BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general family dentistry including cosmetic and restorative.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bell Dental Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bell Dental Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bell Dental Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 29, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1980 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Dr. David C. Bell, Vice President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. David C. Bell, Vice President/Owner
Business Category

Dentists

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover
Alternate Business Names
Bell, Charles W & Bell, David C Jr DDS Inc. Bell, David C Jr DDS Charles W. Bell & David C. Bell,Jr., DDS Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2767 Erie Avenue

    Cincinnati, OH 45208 (513) 321-2278

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ** *****, went into Bell Dental,**** **** ****** *********** ** *****on Aug. 22, 2012 and received a partial cleaning and check-up. He was told that he needed other work (fillings) and that they would need to complete the cleaning after the other work was done. He went in to have the other work on Aug. 23, 2012. By the end of September 2012 he returned to have the cleaning complete. By this time **** had started his new job with another company which did not have Bell Dental on the preferred list, Bell Dental sent a bill to ****, he called to let them know that there was a mix up they said it was a different type of cleaning and would try to bill ****'s new insurance, the insurance is not covering it at all.The complaint is that Bell Dental told **** that he would need to come in to have the cleaning finished and when he did they failed to tell him that it was a "different" cleaning and did not tell him there would be a charge, even though when he called to make the appointment, he told them why he was coming in (to complete the cleaning)The bill has been paid today January 4, 2013. **** ** ***** ***

Desired Settlement: $95.00

Business Response:

____

February 1, 2013

Cincinnati Better Business Bureau

ATTN: 

7 West 7th St., Ste, 1600

Cincinnati, OH 45202 Ref: ID 

Thank you for sending us this information related our patient's concern. Please allow me to respond.

When we see patients in our hygiene schedule, our hygienists do a thorough assessment of the patients' overall oral care and condition. Part of this assessment includes a tissue evaluation to check for bleeding gums, as well as periodontal charting to measure pocket depths. This is a standard practice for our office. When there is bleeding present, pocket depths measuring more than 4mm, heavy build up on the root surfaces these conditions are some of the key indicators that the patient is in need of treatment for gingivitis or periodontal disease, For those with gingivitis, a "prophy-gingivitis" is performed by using our ***** unit and either water or a chlorhexidine rinse, which flushes out the bio-film under the gumline, For those with periodontal disease a prophy may be performed, but the patient is scheduled for a return visit for root planning to treat the periodontal condition. Before being dismissed from this appointment, a treatment plan is given to the patient (both gingivitis and perio patients alike) to make them aware of the cost associated with the recommended treatment. A return visit is scheduled within 2-3 weeks for periodontal treatment and within 1 month for gingivitis treatment.

Pertaining to the patient involved in this,concern:

We saw the patient in our office cm 8/22/12. Before this date we had not seen the patient since December 2009. Patient presented with generalized bleeding and some 5mm pocket depths upon periodontal charting. We recommended that we do a cleaning with treatment for gingivitis at that visit. The treatment that was provided to the patient on 8/22/12 was billed out as follows to his insurance:

01110.1             Prophylaxis-Gingivitis

00120               Periodic Oral Evaluation

A rinse was also dispensed for this patient on 8/22/12. Patient was instructed on how to use the rinse and that this would aid in the improvement of the patient's condition and scheduled the patient to return within one month to reĀ­evaluate these areas and depending on patients status at that time perform another gingivitis prophy. Patient also had


02/01/2013 12:02              **********                                   BELL DENTAL GROUP                                          PAGE 03/03

several areas of decay that required restorative dentistry. A treatment plan was presented that explained the cost associated with the recommended treatment.

This patient returned the following day, 9/23/12, for restorative treatment,

The patient returned about one month later, on 9/20/12, for the recommended gingivitis treatment, There was improvement noted in the pocket depths for this patient, A prophy-gingivitis was performed. we sent a statement on 10/12/12 to the patient for the charge associated with the service performed on 9/20/12. This statement was returned to our office and re-sent to a new address, The balance due, which was paid by the patient and received in our office on 1/4/13, was the charge from the service on 9/20/12, which was not eligible for payment by the insurance due to the plan terminating prior to the date of service.

in the BBB Concern Statement the patient stated that he was receiving a "partial cleaning' on 8/22/12 and had to return for the complete cleaning in September, This is not terminology that we use in our office and are not sure what a "partial cleaning" would be. As explained earlier, we provide 2 types of "cleanings": prophy (01110) and prophy-gingivitis (D1110.1), We do not split either of these services into 2 visits. It appears that there was a misunderstanding of the order in which the treatment was being performed and how the timing was beneficial to the patient's oral hygiene and care, We have several options for our patients who are self-pay (no insurance), or whose insurance has terminated and/or will not cover the recommended treatment. We believe in providing the utmost in patient care. We do not feel that the patient's treatment should be dictated by the amount of insurance that the patient has available to them, At the end of the day, it is our goal to make sure that our patients are satisfied with the treatment and customer service that they have received at our office. We will be in contact with the patient and will be submitting a refund to the patient for the $95 payment that was made on 1/4/13 related to the services on 9/20/12.

Please let me know if the information we have provided in our response has been a thorough explanation of our office's standard operating procedure with regards to our hygiene services and how they relate to this concern.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Administrative Staff

Bell Dental Group

Consumer Response:

I do accept BUT I have not received any communication from them nor have I received a check.



Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ***** ***

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable