BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

GutterShutter

Phone: (513) 671-4000 Fax: (513) 671-4000 11820 Kemper Springs Dr, Parkdale, OH 45240

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers gutter installation and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GutterShutter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for GutterShutter include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for GutterShutter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GutterShutter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 23, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated: 04/27/2007 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Steinberg, Owner
Related Businesses
The GutterShutter Manufacturing Company
Business Category

Contractors - Gutters

Service Area
tri-state
Alternate Business Names
Queen City Gutter Systems, Inc.
Business Management

Mark Steinberg is currently identified in BBB files as the President of The Gutter Shutter Manufacturing Company.


Additional Locations

  • 11820 Kemper Springs Dr

    Parkdale, OH 45240

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted Gutter Shutter to obtain an estimate for replacing current gutters. When scheduling the appointment I was asked my marital status. I wondered the relevance of my marital status and decided to cancel my appointment. I was contacted by a gentleman named Brandon who provided customer recovery and I agreed to meet with a salesman for a free estimate. I was initially skeptical however the salesman did a good job. I was told that after installation if there were any problems I should contact the company. I paid in cash for the gutters on August 27, 2014. The gutters were installed during the day on Wednesday, September 3, 2014. When I returned to work, I couldn't help notice that the shingles on my roof had been raised by approximately in inch sporadically across the front of the house. Some shingle were flushed with gutters, but others were raised up. Roofing nails were left in the driveway as well. I called Gutter Shutter that evening and left a message. By the next day, September 4th, I had not heard from them so I called again. On Friday, September 5th they called and I missed the call so I returned their call and left another voice message. I finally reached them on September 8, 2014. I explained about the shingles and was told by Dave that someone could not come to look at the problem until Friday, September the 19th. No one came to my home that day. I called on Monday September 22, and was told by the Assistant General Manager John or Jim that he would guarantee that someone would come out on September 26th to look at the shingles. Once again it was a no show! I called again and have not received a return phone call as yet. It is apparent that nothing that was promised is guarantee and the company has done an excellent job at ignoring requests for problems related to the installtion of their gutters. They have their money and see no reason to stand behind their workmanship!

Desired Settlement: This company should stand behind their workmanship and guarantee. This was an inferior installation and it should be corrected in a TIMELY manner.

Business Response:  We have a scheduled service call set for Friday October 10, to resolve ***** ****** issues.

Respectfully,


John Cross

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised by the sales representative that the quote given was good for one year. However, the sales representative refused to put the quote in writing. This refusal to put the quote in writing means that I have nothing in writing to prove the price quoted. I find this to be an unethical sales practice akin to bait and swith tactics since I have nothing in writing that rquires the company to stand by the quote given me by their sales representative on 27 September 2014. This becomes a case of my word against the company's word. I sent a complaint about this issue to their website and have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: provide me the written quote given me by the sales representative on 27 Sep 14.

Business Response: I spoke to Mr. ****** explained this is not our policy and apologized for the situation. Also thank him for bringing this to our attention.  His written estimate was mailed out today.

Respectfully,

**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Gutter Shutters installed in December 2012. We were attracted by the idea that we would not have to clean out gutters again. That was a mild winter, and the problem did not materialize until the following winter (2013-2014). Our gutters were totally encased in ice dams, and we had ice along the sides of the house as well. As the ice melted, it leaked into the house. When Gutter Shutter came to inspect in March 2014, they found that its gutter installation was improper, in that the installers failed to install a flashing (drip edge). Gutter Shutter told us this was the cause of the ice around the sides of the house, but that the ice dams were caused by insufficient insulation. We have always had sufficient insulation for all purposes, and have never had a problem with ice dams previously. In installing the gutters, Gutter Shutter never indicated that ice dams could be a problem. In March 2014, Gutter Shutter finally installed the flashing. But you could see from the street and close-up pictures that it was not installed properly. We had the work inspected by a contractor (Rick ***** at Stan Better Construction) who had previously worked on the house, who told us that the way Gutter Shutter installed the flashing would make the ice dams worse. In July 2014, Gutter Shutter did reinstall the flashing. But upon inspection Mr. ***** concluded that the job done by Gutter Shutter was still defective. The flashing as installed is raising the first row of roof shingles so water will pond, creating the possibility of leaks and making the ice dam situation worse. According to Mr. *****, it is necessary to either lower the profile of the flashing or lowering the gutter to accommodate the flashing as installed. I sent pictures which show the problems and an explanation to our Gutter Shutter representative, Dave *********. I told him that Mr. ***** asked to have Mr. ********* explain the problem and what needed to be done to fix it. But despite multiple requests, Mr. ********* has refused to do so.

