BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a clinic, offering medical services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holzer Clinic Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holzer Clinic Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holzer Clinic Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1949 in OH Business incorporated: 01/02/1985 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Ohio State Medical Board
30 E. Broad Street, 3rd Floor, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.med.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-3934
Fax Number: 614-728-5946

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert E Daniel, Administrator Mr. Thomas Denbow, C.F.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert E Daniel, Administrator
Principal: Mr. Thomas Denbow, C.F.O.
Business Category

Dentists Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians - Specialists Clinics

Alternate Business Names
Holzer Clinic Holzer Clinic Jackson Holzer Clinic Lawrence County Holzer Clinic Liberty Circle Holzer Clinic Rehabilitation Services Holzer Clinic Sycamore
Additional Information

This company is headquartered in Gallipolis, Ohio. They also have locations in Columbus and Greater West Virginia.  Local BBBs maintain separate listings for those locations.


Additional Locations

  • 1051 4th Avenue

    Gallipolis, OH 45631 (740) 446-5252

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2605 Jackson Avenue

    Pt. Pleasant, WV 25550 (304) 675-4498

  • 280 Pattonsville Road

    Jackson, OH 45640 (740) 395-8801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    313 Maccorkle Avenue SW

    South Charleston, WV 25303 (304) 744-2300

  • 68 Sycamore Street

    Gallipolis, OH 45631 (740) 441-3560

  • 90 Jackson Pike

    Gallipolis, OH 45631 (740) 446-5411

  • 96 Township Road 369, Suite 101

    Proctorville, OH 45669 (740) 886-9370

  • 98 State Street

    Proctorville, OH 45669 (740) 886-9403

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 466-5937(Phone)
  • (740) 446-5532 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 2-3 months ago I received a bill for $138.00 from Holzer Clinic for an office visit on February 19, 2007. Account Number ******** I sent a letter to the billing office requesting informaton on WHAT SERVICE WAS RECEIVED, WHO WAS THE ATTENDING PHYSICIAN, WHAT PORTION OF THE BILL DID MY INSURANCE COMPANY PAY, AND WHY ARE THEY SENDING ME A BILL SEVEN (7) YEARS LATE? I received a second bill from them, but they did not send me the requested information. I sent them another letter requesting the same information. Instead of sending me the requested information, Holzer Clinic turned my accouut over to the **** ********** ******. Holzer Clinic DID NOT notify me that the account would be turned over to a Colection Agency. Holzer Clinic did nothing to help me settle this seven (7) year old debt, and by turning my account over to collections, I feel that they violated the Fair Credit Reporting Act. I called my Insurance Company regarding this bill. I was told that when the clinic took my insuranace information, they should have known that a Prior Authorization was required. The clinic did not call the insurance company for authorization. The clinic did not request an explaintion for Payment Denied from the insurance company.

Desired Settlement: Holzer Clinic sent me a bill for services seven (7) years ago. They refused twice to send me the information I requested concerning this bill. They violated the Fair Credit Reporting Act. This account should not been turned over to collections. As a result, I would like for Holzer Clinic to DISMISS THIS BILL, HAVE THIS ACTION REMOVED FROM ALL CREDIT REPORTING AGENCIES, AND NOTIFY THE **** COLLECTION AGENCY THAT THEY DISMISSED THIS BILL.

Business Response:

 

 

Reference: *** ***** ******* #: ********

 

 

Thank you for the inquiry on September 10, 2013, referencing the concern expressed by our patient *** *****.

 

Although we strive to make Holzer “the best place to come for care”, we sometimes fall short meeting the patient’s expectations.  We regret his dissatisfaction and appreciate your giving us the opportunity to review and improve our service.

 

After reviewing the account, Holzer is in agreement with Mr. ***** that his account should not have been sent the collection agency **** and reported to his credit report.  **** has been notified to close and return the balance of $138.00 and to remove from any credit reporting.  A letter will be sent to Mr. ***** showing the account is now closed and will not affect his credit report.  Holzer has adjusted the $138.00 and the account now reflects a zero balance. 

