BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Kemba Credit Union, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (513) 762-5070 Fax: (513) 763-8134 View Additional Phone Numbers 8763 Union Centre Boulevard Suite 101, West Chester, OH 45069 http://www.kembacu.org View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers savings, checking, loans & other financial services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kemba Credit Union, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kemba Credit Union, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kemba Credit Union, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 18, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1934
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Dept of Financial Institutions
1025 Capital Center Drive, Suite 200, Frankfort KY 40601
http://www.kfi.ky.gov/
Phone Number: 502-573-3390
Fax Number: 502-573-0086
kfi@ky.gov

Ohio Department of Commerce
77 S High St, Columbus OH 43215
Phone Number: 614-728-8400
Fax Number: 614-728-0380
Web.dfi@com.ohio.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Behler, President Ms. Cindy Dreyer, Executive Adminstrative Ass't
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Behler, President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Industry Tips
Choosing a Bank Consumer Credit

Additional Locations

  • 1014 Vine Street Lobby

    Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • 10396 Harrison Ave

    Harrison, OH 45030

  • 1045 W 8th St

    Cincinnati, OH 45203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1111 S Adams St

    Bluffton, IN 46714

  • 1135 W Ohio Pike

    Amelia, OH 45102

  • 11450 Grooms Rd

    Blue Ash, OH 45242

  • 211 Northland Blvd

    Cincinnati, OH 45246

  • 5844 Bridgetown Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45248

  • 6230 Hamilton Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45224

  • 8763 Union Centre Boulevard Suite 101

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 762-5070 (800) 825-3622

  • 8880 Bankers St

    Florence, KY 41042

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 825-3622(Phone)
  • (513) 762-1602 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: KEMBA Credit Union does not report and/or does not know how to correctly report credit card Scheduled Monthly Amount information to the three Credit Reporting Agencies. This FACT, and/or words to that effect were told to me on two separate occasions by two different creditors of mine. Therefore, on 01-03-2014 I initiated an investigation by ******* and I got in touch with ***** ****** of KEMBA Credit Union who in-turn sent me the attached Universal Data Form showing my Schedule Monthly as $0. On or about 01-05-2014 I received my ******* Credit file that stated results and still show the INCORRECT Scheduled Payment Amount of $118. On or about 01-21-2014 I again checked my ******* Personal Solution Credit Reports and saw that on 01-17-2014 KEMBA Credit Union once more reported to ******* Credit Reporting Agency that I have a Scheduled Payment Amount of $118 which is absolutely WRONG.

Desired Settlement: 1. Request the KEMBA Credit Union take corrective action to train their employees' on the procedure of how NOT to report erroneous information to the three credit reporting agencies. 2. And, most importantly, give the credit reporting agencies my correct Scheduled Payment Amount of $0.

Business Response:

The credit union can review our reporting with 2 of the 3 credit reporting agencies, ***** ***** and *******. The credit card tradeline was reviewed with both agencies and our reporting was found to be accurate.  There is no monthly payment amount reporting. The credit card has a zero balance so no payment is due. The card did have a balance in December so if he reviewed his file prior to us reporting at the end of December, a payment would have shown due. We run a tape at the end of the business day every month end and send the tape to the agencies at that time. It takes a few days, after month end, before all the bureaus update their files. We only report once per month.

 

Our employees are routinely trained and we have a credit reporting policy and training module in place.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9900084, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

  Kemba Credit

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ****** ** ****** ******************
Date: Mon, Jan 27, 2014 at 12:29 PM
Subject: Resolution to Complaint ** *******
To* ***********************


For your information and necessary action, the ******* Reporting Agency has reported to me that KEMBA CU has finally corrected the 
"Scheduled Payment Amount" to $0 (see below).
 
Thank you for your assistance.
 