Desired Settlement: The product is inherently defective, and was not installed properly. Gutter Shutter told me that the flashing would only take care of the ice around the sides of the house, and not the ice dams. I don't buy the explanation that the ice dams are caused by insufficient insulation, and neither does Mr. *****. However, the failure to properly install the flashing will make the ice dams worse. The product is not suitable for a climate like Cincinnati, where we can get a great deal of ice and snow. Moreover, rain is overshooting the gutters. Gutter Shutter does not seem capable of installing the gutters, or the flashing properly, and would prefer if we just "get lost." We are very worried about what will happen over the winter, as the ice dams can damage the house. I regret doing business with them. We want our money back ($3,873) so we can purchase new gutters before winter that will not cause ice dams.

Business Response:  We will be at Mr. ******'s home on 9/11/14, at that time we will inspect the system and if it needs to be rehung we will do so.


John Cross
GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Gutter Shutter did come today to inspect, and we appreciate that.  We are waiting to receive their written evaluation of the situation, which we will review with our advisors.  At this point it is too early to determine if the response resolves the matter.

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: Gutter Shutter did send a technician to inspect the gutters and make recommendations.  He came almost 2 weeks ago.  Gutter Shutter told us they would provide us with a written report.  We are still waiting.  They say we will get it next week.  

  **** ******

Business Response:

I have reviewed both with the production manager and the installer that was sent to your home to do an inspection. After many conversations and reviewing the pictures, the consensus opinion is that you shingles are pushed up because of the way your fascia was installed. It is above the roof line and that’s what is causing the issue. As far as your original contact concerned about “ice dams”, I have included a link you might find useful.

 

http://www.icedamremovalguys.com/learning-center/ice-dam-myth-busters/myth1-gutters-cause-ice-dams/

 

I do apologize in the delay in getting this to you but I wanted to make sure all the different angles were weighed and opinions heard.

 

At this point, the only logical fix would be getting with a contractor to trim back the fascia board so that is even with or slightly below the roof-line edge.

 

Should you need anything else from me or the Gutter Shutter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Respectfully,

 

John cross

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.

I would not recommend Gutter Shutter to my worst enemy.  Let's focus on what we know.  First of all, we know Gutter Shutter is incompetent.  This is proven by these facts: (1) GS failed to install a drip edge when the gutters were originally installed in December 2012.  (2) When GS finally installed a drip edge in March 2014, the installation was so defective the problems were visible from the street.  Secondly, we know GS is not reputable.  (1) As shown by the fine print of the contract, which was not called to our attention, GS knew that icing problems were likely to occur, yet said nothing. (2) When the drip edge job was redone in July 2014, according to GS it was obvious that the drip edge, gutters, fascia, and shingles were not meeting properly, yet GS said nothing.  (I suppose this one is really a combination of incompetence and lack of reputability.)

The roof was installed in 2008. We had absolutely no problems with icing or anything else until the Gutter Shutters were installed.  We had no problems with the temperature of our roof, or the amount of insulation in the attic, or anything else.  If there was the potential for icing problems, due to how the gutters and roof were meeting, or any other reason, GS had an obligation to tell us.  Had they alerted us to any of these possible problems, we would never have purchased the Gutter Shutters.

So our contractor who installed the roof tells us that the current problem stems from the improper installation of the drip edge.  Gutter Shutter tells us that the problem is with the way the fascia was installed by the contractor.  We have a long record of high satisfaction with the work of our contractor. We have a long record of dissatisfaction with Gutter Shutter.  Who should we believe?

Regardless of the cause, we need to get the problem behind us.  We have absolutely no faith in the ability of Gutter Shutter to deal with it.  So we have no choice but pay additional funds to hire someone else to resolve the problem.

So we accept the business's response, not because we are satisfied, but because we have no faith in the ability of Gutter Shutter to deal with the problem.  It's just time to move on.
   
