BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Dental Center of Florence, Kentucky, PSC

Phone: (859) 282-9741 Fax: (859) 282-2171 View Additional Phone Numbers 8076 Us Highway 42, Florence, KY 41042 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dcof.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers dentistry services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dental Center of Florence, Kentucky, PSC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dental Center of Florence, Kentucky, PSC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dental Center of Florence, Kentucky, PSC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 23, 1992 Business started: 04/02/1992 in KY Business incorporated: 10/22/1997 in KY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Dentistry
312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 101, Louisville KY 40222
http://dentistry.ky.gov/
Phone Number: (502) 429-7280
Fax Number: 502-429-7282

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Keith Laws, President/Owner Dr. Laura Herfel, Dentist/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Keith Laws, President/Owner
Business Category

Dentists

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Saturday-By appointment only
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, CareCredit, Dental Insurance
Service Area
Tri-State Area
Alternate Business Names
D.C.O.F
Industry Tips
Choosing A Dentist Finding a Reliable Dentist

Additional Locations

  • 8076 Us Highway 42

    Florence, KY 41042 (800) 354-6010 (859) 282-9741

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 354-6010(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose DCOF as the place to buy dentures from in November 2012. I bought the premium denture with the total cost with lab fees being over $500.00.From The very beginning (November 2012)I told them Dr. ***** that I was not happy with the denture. I have 4 issues 1)The midline is off and my smile looks off center 2)the front left tooth is not straight 3)my very back right molar is level with the gum 4)they are too white. My biggest concern is the midline being off center. I stressed this to the assistant and Dr. I had two of there assistant tell me that they could see my teeth were not centered. The Dr. Dr. ***** told me I had to wait six months and she would fix it. I waited six months went back in to DCOF June 18, 2013 to get the denture fixed. I had an 11.00am appointment. They called me June,14 2013 and asked me to be there at 10:30am so I could see Dr. *****. I went there June 18 2013 at 10:30.I went back and talked to the assistant and told her I was there to get my teeth fixed. She walked out of the room for a few minutes and came back and told me that Dr. ***** said that she would remake my denture for the reline price of $220.00. I was shocked. The Dr. never came back to talk to me. I left and thought about it for a few days. I called DCOF back on June 27 2013 and talked to ******* and told her that I was not going to give them anymore money for my denture until I got what I paid for in the first place. She was very nice told me to hold on she came back on the phone and told me that Dr. ***** said if I want them fixed I have to pay $220.00. The reline is $220.00 if I do not want to get a reline I do not have to its my option my warranty is void if I do not get it. Dr. ***** made me wait 6 months with a smile that I am uncomfortable with just so she could try to get more money out of me. She could have fixed my dentures 6 months ago. I did not know that until I figured out what she was up to. I am not going to give DCOF another dime I am out over $500.00 I did not get what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: A full refund for the cost of the denture and lab fees. I will gladly go somewhere else. I do not trust DCOF (Dr. *****).I have waited 6/7 months. I would like to resolve this through the BBB. I really do not want to take further action. Dr. ***** did not say six months ago that I would have to pay for a reline to get the denture fixed or I would have taken action then. I feel like Dr. ***** does not care that I am not happy, she just wants more money out of me. I am embarrassed of my smile!

Business Response:

I am writing in response to case #*******. The patient had an immediate denture made in November 2012. An Immediate denture involves taking an impression and making a denture while the patient still has their natural teeth. After a denture has been made for the patient, the patient has their teeth extracted and the denture placed. As the tissue heals from the extraction sites the tissue shrinks and changes. It is impossible to know at the time the denture is made how the tissue will shrink, change, and heal. We review with the patient that the immediate denture is only an approximation with regard to the final shrinkage of the gums. We also review with the patient that after six months that the denture will need to be remade or relined at a fee. This was discussed with the patient at her initial visit. Many patients will elect to have a new denture made after healing instead of a reline. Some patient's, if they are happy with the cosmetic aspect of their denture including the placement of the midline, color of the teeth, shape of the teeth, etc., will just chose to have their current denture relined after healing. Regardless of which option they choose, they either need a new denture or a reline after heating which is normally 6 -12 months after the extractions.