Respectfully,
 
****** ** ******
 
 
 
 
KEMBA CU
 
** *** ***** *********** ************
 
Account Number:
**********
Status:
PAYS AS AGREED
Account Owner:
Individual Account.
High Credit:
$12,800
Type of Account:
Revolving
Credit Limit:
$15,000
Term Duration:
Terms Frequency:
Date Opened:
05/16/2013
Balance:
$0
Date Reported:
01/26/2014
Amount Past Due:
Date of Last Payment:
12/2013
Actual Payment Amount:
$6,029
Scheduled Payment Amount:
$0
Date of Last Activity:
12/2013
Date Major Delinquency First Reported:
Months Reviewed:
7
Creditor Classification:
Activity Designator:
N/A
Charge Off Amount:
Deferred Payment Start Date:
Balloon Payment Amount:
Balloon Payment Date:
Date Closed:
Type of Loan:
Credit Card
Date of First Delinquency:
N/A
Comments:
 
81-Month Payment History
 
Year
Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
2013
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*


Regards,

****** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today(Sep 7th) I use Kemba ATM located at ******* *** for withdrawing 
money. I did 6 transaction for 600 $ per transaction(total 3600$),and 
went staright to bank to deposit the money to my Kemba account. 
I was surprised to see that the money withdraw from ATM was not matching 
with money deposited and in last I am lossing my 1500$. 
There are two possiblities which I can see now 
1) ATM machine was wrong 
2) Teller was wrong in calculation 

Since the bank has closed and I didnt able to report this in writing, I 
am writing this email . 

I really wants this thing to be investigated so that money will be refund 
to me. 

Desired Settlement: I really wants this thing to be investigated so that money will be refund 
to me. 

BBB spoke to the customer and he stated that his money was refunded. He would like for Kemba to notify customers when there is a mistake in the ATM or Teller Error, and for Kemb to check this Atm to ensure it working correctly.

Business Response:

On Monday September 9th after discovering the teller that assisted this member was over $1500.00 we determined that the error was in this member's account it was credited to his account on Monday the 9th. He was contacted by ****** branch manager and informed his account was credited and a new receipt was sent to his home address.

 

Any further questions please feel free to contact me.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ** ********

Exec VP of Member Relations KEMBA CU.

 

********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a vehicle loan online with Kemba Credit Union. I was contacted by ****** *. She went over my information and told me that I had an approval. She stated that she may not be able to get the loan paperwork totally completed by that afternoon which was Friday, June 7, 2013 however it would be completed by Monday. She stated that she has worked with ****** before and that they have a 3 day finance option that we could go with. She assured me that the loan would be completed on Monday but stated Tuesday at the latest. Never in this conversation wass I told that this was only a preapproval and was still subject to underwriting. I was told that the last thing I needed to do was to go into a branch and open an account. I did this around 4:30 PM. At this time I was helped by ******* who countinued to complain about ****** * and how things in the computer weren't inputted as they should have been. I was with her for over an hour to open the account and listen to her complain and fix errors within my application. She also never stated that this was a preapproval. She tool a copy of my paystub and stated this was all it looked like ****** needed to finish my loan on Monday. ****** also spoke with the salesman at ****** in *********. His name is **** and confirmed that we were a go for our loan. I drove a total of 8 hours over the weekend and picked up this vehicle. I had not received a call from ****** *. and wanted to make sure that the loan got completed within our deadline from ****** only to be told that it had been denied. I was mislead by ****** and was never told that this was only a preapproval and was not a done deal.

Desired Settlement: I would like this loan to be completed as promissed.

Business Response:

After speaking with ****** *, ***** and the VP of Lending I am 100% confident that Mr. ******* was never given a loan approval. We accepted the online application and as normal procedure contacted Mr. ******* to garner additional information. He was told that he would have to visit a branch location of his choice and officially become a member of Kemba.
 
On Friday June 7th he and his spouse did visit our Springdale location and speak with *****. She took the additional information needed to complete the application and submit it to our underwriting department. ****** * and ***** do NOT have underwriting authority for loan approvals and therefore could have never given Mr. ******* an approval.
 
While in *****'s office Mrs. ******* did call the dealer and verified that we did indeed get the sales order, which just had come in via fax. She then asked ***** while the salesman was on the phone "is the loan approved"? ***** responded to her no we just received the sales order and completed the information needed and she could then send it to underwriting. Due to the late hour ( after 5pm) we would NOT have any decision until Monday,June 10th.
 
The loan was reviewed  by the VP of Lending and sent to the credit committee for declination. Mr. ******* did call in on Monday afternoon and spoke with **** in our loan call center and was informed that this loan was not approved.
 
Not sure where the breakdown occurred but please us this as our official rendering.
 
Please use this e-mail as our official rendering of our response to this complaint. Please feel free to contact me if you should have need of further information.
 
ps) Mr. ******** did leave a voice mail on Mr. *******'s voice mail to discuss this decision on Monday June 10th at 3:49pm. After receiving your e-mail detailing the complaint I called &spoke with Mr. ******* and he could not talk at the time and I told him to please call Mr. ******** back and that he would be in until 5:30 We have not received a return phone call as of this time today. He was however, approved by *** *** and has the loan and has the auto in his possession.
 
Sincerely
 
***** * ********
Exec VP of Member Relations
KEMBA CU

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Kemba on June 14 to change my pin number and inquire about cash withdrawal on my visa. I spoke to *********? and she changed my pin number and told me there is Not an additional fee for cash advances, they were treated like regular purchases on my visa.I search Kemba's website for a surcharge free atm near my job. I went to a *** on the list of surcharge free atms at *** ****** **** and was charged a $4.00 service fee by my bank.When I called June 17 and spoke to *******, she said cash advances were free for debit cards not credit cards. I explained what **** had told me on Friday and I requested a courtesy waiver of the $4.00. ******* said ****** in the credit department would have to waive the fee and ****** was at lunch.When I called back, **** answered the phone and remembered talking to me on Friday. She apologized that she gave me wrong information. **** placed me on hold several times to speak to ****** about the issue and was told that the fee would not be waived.This $4.00 is is 20% interest on a $20.00 withdrawal in addition to the 18% interest already charged.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $4.00 be credit back to my credit card.

Business Response:

We credited $4.00 back on his credit card today. Thank you.

 

***** ********

********

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have gone in several times on a new account to try to deposit checks and they were put on hold. I can understand this, however, I was told on several occassions that funds would be available on a certain day and then when I went to make a withdrawl they were not available. I had this occur several times. The latest instance was last Thursday when I was told my mothers personal check would be available to me on Monday July 2nd. I had scheduled a payment through a credit company and I had received a call from them stating the funds were not available. When I conferenced called I spoke to the "manager" of the call center (###-###-####) who told me the funds would not be available until the 4th, which is a holiday. Then she told me that X dollars would be available/released to me out of the amount of the check that I had deposited two weeks prior. I asked her then why only a certain amount would be available and she said that I did not need to be nasty to her and then proceeded to harass me. I did cuss but I never called her any names but I have never received such horrible service. I worked in a call center for 7 years and never gave anyone such horrible service no matter how angry they made me. This is the absolutely the worst company to bank with. I regret ever going to them and I will say that I will tell ALL of my friends and family to NEVER do business with them. They do not know right from left and they lie constantly. If they dont know when funds are available they should say so instead of giving you a date and then changing it. No one can give the same answer and because of this my bills have been late.

Desired Settlement: I want my mortgage paid. I had a 700 dollar check and a 200 dollar check that I had to deposit and they wouldn't release the funds to me and they told me it would be available on a certain day and it wasn't. This is very deceptive because I rely on them to help me and it is a disservice to customers to tell them it will be available one day and then its not.

Business Response:

After a thorough investigation of our procedures in placig the appropriate holds on these checks we have came to the conclusion that this customer was told the proper dates the full amount on all checks. There was a total of three deposits made since the inception of this account in early June 2012.

Also, each deposit received that is signed by the customer cleatly indicates the day the holds will be released. The customer is given a copy and told by the teller verbally when the amount of the check will be available. 

What may have occured in the confusion is when the teller informs the customer how many days the check hold is for this only indicates "work" days not Saturday or Sundays. In regard to her last deposit being available on July 4th that was correct. Even though our business is closed that day the amount would be available through our ATM network.

We find no errors or omissions or micommunication on our part in these matters.

 

 

Sincerely,

***** ** ********

Executive Vice President of Branch Operations.

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1