BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kroger Personal Finance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kroger Personal Finance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2004 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce
77 S High St, Columbus OH 43215
Phone Number: 614-728-8400
Fax Number: 614-728-0380
Web.dfi@com.ohio.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Dillon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Dillon, President
Related Businesses
The Kroger Company
Business Category

Credit Cards & Plans Credit Services Insurance Services Financial Services Credit Cards - Protection Service

Alternate Business Names
KPF, LLC Kroger Personal Finance LLC (KPF, LLC)
Industry Tips
Credit Card Fraud Insurance (General Information)

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1014 Vine Street

    Cincinnati, OH 45202 (513) 246-3811 (800) 576-4377

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 46234

    Cincinnati, OH 45246

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 576-4377(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/20/2014 Delivery Issues
9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 6, 2014 I purchased a 1-2-3 Rewards DEBIT card from the company KPF Prepaid that is a Kroger brand. The nature of this card was to be used as a primary gas card. On June 6, 2014 I made two successful gasoline purchases, and one unsuccessful. I was told the nature of the unsuccessful purchase was due to insufficient funds that were incorrect considering there was no way possible the two transactions I had made exceeded the loaded amount. Confused with the situation, I proceeded to call the advertised customer service line; the first time I called, a woman by the name of ****** answered the phone, upon answering she requested the card number and security code, along with my name. After realizing ****** could not resolve my issue I asked to speak with a supervisor; the hold lasted for a total of 12 minutes with ****** answering the phone every 3 minutes to tell me that she was waiting for a supervisor. KPF Prepaid customer service ended my call after 15 minutes of being on hold. The second call that was only seconds later was answered by a woman named ******; again, ****** asked for the card number, security code and my name again. At this point I had informed ****** that I was hung up on and would like to speak with a supervisor; after no more than about two minutes I was connected with another woman with a name along the lines of ******* or ****** who identified herself as a claims specialist. I informed her that as I was on hold for over 12 minutes I had plenty of time to review the DEBIT CARD CARDHOLDER AGREEMENT and no where did it say that an excess of $70 would be held for over a week, leaving me without a debit card for gas, but it did mention in paragraph 18 that “Some merchants may cause an “authorization” or “hold” on your available balance for a period ranging from three days (e.g., fuel centers) depending on the merchant”.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the amount i originally put onto the card ($150) due to the nature that the agreement was untruthful and because of the multiple customer service representatives who hung up on me and were not able to reasonably handle my complaint.

Business Response:

 

 

 

 

 

*** ***** **    ***** ***    *********** ** *****

June 13, 2014

******** ****** **** ** ******* **  ** ********** ** *****

Dear Ms. ******,

           

I regret we did not have an opportunity to talk about the Visa Prepaid Debit Card in regards to the complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

The Visa Prepaid Debit Card when used at a fuel station, temporarily removes about $75 from the card as the amount to be used is not known at the time of the card swipe.  The difference is placed back onto the card in approximately 48 hours after the transaction.  To prevent this from happening in the future, I would suggest taking the card to the service clerk and telling them the amount of fuel you need and have them swipe the card. I believe at this time, the card has the remaining unused funds on the card.

I am sorry that your customer service experience was disappointing and less than helpful.  To apologize for any inconvenience and frustration you may have experienced, I have enclosed a $25 Kroger Family of Stores gift card that you may use at King Soopers or at any Kroger Family of Stores.

Thank you Ms. ******.

Kind regards,

***** ******

Kroger Personal Finance

*********************** ************

Enclosure: 1-$25 Kroger family of stores gift card

5/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a MasterCard gift card from ***** *****. The gift card is issued and the property of ** ******** **** ********** (as referenced on the packaging) and serviced by Kroger Personal Finance (as identified by the Customer Service Representatives at ###-###-#### and ###-###-####). The gift card that I selected could be activated for any dollar amount from $20 - $500 plus a $5.95 activation fee. The packaging DOES NOT give any indication that additional fees apply outside of the $5.95 activation fee and the $2.00 card inactivity fee assessed monthly after 12 months. I purchased the gift card to exclusively purchase ****** train tickets online so consequently the gift card was valued for the exact amount of the tickets ($129.60). I was unable to use the gift card as intended after multiple payment denials with ******, including online, by phone and in person. It was only after my third call to Kroger Personal Finance's Customer Service that a representative (********) stated that her company immediately assesses an additional 15% ($19.44) fee for certain transaction codes like ******. The previous two Customer Service Representatives attributed my card denials to (1) insufficient funds and (2) ****** assessing an additional fee to ensure payment, respectively. After The Customer Service Representative continuously referenced the terms and conditions included INSIDE the packaging only to be seen AFTER a gift card purchase. Terms and conditions inaccessible at the time of purchase renders them useless for a gift card purchaser. Not to mention after having read the terms and conditions, there is NOTHING that references this 15% fee.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum, the gift card packaging should explicitly state that additional fees may apply over and above the $5.95 activation fee. On the other hand, the best solution for transparency would include an explicit statement on the packaging that an additional 15% fee applies to [insert specific transaction types here]. I initially requested reimbursement but have since used the card for another purpose that avoided the 15% transaction fee.

Business Response:

I have spoken with Ms. ******* and apologized that she was not able to use the MasterCard she purchased.  I have sent the following letter to her.  Thank you! ***** ******* Kroger Personal Finance, The Kroger Co. 302 W Third St. Cincinnati, OH 45202  ###-###-####

April 29, 2014 

**** *******

**** *** ****

Owings Mills, MD 21117

Dear Ms. *******,

           

I am glad we had the opportunity to talk about the MasterCard Gift Card in regards to the complaint with the Better Business Bureau and to come to a mutually acceptable agreement.

 

I regret that you could not use the MasterCard to purchase the ****** ticket. In the terms and agreement that come with the card, it states that ‘When you use the card to pay for goods or services, certain merchants may ask us to authorize the transaction in advance and may estimate its final value. If the amount of the authorization request exceeds the value on the Card, the transaction may be declined. We will only charge the Card for the correct amount of the final transaction.  Some merchants may also add an additional amount to ensure that sufficient funds will be available to cover the final transaction.  If the amount of the authorization requests exceeds the value on the card, the transaction may be declined.’ Restaurants and Hotels are good examples of that.  An additional 20% is usually added in when processing gift cards. For example, if the bill is $88 and the customer uses a $100 gift card to pay, it will be declined ($88 X .20= 17.6, $17.6 + 88= $105.60).  It appears that ****** uses the same process.

 I am also sorry you had to make several calls to try and find out what happened.  To apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, per our conversation, I am enclosing a $50 MasterCard gift card. The gift card is ready to use.  Thank you Ms. *******.  We appreciate your business!

Kind regards,

***** ******

Kroger Personal Finance

************@kroger.com

###-###-####

Enclosure: 1-$50 MasterCard gift card

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  I spoke with ***** ****** (Kroger Personal Finance) and she informed me that ****** charges the additional fee to ensure they receive payment for the tickets.  After explaining the different responses made by Kroger Personal Finance's Customer Service Representatives and ******'s responses, as documented in my initial complaint, she apologized for my inconvenience and said that she would send me a $50 gift card of my choice.  I really appreciate her generosity on behalf of her company.  While I was inconvenienced, I was only seeking to make consumers aware of potential fees associated with certain purchases. 


Unfortunately, we did not discuss nor have i been able to locate any customer disclaimer warning of any additional merchant fees.  I didn't think to point out to her that none of the literature from the giftcard packaging has this disclaimer when she informed me that her company doesn't charge this fee.  In fact, I called ****** one additional time to ask (1) if they accept Debit Master Card Gift Cards, & (2) do they charge a fee for using these cards.  They consistently reaffirm they accept this card as a form of payment and consistently deny they charge additional fees for using them.  

At this point, I don't who charged me the extra 15% fee and it is definitely a cause for concern.  It would be a good and fair business practice that whoever charges this fee to inform the consumer of the fees prior to a purchase.  While my complaint and concern still exists, I don't know who to target.
 

