BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

GutterShutter

Phone: (513) 671-4000 Fax: (513) 671-4000 11820 Kemper Springs Dr, Parkdale, OH 45240

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers gutter installation and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GutterShutter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GutterShutter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GutterShutter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 23, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated: 04/27/2007 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Related Businesses
The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company
Business Category

Contractors - Gutters

Service Area
tri-state
Alternate Business Names
Queen City Gutter Systems, Inc.
Business Management

Mark Steinberg is currently identified in BBB files as the President of The Gutter Shutter Manufacturing Company.


Additional Locations

  • 11820 Kemper Springs Dr

    Parkdale, OH 45240

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up at the Indiana State Fair to win a prize at the Shutter Gutter display. They called and asked to come out for a free estimate on the gutters. They came out the next day. The salesman spent over an hour and a half, mostly saying what was wrong with the other gutter companies. I had had no real intention to buy the gutters at this time. He gave us a price that was good for a year. I explained that I had cancer and was told to get my affairs in order. I was thinking about my daughter so that she would have little maintenance on the house to take care of. My husband had just had a total hip replacement. We were both on pain medication. The salesman pressured us that he could save us quite a bit of money only if we bought the gutters that day. He said that he could save us around $2700. My husband thought that if we were eventually going to get gutters we should go ahead and get the savings. The salesman said the company liked 25% down. I wrote him a check for that amount. I had to leave to pick up my granddaughters. The salesman had me sign several blank pages. He asked if I was comfortable having my husband give him my information. My husband has no job and would not be paying for the gutters. He owns no part in the house. He does know my information so I said yes. When I returned home I found that the salesman had written in a hand written note saying that I would not use my 3-day right to rescind the contract and had my husband initial it. Thus substantially altering the terms of the contract. I had talked to several friends and family, and they all said that $11,000 was too much to pay for gutters. The salesman was here on Friday. I wanted to rescind on Monday morning well within my three business days. My son called the company to rescind. They were very rude and said that we were out of luck because my husband had initialed that write in. Their only offer was to reduce the price. My son said that we were not getting the gutters. He went with me to the bank Monday afternoon and I stopped payment on the down payment. check. The bank officer also notarized the form of their contract that said we were cancelling and we mailed it to the company. The company sent two workers on Tuesday to pick up the gutter materials that they had left Monday morning. Sat. upon using online banking I saw that they had cashed my check. On Monday, I will be going to the bank again for an explanation.

Desired Settlement: The company would refund my money and honor my right to rescind the contract for gutters.

Business Response: **** ******* **** put a stop payment on her check and the money is in her account, not sure what the confusion is but we wish her and her family the best.

Respectfully,

John Cross

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gutters were not properly installed with correct slope causing gutters to fill with water and freeze. Gutters were full of ice causing excessive weight. The excessive weight could not be held by our fascia boards (excessive of 600 pds approximately). Gutters ripped off fascia board and ruined the gutters, roof, and fascia. Company went out 4 days later after temperatures were above freezing all 4 days and responded that there was no ice in the gutters. All the ice had melted by that time, but the company refused to take my pictures showing the gutters were full of ice on the day it occurred. The company stated our fascia was not suitable to hold their gutters and that is why the gutters came down. Although their contract states that if fascia is not suitable at the time of installation, the buyer will be notified and charged additional fee to fix it.....when installed nothing was mentioned about our fascia being unsuitable. The opposite side of the house is also sagging due to the same issue of ice, but being propped up to keep them on the house. This was done by me on the day of the incident. Now we receive no return calls from the company.

Desired Settlement: We would like our fascia fixed on both sides and gutters installed correctly. We would like for our contractor to install the fascia boards and the company to place gutters back with the correct slope. We do not trust this company to replace our fascia because they have not been cooperative in fixing their mistake. If the company refuses to fix this problem, we would like a full refund of all gutter shutter products on both our houses and money to replace our gutters with what we had prior to their product.

Business Response:

In response to ID *******

******* *****

 

This house had a sofit/gutter framed attached (built on home, not original equipment). The rafters were not attached to the house well enough.  When enough weight was applied to the area the framed section failed to hold up.  We would have no way of knowing the sofit section built was constructed so poorly, or have any way of testing before installing.  When we inspected the problem, this was pointed out to Mr. ***** and at that time our gutter system was still attached to the fascia board, it was the frame/rafter tails itself that fell off the house, that was actually mounted to crown molding that was originally installed on home (not anything that was a solid structure)

 

Respectfully,

 

John Cross

General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the Gutter Shutter does not resolve the issue.  The issue of the gutters not being sloped correctly and draining, the gutters froze solid.  The excessive weight from the ice is what caused our gutters to come off the house.  None of our rafters were detached, or our roof would cave in.  It is correct that the Gutter Shutter tried to explain that a piece of crown molding was the fault of the gutters coming down along with the Gutter Shutter stating their gutters were not full of ice nor do they collect ice.  That is a complete lie.  Now giving me an excuse of the rafters which was never mentioned in the first explanation given.  I have pictures showing the gutter is frozen solid on both ends.  Then the Gutter Shutter has given me a "dead end" extension to where no one returns calls.  With recent weather in the area, our new house which has Gutter Shutter had 6" thick ice formed on top of it.  I'm sure that is because our new house is built wrong also.  I want our house fixed by Gutter Shutter or all our money refunded on both houses.  We are not asking for anything other than for them to fix the damage done by the excessive weight of the ice in the gutters.
Regards,

******* *****




Business Response:

ID *******

In response to Mr. ***** ,  The Gutter Shutter company has installed 1000s of system we have never  had an issue where the weight of ice caused a system to come off a house.  That said we as a company understand that Mr. ***** is under that impression.  We in no way take responsibility for this problem as mention in my earlier response.  We will however refund $1000.00 to Mr. ***** which is what he requested.  If this is satisfactory I can e-mail an release form and have a checked mailed.

 

Respectfully

 

John Cross

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Please note that I do not want this complaint closed until I see the release and the refund.

Regards,

******* *****




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 6, 2013, I was subjected to a 2 1/2 hour sales pitch for gutters that was thoroughly choreographed, and included text and phone messages to the salesman's boss "John", and a secret code on a "winning" scratchcard. The result was a good-for-one-day-only bid of $6604, down from the initial bid of $9100. The installation date given by the salesman was April 10 with measurements to be done April 9. When the salesman noted that my initials were required on a page to waive my right to cancel, the salesman mentioned that the work was being done within the cancellation period, and then he shrugged. I took this to mean that they needed my commitment so that the work could proceed: I initialed. He then required a 1/3 downpayment of $2170. On April 8 I spoke to John ***** to cancel the contract. (A written cancellation was received by them on Tues. April 9.) Mr. ***** offered a bid of $5300, but reluctantly agreed to a cancellation of my contract and a full refund of my downpayment. No check has arrived. Complaint: that there was undue pressure to initial the waiver due to the illegal scheduling of the work within the cancellation period; that the salesman grossly inflated the estimated costs of other companies=$8840 (a subsequent bid for gutters AND soffets=$6265); that the first, second and third bids all constitute costs for gutters that are unconscionable; that Mr. ***** did a decent thing when he cancelled my contract, but the failure to return my promised downpayment demonstrates a lack of integrity; that the downpayment, now representing 40.9% of the final $5300 bid, is also unconscionable.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my downpayment in full.

Business Response: ****** *** ******, Deposit check was mailed to her on Friday April 19,2013. Per her contract we have 10 days to return her deposit, that protects us in case a check should not clear the bank.

J*** *****


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I received the check for a full refund on April 23, 2013. 

Regards,

 

 

****** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had this company install Gutters on my home several years ago. Steve was contact for company then as well as present! After installing I start having a issue with water running down on my mailbox..Called to get problem resolved, need I say it took several certified letters,calls and months to have them come out and drill holes in my covers, this was there solution. Now there were holes in my 4500.00 usd gutters. They give you several phone numbers where you get no response.. Cincinnati is the only credible number. If you have any problem with your gutters they have to come from cincinati oh. Bringing things to date, I had storm damage done to my home may 2012. Had roof and gutters replaced june2012 by this same company, october2012 the job is not complete.This company came out and tried to use the old gutters on my home and paint them to look new. My home look terrible! Forgot the proper equipment to do the job,wrong color covers.Crew was unknowable as how to do the job. i sent pics and called manager/supervisor Steve in Cincinnati to voice my complaint, he told me I was making him mad and hung up the phone on me.. My insurance was paying4500.00usd for all new gutters. Steve sent the same supervisor that did the terrible job to my home the following sunday morning unannounced! last week they did the same thing, i was on vacation and get a call from my neighbor telling me that some people are working on your home. he gives me the phone and its this company done walked on my property unannounced again and started to do work on my home. i told the worker to stop and call me before coming, he left gutters in yard. My experience w/company, I want to be there!!Had lawyer send letter to company. No response,It's been close to five months and company still has not contacted me. Other than previous statement. Steve manager/supervisor is very unprofessional and in my opinion gives the company a very bad name. I do not feel my warranty is any good, just a bad experience..I feel consumers need to know..

Desired Settlement: Take thousand dollars off of price..I really not sure what is new or old parts on my home. Some parts look still old! Starting to damage my room foundation. Company Took old gutters off of room in june2012 and water from rain has been running to foundation ever since. Have to repaint and seal..

Business Response:

This is the contract we have with the roofing company, concerning Mr. ******.  Mr. ****** has an attorney named **** ******** ************ we have passed on this information to him.  We have completed the work as the contract requested. Waiting on **** ******** for more information on this matter.

**** ** *****
General Manager
The GutterShutter Company

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a quote from Gutter Shutter at a home show approx. 2 years ago. Since then, I have received up to 5 phone calls a day, nearly every day for those 2 years from Gutter Shutter. I've asked to be taken off the call list many times and it never happens. The number they use most often is 513-618-5525 though they call from other 513 numbers as well.This is blatant harassment and I want it to stop.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for them to stop calling me.

Business Response:

Concerning ID *********
 
****** *******:
 
Phone number ************ has been put on our do not call list, and will not be called again.
  
John D. Cross
General Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Stacey Hensley

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water was pouring down thru a 10 foot section of the gutter when it rained hard. Gutter shutter came out and checked and said my gutter pulled away from the faschia board. When i asked them to fix it as there is a lifetime guarantee, they said that is not their problem. They only attach gutters to the faschia board. After talking to a Roofer to see if they can fix it, he said gutters should ALWAYS be attached to the rafters or some part of roof if they were installed correctly.After Roofer came out, they found the entire length the gutter on the back of my house was pulling away due to 1.5 inches of water sitting in the Gutter whose weight was pulling on the gutter that was only attached to faschia board. This standing water, he said, will likely happen if the gutters were not installed with the correct pitch.Now i have a big bill with a Roofer because of poor installation.

Desired Settlement: I would like the gutter to be attached correctly with the correct pitch without any charge as it should be covered by the lifetime warranty.

Business Response:  On Monday the 24th, we will be fixing the *******'s concern.


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Gutter Shutter said they would come out  on Monday.  I was at work.    I have not heard from them that they did in fact come out and fix it.  I will be contacting them tomorrow to verify they fixed it and they fixed my front gutter that was installed the same  incorrect way. Thanks for your help in the matter.

Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with this company on 5/21/12 for new gutters & downspouts. On 6/26/12 they were installed. We called them that afternoon to explain that the downspouts were placed wrong and that we were unhappy with the corners. On 7/3/13 a representative was sent out to take pictures. Repairs were set up for 7/13/12. On that day, when no one showed up, we called and spoke with *** who told us that the representative had been here and left a note on the door. We then explained to him that I had been home all day due to the fact that I work here also. The repair man arrived 45 minutes later and turned the back downspouts. My husband called *** back again and explained that it still wasn't right. *** said he would call back monday (7/16). When we did not hear back, we called *** on 7/18 and were told that they would not be fixing the problems. When we said that we would be contacting Wells Fargo (the credit company) and BBB they said somebody would be here 7/24. Today the gentleman showed up said that they would not be fixing the downspouts.

Desired Settlement: We want the front and rear gutters replaced so that the downspout are located on the side of the house like they were supposed to be. We also want the corners redone.

Business Response: We have a scheduled service on Tuesday September 18, 2012, To correct the ********* concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am called several times a week from different gutter salesmen and have asked to be removed from the call list. They have called me for over a year and i have asked at least a dozen times to be removed. I feel like i am being harassed and I don't like it.

Desired Settlement: All i want is to never hear from queen city gutter ever again! I want my number removed from the call list.

Business Response: **** **** has been put on our do not call list and will not be contacted again.


Respectfully.


John Cross

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a call this morning from Queen City Gutter. I told him first thing I was on the do not call list. He continued to talk. I told him I would file a complaint. He continued to talk. I asked him if he was having a problem understanding me and he said since he had already disturbed me he might as well try to sell me something. So I told him I was reporting them and hung up. The number he called from was ************. I'm sorry but I did not get his name. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Stop Contacting Me

Business Response: ** ***** has been put on the do not call list and will not be called again. The person that made the call has been retrained on the way we take care of situations like this.  We apologize for the inconvenience of the call.

Respectfully,

**** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
Ok so Queen City Gutters has been calling our home for the last 4-5 months at
least 2-3 times a day. We are at work so no one answers the phone. No msg
is left. Well we have been home the last week and when we answer the phone
they just sit there then hang up. Today though a gentleman asked if I was
** ********. Now I am ****** because they do have my name. I looked online
to see if they have any contact info and there are a ton of other folks who
are going through the same thing. I called and left a not so nice msg to
get me off their call list as it tells you to but I would like to see this
company stopped from badgering people. We fell for their **** **** and
bought their very expensive gutters years ago so why they have come back is
beyond me. I will never use them again. They have a very good sales ****
**** ploy they use and don't ask me why but my husband fell for it. Is
there anything your company can do to stop them from harrassing people on a
daily basis?

Desired Settlement:
I don't care what they call themselves now, they just need to stop calling.  I did not like their sales pitch back then and if they would check their records they would see we were already fooled into buying their product and to leave us alone. We live in the same house and have the same phone number so really???? do they have no sense?

Business Response: ***** ******* was added to our do not call list on 1/09/12, she will not be contacted again.


Best Regards,

**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/23/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues