BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a clinic, offering medical services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holzer Clinic Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holzer Clinic Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holzer Clinic Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1949 in OH Business incorporated 01/02/1985 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Ohio State Medical Board
30 E. Broad Street, 3rd Floor, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.med.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-3934
Fax Number: 614-728-5946

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert E Daniel, Administrator Mr. Thomas Denbow, C.F.O. (FORMER)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert E Daniel, Administrator
Principal: Mr. Thomas Denbow, C.F.O. (FORMER)
Business Category

Dentists Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians - Specialists Clinics

Alternate Business Names
Holzer Clinic Holzer Clinic Jackson Holzer Clinic Lawrence County Holzer Clinic Liberty Circle Holzer Clinic Rehabilitation Services Holzer Clinic Sycamore
Additional Information

This company is headquartered in Gallipolis, Ohio. They also have locations in Columbus and Greater West Virginia.  Local BBBs maintain separate listings for those locations.


Additional Locations

  • 1051 4th Avenue

    Gallipolis, OH 45631 (740) 446-5252

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2605 Jackson Avenue

    Pt. Pleasant, WV 25550 (304) 675-4498

  • 280 Pattonsville Road

    Jackson, OH 45640 (740) 395-8801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    313 Maccorkle Avenue SW

    South Charleston, WV 25303 (304) 744-2300

  • 68 Sycamore Street

    Gallipolis, OH 45631 (740) 441-3560

  • 90 Jackson Pike

    Gallipolis, OH 45631 (740) 446-5411

  • 96 Township Road 369, Suite 101

    Proctorville, OH 45669 (740) 886-9370

  • 98 State Street

    Proctorville, OH 45669 (740) 886-9403

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attorney General Complaint: The consumer is calling in regards to billing issues with Holzer Clinic in Gallipolis Ohio. The consumer
paid a bill from the clinic on Account@ ********* The supplier continues to bill the consumer. The consumer is 80 yrs old.

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like to have a statement showing all paid and no further billing from the supplier.

Business Response:

September 13, 2013

 

 

Cincinnati Better Business Bureau

7 West 7th Ste. 1600

Cincinnati, OH  45202

 

 

Reference: ****** ***** Account # ********

BBB ID # ********

 

 

Thank you for the inquiry on March 4, 2015, referencing the concern expressed by our patient ****** ******.  

 

Although we strive to make Holzer “the best place to come for care”, we sometimes fall short meeting the patient’s expectations.  We regret her dissatisfaction and appreciate your giving us the opportunity to review and improve our service.

 

After reviewing the account, Holzer has received and applied a total of $81.32 towards account number ******** to date.  Attached please find copies of the charges and payments received as well as any remaining balances.  If the patient has made other payments on the account if she can provide any helpful documentation such as canceled checks or additional account numbers for Holzer we would be happy to review. 

 

I hope this clears the concerns regarding the account.  We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your bringing this concern to our attention.  If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.  We hope the Ms. ******'s future encounters with Holzer will not only meet but exceed expectations. 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** *****

******* ******** *******

Holzer Health System

*** ******* **** *********** **  *****

###-###-####

*****************

 

11/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 2-3 months ago I received a bill for $138.00 from Holzer Clinic for an office visit on February 19, 2007. Account Number ******** I sent a letter to the billing office requesting informaton on WHAT SERVICE WAS RECEIVED, WHO WAS THE ATTENDING PHYSICIAN, WHAT PORTION OF THE BILL DID MY INSURANCE COMPANY PAY, AND WHY ARE THEY SENDING ME A BILL SEVEN (7) YEARS LATE? I received a second bill from them, but they did not send me the requested information. I sent them another letter requesting the same information. Instead of sending me the requested information, Holzer Clinic turned my accouut over to the **** ********** ******. Holzer Clinic DID NOT notify me that the account would be turned over to a Colection Agency. Holzer Clinic did nothing to help me settle this seven (7) year old debt, and by turning my account over to collections, I feel that they violated the Fair Credit Reporting Act. I called my Insurance Company regarding this bill. I was told that when the clinic took my insuranace information, they should have known that a Prior Authorization was required. The clinic did not call the insurance company for authorization. The clinic did not request an explaintion for Payment Denied from the insurance company.

Desired Settlement: Holzer Clinic sent me a bill for services seven (7) years ago. They refused twice to send me the information I requested concerning this bill. They violated the Fair Credit Reporting Act. This account should not been turned over to collections. As a result, I would like for Holzer Clinic to DISMISS THIS BILL, HAVE THIS ACTION REMOVED FROM ALL CREDIT REPORTING AGENCIES, AND NOTIFY THE **** COLLECTION AGENCY THAT THEY DISMISSED THIS BILL.

Business Response:

 

 

Reference: *** ***** ******* #: ********

 

 

Thank you for the inquiry on September 10, 2013, referencing the concern expressed by our patient *** *****.

 

Although we strive to make Holzer “the best place to come for care”, we sometimes fall short meeting the patient’s expectations.  We regret his dissatisfaction and appreciate your giving us the opportunity to review and improve our service.

 

After reviewing the account, Holzer is in agreement with Mr. ***** that his account should not have been sent the collection agency **** and reported to his credit report.  **** has been notified to close and return the balance of $138.00 and to remove from any credit reporting.  A letter will be sent to Mr. ***** showing the account is now closed and will not affect his credit report.  Holzer has adjusted the $138.00 and the account now reflects a zero balance. 

 

I hope this clears the concerns regarding the account.  We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your bringing this concern to our attention.  If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.  We hope Mr. *****’s future encounters with Holzer will not only meet but exceed expectations. 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** *****

Patient Accounts Manager

Holzer Health System

*** ******* **** *********** **  ***** ************* *****************

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Holzer Clinic Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)