Regards,

**** *******




8/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ORIGINAL COMPLAINT
I am writing in regard to false advertising on recent correspondence from ******* and on the ******* website.
I am writing in regard to false advertising on recent correspondence from ******* and on the ******* website.
Recently I received an offer in the mail for a ******* 123 Rewards **** which stated that cardholders would receive an additional 25 cents fuel discount when redeeming 100 fuel points. The exact wording of the offer is below:
*Offer applies to new cardholders only. Discount is available at the ****** Co. Family of Stores Fuel Centers when you redeem at least 100 existing fuel points earned in a single month. You must scan, redeem points and pay with your 1-2-3 *******® ****® Card in order to receive this fuel discount. Additional 25¢ discount offer expires three months from the cardholder's approval date. Upon expiration, cardholder will receive additional 5¢ fuel discount at the ****** Co. Family of Stores Fuel Centers, when they scan, redeem points and pay with their 1-2-3 *******® ****® Card. Not valid with any other fuel offer. Accumulation excludes taxes, office services, alcohol, tobacco, fuel, prescriptions and any purchases prohibited by law. Fuel discount effective for a limited time at participating Fuel Center locations. Not valid in AL, LA, MO or where prohibited by law. Purchases made at the ****** Co. Family of Stores Fuel Centers do not earn 1-2-3 *******® ****® Card points. Please see store for fuel discount details and in-store spending requirements.
Since receiving my card, I have purchased fuel three times. Twice I used accumulated fuel points and I did not receive the additional 25 cent discount. Once I did not use fuel points just to see if I would receive the additional 5 cent discount and I did not. In all cases I swiped my card for the reward and I paid with my card, just as is required.
I have contacted ******* customer service once. They referred me to ** ****. I have spoken to ** **** twice. Both times I was transferred back and forth between customer service and the "fuel" department. Both stated they could not help me. On the second call (after being on the phone for 40 minutes), I spoke to someone that understood my situation. She said that all of my calls were documented in the system and she couldn't understand why the "fuel" department couldn't help. She called them herself and they said they could not help. She told me that she was passing the issue to her manager and that I would receive a call within two days. Five days have now passed. I wrote an email (by signing into my card account online) and received a response that I needed to contact the "fuel" department.
I believe this situation is false advertising. I was promised an additional discount if I signed up for the card, and I am not receiving the discount. I have tried repeatedly to solve this issue directly with ******* and ** **** to no avail. Any assistance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

***** ** *****

Desired Settlement: DESIRED RESOLUTION
I would like to receive the fuel discount that was promised when I signed up for the card. I would like to receive the discount going forward and I would like compensation for the discounts I have missed. The additional discount is only good for 90 days and the first 30 days have already passed for me. 

Business Response:

March 12, 2013

Ref: #*******

***** ***** *** ****** *** ********** ** *****

Dear Ms. ******

           

I am glad we had the opportunity to talk regarding the complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  I apologize for the issues with receiving the 25c discount when purchasing fuel at **** Shop with the 1-2-3 ******* ****. I am also regretful that the customer service you received did not meet either of our expectations. 

            I have been informed that the pumps are working properly, so would like to extend the fuel discount promotion to the end of the year, December 31, 2013. However, just to assure you receive the discount promised to you, I appreciate you agreeing to our giving you gift cards to replace the 25c fuel discount you would have received for paying with the 123 ******* **** during this three month promotional period.

Here is what I believe is the equivalent to what you would have received as a fuel discount  when you reach at least 100 points at ******* or any ****** family of stores and pay with the 123 ******* ****. I took your highest fuel spend of $122 as the base.

Estimating about $3.50 per gal = 35 gal per week @ .25c = $8.75 discount X 14weeks = $122.5 for a total fuel savings during the three month period.

 

Please find enclosed $125 in gift cards that you may use at ******* or any ****** family of stores.  I have also enclosed $50 in gift cards to apologize for any frustration you may have experienced. The cards are ready to use and are just like cash so please put in a safe place.

            Thank you for choosing the 123 ******* **** and for being a loyal *******’ customer!  We appreciate your business Ms. ******

           

Kind regards,

***** ******

****** Personal Finance

The ****** Co.

***********************

************

Enclosure: 3-$50 & 1-$25 ****** family of stores gift cards

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 

3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on February 1, 2013 to order a replacement card after noticing it had become lost the day before. I offered the CSR all the required information to have the order processed. The following day, I logged into my account and found a charge on my account for $4.95 that the CSR did not inform me for. I however did not complain as long as I was receiving my replacement. A week passed and I still had not received my card so I contacted CS again in search of the reason why. I'd noticed that the CSR had updated my information incorrectly and maybe that was causing the delay. The rep assured me it was not, corrected my information and acknowledged me that based off the day my card was mailed out, I should receive it by the February 15 2013. February 15, I still did not receive my card I contacted customer service again and this time was told that I will not receive my card until February 20, 2013. I asked the CSR if there was any way for me to withdraw funds from my card, I have direct deposit to my card and this card was my only option for income. The rep assured me there was not, and apologized before disconnecting. Because its been days since my children have eaten a decent meal, I went on to contact Customer service again on February 17, 2013 about card to card transfers and if i could use this option to gain access to my funds. I was told to purchase a new card and transfer my funds to that card. I did as told and now have another card but cannot transfer funds because that option is not available with temporary cards. I am without food, heat, other everyday necessities and have incurred over $100 in late fees on housing bills because of the lack of concern from KPF to process and expedite card orders when they are placed. My card was shipped 4 days after it was ordered. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: The time frame required for the arrival of my card was not disclosed as well as the cost. I have two small children in my care and no other way to care for them without access to my income that I have been without now for almost an entire month. If I would have been properly informed of the processing time I would have made the appropriate decision to ensure the health and well-being of my family.

Consumer Response: As a resolution to the issue, I would like restitution for the time that I was without funds due to KPF disregard for the receipt of my newly issued card. As of today, February 26, 2013, 21 days after the card was originally mailed out I have still yet to receive it. I have been without finances for nearly a month unable to feed, or provide, for my children adequately. I would also like m card rushed to me as I have passed the 10 business day limit.

Business Response:

*** ***** **    ***** ***    *********** ** *****

 

 

March 12, 2013

 

Ref: *******

 

******* ****

**** ******* **** ********

************* ** *****

 

Dear Ms. *****

           

I am glad we had the opportunity to talk regarding the complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  My apologies, I thought this letter had been sent and regretfully, it had not.

 

            I am sorry that your replacement card was not received.  I was informed that it was mailed out immediately but at the time, they did not have your complete address.  I hope by now you do have your new permanent replacement card.

 

            If there are questions you might have about how to use the card or the benefits of the card, please call ###-###-#### or visit the website, ****************** or please do not hesitate to call me.

 

            To apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, I am enclosing $100 in Kroger gift cards. The gift cards are ready to use.  Just give to the cashier when you are checking out.  Thank you, Ms. ****.

 

Kind regards,

 

 

***** ****** ****** ******** ******* *********************** ************

 

 

Enclosure: 4-$25 & Kroger gift cards

2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concerning 123 rewards personalized ******* ***** I have had so many problems with this card. First is at point of sale- the product code is 5917. Using that # and the clerk swiping in the amount I want to add allows the card to be updated immediately. It took forever to get help in ****** with gaining info on using this method. This card is supposed to earn rewards (coupons). No one at the card center is consistent. The allows insult with first letting me know I cant earn rewards with scanning my "rewards #". I use this card often. I not had a reward in over 18 months although when I call them they say I have 8 x $5 coupons available. I tell them the are never offered when I am paying. They say they are there and I ask well did I use them and they say cannot tell me if I used them or not. Then they researched & said they have not been used so they are available. I ask why I never get them at checkout & they say they do not know what happens at point of sale. They tell to go into the store-get ready to pay and call them at that exact point so they can see what is happening. I made a special trip to ***** **** 1/27/2013 about 9 am to add funds and figure out WHERE ARE THE REWARDS. Same old story the head clerk (the lady with a giant mole on her eye)was as most of your people are very untrained on this product. I let her know about the product code to add funds and she basically said I was trying to defraud you people and skate on paying the $3 fee. I begged for the manager who was a hispanic man who looked at me like I was trying to steal! I pleaded to just use the code instead of the recharge card because I was pressed for time. He finally did and WOW it worked and charged me $3 like it should. He was thankful. She was bitter and confrontational still!!!!Any rate mngr went through the process of rewards and it appears your cashier clear the rewards out to finalize bill without offering to apply them. I go to **** * **** and still have $40 and the register says $5 rewards but the manager does

Desired Settlement: continued...not know how to apply them. I call the 800# again & the rude lady says I have rewards but does not know if I used them and she does not know what happens @ POS. Manager get to screen where it says 123 rewards $5 but then it says wrong sequence need override. SHE SAYS I DO NOT HAVE REWARDS. Then the 800# lady says I must purchase the products with my **** card before any savings can applied. WHAT THE **** IS GOING ON WITH YOUR TRAINING ON THIS PRODUCT. I AM EXHAUSTED & losing rewards

Consumer Response:

I have rewards I earned and they verify it but no one ever knows how to activate them

and they are expiring but deserve to use them before they expire.

