BBB Accredited Business since

Frame USA, Inc.

Phone: (513) 577-7107 Fax: (513) 577-7105 View Additional Phone Numbers 225 Northland Blvd, Cincinnati, OH 45246 View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers frame production and distribution.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frame USA, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Frame USA, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Complaint Information

Dan Regenold is also identified in BBB files as the President of Posterservice, Inc. A separate report on Posterservice, Inc. is available upon request.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frame USA, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 24, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Regenold, C.E.O. Ms. Chris Smith, Credit Manager (former) Mr. Rick Wharton, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Regenold, C.E.O.
Business Category

Custom Framing Picture Frames - Wholesale & Manufacturers Picture Frames - Dealers

Products & Services

Frame USA, Inc. offers the following product(s): Picture Frames

Method(s) of Payment
VISA/MASTER CARD/AMEX/DISCOVER/PAYPAL
Business Management

Dan Regenold is also identified in BBB files as the C.E.O. of Posterservice Inc. A separate report on Posterservice Inc. is available upon request.


Additional Locations

  • 225 Northland Blvd

    Cincinnati, OH 45246 (513) 577-7107 (800) 577-5920

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered two frames from Frames USA, they did advertise them as a wood frame. When I received them, they were not what was advertised.I returned them immediately, received there authorization and sent them.I paid for shipping to me, and shipping back, the frames were $73.34 including shipping and then I spent another $30.00 to return them. Then the company charged a restocking fee of $12.83.They will only offer me a merchandise credit, not acceptable!!!I will not be using the company in the future, and I want either a credit to my credit card or a check mailed to me.So I am out a total of 73.34 plus 30.00 for return, total 103.34, and they will only merchandise credit me for 38.51. This is no way to do business, please help me.Thank you,Debbie Vasilevvasile@cfl.rr.com

Desired Settlement: I would be happy with either a credit to my credit card, or a check mailed to me in the amount of $73.34. I will absorb the shipping fee back to them, but no way should I be charged a restocking fee.

Business Response: Dear Cincinnati Better Business Bureau,

In regards to the recent complaint filed by Mrs. ***** ******, the frame ordered was advertised as an Eco-friendly wood  composite on the site, and was clearly marked on both the initial frame page and description. I've attached a link to both pages for review:
http://www.frameusa.com/category/search/bistro/2?filter=&search=bistro&type=q&keywordoption=ANY&cid=2&fltrdesc=
http://www.frameusa.com/bistro-picture-frames
Per our Return Policy (which are included on the initial order confirmation) we did send out a return authorizaton stating a merchandise credit would be processed upon the return of the frames (with the customer being responsible for shipping), and a restocking fee of 25% would be applied (the items were built to order and can not go back into standard inventory; thus we have to sell the frames in our overstock section at the discounted rate). The customer did choose to return the frames and the proper credit of $38.51 was applied to the customer's account as a merchandise credit for future orders.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions, and we'll be happy to provide whatever assistance we can. Have a goo day.
Sincerely,
Frame USA
225 Northland Blvd
Cincinnati, OH 45246

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

This company has no customer service, and the nerve to charge a restocking fee, and I do feel they were advertised wrongly. 

 

I will never do business with them again, and just think this little escapade cost me $104.00 and they get to keep it all.  Wrong, they should at least send me a check for the $38.51, and not put this on a merchandise credit.  If they do this with all returns, which they say is there policy, they are ripping off the consumer.  This is wrong!!!!!!!  They are keeping my money unjustly, knowing I will never use them again in the future.  I think as a Better Business Bureau policy, you should look into why they are refusing to return what rightfully is mine!!!

 

Please look into this again, and have them mail me a check for $38.51.

 

Thank you,

****** ******

Business Response: Cincinnati Better Business Bureau,

We do feel our customer service representative followed the proper procedures and provided accurate information in regards to the return. As stated previously the return authorization sent to the customer did clearly state the return would be subject to a 25% restocking fee and would be processed as a merchandise credit for use towards a future order. We do feel the 25% restocking fee is necessary as the frames were built to order and cannot be resold as a standard item. Returned frames are marked down at a 35-40% rate and sold in our overstock inventory,. We have and do still encourage the customer to apply the merchandise credit towards of the many options we have for a natural wood frame as it is our understanding that this is the concern of the customer.  
Frame USA
225 Northland Blvd
Cincinnati, OH 45246

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

I still stand by the fact that my 38.51 should be mailed back to me, and I may use it anywhere I want to!

2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on December 29th for 2 complete frames with an upgrade to foam core backing, plus 2 mats to go with the frames. When it arrived, all that was in the box was 2 hollow frames with no backing or facing, and only one of the mats. I contacted the company by email on January 19th to inform them of the errors and ask them to send me the missing parts. I did not receive a response and sent a second email on January 24th asking to have a refund issued for the missing parts and for 2 other orders I had outstanding. I received a response from **** stating that she had left me a voice mail (although I had not provided a phone number in my emails). The response, received on January 27th, stated that she would issue a refund for the 2 outstanding orders. She said she could not refund the missing parts as the replacements had already been shipped. She only mentioned the foam core backing, so I emailed again immediately to verify that all the missing parts were being sent. I also said I had replaced the parts myself already, so I didn't really need those parts. I then stated that I would find a use for them since it seemed I had no choice. I received no response and no confirmation of the replacement items being sent. I received notification on January 29th that a package had been shipped from them. This was the replacement parts, 2 days after I had been told I couldn't have a refund because they had already shipped. I also received a notice for each of my outstanding orders being cancelled on this date, stating that they would be refunded. When the package arrived on January 30th, it included all the missing parts except for the foam core backing. The packing slip specifically mentioned the backing, but it was not in the box. I immediately contacted **** again about this, and also asked about the refunds, as they had not shown up in my account yet. **** responded that day, saying that the foam core backing was omitted on purpose because I said I didn't need the parts anymore. The company thought it was appropriate to not give me everything I had paid for and also to not give me back the money I had paid for it. **** told me refunds take up to 5 days to clear for some banks, so that might be why it wasn't there yet. At this point, it was already 3 business days after I had initially been told I would be refunded. I told **** it was inappropriate for the company to keep the money I had paid to upgrade to foam core backing when I had not received any sort of backing at all for my frames. She responded that she would refund the foam core upgrade price. As of today, February 11th, I have not received the refund for the 2 cancelled orders, and I have not received the refund for the foam core upgrade amount, or even a notice that it was on the way, other than ****'s word. It has now been 9 business days since I received emails saying the 2 cancellation refunds were completed, 11 business days since I was first told I would get a refund, and 8 business days since I was told I would get a refund for the foam core upgrades. The amount of these cancellations is $38.49 for one order, $41.41 for the second, and $2.18 for the foam core upgrades, for a total of $82.08. I also spent around an extra $22.00 to replace the parts myself when I first contacted them and didn't hear back. This company is by far the worst I have ever dealt with as far as customer service and accuracy. Through all of this, I have yet to receive an apology. I have been treated like a burden, and like I am asking too much when I say I want what I paid them for. I have been lied to several times, between saying the missing parts had already been shipped when they had not, that I would be refunded for the cancelled orders, and that I would be refunded for the missing foam core backing. This is an unacceptable way to do business.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive the refund of $82.08 immediately.

Business Response: On behalf of Frame USA we sincerely apologize for all of the confusion with the order and the amount of time it took for a resolution to be made. As a company we pride ourselves in quality and customer service and it looks like both were lacking in this instance which is unacceptable. We strive to make each and every customer a "raving fan" and it looks like in this case we failed. In order to resolve the situation we have refunded the customer fully for all of the orders in question as well as the money spent to purchase replacement parts for the damaged and wrongly made orders. We have even refunded the orders that were sent in full. Once again we sincerely apologize for the problems with the quality of the products as well as the resolution and have worked to implement steps to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. We appreciate the customers understanding of the issue and hope that we can do business again in the future. Sincerely,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Frame USA, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)