The patient was educated and signed a form stating that she understood in 6 months that she would have the reline fee. The form is attached. The doctor reviewed with her that we would reevaluate after healing in about 6-8 months, We offered to make the patient a new denture and instead of charging her for a new denture only charge her the cost of a reline fee. We never discussed with her doing any services at no charge. Our dentures are custom made prosthetics and like other medical services are not refundable. We are offering to do a new denture and only charge the cost equivalent to a reline. We will not refund the denture fee, but we are willing to make a new denture at $220.00 which is our current fee for a denture reline.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

******* ******

I will not pay $220.00 for a reline until I have a new denture made.To ensure I like the denture and the midline is centered.I am not going to put out anymore money.To have the lab make another mistake and have to go through this again. I understand that I signed a paper about shrinkage and loose fitting denturesan dc that I will have to have a reline for the shrinkage in the 6 to 12 healing time.My issue in my teeth being centered not shrinkage or loose fitting dentures. Center is center and I was told it would be fixed in six months. I still have four months to get a reline.The  Lab made a mistake it happens they need to take ownership of this or I will take further action. I want a new denture made then I will get a reline.I do understand that I can not get a full refund on medical services.They can make a new denture for me that is centeted.You can plainly see how offf center it is in the temporary liner.

Business Response:

July 23rd, 2013 Case#*******

**** *******

We have agreed to make the patient a new denture at $220.00. The patient will not need a reline, if a new denture is made. The patient would have had the $220.00 fee for the reline but instead of relining the denture we have agreed to make her a new denture for the same cost ($220.00). We discussed with the patient at her initial visit that after 6 months that she would need to have the denture relined or a new denture. There is no way to predict how much or how little a patient's mouth will change during the healing process. An immediate denture is made from an impression while the patient still has natural teeth. The mid line on an immediate denture could be perfectly centered with the patient's natural teeth and once healing begins due to changes in the bone could become off centered. This is not a lab mistake, and it is normal when dentures are placed as an immediate. It is impossible to predict how a patient's gums and tissue will heal and change. An immediate denture is meant to be relined or replaced after healing. We will make a new denture for the patient for $220.00. The new denture will eliminate the need for a reline.

Sincerely,

**** ****** Office Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

 

******* ******

   Once again my denture was not centered the very first time that I put them in my mouth back in November 2012. The lab did make a mistake! I immediatley brought it to the Dr. attention in november when I came back in for sore spots and adjustments. The Dr. told me she would fix it. Now I have been going through this with the BBB for another month. I want a smile that is centered. I am not nor will not pay $220.00 for a new denture to be made. I want  one made for me with the midline centered. They never once said that my midline might be off when they make the denture or I would have went somewhere else.  I am not going to keep going through this with these people., I am so very disappointed in this company. I am not willing to risk paying $220.00 to get another denture made when they cant take ownership of their mistake. I am sure mistakes do not happen very often but it is obviously the labs fault they were not right from the very beginning. You can see how much the midline is off on the temporary liner they put in. the midline on the temporary liner is obviously right because it is an impression of my mouth and on the denture the midline is over to the left. As it stands now I am out over five hundred dollars because I am going to have to get a new denture made somewhere else if if the dcof will not keep their word to me and center my denture.

 

Business Response: September
1fith, 2013 Case# *******

**** *******

Typically, we don't let people keep their
original denture, if we are remaking a denture. If the denture is not
cosmetically acceptable and has to be remade, then most patients have no need
for the original denture. The patient asked at her appointment about keeping
the denture, and we agreed to let her keep the denture for a $100.00 fee. After
several correspondences to try to bring this case to a close, we agreed to let
her keep the original denture at no charge. Now, she is asking that we incur
fees to have a denture that she is not pleased with permanently relined. We
will not agree to a permanent lab reline on her current denture. However, we
will agree to place a chair side reline in her current denture and let her keep
it at no charge, when she has a new denture made.

Sincerely,

**** ****** Office Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******


Okay I am so done with this.I will be filing a small claims suite in attempt to have them remake this denture that Is not center I will let a judge decide what is right. I will not let this go this is unacceptable.I do not want the denture at all but they are offering to give them to me at no cost.The only reason I would want them is if something would happen to my good denture I would have something to wear until I got It fix.Why would I want something that doesn't fit. I really thought this was a good respectable place to go.Wow was I wrong!