Business Response: The customer's comments have beed forwarded to the appropriate department.  The customer can expect a contact from Kroger Personal Finance.


Regards, 

****** ****** ** ********

Business Response:

February 19, 2013

 

*** * *******

 

*** ******* **** ******** ** **** * ********* ******** ** *****   **** *** ********

 

            Thank you for speaking with me regarding the complaint to the Better Business Bureau.  

 

            Please let me apologize for any customer service issues you have had at the store and when you called the **** Prepaid Debit Card 1-800 line. 

 

As we discussed, in the future if you have an issue with the card, with rewards or with employees not giving you correct information, please let me know.  I will be able to resolve more efficiently the sooner I am aware of the issue. 

 

I am enclosing $50 in gift cards that you may use at **** ******* to replace any unused coupons you may have earned. To apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, I am also enclosing a $25 gift card that you may use at **** *******.  The gift cards are ready to use.  Just give to the cashier when you are checking out.  Thank you,

*** ********              

           

Kind regards,

 

 

 

***** ****** ****** ******** ******* *********************** ************

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *******

 

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 29, 2012 I called and reported my card lost and asked for a replacement. I asked her if there was a fee and she said no, and that my card would be coming in 3-5 days. On the 6th day (the following friday) I called KPF and asked where my card was because I still did not receive it. The CSA that I spoke to said that the person who reported my card lost did not send out my new card and for it to be expressed delivered to me (3-5 days) it would be a 20.00 charge. I told her that it was never explained to me that there was a card replacement fee and also that for it to come 3-5 days it would cost 20.00, I was led to believe that was just the standard arrival time. I asked to speak to a supervisor and the supervisor refunded me my shipping fee for the new card. My payroll check and I did not see it in my account, I called KPF and CSA told me that they do not see incoming transactions and to call back monday if it did not come in by then. I spoke with my employer's payroll department the following monday (1/7/13) and they said that my check was deposited into that account and to contact KPF. I contacted KPF on (1/7/13) and was greeted with a rude CSA, I told her the problem and she told me there was nothing she can do. I asked her the deposit limit on the card and she said (9,999.00) and I told her that the Terms of Conditions on the website said otherwise and she told me I was wrong and proceeded to get really rude so I asked to speak to a supervisor and he told me the same thing and was quite rude himself. I finally got my check returned to me and received it from my employer on Tuesday. I called KPF and told them that I had received late fees because 1. I had to wait Over 2 weeks to get a new card, 2. I had no access to any of my money for 2 weeks. The CSA told me that I would be refunded I just had to speak to a supervisor. I arranged a call back and no one called me back. I called KPF again on (1/15/13) and spoke to ********* who was really rude. He said that the (cont'd)

Desired Settlement: (cont'd) he was the highest person there and all KPF can do is say sorry. He was really rude and said that the terms and conditions i got in the mail and was on the website was wrong. He said that there was no coporate office all that there was the KPF CSA'S. I told him that I did not believe him and that the employees are all a Lialbility to the company for giving out false information. All I would like is my refund for the fees I incurred because of the multiple agents fault in handling this.

Business Response:

January 29, 2013

 

 

****** ****** ********

**** ***** ******** ***   *** ***

****** ***** ** *****

 

 

Dear *** ********,

           

Thank you for speaking with me regarding the complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  

 

Please let me apologize concerning the agents who handled your concerns who should have done a better job of handling the issue.  This poor customer experience is disappointing and we have spoken with the agents who were responsible for delivering less than stellar service.

 

I am glad that you finally have your replacement card and to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and to thank you for your patience, I am enclosing $100 in Kroger gift cards. The gift cards are ready to use.  Just give to the cashier when you are checking out. 

 

Kind regards,

 

 

 

***** ******

Kroger Personal Finance

***********************

###-###-####

 

 

Enclosure: 4-$25 & Kroger gift cards

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

 

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 20th, 2012 I purchased a Recharge card to use as a pre-paid debit card as the customer service rep informed me. When I went to use the card, the vendor told me that they do not accept that card because it does not have a visa/mc, etc logo.I went back to the store with my receipts to attempt to return the card, since it was not a pre-paid debit card. They did not allow me to return it even though I had not scratched off the back of the card. I then called Kroger personal finance to see what the problem was and to see how to get my money back. The representative on the phone told me to scratch off the back and give her the numbers to further assist me. I did so and then she told me to get a temporary card and they would send out a permanent card in the mail. I purchased the temporary card only to call Kroger personal finance and be told that I could not use either card, I would have to wait for the personal card. However, this rep also told me that I had to get a temporary card first to receive a permanent one, which did not make sense.I went online to see if this was true and it turns out that I did not have to purchase a temp card at all because I completed a form that asked me if I had one and I clicked no. The system gave me confirmation that the permanent card is on the way.Basically:1. The store is misinforming customers about how the cards should be used.2. When you contact Kroger financial service, they are falsly telling customers to purchase temp card unnecessarily and receiving additional fees for nothing. Thank you for your help,******** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money back, I no longer want to do business with a company that misleads customers and is not truthful about their services and fees.

Business Response: December 5, 2012  ******** *********** ****** **** ********** ** ***** Dear *** *******,            I am glad we had the opportunity to talk today regarding the complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  After attempts at calling and emailing you, I thought I may not be fortunate enough to discuss this issue with you but am glad we did.               As I understand from the agent you spoke with, you purchased a recharge card without having the personalized card.  Apparently, you were given misinformation from a store employee that you could transfer funds to a temporary card.  Of course, as you know now, you can only transfer funds to a permanent card.  However, I am glad you have decided to get the permanent card and use it to pay your bills.            
If there are questions you might have about how to use the card or the benefits of the card, please call ###-###-#### or visit the website,
****************** or please do not hesitate to call me.             To apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, I am enclosing *** in Kroger gift cards. The gift cards are ready to use.  Just give to the cashier when you are checking out.  Thank you, Mr. ******** 
Kind regards,  ***** ******Kroger Personal Finance
***********************
###-###-####  ********** ***** * ****** **** *****

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,I have a Kroger 123 Rewards Prepaid Visa for the past 3 weeks I have been trying to get someone to help me, with no success, here is the problem. I have earned a certain number of points on my card that allows me to gift certificates that can be applied to my next grocery purchase at Kroger. I go to redeem my gift certificates and they are not coming up on the register for the cashier to redeem them for me. I sign into my account and the message I am receiving is this, which is highlighted in red, "We're sorry, your account status is preventing you from redeeming at this time." and the box where my phone number is suppose to be listed is highlighted in red. I have called 5 times over this same problem and I have not received any help yet. They have told me twice that they have put in a ticket to the escalation department and they would call me in 1 to 3 business days. The last time I called was Tuesday Jan. 24th and they said they put in a escalation ticket, here it is Monday and still no call.

Desired Settlement: I would just like someone to call me who can fix the problem so I can redeem the rewards I earned.

Business Response:

I have spoken with the ********* and am seeking help with their web issues and will send the earned rewards to them.  I will overnight on Feb 6 as they are going out of town tomorrow and will not be back until Monday, feb 6.

Sorry, was not able to attach letter - copy and pasted here:

 

 

 

 

 

 

*** ***** ** ***** *** *********** ** *****

 

 

  

January 30, 2012

 

Mrs. ****** *******

*** ******* ****** *

****** ** *****

 

Dear Mrs. *******

 

            Thank you for speaking with me today regarding the Visa Prepaid Debit Card. I apologize for any issues you may have had with receiving your earned rewards and with accessing the website.  Per our conversation, I have enclosed $100 in Kroger gift cards to replace the earned rewards.  To apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, I am also including a $25 Kroger gift card.  The gift cards are ready to use. Please just hand to the cashier when you are checking out.

 

We appreciate your using the Visa Prepaid Debit Card and for being a loyal Kroger customer.

 

Kind regards,

 

 

 

***** ******

Kroger Personal Finance

***********************

###-###-####

 

 

Enclosure:  5-$25 Kroger gift cards