This business is not BBB accredited.

National Fraud and Investigation Agency

View Additional Phone Numbers unknown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 ! There is an alert on National Fraud and Investigation Agency !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

BBB believes this business to be operating a phony debt collection scheme. According to information received by BBB, calls from National Fraud and Investigation Agency accuse consumers of defaulting on payday loans and threaten that if consumers don’t pay immediately via wire or by providing bank account or credit card numbers, he or she will be arrested or sued.  National Fraud and Investigation Agency may have the consumer’s Social Security, old bank account numbers or driver’s license numbers as well as home addresses, employer information or even the names of personal friends and professional references.

BBB is unable to locate the persons responsible for the phony debt collection calls. BBB offers the following advice to consumers if they receive a suspicious telephone call about an outstanding debt:

• Ask the debt collector to provide official documentation which substantiates the debt.
• Do not provide or confirm any bank account, credit card or other personal information over the phone until you have confirmed the legitimacy of the call.
• File a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission online if the caller is abusive, uses threats or otherwise violates federal telemarketing laws.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for National Fraud and Investigation Agency include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to be transparent about ownership, location, or products/services offered

Factors that raised the rating for National Fraud and Investigation Agency include:

  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on National Fraud and Investigation Agency
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2012
Business Management
Mr. Anthony Freeman, Director Ms. Katherine Mckenze Ms. Jasmine, Representative Mr. Allan Carter Ms. Catherine Davis Mr. Scott Powers, Representative
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Freeman, Director
Principal: Ms. Katherine Mckenze
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
National Fraud Investigation Agency NFIA
Additional Information

Mail was returned by the US Postal Service from 1000 Main st. on 7/26/2013


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

National Fraud and Investigation Agency has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    unknown

    Cincinnati, OH 45202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a few frantic phone calls from my sister, my elderly aunt, and other family members back in July of 2013. I was advised that a law office was attempting to contact me using my former name about an old un paid pay day loan, and that if I didn't contact them by close of business that a warrant for my arrest would be submitted to ************ County Courthouse. First of all I have NEVER EVER applied for or receive a pay day loan. Secondly, I have not lived in that county in more than three years!!! I obtained the phone number an called this "law office". A " ******" answered. I provided my name is she advised me of accusations that I processed a pay day loan back in 2009 that I defrauded on. She accused me of obtaining the loan and using a closed banking account to recover loan. I advised her to send me information/itemization in writing. She refused and stated that they had submitted proof to my old address at time of loan application. I asked her for the address and she provided me with an address that I moved from in 2007. She became irate by me question here and stated that if I did not pay about $1100 that I would be arrested by my local police department. I then advised her that I must be a victim of identity theft. "******" stated that clients say this all the time and after being arrested and pay court cost that the clients always pay them in the end. I advised her that I would call her back and she threatened that she hope I called back in time or I would be spending time in jail. After experiencing a anxiety attack I called ************ County Police and spoke at a ******** ****. I asked did I have any arrest warrants under my former name and my legal name, and he advised me that they had no record of warrants for me. I then advised him what happened and gave him this "******'s" number. He investigated that the number was associated with a Trucking/Freight company out of the state of TEXAS. He advised me to ignore the calls because I was being scammed. I called "******" back to advise her to stop calling me and that I had contacted the police. She laughed at me and said that I was lying and that it was obvious to her that I wanted to go to jail. I hung up. Last Thursday 11-21-13, I received a call again asking for my former name and I advised person calling they had the wrong number. The female on the line said that If I know (former name) that I needed to contact that person asap. I hung up.. Friday 11-22-13 at 4:35pm my spouse answered my phone. A "police officer" from ************ County asked for my former name but my spouse advised they had the wrong number. The "police officer advised my spouse that he could be arrested for interfering in a fraud investigation. I called the number back that he called from and it was a voicemail for the ************ courthouse stating that they were closed for the day, I called ************ County Police Department and advised the female that answered was there a warrant or pending warrant in my former name and legal name. She stated there was nothing.. I explained to her what was happening to me and he advised me that the phone lines at he courthouse are shut down after 4pm each day and for someone to call me after that on a Friday was very strange.. She advised me to call the Courthouse in Monday (today) 11-25-13. After stressing and not sleeping well for 3 nights from worrying I called the courthouse at 9:30 am. I spoke to **** that answered the phone at criminal records and she did not find anything under either of my names. She transferred ,me to a ******** at civil records and she did not find anything either. So at 9:59 am I called this "collection/law office" at ###-###-#### an a lady answered. I asked her name and she stated that her name was "******" I advised her that I wanted their payment address and business address and name of company. She stated that they do not use addresses for payments and that she worked for National Fraud Investigative Services. I asked for any proof of debt.. She gave me a case number(2013-0759) and stated that she would have to call me back in 10 minutes with more information. Its now after 1:30pm and she still has not called me back. I called ************ County Police department and spoke to a "Officer ****" . I advised him of this whole harassing ordeal and he too advised me that this was a scam and to not give this National Fraud Investigation Services any information. I asked could file an identity theft report and he advised me to contact the Federal Trade Commission... I searched on line today to find out that this company is a fraud and saw the BBB complaints... I would like to add to the complaints because I am totally devastated that this has happened to me and I would not want any one else to go through all this worrying, research, investigation, and time as I have spent on this matter. I AM A VICTIM OF FRAUD AND I HAVE NEVER DEFRAUDED ANYONE EVER! Please take care of these ruthless people.