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on or about feb. of 2011 i had purchaced a complete set of false teeth from dental center of florence i have made several trips to get them fixed they have never fit from day one they have been told that they say give it time they will now i have tryed to get them fixed again no body whants to help me now they say they need a new liner and it cost 220.00 plus an ofice visit can some one help me i dont know what esle to do thanks *** ********* ************

Desired Settlement: just give a set or fix the ones i have to fit

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau Case: *******

 

I am writing in response to case #*******. The patient was seen in February 2011 to have upper and lower dentures fabricated. The patient had never worn dentures before, and he had his remaining upper and lower teeth extracted 8 or 9 months prior to corning to our office. We explained to him that wearing dentures would be a learning process and how difficult a lower denture is to wear. The patient returned in April and June stating the dentures was loose. The doctor made adjustments to his dentures and explained that his lower denture will always fit loose due to him not having a ridge (no bone structure) on the lower. Patient returned September 2011, and we relined his upper and his lower dentures at no charge as a courtesy to him. In February of 2012, the patient came in for a consult on implants. Mini implants were discussed for stability of the lower denture. We also explained to the patient that we could reline his dentures again (at a charge) to attempt to gain better suction. We have not heard from the patient, since his February 2012 visit.

We do everything that we can to help patients be successful denture wearers. With some people It takes more time, patience, adjustments and additional treatment like implants or seeing a prosthetic specialist to wear dentures. The patient has not contacted our office in over a year, nor proceeded with his treatment. We explained to him initially that dentures were difficult to wear, and we relined his dentures at no cost. We also discussed treatment options that may help him have a better fit with his dentures. The patient's dentures are not fitting due to his lack of bone structure and need for additional treatment not because of the fabrication of the dentures. We will be happy to see him again for an exam at no charge. We will review his options again, but we will not give a new set of dentures or do the relines again at no charge.

If you need any further information from our office or if I need to provide anything additional, please contact me at ***** ******** or e-mail at ***************

Sincerely,

**** ****** ****** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Case number:  *******
For the Dental Center ** ******** **
From ***** *********
 
 
So if the doctor didn't think the dentures would ever fit because of no bone structure way would he make the dentures and not informed me of this before he made the dentures. This letter from BBB is the first time I have heard about no bone structure.  
 
From the beginning I was told they would guarantee my dentures would fit and re-alignments were free. They also said 90% of most people have problems with lower dentures.  But I can't even keep uppers in mouth let-a-lone the lowers.
 
Yes, I did consult with them about implants and decided it was to costly and was told my dentures would still flop up because implants can not be installed in back of mouth.    Then I was told about a $250.00 permanent liner that they said would make the dentures fit. 
 
Thanks for your help in this matter,
***

 

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response:

I am writing in response to case ********. We explained to the patient in the beginning how wearing dentures would be a learning process and how difficult the lower denture would be to wear. Even after this was explained, the patient still wanted to proceed with making the dentures. Everyone's learning curve and expectations are different. We have many patients that learn to wear dentures even with a less than desirable fit. As a courtesy, we did the relines at no charge in September 2011. At that time, the patient stated the uppers fit great and the lower was still loose. The patient stated he understood that his lower would probably not fit any better. We did not hear from him for almost 5 months. At that time, we offered to try the relines again (at a charge) and recommended the implants. We explained that we could do the relines again (at a charge), but there was no guarantee that it would help. Implants do not go in the back, but the denture "snaps" in to place and many patients find that they have an increase in the stability of the denture with mini implants. The patient purchased a Custom Denture package. There is not any warranty or guarantee with this denture package. In addition, only 3 adjustments are provided with this denture. We have provided additional services to the patient above the denture package that he purchased at no charge. We will not provide a new set of dentures or the relines at no charge. We will provide an exam at no charge and review his options.

If you need any further information from our office or if I need to provide anything additional, then please contact me at ###-###-#### or e-mail at **************

Sincerely,

**** ****** Office Manager

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1