund for the work that was not started and for the $75 no-show fee.

Business Response: Mrs ***** ****** had a scheduled 3 hour appointment with Dr, ********* that was confirmed she no showed the appointment.  Several hours later she phoned the office and said she had a family emergency.  The receptionist then offered her a later appointment at 4:00pm she accepted that and said would definately be able to make that appointment.  Well Four o'clock came and she was not at the office no phone call to explain, she just walked in the door at about 6:15pm and said she had car issues.  The office closes at 7:00 these late hours are offered once a month and are prime time, we don't double book, this chair was reserved for Mrs ****** whom had no respect for our schedule or the Doctor.  She wanted to reschedule at that point she was asked for a deposit for the work to be done and charged $75 for the missed appt which was less then the $25/hr cancellation charge that we normally do and we have documentation that she signed showing she knows of this policy.  She presented an ******** ******* and paid the fee.  Her husband came in Dec.23 when Dr. was out for the holiday and I was working alone he insisted on a check refund.  After I explained I don't write checks for the office he became very threatening with foul language I asked him to leave.  On Jan 5,2013 we received a request from american express stating Mrs ****** didn't know what the charge on her American Express was, so we have followed the proper procedure and paperwork with them and the money was credited to the card used even though it was a legit charge.

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid in advance for services, those services are not able to be completed and I expect a refund for services not completed. I was suppose to get crowns, they do not have the moulds to make them, so I want a refund for work not performed due to my health.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund for work not performed which is the bulk of the charge to the credit card.

Business Response:

regard to patient ******* ***** ********* ** *******

Patient came to our office in September 2012 wanting to fix her teeth. The progression of decay was to t e point on her front teeth that she needed root canal therapy and crowns in order to save the teeth. 5 e understood this and wanted to save her teeth and to clean up any infection present. She scheduled n appointment to get started on her anterior maxillary teeth. She was scheduled for 4 and a half hours of chair time in order to complete all treatment on those teeth the same day as she had requested. We moved the cavities on teeth 6, 7,8,9,10, and 11, informed patient that on teeth 7,8, and 10 her decay -nt into her nerve canal and that that called for root canal therapy as discussed previously. Patient wanted to go ahead and do the Root canals immediately and we proceeded with 3 root canals and 6 rowns. We made temporary crowns for her to wear until we could get her crowns back from the lab. he liked the way they looked and was happy with them. Crown lengthening was also done in order to ive an aesthetic look. The doctor informed her that there is a possibility still that she needs root canals n her other teeth since the decay was so close to her nerve and to let us know if she experiences any ain with them, if so, additional root canals would need to be done. She understood and was to come back as soon as possible. The lab called our office requesting additional impressions so they could omplete her crowns. We called ******* repetitively to get her to come in so we could get our impressions taken in order to get her crowns back. We left multiple messages explaining how imperative it was that she come in so we can finish her treatment, especially since she was lingering on he verge of needing additional root canals, we explained that she may end up needing to redo the crowns if she doesn't let us get impressions soon since decay can seep in around the margin of the temporary crowns there is no guarantee of our dental work if she waits much longer . We explained to her that even though they may feel nice and look nice it is not a permanent solution and if she does not let us take impressions to complete her treatment that she is risking making things a lot worse. Patient old us to "stop calling me" and that she would "come in when she is ready". We therefore stopped requesting patient to come in to continue with her recommended treatment. Patient did not allow us to inish her treatment even after repetitive attempts to do so on our part. She went against the doctor's treatment plan and did not have any further contact with our office for 6 months.

It was *******'s decision not to come in to take the necessary impressions needed so she can receive her porcelain crowns. She specifically instructed us tot stop asking her to come in , she had a complete disregard for doctor's warnings, instructions and trematment plan. 

In *******'s complaint against our office she stated "I paid in advance for services, those services are not able to be completed and I expect a full refund for services not completed. I was supposed to get crowns, they do not have the moulds to make them, so I want a refund for work not preformed due to my health." In response; she did not pay in advance, she paid the day services were performed which is expected of all patients since that is the day we use our materials and chair time and do all the work. The services were able to be completed she simply hasn't come in to take her impressions which also answers the question as to why we do not have them. Then she ends it by saying it is due to her health which has nothing to do with my services. An impression takes 60 seconds of time and is less invasive than brushing your teeth;therefore, as you can see she seems to be fishing for money. 

This is an account of our contact w/******* ***. If you need further information or need any documentation we have documented all of the above in her chart.

L.A.N.U. Dental Inc.

###-###-####