This business is not BBB accredited.

Christopher N. Lippert D.D.S., Inc.

Phone: (513) 648-9900 Fax: (513) 742-4670 1291 Kemper Meadow Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45240 View Additional Email Addresses

! There is an alert on Christopher N. Lippert D.D.S., Inc. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers general dentistry, crown and bridge work.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Christopher N. Lippert D.D.S., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1985 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity


Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Amy B. Lutz, Office Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Lippert, Christopher N DDS

Additional Locations


    1291 Kemper Meadow Drive

    Cincinnati, OH 45240 (513) 648-9900


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a root canal done at a hospital and needs to do a crown over the tooth. I chose Christopher N Lippert, DDS because they are a member of the BBB and I trust BBB. However, the service I received from the physician (Dr. *****, if I spelled correctly) was extremely disappointing. Because my root canal was done elsewhere (shortly before my initial visit to Dr. Lippert's office), I do have a recent X-ray for the tooth. Upon my first visit, I was asked to bring my own X-ray, which I did and discussed the treatment plan with Dr. *****. The procedures planned was a little bit expensive to me, however, after receiving suggestions from the financing lady, I purchased a dental savings program that the clinic accepts and made an appointment for Nov. 5th at 10:45 am. Upon leaving, I was given back X-ray and nobody told me to bring it back next time. I assume that they have made a copy of it -- given that I gave the office my X-ray the moment I talked to reception. I arrived at the office at 10:40 and waited till 11:30 am till I was brought into the treatment room. The assistant then told me that they didn't (or from my understanding, forgot) to make a copy of my X-ray I brought upon my first visit and put it in my file. Therefore, they need to do an X-ray, which should be paid by me. Otherwise, I will be re-scheduled to another date and I should bring my old X-ray. I expressed my disagreement with this proposal because it is not my fault that they forgot to make a copy of the X-ray, or forgetting to ask me to bring it for the second visit. After expressed my opinion to the assistant, Ms. *******, she went out to talk with the one in charge, which I learned to be Dr. ***** in our later conversations. Ms. ******* returned and seemed stressed, telling me that the one in charge still insist. I do not want to put the pressure on her to be the messenger, thus I asked to talk to the one in charge. She returned and say, "He is too busy. You know, he is a physician. " She then offered me to talk to the office manager, which I accept. At this time, it was 11:55 am. One hour and ten minutes after my appointment time. During my conversation with the office manager, the office manager confirmed that the one Ms. ******* communicated with during the previous paragraph was Dr. *****, who was "too busy" to talk to me at 11:50 am, which suppose to be MY treatment time (my treatment supposed to start 10:45 am and takes one and a half hour for crown, according to reception when I made my appointment for the second visit). The office manager, Ms. **** told me that Dr. ***** stated that I "seemed to be resistant to his treatment plan" and would be more comfortable no long taking me as a patient. I refute his statement that I was "resistant to his treatment plan" -- If I were not in agreement with his plan, I wouldn't purchased an $100 dental saving program SPECIFICALLY for this treatment at this clinic and made the appointment immediately. Still, after negotiating with Ms. ****, even if I ask, what if I do the x-ray now, can I still have the treatment (a dental crown should be done ASAP after a root canal because the tooth becomes fragile after root canal and could easily break, and I've waited over a MONTH for this appointment already), I got a NO. My initial examination fee was refunded, but nothing could compensate for my risk taken for waiting for a month on my root canal tooth and restart searching for a clinic all over again.

Business Response:

The patient called our office October 6th to make an appointment as a new patient having completed Root Canal Therapy at another office on October 3rd.  An appointment was made for October 10th.  The patient came to our office on October 10th and brought the x-ray from the office where the RCT was done.  Patient voiced her dissatisfaction with the dentist who did the root canal as well as a prior dentist whom she blames for the necessity for the root canal.   After looking at the radiograph presented, the treating dentist in our office believed that it appeared to suggest that a post/core/crown would be needed.  The patient was resistant to the treatment plan presented and expressed financial concerns.  The doctor explained the structural integrity issues with the tooth.  He said that a buildup /crown would possibly be acceptable, but that he wouldn’t know for sure until treatment began.  A Treatment plan was written up by the Office Manager and given to the patient for the lesser buildup/crown option.  The patient paid for her exam and left our office. A few minutes later, she returned having secured a Discount Dental Program which we accept.  She requested an appointment to begin treatment and it was made for November 5th.

 The patient arrived on November 5th for her appointment.  On that morning the doctor was running behind and the patient was taken back 45 minutes late.  At that time it was realized that our office did not have the x-ray the patient had brought to the first appointment and the patient had not brought it back with her.  The doctor’s assistant told the patient that since she did not have the x-ray with her that either we would need to re-appoint and have her bring the x-ray back at that time, or we would need to take a new x-ray in our office to begin treatment on the tooth. The fee for the x-ray is $25.  The patient became upset and refused.  She insisted that we begin treatment and not charge for the x-ray since it was “our fault”.  The dental assistant relayed the patient’s resistance to both the treating dentist and the office manager.  The dentist determined that due to the patient’s voiced dissatisfaction with previous dentists, her resistance to the treatment plan recommendations that our office made, and her demand to be seen without the x-ray in hand, that it would be in the best interests of both the patient and our practice for the patient to find a new dentist to provide treatment. We also agreed to refund the amount paid for the exam at the previous appointment.  The office manager spoke with the patient, apologized for the confusion and stated that the doctor would like her to find a new dentist.  The patient relented and said that she would pay for a new x-ray and insisted that she still be treated immediately. After speaking again with the dentist, it was relayed to the patient that the decision not to treat would stand.  We refunded the amount paid for her previous exam and she left.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. For your convenience, I've attached the business response and the questions that BBB would like to have me answered in the attachment.

1. Has the company addressed the issues of this dispute? 

I would not call this a proper address.

2. If not, why?  

There are several key points in the business's response that are either inaccurate or may need further explanation . I would like to point out these. Points following their order of appearance in the business's response.


  • For the "voiced dissatisfaction": I was asked why I chose a different doctor for crown from the one I had. I responded that I left them for two reasons: 


1) The doctor I had, after knowing that I had tight financial constraint, wanted to give me a full examination to see if there is more need to be done, which makes me feel "uncomfortable" and unnecessary but I think it's understandable. I did NOT blamed my previous doctor for the necessity of root canal. Actually, it is my own request to have the root canal done so that it won't bother me any more. 

2) The more important reason is that this my first dental experience in the United States after 7 years in this country. I learned from a friend that I should "shop around" for dentists instead of simply going to anyone nearby. Given concerns in both 1) and 2), I decided to try crown at a different location. 

I find the "voiced complaint" description about my previous doctor both misleading and inaccurate.  

  • "She insisted that we begin treatment and not charge for the x-ray since it was 'our fault'". 
At the time of service, the assistant I communicated with, also admitted that they "forgot" to make a copy of my radiography and there was "mis-communication" among their assistant/reception and the dentist ,  As a consumer, I don't know what would make that not their fault. The offered solution by the business either induces extra cost on me or another  one hour on the road, taking half-day off from school and wait longer for the crown. As a patient, I've been educated to know the following, which I believe the doctor know as well, that one should have crown as soon as possible after a root canal because tooth became fragile after root canal and could break into parts as time pass by. Thus, I found the "solution offered by the business not reasonable (ask me to bear the result of their fault from my opinion) and in-considerate (their offered solution increases the chance of a tooth break).     
  • "...her demand to be seen without the x-ray in hand..."
Unfortunately, I did NOT asked to be seen without x-ray in hand. I did not refuse to get X-ray-ed; I refused to pay for an X-ray that I had, brought to the office as requested on my first visit and the office failed to either copied or asked me to brought to my second visit.   
  • "The patient relented and said that she would pay for a new x-ray and insisted that she still be treated immediately. After speaking again with the dentist, it was relayed to the patient that the decision not to treat would stand. "
As I've explained in the previous comment, a tooth after root canal procedure lost its source of nutrition and may break any time. I've been chewing on one side of my mouth to reduce the chance to induce a cracked tooth. The ONLY reason that I offered to pay and get treated is that I don't want to risk losing my tooth over longer waiting time.
The negotiation between me and the business went on for 25 minutes. It was 10:30 a.m. that I sat in the treatment room (the business was 45 minutes late) and 10:55 a.m. (25 minutes later) when the manager told me that even if I pay they can't give me a treatment today. I asked for same-day treatment since 1) the concern for a cracked tooth and 2) the negotiation only delayed the procedure by 25 minutes.    
  • "The dentist determined that due to the patient’s voiced dissatisfaction with previous dentists, her resistance to the treatment plan recommendations that our office made, and her demand to be seen without the x-ray in hand, that it would be in the best interests of both the patient and our practice for the patient to find a new dentist to provide treatment. "
The first "reason" that the doctor refused to treat me, was never brought up during our conversation, the rest of the reasons, were mentioned by different office staff during our conversation (for verification, please read my initial complaint). I don't know why the office added something they initially never told me but I felt I should point this out. 

3. Has the company met the agreement they outlined in their response?

The office did refund me. However, the increased chance of a tooth crack and lost a tooth was not. 
Thank you for your time and effort reading my responses and that of the business's. I appreciate the effort that BBB had made to resolve such issues. 
Best Regards,

** ***

Business Response:

While it is the desire of our office to foster healthy doctor-patient relationships, there are times when, due to a variety of reasons, that it is best for the patient to find a different practice.  In this particular case, there is disagreement on what occurred both verbally and non-verbally between all involved.  Our office did what it felt was best in this situation, for both the patient and our office.  We apologized and we refunded the fee that had been paid for the initial exam.  That is the extent of what we can provide.  It is our hope that the patient will find greater dental satisfaction at the next office she finds.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Christopher N. Lippert D.D.S., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)