With regrets,

******* ******

8/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had The Gutter Shutter Company put gutters and downspouts on home on June 13th 2014. The installers didn't show up until 5:00pm. We made a comment that it is was awfully late to be starting a job. When they were finished it was to late to inspect their work, but they wanted the remaining balance, it was 10:05pm.Our inspection on June 14th 20141. Used Torpedo level instead of 4 X 6 level2. Inside and outside miters cut at 45 degree angle, with 2 straps used to secure, should have been cut to overlap like other companies3. Topper in the back of the house had to be removed, because caulking was not at the miters4. Toppers do not lay flat, which can create a place for debris and bees to get in re-installation of the topper using the same screw holes does not hold as strong or tight5. Screws were spray painted after being installed, which left runs and drips on the gutters and downspouts and overspray on the soffit 6. Extra downspout was added to the back of the house, by the installers, stating 3 would not handle the fall, 3 worked fine before with our old gutters and downspouts7. Downspout to the cistern doesn't fit properly8. Clear silicone used instead of gutter sealant9. One end cap leaks and drips every time it rains10. Drip edge was not installed11. More water comes out of the cleanout, than the downspout12. Clean out box was removed to trim the box and scratched the paint13. Found screws and metal piece in the yard, flowerbeds, and drivewayWe would not recommend using The Gutter Shutter Company to anyone.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a prompt refund.

Business Response: This letter details the facts concerning our product installation at the home of Mr. and Mrs.
CJ *******.
The *******s called us on June 10, 2014, responding to an advertisement in Reach
magazine. They wanted a gutter/downspout installation as quickly as possible, and made an
appointment for our company to visit their home on June 11, 2014. Enclosed is a contract signed
by the *******s on June 11, 2014. Because the *******s were anxious to get the installation
underway, they waived the 3-day right of rescission (see contract), and an appointment for
installation was set for June 13, 2013.
The *******s’ letter mentions that the installers “didn’t show up until 5:00 p.m.” However,
the installation occurred just days away from the longest day of the year, and there was sufficient
light to work until after 9:00 p.m. The installation team has many years of experience and knew that
the job could be fully completed within the time available Although the contract calls for the
installation of drip edge on all new gutters, Mr. ******* refused to have the drip edge installed. The
*******s’ letter details seemingly specific complaints, yet the disk of photos sent to us by Mr.
******* does not show any of the items on his list, other than a closeup showing two screws on the
ground (The *******s’ letter to the BBB says “[f]ound screws and metal piece in the yard,
flowerbeds, and driveway”)
The contract provides that “Customer agrees that the entire contract price shall be paid
immediately upon completion of installation. Payment may be given to installers at time of
completion. Accounts are delinquent when they are unpaid after 5 days past the completion date...”
However, as noted by our installers on the Buyers’ Certificate of Completion” (copy attached),
“Cust. Refused to sign till talks to sales rep. The guy was really drunk.” Mr. ******* refused to pay
the balance due on the installation after it was completed on July 11, 2014.
Mr. ******* called our office on June 16, 2014, wanting return of his down payment and
claiming to be unhappy with the product. Mr. John Cross spoke with him and told him that the
company would take care of any concerns that he had. Mr. ******* said he did not want anyone
from our company on his property.
Despite Mr. *******’s comment, Mrs. ******* spoke with our company’s service manager
to set up a service call for June 23, 2014. When our company team arrived at the *******s’
residence, Mrs. ******* refused to permit our service team access to the property, saying that she
wanted her husband home. Our company tried again that same evening, and was still not permitted
by the *******s to address their concerns.
The company’s service manager contacted the *******s on July 2, 2014 about their unpaid
balance, since they had refused to let the company back on their property to address any concerns.
We were informed by Mr. ******* that he was composing a letter to our company president. Our
company’s service manager spoke to Mrs. ******* on July 8, 2014, who again said that a letter was
forthcoming.
Our company’s view is that we rushed to accommodate the *******s in their request for an
installation as quickly as possible, Mr. ******* refused to let our installers perform the work as
contemplated on the contract, the *******s refused to let our company address any concerns that
the *******s said they had about the installation, and the *******s refused to pay the balance owed.
The complaint made by the *******s to the Better Business Bureau seeks a refund of the down
payment for the installation. The *******s refused to let our company’s service team on their
property, but sent us a CD filled with photos that do not conform to the list of issues in the
*******’s letter to the BBB. It is our view that the *******s have told us of no legitimate
complaint and need to pay the balance due.
Very truly yours,
John Cross
General Manager of The GutterShutter Companies
Enclosures:
Installation Contract For ******* dated June 11, 2014
Buyers’ Certificate of Completion for *******

