BBB Accredited Business since

Kemba Credit Union, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (513) 762-5070 Fax: (513) 763-8134 View Additional Phone Numbers 8763 Union Centre Boulevard Suite 101, West Chester, OH 45069 http://www.kembacu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers savings, checking, loans and other financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kemba Credit Union, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Kemba Credit Union, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kemba Credit Union, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 18, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1934 in OH Business incorporated 02/14/1934 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce - Financial Institutions
77 S High St, 21st Floor, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fiin/
Phone Number: 614-728-8400
Fax Number: 614-728-0380
Web.dfi@com.ohio.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Behler, President Ms. Cindy Dreyer, Executive Adminstrative Ass't
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Behler, President
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 1014 Vine Street Lobby

    Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • 10396 Harrison Ave

    Harrison, OH 45030

  • 1045 W 8th St

    Cincinnati, OH 45203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1111 S Adams St

    Bluffton, IN 46714

  • 1135 W Ohio Pike

    Amelia, OH 45102

  • 11450 Grooms Rd

    Blue Ash, OH 45242

  • 211 Northland Blvd

    Cincinnati, OH 45246

  • 5844 Bridgetown Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45248

  • 6230 Hamilton Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45224

  • 8763 Union Centre Boulevard Suite 101

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 762-5070 (800) 825-3622

  • 8880 Bankers St

    Florence, KY 41042

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used to save with Kemba Credit Union. I even bought my home through them. Unfortunately, I went through a bitter divorce, lost my job and so was not able to keep up with the payments on the credit card. I have now resettled and have a steady job so I called to tell them that I want to make payments so I can finish the debt. But the credit union is doing all it can to frustrate my efforts to get the amount of almost $1500 paid off. They make all kinds of deductions from payments that i give to them, and when I call to inquire, the reps are very rude to the extent of calling me irresponsible. They even charge me a late fee if a payment is due on a Sunday and I make a payment the next Monday.Furthermore, for every payment, the credit union takes a late fee of $25 no matter what, and also charge a penalty of over $30 in most cases. This is a clear attempt to rip me off. Here is a depiction of the statement: Current Transactions Date sortablesorted in descending order ********* ** ******** *********** ***** ******** ****** ******** ******* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** ***** ******* ********* ******* *********** ***** *** **** ********** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** **** *** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** ***** ******* ********* ****** *********** ***** *** **** ********** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** **** *** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** ***** ******* ********* ****** *********** ***** *** **** ********** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** **** *** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** ***** ******* ********* ****** *********** ***** *** **** ********** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** **** *** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** ***** ******* ********* ******* *********** ***** *** **** ********** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** **** *** ******* ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ********** *** ** **** *** ******** *** ****** ********* ******* ************* ** There is more. They even told me today that if I call to make a phone payment, I will be charged $15 - another new development.

Desired Settlement: All the charges after I made lump sum payments should be reversed. All arbitrary charges including the penalties after late charges must also be reversed so I can pay off what I truly owe the credit union. They should also correct all reports they have issued to the effect of these transactions.

Business Response: Management has spoken with the consumer and both parties have reached a amicable resolution

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Kemba Credit Union changed the title of the charges on my account from penalty to interests in a bid to justify their actions. Though they called me and refunded $100 of the said charges, what they claim as representing monthly interests is not right. If those represented interest, why were they listed as penalties before I contacted the BBB? That's amazing. The rep I spoke with said I was misinformed by the Union's rep before I contacted BBB. I am asking that they review the account in totality and right all the wrongs instead of refunding $100 to me. Thank you. 

Regards,
******** ******

Business Response: After a second review of this complaint, management believes it has done everything it can to satisfy the consumer's complaint.  We reached out to the consumer with further explanations as to the charges on his account.  We are hopeful the consumer is satisfied at this time. 

1/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a good paying customer with a savings account, and 3 loans from Kemba. I run into an issue with ****** over not honoring their 14 day payment policy, and they try and withdraw money from my account which didn't have the funds at the time. Kemba charges me $30 for every fund unavailable. The funds don't try to get withdrawn 1x, but 2x's and ****** is about to try and go into my account a 3rd x. (Did I mention it has only been 3-days since the transaction, and no items have been received). I went to Kemba the moment this happened to try and place a hold or block on the account. They stated they can do nothing. I asked for a refund on the fees making them aware my check would be directly deposited in 2 more days, and I could pay my ****** account and get them off my back. They stated they could do nothing. I placed both companies on a conference call with each other. They both blamed one another, then kemba stated, they could do nothing to stop ****** from trying to come into my account a 3rd time...Kemba has now received $389 out of my check for Fees only, yet they are still going to allow ****** to try another 3rd withdrawal. -So they can't reimburse my money for these fees that would never have been on my account, if ****** had honored there 14-day payment plan policy (by the way, the tried to withdraw the money the very next day the request was made). -They can't block the company from trying to make more EFT transactions from my account. -They can't help in any way, other then take my money monthly, use it, and do nothing for me as a loyal customer.

Desired Settlement: Fees reimbursed and deposited back into my account. (All $30 transaction fees, which is around $389 right now). ****** blocked from my account (For free, and not for $30/blocking). An apology.

Business Response:

Management has spoken with the customer and both parties have come to an agreed upon resolution.

 

 

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2015, I submitted paperwork to have my due date changed as well as set up automatic withdrawal of my monthly payments. I mailed in the paperwork and talked with a representative in the West Chester, Ohio location who let me know that yes they had received the paperwork and everything was good. I received a call in August stating Kemba had not received my July Payment. After checking my account that was confirmed but when I asked about the paperwork I submitted I was told that it not only needed my Signature but also the co-signers signature to change due date as well as sign up for automatic withdrawals. I was Emailed my paperwork and sent it to my mother to sign and return. After several days went by, my mother was out of town and forgot to send her part of the paperwork, I went ahead and submitted my payment to wait on the other portion of my paperwork. I just pulled my credit report and noticed I was considered late for the month of July and I am assuming this to be true for my mother as well. This is not fair considering I was told by one employee you received my paperwork then told a month later it was not completed.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting Kemba to take back the late payment for myself and mother for the month of July on our credit reports. Im sure the phone lines are recorded to verify my conversations as well.

Business Response: We have spoken with our customer and have reached an amicable resolution. 

9/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of Kemba credit Union for many years. I receive social security through my account. In the last 4-5 months Kemba has taken fees everyday out of my account for a amount that had been trying to come through everyday that could not be paid. I tried to get Kemba to block the company to stop the excessive fees but they refused. I also tried to get Kemba to return my fund and the refused. Kemba says it is my fault the company hot access to my account and I would need to talk to the company. Kemba did nothing to help a customer who is clearly on a fixed income yet they saw fit to take 400-500 dollars every month. Kemba did not to help but collect excessive fees. Other banks stop at a certain point Kemba however will not.

Desired Settlement: I would like Kemba to change my account number and refund the almost 2000 dollars they took in fees.

Business Response:

Business met with member and the member is satisfied.

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: KEMBA Credit Union does not report and/or does not know how to correctly report credit card Scheduled Monthly Amount information to the three Credit Reporting Agencies. This FACT, and/or words to that effect were told to me on two separate occasions by two different creditors of mine. Therefore, on 01-03-2014 I initiated an investigation by ******* and I got in touch with ***** ****** of KEMBA Credit Union who in-turn sent me the attached Universal Data Form showing my Schedule Monthly as $0. On or about 01-05-2014 I received my ******* Credit file that stated results and still show the INCORRECT Scheduled Payment Amount of $118. On or about 01-21-2014 I again checked my ******* Personal Solution Credit Reports and saw that on 01-17-2014 KEMBA Credit Union once more reported to ******* Credit Reporting Agency that I have a Scheduled Payment Amount of $118 which is absolutely WRONG.

Desired Settlement: 1. Request the KEMBA Credit Union take corrective action to train their employees' on the procedure of how NOT to report erroneous information to the three credit reporting agencies. 2. And, most importantly, give the credit reporting agencies my correct Scheduled Payment Amount of $0.

Business Response:

The credit union can review our reporting with 2 of the 3 credit reporting agencies, ***** ***** and *******. The credit card tradeline was reviewed with both agencies and our reporting was found to be accurate.  There is no monthly payment amount reporting. The credit card has a zero balance so no payment is due. The card did have a balance in December so if he reviewed his file prior to us reporting at the end of December, a payment would have shown due. We run a tape at the end of the business day every month end and send the tape to the agencies at that time. It takes a few days, after month end, before all the bureaus update their files. We only report once per month.

 

Our employees are routinely trained and we have a credit reporting policy and training module in place.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9900084, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

  Kemba Credit

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ****** ** ****** ******************
Date: Mon, Jan 27, 2014 at 12:29 PM
Subject: Resolution to Complaint ** *******
To* ***********************


For your information and necessary action, the ******* Reporting Agency has reported to me that KEMBA CU has finally corrected the 
"Scheduled Payment Amount" to $0 (see below).
 
Thank you for your assistance.
 
Respectfully,
 
****** ** ******
 
 
 
 
KEMBA CU
 
** *** ***** *********** ************
 
Account Number:
**********
Status:
PAYS AS AGREED
Account Owner:
Individual Account.
High Credit:
$12,800
Type of Account:
Revolving
Credit Limit:
$15,000
Term Duration:
Terms Frequency:
Date Opened:
05/16/2013
Balance:
$0
Date Reported:
01/26/2014
Amount Past Due:
Date of Last Payment:
12/2013
Actual Payment Amount:
$6,029
Scheduled Payment Amount:
$0
Date of Last Activity:
12/2013
Date Major Delinquency First Reported:
Months Reviewed:
7
Creditor Classification:
Activity Designator:
N/A
Charge Off Amount:
Deferred Payment Start Date:
Balloon Payment Amount:
Balloon Payment Date:
Date Closed:
Type of Loan:
Credit Card
Date of First Delinquency:
N/A
Comments:
 
81-Month Payment History
 
Year
Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
2013
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*


Regards,

****** ******





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kemba Credit Union, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)