Desired Settlement: My outcome is for legal charges to be place against this National Fraud Investigative Services and for them to stop harassing me as well as my family. Something must be done to stop this horrible operation.

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a few frantic phone calls from my sister, my elderly aunt, and other family members back in July of 2013. I was advised that a law office was attempting to contact me using my former name about an old un paid pay day loan, and that if I didn't contact them by close of business that a warrant for my arrest would be submitted to ************ ****** Courthouse. First of all I have NEVER EVER applied for or receive a pay day loan. Secondly, I have not lived in that county in more than three years!!! I obtained the phone number an called this "law office". A " ******" answered. I provided my name is she advised me of accusations that I processed a pay day loan back in 2009 that I defrauded on. She accused me of obtaining the loan and using a closed banking account to recover loan. I advised her to send me information/itemization in writing. She refused and stated that they had submitted proof to my old address at time of loan application. I asked her for the address and she provided me with an address that I moved from in 2007. She became irate by me question here and stated that if I did not pay about $1100 that I would be arrested by my local police department. I then advised her that I must be a victim of identity theft. "******" stated that clients say this all the time and after being arrested and pay court cost that the clients always pay them in the end. I advised her that I would call her back and she threatened that she hope I called back in time or I would be spending time in jail. After experiencing a anxiety attack I called ************ County Police and spoke at a ******** ****. I asked did I have any arrest warrants under my former name and my legal name, and he advised me that they had no record of warrants for me. I then advised him what happened and gave him this "******'s" number. He investigated that the number was associated with a Trucking/Freight company out of the state of TEXAS. He advised me to ignore the calls because I was being scammed. I called "******" back to advise her to stop calling me and that I had contacted the police. She laughed at me and said that I was lying and that it was obvious to her that I wanted to go to jail. I hung up. Last Thursday 11-21-13, I received a call again asking for my former name and I advised person calling they had the wrong number. The female on the line said that If I know (former name) that I needed to contact that person asap. I hung up.. Friday 11-22-13 at 4:35pm my spouse answered my phone. A "police officer" from ************ County asked for my former name but my spouse advised they had the wrong number. The "police officer advised my spouse that he could be arrested for interfering in a fraud investigation. I called the number back that he called from and it was a voicemail for the ************ courthouse stating that they were closed for the day, I called ************ County Police Department and advised the female that answered was there a warrant or pending warrant in my former name and legal name. She stated there was nothing.. I explained to her what was happening to me and he advised me that the phone lines at he courthouse are shut down after 4pm each day and for someone to call me after that on a Friday was very strange.. She advised me to call the Courthouse in Monday (today) 11-25-13. After stressing and not sleeping well for 3 nights from worrying I called the courthouse at 9:30 am. I spoke to **** that answered the phone at criminal records and she did not find anything under either of my names. She transferred ,me to a ******** at civil records and she did not find anything either. So at 9:59 am I called this "collection/law office" at ###-###-#### an a lady answered. I asked her name and she stated that her name was "******" I advised her that I wanted their payment address and business address and name of company. She stated that they do not use addresses for payments and that she worked for National Fraud Investigative Services. I asked for any proof of debt.. She gave me a case number(2013-0759) and stated that she would have to call me back in 10 minutes with more information. Its now after 1:30pm and she still has not called me back. I called ************ County Police department and spoke to a "Officer Lick" . I advised him of this whole harassing ordeal and he too advised me that this was a scam and to not give this National Fraud Investigation Services any information. I asked could file an identity theft report and he advised me to contact the Federal Trade Commission... I searched on line today to find out that this company is a fraud and saw the BBB complaints... I would like to add to the complaints because I am totally devastated that this has happened to me and I would not want any one else to go through all this worrying, research, investigation, and time as I have spent on this matter. I AM A VICTIM OF FRAUD AND I HAVE NEVER DEFRAUDED ANYONE EVER! Please take care of these ruthless people.

Desired Settlement: My outcome is for legal charges to be place against this National Fraud Investigative Services and for them to stop harassing me as well as my family. Something must be done to stop this horrible operation.

10/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a phone message about my son. When I called this agency back I talked with a worker **** She had left a v.m. on home phone stating that my son which she left his last 4 numbers of social security no. needed to contact her agency immediately. She had also at end of v.m. left a statement "Cover yourself accordingly and good luck. " I left v.m. for my son and called her back stating that. She stated to me that if he didnt call them back she had paperwork in front of her that would be passed onto a judge, that my son was also going to be arrested and charged with 4 felonies and be attached to his drivers license. I then left her a message stating that I left him a message to contact them with their phone number and the info. When I talked to her in person she stated that when I asked what was this about she stated she couldnt tell me , I stated that she had his 4 last numbers of soc sec no and my address and phone number. She became very nasty , mean. She also stated that if my son didnt call them back he would be waiving his right to an attorney. AFter telling my son off, asking what his was about he got on computer looked this company up and stated that it was involved with several fraud complaints. He stated that the address people are given to send payments too doesnt exist that mail is returned stating it cant be delivered. Please let me know what you find out in this matter.Please contact me personally for workers name.

10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a phone call from this company and they said that they were an investigation company. I advised the investigator that she needed too provide documentation that I owed this debt. The woman refused too send it to me. I told her that I had done research on their company and they were phony debt collectors. I advised her I was contacting an attorney and she got nasty with me and hung up on me when I asked too speak to her supervisor.

Desired Settlement: I am not comfortable knowing they have my personal information. Something needs too be done with these people scenes how they are misrepresenting themselves and the company they work for

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call once again saying that I have a lawsuit file against me for Fraud. The specific agency has my social security number which I don't understand why they would have it. The strange part of it they read it out to me.

Desired Settlement: I have received a phone call couple weeks ago with the same scheme but I actually bought into it and agree for a settlement. I'm working with my bank to have it refund.

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The NAtional Fraud Investigation services called me about a debt collection regarding a payday loan. They told me that they were filing 3 charges one including check fraud. They said if I did not pay 730$ by 6 pm I would be arrested. My original loan was 100$. After I told them I did not have the money they said I would be arrested and charged that it was non negotiable and it had too be paid today.

Desired Settlement: Would like other people being harassed by this buisness to be aware of their practices.

8/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a telephone call at work from a **** who said he was with National. He claimed that I owed $1500 from a payday loan from May 2013. He said that there was someone in route to my place of employment to serve me with papers to appear in court. He said that there have been fraud charges filed against me and if I didn't pay them today with a credit card I would have to go to court or jail. He said that if I paid today they would reduce my amount owed to $425. I asked why I hadn't received anything in the mail regarding this debt and was told they didn't know why I wasn't contacted but I did owe this money. I asked if I could have something in writing showing who the I owed money to (because the payday loan company they gave me I had never heard of) and showing the amount I owed. I was told that they could not send me anything but would e-mail me a receipt once I paid them. I am very concerned, they are calling me at work and even calling relatives. They are really scarring me but I am not going to give them my personal information without proof that I owe this money. Not sure what to do! I am pretty sure this is a scam. How do I find out about this company and get these threatening calls to stop?

Desired Settlement: I would like this place shut down. They shouldn't be able to get away with this!

7/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted and told I took out a payday loan 6 years ago in a different state than which I live. A ****** ***** informed me that if I did not pay the balance in full over the phone within the hour I would have an arrest warrant issued in my name in ******* (I live in *******). They have called many times and my response is always the same; a request to be mailed or emailed documentation of the debt. To date I still have no received any documentation. After lots of research, I believe this to be a fraudulent attempt to get money from me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the calls to stop if they can not provide proof of debt.

7/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company called threatening me I would be arrested for payday loans from 2006. Not sure i even had any loans at a during this time. Very scary and rude they had my social and old address even contacted old family members.

Desired Settlement: None

6/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call on June 13 from a ********* *****. Claimed she was a detective and that charges were being filed against me for a Payday loan. I filed bankruptcy 4 1/2 years ago but she told me that didn't matter. I was to pay half of 1396.00 in an hour and 45 minutes or charges were being pressed. I called my lawyer who told me to ignore them. I also spoke with my local police department who also told me to ignore them. Well they called me about about 5 hours later. First on my cell, then my work number, then my cell, then my work again. When I didn't answer they somehow called my cell phone number and made it come up as our local police department. The guy on the line claimed he was a Detective from that police department and gave me a fake badge number which I know was false because I grew up across the street from the Police Dept and knew them ALL. I called the department to let them know I got a call from someone impersonating them. The officer called the number I had and told them to stop harassing me or he would be pressing charges for harassment and that he didn't appreciate them impersonating his department. I thought they were smart enough not to call back BUT today is June 26 and they called me at work again because I blocked their number on my cell phone. Something NEEDS to be DONE about these people. They harass you and scare you into thinking you are going to jail. Luckily I know my bankruptcy covers me but so many people don't have that and really think they are in trouble. I WANT THIS PLACE SHUT DOWN.

Desired Settlement: SHUT THIS PLACE DOWN.

Consumer Response: The resolution I would like is for these people to stop harassing me and for someone to do something about them scaring people into thinking they are getting arrested to scam them out of money. They even impersonated a police office at my local police department trying to make me think I was in trouble.  Isn't impersonating a police officer a crime?

6/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from ********* ***** @ ###-###-#### (claims she is with National Bank Security Services/National Fraud Investigation Services) telling me I owed money for a payday loan which was taken in 2006 & that I was having Felony charges 1 felony of Malicious intent to defraud a bank & 1 felony of theft by deception) and that I must pay asap. I asked her for more detail and she kept putting me on hold for over 10 min. She then transferred me to ***** *****r who told me the same thing ********* did. He said it was a debt from 2006 from a payday loan and that I would go to jail. He then told me he mailed notices to an old address I had from FL (from 3 1/2yrs prior to this "supposed debt" then to an address I had not lived in for at least 3 years ago and then to my current address and also my parents address. TO my amazement not one of these notices ever made it to a proper address no did I get it where I am living now. I told him if they were an investigative service why did they not mail to the proper places when I lived there? He had my social, and some other information but refused to give me proof in dcumentation of the debt. He told me he was doing a favor since they noticed I did not have a criminal background and thought I could settle before he has to file & give me a criminal record. I told him I did not take the loan and the time they claim I did I was hospitalized an that I would have my lawyer call them (I have a prepaid legal plan). I heard nothing for about a week. All of a sudden today they called & told me if I did not pay at that second they were proceeding with the criminal charges. The state I lived in at the time they claim I took the loan & the state I live in now, payday loans are illegal & not enforceable on collection or by law. I received a call similar to this last November & I made the mistake of paying it as I was scared and thought it easier to pay then fight even if I did not take it but this has been happening several times the past few months.

Desired Settlement: I want this company shut down & criminal charges pressed upon them & for scaring the hell out of me & threatening me I want $1800 paid to me which is what they claim I owe them after interest & fees.

3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company lied stating that they were with the federal government and that I have a felony... Ive never had a felony and never will.. They were very rude and abusive with the language they used.. They attack me with threats and would not state the name of the business until after several attempts of me calling back to get more information... This type of action should not be accepted and they're not even accredited with the BBB..Ive was interrupted with this phone call while I was at work and thinking it was a serious matter could not work for the rest of the day.. Im a nervous wreck right now

Desired Settlement: Just want companies like this to be retricted on how they take action on people who are trying to make an everyday living

11/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A lady by the name of ******* called my mother saying that I, ******* *****, wrote some bad checks on my bank account and that she needed to talk to me. My mother gave her my number. She called me and told me that she was representing two agencies that I received online loans from. She said that I got them while I was working at *** **** in January 2006. She stated that payments were deducted out of my account between January and April 2006. She said that the payments ranged between $60-$90. She said that each loan was $350 each and that now I owe $588 each on them. She said that I would get felony charges filed against me for not paying them and I would be put in jail with a $7,000.00 bond, which is $3,500 for each charge. I told her I couldn't go to jail because I had 3 small children. That is when she said I would have to pay $588 within 30 minutes and the other $588 in 30 days. I told her that I didn't have that kind of money and she hung up on me. I called back and another lady named Alisha answered and transferred me to a supervisor. He said that his name was Anthony Freeman and he was the director. He told me the same thing and that I had 1 hour and 15 minutes to call him back to pay. One of the ladies said that I could pay with a debit or credit card. She said I could also use a prepaid debit card. I called back to ask her where are they located and she said that she couldn't tell me.

Desired Settlement: I would like some kind of small settlement for the emotional stress that they caused me. I was very worried about going to jail and who would keep my children.