 

I hope this clears the concerns regarding the account.  We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your bringing this concern to our attention.  If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.  We hope Mr. *****’s future encounters with Holzer will not only meet but exceed expectations. 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** *****

Patient Accounts Manager

Holzer Health System

*** ******* **** *********** **  ***** ************* *****************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 *** contacted me and stated I owed Holzer Clinic 460.27 From 2005. I stated I needed time to fine my receipts. This was to long of a time. The bank couldn't even fine my clear checks they updated there computers and couldn't go back that far. So my wife meet with ****** at Holzer Clinic. I couldn't fine where I paid but they did fine a 20.00 deduction. I went a head and paid the remainder balance. But this is still on my credit report and they updated it and said it wouldn't come off my report until 2016. This account was in 2005. and it's stated as a judgement against us. How can they update account ********. They even sent me statements from back in 1989 for my wife ***** she wasn't my wife at that time please help.

Desired Settlement: I just what this off my credit report its been 13 years sense this account was opened.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

 

Thank you for allowing Holzer to respond to your concerns regarding your account.

 

Although we strive to make Holzer "the best place to come for care”, we sometimes fall short of meeting the patient's expectations. We regret your dissatisfaction and appreciate your giving us the opportunity to review and improve our service.

 

After reviewing the account, our account notes indicate the balance of $460.27 was placed with *** for collection on 4/15/11 and reported to your credit report on 6/1/11. Our records show that our office spoke with you and your wife in reference to the balance and locating payment receipts on 10/21/11. After we received correspondence from you on 11/14/11 with copies of payments made to Holzer Clinic we sent print outs to verify those payments were received and that they had been applied to your account. Included in what we sent to you were the dates of service and balances for the $460.27 still due. On 11/23/11, Mrs. ****** contacted us and stated she did not find the payments that you thought had been made and agreed the balance due was corrected and paid the balance of $439.48. The original balance was $460.27 however, there was an additional Medical ****** adjustment of $20.79, and your balance was corrected to $439.38. You paid $439.38 on 11/28/11 and the payment was reported to *** and then to your credit report as paid on 2/7/12. Updating the credit report will only show, the balance as paid and satisfied but the account delinquency will not be removed for seven years after it was first reported. 

 

I hope this answers your concerns regarding the account. If I can be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *****

Patient Accounts Assistant Manager

###-###-####

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *****

 

Consumer Response:

IN 2011 *** contacted me and stated I owed a back balance of 460.27 from 2005. when I ask want this was for stated copay. My question is why did they wait almost 6 years before they brought this matter to my attention. I had know choice but to pay it .This was reported to a collection agency 7/11/06 but not brought to our attention until 2011. This I believe could have been avoided. and when I applied for loan it came back I had a judgement against me from Holzer. 460.27 when I only had to pay 439.38.             

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When *** contacted me about this account in 2011. It had already been turned over to a collection agency in 2006. Because the print out papers Holzer sent me has this stated on them. I didn't even know I had a balance out there. My question is why did they wait almost six years to bring this to my attention? If this was already turned over to a collection agency why would n't that be considered the day it was reported. And when I talked to *** on the phone I was under the impression if I paid the balace it wouldn't be on my credit report.

Regards,

****** *****

 

Business Response:

After reviewing your account, we have taken into consideration that the balance was paid after you determined it was due and therefore, Holzer has requested that *** remove this from your credit report.  *** will send you a letter with the details and advising that it may take 30 days for the credit report to be updated. 

I hope this answers your concerns regarding the account.  We appreciate your brining this concern to our attention.  If I can be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.  We hope your future encounters with Holzer will not only meet but exceed your expectations. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** *****

Patient Account Assistant Manager

Holzer Clinic

************  

 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  That Holzer has *** remove this from my credit report within 30 days.

Regards,

****** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/1/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1