BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Ash Dental Group

Phone: (513) 891-8555 Fax: (513) 891-8704 4815 Cooper Rd  Ste. 101, Cincinnati, OH 45242 http://www.blueashdental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers family, general, cosmetic and implant dentistry.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Ash Dental Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Blue Ash Dental Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Ash Dental Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 1996 Business started: 04/01/1987 in OH Business incorporated 04/02/1998 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Michael S.W. Shane, Partner Dr. Kathryn F. Dahlen, Partner Dr. Ryan Detmer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Michael S.W. Shane, Partner
Business Category

Dentists

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Fridays by Appointment
Method(s) of Payment
Credit Card, Cash, Check & Insurance.
Service Area
Blue Ash & surrounding area, Greater Cincinnati
Alternate Business Names
Gregory Campbell, DMD, Inc. Kathryn F. Dahlen, DDS Michael S.W. Shane, DDS Ryan Detmer, DDS

Additional Locations

  • 4815 Cooper Rd
    Ste. 101

    Cincinnati, OH 45242 (513) 891-8555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dr. **** ****** sent me a letter to terminate our patient - doctor relationship. This was based on customer service issues I was having with his front office staff. I called and asked to speak with the doctor on at least 3 occasions. Twice the office manager called me instead, never would let me speak to *** ******, and never did resolve my problem. On one occasion my phone call was not returned at all. It all started when I tried to get an accurate price quote for obtaining a crown on one of my teeth. Each front office person that I spoke never gave me a straight answer. The price could range from "about $300, but with no guarantee" to full out of pocket charge of over $1100.00. When I needed something more definitive than that, all I got was snippy attitude and the run around. Communication between me and the front office staff deteriorated to the point where I wanted to speak with a decision maker - the business owner - Dr. **** ******. The office manager had basically told me to find services elsewhere, instead of effectively communicating and actually providing customer service. I got the impression that they do not want to be bothered to go out of their way to help. I thought that the business owner should be made aware that his office manager was sending clients away instead of being helpful.

Desired Settlement: *** ****** has a responsibility to me as his customer to hear what I have to say before making a proper judgement of the situation. He has only heard what his office manager/staff had to say, but never contacted me to hear my side of things. I am completely appalled that he has ignored my requests to speak with him, instead sending this letter. It is unjust and unprofessional.

Business Response: Ms. *****
We are very sorry you were unsatisfied with your experience at Blue Ash Dental Group.  Our office did the best to our ability to complete the request for your out of pocket expense by filing a pre determination for the procedure.  We are unable to tell you exactly what your insurance will pay until the claim is paid to us.  As we discussed even a pre-determination from your dental insurance company states that the information is strictly an estimate.
We were unable to meet your expectations therefore the practice owner felt it would be best to part ways due to the confrontation that took place over the phone with office staff.
We wish you the best and hope you can find a dentist that is able to give you exactly what you are expecting.

Blue Ash Dental Group     

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[to end a business relationship based on only one side of the story is completely unacceptable to me. I have repeatedly asked for *** ****** to return my calls so I can let him know my perspective on what happened with his office manager. I have been ignored, both by *** ****** and by the office manager. It is very unprofessional to refuse to speak with me, and make a unilateral decision without any feedback from me whatsoever.]

Regards,

Linda Hull


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Ash Dental Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)