Consumer Response:

RE: Response to letter received via email 07/22/2014 Installation By the Gutter Shutter Company at the following address

**** ********** ***** ****** **** *****

 

Dear Ms. *********

CJ and I would like to put an end to this matter, in our original photos you can clearly see a photo showing a pile of 9 to 10 screws. The drip edge was not left at our home on the day the gutters and downspouts were delivered, June 12, 2014, nor was it on the truck when the installers were on the premises. We do have witnesses to the time the installers completed for the night at 10:05. Photos of end cap that leaks, clean out where water runs out, scratched clean out and downspout to the cistern were all included, in the original photos. More photos are attached, as now because of improper installation of gutters the roof sheeting is rotting.

Now for the drip edge, if CJ had refused to have the drip edge installed then your installers should have had a Change Order signed or have stopped the job. The cost of installation would have changed at this point.

Now as for finishing a job after 10 p.m. You can't inspect work, in the dark. Not being able to inspect the work performed, is the reason the balance was not paid. The installers were requested to have their boss and the owner of Gutter Shutter contact us on Monday, 06/15/2014. No call. A message was was left on the emergency line on, 06/15/2014 and no call again.

No Show. Appointment had been scheduled with Dave, for 5:00 p.m., on 06/23/2014. Nobody was refused access to the property, because nobody showed up. ******* was not at home from approximately 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., she was at her friends place all day.

Finally, on 06/30/2014, someone finally showed up. An installer came and walked around and took pictures.

Now I would will address the fact that you have slandered my name. You have no idea, other than the information you have received through sub-contractors, on my character, and behavior. Therefore a judgment of that magnitude, was made unjustly.

Due to the improper installation of the gutters, downspouts and no drip edge being installed, we are having damage done to roof sheeting and until the gutters and downspouts are removed, will not be able to see any other unseen damages.

Best Regards

CJ & ******* L. *******

 

Enclosed: Photos

 

Enclosed : Witness Letter



Business Response:

Thank you for your recent email of July 24, 2014 about the installation of gutters and downspouts by our company at the home of Mr. and Mrs. CJ *******.

The *******s’ most recent letter states “the drip edge was not left at our home on the day the gutters and downspouts were delivered, June 12, 2014,” and that the drip edge was not “on the truck when the installers were on the premises.” We do not understand the *******s’ point about the location of the drip edge, since they refused to let our installers install it. However, drip edge does not come pre-manufactured or “off the shelf”; it is custom made at the time of installation right on the job site. Therefore, it could not have been pre-delivered or been seen sitting on the installers’ truck.

Although the contract states that “Company will install drip edge on all new gutters,” Mr. ******* refused to let our installers put drip edge on his home. His reason given at the time was that we needed to paint it to match the color of the gutters after it is custom made, and after he saw the roll of white material that would be formed into the drip edge, he said he was having a new roof installed in two weeks and wanted the roofers to install it when doing the roof work. Mr. ******* said he needed to have wood replaced on the decking and would request that it come in a factory color, so he did not want the material painted.

We believe that the *******s’ home needs to have drip edge installed, yet they refused to let our company install it. Mr. ******* refused to sign our standard certificate of completion and refused to pay the 50% contract balance due on the job. We completed the installation of gutters and downspouts on their home on Friday, June 13, 2014 and on Monday, June 16, 2014, Mr. ******* called us and wanted all of his down payment back. There was no specific complaint or request that we come to review the installation. Unreasonably, Mr. ******* wanted to keep the work and avoid paying for it.

We have reviewed the photos sent by Mr. ******* and observe that whoever took the pictures appears to have broken the seal on the shingles by lifting them up for photos. We find the installation in accordance with practice in the industry. However, on one matter, after viewing the photos, we would install a reducer on the one downspout where it meets the drainpipe at ground level.

The *******s’ complaints appear centered around the time of day the installation occurred and the location of the drip edge. The installers finished the job with sufficient daylight, but in any event the *******s refused to let the company return to the premises to have the *******s point out their concerns. They just wanted their money back. After specifically requesting drip edge on June 11, 2014 at the time the contract was signed, Mr. ******* refused to let the installers install it. His comments about it being missing from the materials delivery are irrelevant to the fact of his refusal, and show that his doesn’t understand the nature of the product, which is custom made, or his complaint is pretextual.

Our Company is willing to install the drip edge and install the reducer on the single downspout at the ground level. This would complete the job as contracted, and our Company would expect to receive the balance due under the contract. We will waive any late charges or interest. Our company went above and beyond to accommodate the *******s in their desire to expedite the gutter/downspout installation on their home. But since they refused to let us make any attempt to address their concerns, and immediately demanded a refund on the next business day following the installation, we question the motivation behind their filing of a complaint. Nonetheless, we would like to see this matter amicably resolved.

Very truly yours,

John Cross
General Manager of The GutterShutter Companies

 

Consumer Response:

We are responding to the recent offer made to install the drip edge and install the reducer to one downspout at the ground level. These 2 items will not correct all of the issues that have been brought to the companies attention. As we have previously stated an installer came to our home and took pictures and looked at the installation performed by your company.

 

We did not demand an immediate refund of our money, but after being ignored, given the run around, slandered and lied to and about repeatedly, we feel that the best result for both your company and for ourselves would be the removal of your product from our home and the refund of our money.

 

 

Best Regards,

 

CJ and ******* L. *******

Business Response:

Our company has exchanged several letters with the *******s. The *******s' initial complaint filed with the Bureau on July 10, 2014 asked for a "prompt refund." The *******s' next letter wanted a "full refund." Now we received the *******s' August 11, 2014 letter which says that "[w]e did not demand an immediate refund of our money. . ." even while they demand "removal of your product from our home and the refund of our money."

We know that the Bureau seeks to act as a facilitator in resolving disputes between customers and companies. But that role presupposes that a customer is willing to budge an inch. The *******s are actually moving in reverse-- from asking for a full refund in their initial complaint to now wanting removal of the product and a full refund too.

Our company has repeatedly offered to address the *******s' concerns with a walk-through, but they won't permit us on their property. We offered to install drip edges and a reducer and forgo late fees and interest. Since all of the movement in this dispute is coming from our side, we now again offer a proposal: that both sides walk away. The *******s will then have their installation at half price. Our company would need to receive a release from the *******s and their promise of non-disparagement of our company.

We believe this is a generous offer, and we would truly appreciate a reasonable response from the *******s.

Very truly yours,

John Cross
General Manager of
The GutterShutter Companies

 

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up at the Indiana State Fair to win a prize at the Shutter Gutter display. They called and asked to come out for a free estimate on the gutters. They came out the next day. The salesman spent over an hour and a half, mostly saying what was wrong with the other gutter companies. I had had no real intention to buy the gutters at this time. He gave us a price that was good for a year. I explained that I had cancer and was told to get my affairs in order. I was thinking about my daughter so that she would have little maintenance on the house to take care of. My husband had just had a total hip replacement. We were both on pain medication. The salesman pressured us that he could save us quite a bit of money only if we bought the gutters that day. He said that he could save us around $2700. My husband thought that if we were eventually going to get gutters we should go ahead and get the savings. The salesman said the company liked 25% down. I wrote him a check for that amount. I had to leave to pick up my granddaughters. The salesman had me sign several blank pages. He asked if I was comfortable having my husband give him my information. My husband has no job and would not be paying for the gutters. He owns no part in the house. He does know my information so I said yes. When I returned home I found that the salesman had written in a hand written note saying that I would not use my 3-day right to rescind the contract and had my husband initial it. Thus substantially altering the terms of the contract. I had talked to several friends and family, and they all said that $11,000 was too much to pay for gutters. The salesman was here on Friday. I wanted to rescind on Monday morning well within my three business days. My son called the company to rescind. They were very rude and said that we were out of luck because my husband had initialed that write in. Their only offer was to reduce the price. My son said that we were not getting the gutters. He went with me to the bank Monday afternoon and I stopped payment on the down payment. check. The bank officer also notarized the form of their contract that said we were cancelling and we mailed it to the company. The company sent two workers on Tuesday to pick up the gutter materials that they had left Monday morning. Sat. upon using online banking I saw that they had cashed my check. On Monday, I will be going to the bank again for an explanation.

