This business is not BBB accredited.

National Fraud and Investigation Agency

View Additional Phone Numbers unknown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 ! National Fraud and Investigation Agency is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB believes this business to be operating a phony debt collection scheme. According to information received by BBB, calls from National Fraud and Investigation Agency accuse consumers of defaulting on payday loans and threaten that if consumers don’t pay immediately via wire or by providing bank account or credit card numbers, he or she will be arrested or sued.  National Fraud and Investigation Agency may have the consumer’s Social Security, old bank account numbers or driver’s license numbers as well as home addresses, employer information or even the names of personal friends and professional references.

BBB is unable to locate the persons responsible for the phony debt collection calls. BBB offers the following advice to consumers if they receive a suspicious telephone call about an outstanding debt:

• Ask the debt collector to provide official documentation which substantiates the debt.
• Do not provide or confirm any bank account, credit card or other personal information over the phone until you have confirmed the legitimacy of the call.
• File a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission online if the caller is abusive, uses threats or otherwise violates federal telemarketing laws.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on National Fraud and Investigation Agency
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2012
Business Management
Mr. Anthony Freeman, Director Ms. Katherine Mckenze Ms. Jasmine, Representative Mr. Allan Carter Ms. Catherine Davis Mr. Scott Powers, Representative
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Freeman, Director
Principal: Ms. Katherine Mckenze
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
National Fraud Investigation Agency NFIA
Additional Information

Mail was returned by the US Postal Service from 1000 Main st. on 7/26/2013

Additional Locations



    Cincinnati, OH 45202


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The phone number ###-###-#### keeps calling my phone looking for my sister in law and saying they are issuing a warrant for her arrest for taking out a loan and defaulting on it. They say I cosigned and I'm in trouble too. I DID not cosign any loan. I asked where they were and they said Houston Tx. Ive asked several times to stop calling me but they continue to call.

Desired Settlement: Arrested and brought to justice!!

11/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been calling and leaving threatening/harassing voicemails on my cellphone. When I called back, they said the were the National Fraud Investigation Agency and that it was illegal for them to give me their address. I spoke with an Amy S********* initially who told me she was processing paperwork on fraud charges for loans that I did not take out. When I told her I did not owe anyone any money, she called me a liar. I told her I was giving her a verbal cease and desist and she responded with "No, I do not have to cease and desist, good luck in court" and hung up. From there, I called 19 more times to ask representatives what their address was to send a verbal cease and desist, one person saying "don't you have kids to play with" another claiming it was illegal to give me the business address and one more encounter with Amy S********* in which she said "Mam you are harassing us, you never gave me a cease and desist, you are a liar". To that I responded, you are still being recorded, so here is my third and final verbal cease and desist, I told her to cease and desist and she said I feel bad for your family. I reminded her she was being recorded a third time (which I wish I hadn't because I'm sure she would have said something even more offensive/illegal) then she hung up on me. I have no unresolved debts and when I looked up this company's number, they are considered to be one of my phishing/scam companies that utilize personal info from old aggregate loan sites (payday loan sites) that claim they are collecting a debt. Again, I have NO unresolved debts, and I certainly don't owe any money to any criminal company trying to extort unfortunate people whose SS number has been a part of an aggregate site. Their tactics are awful and absolutely have to be illegal especially considering I don't owe them or any other company money toward an "outstanding debt". I have filed complaints with the ***, the ****, the *** and the BBB. I will continue to file complaints until this company stops stalking and harassing me.

Desired Settlement: For this company to stop stalking and harassing me. The caller ID states that they are calling from Georgia, the BBB has them listed in OH, and the only thing any representative would tell me from my 20 phone calls is that they have offices in 7 states. As mentioned earlier, their tactics have to be illegal and if our justice system were an eye for and eye I would love to see them personally threatened and harassed by multiple strangers multiple times a day until they know how horrendous their extortion tactics of innocent people are. I will continue to file complaints until the cease all contact with me and my family and I will pursue legal action if their actions persist.

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has called my cell phone stating that my daughter took out a payday loan in 2013 and defaulted on the payment and now has 2 felony charges against her. My daughter did not take out a payday loan. When we asked for additional information, they do not seem to have the information and basically accuse you of defaulting on the loan and claim to have social security info etc. Loan taken out at an address we haven't lived at for over 5 years and all notification sent to that address. They state the loan was taken with National Pay Day and direct lending funded it. Nothing about this on the credit report. Threaten stating Attorney general will be contacted and warrant for arrest within 48 hours and her employer will be notified. Phone numbers and names Bethany W******* 678-503-5412 from Georgia and Rachel S**** 614-407-0836 0r or 0839 from Ohio. Ms W******* rude. When you call these people back they keep hanging up the phone. I don't feel this is a real company and it is a scam because they are only giving some key informative items that could be found anywhere. My daughter doesn't understand all this and is very upset.

Desired Settlement: I don't feel this is legitimate. If it is then they need to send everything on writing and they are unwilling to do so. If this cannot be done then they need to leave me and my daughter alone.

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a few frantic phone calls from my sister, my elderly aunt, and other family members back in July of 2013. I was advised that a law office was attempting to contact me using my former name about an old un paid pay day loan, and that if I didn't contact them by close of business that a warrant for my arrest would be submitted to ************ County Courthouse. First of all I have NEVER EVER applied for or receive a pay day loan. Secondly, I have not lived in that county in more than three years!!! I obtained the phone number an called this "law office". A " ******" answered. I provided my name is she advised me of accusations that I processed a pay day loan back in 2009 that I defrauded on. She accused me of obtaining the loan and using a closed banking account to recover loan. I advised her to send me information/itemization in writing. She refused and stated that they had submitted proof to my old address at time of loan application. I asked her for the address and she provided me with an address that I moved from in 2007. She became irate by me question here and stated that if I did not pay about $1100 that I would be arrested by my local police department. I then advised her that I must be a victim of identity theft. "******" stated that clients say this all the time and after being arrested and pay court cost that the clients always pay them in the end. I advised her that I would call her back and she threatened that she hope I called back in time or I would be spending time in jail. After experiencing a anxiety attack I called ************ County Police and spoke at a ******** ****. I asked did I have any arrest warrants under my former name and my legal name, and he advised me that they had no record of warrants for me. I then advised him what happened and gave him this "******'s" number. He investigated that the number was associated with a Trucking/Freight company out of the state of TEXAS. He advised me to ignore the calls because I was being scammed. I called "******" back to advise her to stop calling me and that I had contacted the police. She laughed at me and said that I was lying and that it was obvious to her that I wanted to go to jail. I hung up. Last Thursday 11-21-13, I received a call again asking for my former name and I advised person calling they had the wrong number. The female on the line said that If I know (former name) that I needed to contact that person asap. I hung up.. Friday 11-22-13 at 4:35pm my spouse answered my phone. A "police officer" from ************ County asked for my former name but my spouse advised they had the wrong number. The "police officer advised my spouse that he could be arrested for interfering in a fraud investigation. I called the number back that he called from and it was a voicemail for the ************ courthouse stating that they were closed for the day, I called ************ County Police Department and advised the female that answered was there a warrant or pending warrant in my former name and legal name. She stated there was nothing.. I explained to her what was happening to me and he advised me that the phone lines at he courthouse are shut down after 4pm each day and for someone to call me after that on a Friday was very strange.. She advised me to call the Courthouse in Monday (today) 11-25-13. After stressing and not sleeping well for 3 nights from worrying I called the courthouse at 9:30 am. I spoke to **** that answered the phone at criminal records and she did not find anything under either of my names. She transferred ,me to a ******** at civil records and she did not find anything either. So at 9:59 am I called this "collection/law office" at ###-###-#### an a lady answered. I asked her name and she stated that her name was "******" I advised her that I wanted their payment address and business address and name of company. She stated that they do not use addresses for payments and that she worked for National Fraud Investigative Services. I asked for any proof of debt.. She gave me a case number(2013-0759) and stated that she would have to call me back in 10 minutes with more information. Its now after 1:30pm and she still has not called me back. I called ************ County Police department and spoke to a "Officer ****" . I advised him of this whole harassing ordeal and he too advised me that this was a scam and to not give this National Fraud Investigation Services any information. I asked could file an identity theft report and he advised me to contact the Federal Trade Commission... I searched on line today to find out that this company is a fraud and saw the BBB complaints... I would like to add to the complaints because I am totally devastated that this has happened to me and I would not want any one else to go through all this worrying, research, investigation, and time as I have spent on this matter. I AM A VICTIM OF FRAUD AND I HAVE NEVER DEFRAUDED ANYONE EVER! Please take care of these ruthless people.

Desired Settlement: My outcome is for legal charges to be place against this National Fraud Investigative Services and for them to stop harassing me as well as my family. Something must be done to stop this horrible operation.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on National Fraud and Investigation Agency
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart