BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

The Chimney Care Company

Phone: (513) 248-9600 View Additional Phone Numbers 413 Wards Corner Road, Loveland, OH 45140 http://www.chimneycareco.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers chimney cleaning services and fireplace equipment sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Chimney Care Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Chimney Care Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Chimney Care Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1988 in OH Business incorporated: 07/21/1988 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Keefer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Keefer, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm. Saturday, 9am - 1pm
Industry Tips
Hiring a Chimney Cleaner

Additional Locations

  • 413 Wards Corner Road

    Loveland, OH 45140 (513) 248-9600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 965-9909 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After installation of a new stainless steel pipe and chimney cap on our wood stove insert,my wife and I noticed a strong smell coming from the stove for the first time using it.We thought maybe it could be from the insulation that was around the pipe and figured the smell would go away after a few burnings,which it did.We tried to switch on the blower motor on the stove.When the switch was flipped,it tripped the breaker.I assumed the blower motor was shot.I scheduled an appointment with them to sweep the chimney and to see what the problem was with the blower motor.This is when the service guy and myself discovered that the stove was sitting on the wire and a portion of the wire also,had melted to the side of the stove,causing the short.My complaint is,I contacted the company to see when they could fix the problem since it was there mistake.They told me the fan was working when they completed the install,which it was,before the stove got hot!I spoke with them once more and mentioned the problem and they denied any wrong doing and never called back.We also noticed the chimney wasn't drawing the way it should to I called another company to see why.they discovered where the new pipe fits up with the stove,there was an incorrect fit,which left a 1"gap on both sides which was letting smoke into the living area.This was the area that was covered by the insulation,apparently cover there mistake.My complaint is,poor workmanship and customer service.

Desired Settlement: Since my trust in this company has faded,another contractor has been hired to fix these issues.I would like to be compensated for the cost of fixing the problems,that is all.

Business Response:

Service history with ***and ***. *******

01/23/2010- Client called and scheduled a chimney sweep and inspection due to the fact he had a chimney fire which the fire department responded. We completed the evaluation and noted there was significant damage to the interior flue liner. We quoted exterior repairs(Crowncoat, water repellent, and tuckpointing) and stated we would send an additional proposal for the chimney liner repairs. We charged for the inspection and were paid in full. 9:05 to 10:35 am ********** signed. Pictures on file.

01/26/2010- Proposal sent for repairs to the chimney.

01/29/2010- Proposal signed by *** ******* and returned. He requested a date as soon as possible for repairs and would make arrangements to have someone at home anytime.

01/29/2010- We called and informed him we moved appointments and could install the new liner on 02/02/2012.

02/02/2010- Installed liner per proposal to client's existing woodstove. At the time of the installation we noted in writing on the invoice specifically address two issues that are relevant today to the concern.

1.   "upon arrival panels were off the stove and we did not re-attach"

2.   "the boot has ceramic blanket around it to insulate, please do not remove"

Pictures and invoice on file. *** ******* paid the balance in full.The invoice was signed by *** *******,

02/06/2010- Client called and stated that the blower on the woodstove was not working after a few fires.

02/08/2010- ***. ******* was present at home. Both techs returned to client's home and noted the following on the invoice:

"Upon arrival stove unplugged and was crooked. Removed stove and found the loose wires had been pinched one time or another. I replaced one wire and added flexible conduit to the exposed loose wires to help protect them better. After this we turned on stove blower and it worked, but noticed it has a rattle. I then asked client about the rattle and she stated it did rattle before. We reattached liner to stove. Retested blower blower WORKS! Homeowner was happy when we left! "

No charge for service since it may have been caused by our installation that the loose wire had come off the blower in the rear of the stove. However, it was noted that the stove had obviously been moved since our installation and was "crooked". Panels around the stove were still loose as


desired by the client. The panels which are loose can easily move the wires if moved. Pictures taken of the new wires and the conduit location which was not against the stove. No bid was given or any statements implying stating we would rewire the Buck woodstove insert that was 25 years old.

10/21/2011-

11/16/2011-

Client called to schedule a chimney sweeping appointment. No comments of any issues other than need of sweeping.

Chimney evaluation and sweep performed. No comments regarding any problems regarding stove at all. Charge for sweep minus repeat client discount. Paid in full at the time of service. Signed warranty card .

09/20/2012-

10/16/2012-

10/19/2012-

*** ******* called to schedule a chimney sweep of his reline system and wanted the repairs previously quoted in 2010 to his damaged masonry crown. He also mentioned that his switch was acting up on his blower. Our staff mentioned to him that the masonry work may not be completed due to the weather turning colder. Appointment was scheduled for 10/19/2012.

Reminder call made confirming appointment. Reminding not to burn day before appointment.

Our tech drives to client's home in ******* *** ******* stated he wanted the masonry work done at the same time. Our tech stated that he could not complete the crown repair due to it still being moist. The tech went inside to view the stove and found the wires had been pulled taunt against the stove and were melted to the outside of the stove. He explained to repair the wires would require two men and the removal of the stove from the firebox. He stated that a new wiring would be needed. He would have to find out costs before giving an exact quote for repairs.There was no indication given from *** ******* to the tech that he thought this was caused by our installation in February of 2010. He asked if we could call him with a quote and do all the repairs and sweeping at the same time. The tech stated we would call him with a quote.

10/23/2012- Tech called ********** from his cellphone and gets client's voicemail. He leaves the information regarding the quote on his voicemail.

We have one additional call from ********** which was answered by our office manager which went over the charges for the repairs and sweeping. He stated to *** that he had received the voicemail from ***** , the tech, several weeks ago and had questions. The quote given to ********** was $350.00 for removal and repairs to the stove and $209.00 for the sweeping. Wherein there was an objection of cost to repair his woodstove fan. Yes , we did state that we thought the repairs were not a result from our


installation in 02/2010. Then he stated he would have to think about it and would call back to schedule.

No further contact in any form from *** ******* has been received until the letter from him to the BBB was received by us on 01/07/2013.

Please note that the majority of all our phone lines are tracking lines and many of them record the phone calls. There is a disclaimer prior to any recording. A quick google search will indicate that we have many phone lines tied to local searches from search engines.Some of the numbers are  ************************************ ******** ************* ********************.. .All Invoices have been scanned and are in digital format if needed. In addition, we have photos taken of the woodstove and chimney dating back to 01/2010 to 10/2012. Samples below.

Text Box: Text Box: 01/23/2010Text Box: 10/19/2012Text Box: LI am saddened to think that this letter from *** ******* could have been easily avoided if he would have indicated that he had any issues with us after" thinking about it". This could have been done over the phone, email or letter. According to my staff at no time were any objections or issues stated from either *** or ***. ******* since 2010 with the exception of the last phone call from ********** to our office manager. We would have worked with him with possibilities including reducing the cost if he could delay the repair to a time in our schedule that was slower, delaying payment, or to simply address his concerns to a mutual agreement. However, this format does not allow for direct contact to the client and he appears to have headed in an opposite direction anyway. This is what he has chosen. I view his letter at best as confused about the timeline and at worse as deliberately deceptive.

Quite frankly, I have had several people read this letter and the sense they got from the letter was that this was about very recent installation with problems from the start. I believe the the tone of the letter is deliberately misleading in the the timeline of events. I honestly do not understand how one could forget the years of use of the stove by the client and service provided by us over the last three years, almost four now. Why would


he call us out to service the stove and liner if they were dissatisfied or experiencing problems since the stove installation in 02/02/2010? The problem we were notified of was soon after the installation which was quickly resolved at no cost to the client. Please note we traveled to ****** in one of ************ rare heavy snow events to complete the repairs in a timely manner in 02/2010.

We returned to the client's home the following year for service without any issues. There were no comments from the homeowner that the appliance or liner system were not functioning properly.

The following year, 2012, we were called for the annual sweeping with the request for additional masonry repairs. At this point, 32 months, after the installation the client noted a problem with the fan switch when burning and asked if we could take a look at it when we were out to sweep the liner system. This does not sound like a client who has a problem with my company whom he keeps hiring. If after three years in which we were asked to provide service by the client we suddenly would not respond seems out of character.

The fan wiring issue. As noted on 10/19/2012, the wires were not in the same position as we left them in 2010. The stove is over twenty- five years old and will require maintenance. If he believed that this was our error he did not communicate this to anyone until the last phone call to our office manager. His facts in the letter about the fan, in my opinion,were deceptively described.

Not returned phone calls.l find his statement regarding contacting "the company" and not getting a call back easily refutable. The "***** *******" logs our phone calls. We searched the following phone numbers and listened to the private numbers that were recorded and have found no other calls from *** *******. Phone numbers the *******'s have given us over the years all ###-###-####, ********, ********,*********** ********, ###-###-#### and emails at **************.

Smoking into the living area.l'm not clear of the last part of his concern with "an incorrect fit" of the liner to the adaptor boot or the adaptor to the stove where a 1" gap is present. If indeed another company was out at the home pictures most likely were taken. We would ask them to please provide them along with any other documentation to compare with our photos. Please note if the stove or liner has been moved, altered or attempted to be pulled out this may have dislodged the adaptor and shims from the stove. The screws in the adaptor must first be removed and the reline system lifted and supported from the top prior to moving the woodstove insert. Since there has not been any complaints of smoke since the installation of the liner in 2010 I find it difficult to believe a one inch gap has been present "letting smoke into the living area".

OFFER

If *** ******* truly believes that the blower wires that burnt out were our error from 02/2010 installation of the chimney liner and he can state

1.)The stove wiring that comes out on the left side of the hearth was never pulled or moved in any way that moved the interior wiring.


2.    Or the side surround panels which he did not have properly attached to the stove, did not move over the last three years which would immediately pull the wires from the rheostat on the loose panel to the fan.

3.    Come up with some explanation how the wiring was moved from it's position after the installation.

And rather they took three years to wear out. I am willing to complete the repairs at my expense along with a sweeping at cost. I believe this is going above and beyond from my perspective. If this agreeable to *** ******* we will schedule the appointment at a convenient time for them. We are currently scheduling into February.

I do recommend the client have a new motor installed in his woodstove insert since the existing one rattles. This would not be a free service, but is recommended at the time when the stove is removed.

He has chosen this form which only in my opinion may escalate the issues. If any of my comments or statements he can prove otherwise I will gladly redress them. I will gladly await any documentation he can provide to substantiate his claims.

Please note that I will send the invoices, contracts, canceled checks,and phone logs to your email address. Do not forward these to *** *******. I want to wait until he responds before forwarding more.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1