Desired Settlement: The company would refund my money and honor my right to rescind the contract for gutters.

Business Response: **** ******* **** put a stop payment on her check and the money is in her account, not sure what the confusion is but we wish her and her family the best.

Respectfully,

John Cross

5/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My gutter were installed with one down spout turned up hill. after 3 phone calls and being talked to very rudely this was fixed, But the water still runs behind the gutter . And the company has waited out the 30 day satisfaction guarantee. So they wont have to fix. The excuse I was given was my roof was cut to short. Now this roof was on the house when I was sold the gutter and the man looked at it. If this was the case he should have told e then. Now I want it fix , or the satisfaction guarantee carried out am a senior on a fixe income, PLEASE help me get it fixed,

Desired Settlement: correct of problem or a refund so I can have it corrected myself.

Business Response:  we are servicing the customer on May 7th, we will take care of her concerns

John Cross

Consumer Response:

My gutters are now fixed, thank you for your help' 



1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gutters were not properly installed with correct slope causing gutters to fill with water and freeze. Gutters were full of ice causing excessive weight. The excessive weight could not be held by our fascia boards (excessive of 600 pds approximately). Gutters ripped off fascia board and ruined the gutters, roof, and fascia. Company went out 4 days later after temperatures were above freezing all 4 days and responded that there was no ice in the gutters. All the ice had melted by that time, but the company refused to take my pictures showing the gutters were full of ice on the day it occurred. The company stated our fascia was not suitable to hold their gutters and that is why the gutters came down. Although their contract states that if fascia is not suitable at the time of installation, the buyer will be notified and charged additional fee to fix it.....when installed nothing was mentioned about our fascia being unsuitable. The opposite side of the house is also sagging due to the same issue of ice, but being propped up to keep them on the house. This was done by me on the day of the incident. Now we receive no return calls from the company.

Desired Settlement: We would like our fascia fixed on both sides and gutters installed correctly. We would like for our contractor to install the fascia boards and the company to place gutters back with the correct slope. We do not trust this company to replace our fascia because they have not been cooperative in fixing their mistake. If the company refuses to fix this problem, we would like a full refund of all gutter shutter products on both our houses and money to replace our gutters with what we had prior to their product.

Business Response:

In response to ID *******

******* *****

 

This house had a sofit/gutter framed attached (built on home, not original equipment). The rafters were not attached to the house well enough.  When enough weight was applied to the area the framed section failed to hold up.  We would have no way of knowing the sofit section built was constructed so poorly, or have any way of testing before installing.  When we inspected the problem, this was pointed out to Mr. ***** and at that time our gutter system was still attached to the fascia board, it was the frame/rafter tails itself that fell off the house, that was actually mounted to crown molding that was originally installed on home (not anything that was a solid structure)

 

Respectfully,

 

John Cross

General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the Gutter Shutter does not resolve the issue.  The issue of the gutters not being sloped correctly and draining, the gutters froze solid.  The excessive weight from the ice is what caused our gutters to come off the house.  None of our rafters were detached, or our roof would cave in.  It is correct that the Gutter Shutter tried to explain that a piece of crown molding was the fault of the gutters coming down along with the Gutter Shutter stating their gutters were not full of ice nor do they collect ice.  That is a complete lie.  Now giving me an excuse of the rafters which was never mentioned in the first explanation given.  I have pictures showing the gutter is frozen solid on both ends.  Then the Gutter Shutter has given me a "dead end" extension to where no one returns calls.  With recent weather in the area, our new house which has Gutter Shutter had 6" thick ice formed on top of it.  I'm sure that is because our new house is built wrong also.  I want our house fixed by Gutter Shutter or all our money refunded on both houses.  We are not asking for anything other than for them to fix the damage done by the excessive weight of the ice in the gutters.
Regards,

******* *****




Business Response:

ID *******

In response to Mr. ***** ,  The Gutter Shutter company has installed 1000s of system we have never  had an issue where the weight of ice caused a system to come off a house.  That said we as a company understand that Mr. ***** is under that impression.  We in no way take responsibility for this problem as mention in my earlier response.  We will however refund $1000.00 to Mr. ***** which is what he requested.  If this is satisfactory I can e-mail an release form and have a checked mailed.

 

Respectfully

 

John Cross

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Please note that I do not want this complaint closed until I see the release and the refund.

Regards,

******* *****




4/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 6, 2013, I was subjected to a 2 1/2 hour sales pitch for gutters that was thoroughly choreographed, and included text and phone messages to the salesman's boss "John", and a secret code on a "winning" scratchcard. The result was a good-for-one-day-only bid of $6604, down from the initial bid of $9100. The installation date given by the salesman was April 10 with measurements to be done April 9. When the salesman noted that my initials were required on a page to waive my right to cancel, the salesman mentioned that the work was being done within the cancellation period, and then he shrugged. I took this to mean that they needed my commitment so that the work could proceed: I initialed. He then required a 1/3 downpayment of $2170. On April 8 I spoke to John ***** to cancel the contract. (A written cancellation was received by them on Tues. April 9.) Mr. ***** offered a bid of $5300, but reluctantly agreed to a cancellation of my contract and a full refund of my downpayment. No check has arrived. Complaint: that there was undue pressure to initial the waiver due to the illegal scheduling of the work within the cancellation period; that the salesman grossly inflated the estimated costs of other companies=$8840 (a subsequent bid for gutters AND soffets=$6265); that the first, second and third bids all constitute costs for gutters that are unconscionable; that Mr. ***** did a decent thing when he cancelled my contract, but the failure to return my promised downpayment demonstrates a lack of integrity; that the downpayment, now representing 40.9% of the final $5300 bid, is also unconscionable.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my downpayment in full.

Business Response: ****** *** ******, Deposit check was mailed to her on Friday April 19,2013. Per her contract we have 10 days to return her deposit, that protects us in case a check should not clear the bank.

J*** *****


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I received the check for a full refund on April 23, 2013. 

Regards,

 

 

****** ******

 

 

 

11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had this company install Gutters on my home several years ago. Steve was contact for company then as well as present! After installing I start having a issue with water running down on my mailbox..Called to get problem resolved, need I say it took several certified letters,calls and months to have them come out and drill holes in my covers, this was there solution. Now there were holes in my 4500.00 usd gutters. They give you several phone numbers where you get no response.. Cincinnati is the only credible number. If you have any problem with your gutters they have to come from cincinati oh. Bringing things to date, I had storm damage done to my home may 2012. Had roof and gutters replaced june2012 by this same company, october2012 the job is not complete.This company came out and tried to use the old gutters on my home and paint them to look new. My home look terrible! Forgot the proper equipment to do the job,wrong color covers.Crew was unknowable as how to do the job. i sent pics and called manager/supervisor Steve in Cincinnati to voice my complaint, he told me I was making him mad and hung up the phone on me.. My insurance was paying4500.00usd for all new gutters. Steve sent the same supervisor that did the terrible job to my home the following sunday morning unannounced! last week they did the same thing, i was on vacation and get a call from my neighbor telling me that some people are working on your home. he gives me the phone and its this company done walked on my property unannounced again and started to do work on my home. i told the worker to stop and call me before coming, he left gutters in yard. My experience w/company, I want to be there!!Had lawyer send letter to company. No response,It's been close to five months and company still has not contacted me. Other than previous statement. Steve manager/supervisor is very unprofessional and in my opinion gives the company a very bad name. I do not feel my warranty is any good, just a bad experience..I feel consumers need to know..

Desired Settlement: Take thousand dollars off of price..I really not sure what is new or old parts on my home. Some parts look still old! Starting to damage my room foundation. Company Took old gutters off of room in june2012 and water from rain has been running to foundation ever since. Have to repaint and seal..

Business Response:

This is the contract we have with the roofing company, concerning Mr. ******.  Mr. ****** has an attorney named **** ******** ************ we have passed on this information to him.  We have completed the work as the contract requested. Waiting on **** ******** for more information on this matter.

**** ** *****
General Manager
The GutterShutter Company

11/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a quote from Gutter Shutter at a home show approx. 2 years ago. Since then, I have received up to 5 phone calls a day, nearly every day for those 2 years from Gutter Shutter. I've asked to be taken off the call list many times and it never happens. The number they use most often is 513-618-5525 though they call from other 513 numbers as well.This is blatant harassment and I want it to stop.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for them to stop calling me.

Business Response:

Concerning ID *********
 
****** *******:
 
Phone number ************ has been put on our do not call list, and will not be called again.
  
John D. Cross
General Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Stacey Hensley

 

9/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water was pouring down thru a 10 foot section of the gutter when it rained hard. Gutter shutter came out and checked and said my gutter pulled away from the faschia board. When i asked them to fix it as there is a lifetime guarantee, they said that is not their problem. They only attach gutters to the faschia board. After talking to a Roofer to see if they can fix it, he said gutters should ALWAYS be attached to the rafters or some part of roof if they were installed correctly.After Roofer came out, they found the entire length the gutter on the back of my house was pulling away due to 1.5 inches of water sitting in the Gutter whose weight was pulling on the gutter that was only attached to faschia board. This standing water, he said, will likely happen if the gutters were not installed with the correct pitch.Now i have a big bill with a Roofer because of poor installation.

Desired Settlement: I would like the gutter to be attached correctly with the correct pitch without any charge as it should be covered by the lifetime warranty.

Business Response:  On Monday the 24th, we will be fixing the *******'s concern.


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Gutter Shutter said they would come out  on Monday.  I was at work.    I have not heard from them that they did in fact come out and fix it.  I will be contacting them tomorrow to verify they fixed it and they fixed my front gutter that was installed the same  incorrect way. Thanks for your help in the matter.

Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with this company on 5/21/12 for new gutters & downspouts. On 6/26/12 they were installed. We called them that afternoon to explain that the downspouts were placed wrong and that we were unhappy with the corners. On 7/3/13 a representative was sent out to take pictures. Repairs were set up for 7/13/12. On that day, when no one showed up, we called and spoke with *** who told us that the representative had been here and left a note on the door. We then explained to him that I had been home all day due to the fact that I work here also. The repair man arrived 45 minutes later and turned the back downspouts. My husband called *** back again and explained that it still wasn't right. *** said he would call back monday (7/16). When we did not hear back, we called *** on 7/18 and were told that they would not be fixing the problems. When we said that we would be contacting Wells Fargo (the credit company) and BBB they said somebody would be here 7/24. Today the gentleman showed up said that they would not be fixing the downspouts.

Desired Settlement: We want the front and rear gutters replaced so that the downspout are located on the side of the house like they were supposed to be. We also want the corners redone.

Business Response: We have a scheduled service on Tuesday September 18, 2012, To correct the ********* concerns.

4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am called several times a week from different gutter salesmen and have asked to be removed from the call list. They have called me for over a year and i have asked at least a dozen times to be removed. I feel like i am being harassed and I don't like it.

Desired Settlement: All i want is to never hear from queen city gutter ever again! I want my number removed from the call list.

Business Response: **** **** has been put on our do not call list and will not be contacted again.


Respectfully.


John Cross

2/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a call this morning from Queen City Gutter. I told him first thing I was on the do not call list. He continued to talk. I told him I would file a complaint. He continued to talk. I asked him if he was having a problem understanding me and he said since he had already disturbed me he might as well try to sell me something. So I told him I was reporting them and hung up. The number he called from was ************. I'm sorry but I did not get his name. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Stop Contacting Me

Business Response: ** ***** has been put on the do not call list and will not be called again. The person that made the call has been retrained on the way we take care of situations like this.  We apologize for the inconvenience of the call.

Respectfully,

**** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

 

 

1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
Ok so Queen City Gutters has been calling our home for the last 4-5 months at
least 2-3 times a day. We are at work so no one answers the phone. No msg
is left. Well we have been home the last week and when we answer the phone
they just sit there then hang up. Today though a gentleman asked if I was
** ********. Now I am ****** because they do have my name. I looked online
to see if they have any contact info and there are a ton of other folks who
are going through the same thing. I called and left a not so nice msg to
get me off their call list as it tells you to but I would like to see this
company stopped from badgering people. We fell for their **** **** and
bought their very expensive gutters years ago so why they have come back is
beyond me. I will never use them again. They have a very good sales ****
**** ploy they use and don't ask me why but my husband fell for it. Is
there anything your company can do to stop them from harrassing people on a
daily basis?

Desired Settlement:
I don't care what they call themselves now, they just need to stop calling.  I did not like their sales pitch back then and if they would check their records they would see we were already fooled into buying their product and to leave us alone. We live in the same house and have the same phone number so really???? do they have no sense?

Business Response: ***** ******* was added to our do not call list on 1/09/12, she will not be contacted again.


Best Regards,

**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ********