BBB Accredited Business since

Chimney Works Inc.

Phone: (513) 367-5620 Fax: (513) 367-5623 View Additional Phone Numbers 9110 Dry Fork Rd, Harrison, OH 45030 http://www.chworksinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers chimney cleaning & repair. They also sell wood, gas & pellet stoves.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chimney Works Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chimney Works Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Chimney Works Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2002 Business started: 10/10/2001 Business incorporated 10/10/2001 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve May, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve May, President
Related Businesses
Rock Solid Roofing
Business Category

Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors Stoves - Wood, Coal Chimney Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Chimney Works Incorporated

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chimney Works Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9110 Dry Fork Rd

    Harrison, OH 45030 (513) 367-5620 (513) 296-5876

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were to clean my chimney but afterward I was told I had had a chimney fire, had cracked tiles, and missing mortar. Written estimate was $5600. I told him I had a $1700 deductible and ******* said we might be able to split it. He showed me pics that could have been the surface of Pluto for all I could recognize. Being skeptical , I got a 2nd opinion from another company at no charge, and I even sent them the written estimate which I later regretted fearing they would find the same issues but under bid. To my relief, the 2nd company found no evidence of a chimney fire, no missing mortar, and no cracked tiles. He showed me pics I could clearly recognize. My next door neighbor used Chimney Works also, and had the same results, but thy're estimate was $600 higher than mine. I have a written report from the 2nd company with their findings.

Desired Settlement: If they choose to refund my $129 +tax, that's fine, but I believe consumers need to know of this company's ethics.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to address any issues that may arise concerning our service. Upon initial investigation the photos that we have on file that were furnished by ******* ***** ************* ****** were not clear enough to document the flue damage beyond any reasonable doubt.  If these situations occur it is company policy to confirm the initial findings at no additional cost to the customer.  We have contacted ***** ****** to schedule a second visit.  He was unwilling to allow us to come out and confirm the damage.  A full refund plus an additional $100 has been offered if we are unable to confirm the damage during that second visit.  It is always prudent and good practice to seek second opinions when dealing with a large repair projects. In the past other reputable chimney companies have made similar claims but have been proven wrong. James has not agreed to have us out again.  Chimney Works apologizes that the original pictures were not clear enough.  This unfortunate experience has prompted us to address the situation both in a company-wide meeting as well as directly with ******* and moving forward we will confirm that the pictures depicting damage in the flue system are clear to both the customer and technician before concluding the initial appointment.  Our hope and ambition is that this will be an opportunity for us to serve all our customers with the highest level of service and integrity as well as correcting any short comings.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Since the 2nd company showed me crystal clear pictures of my chimney it is not necessary for Chimney Works to repeat the process. Since ******* chose to only show me unidentifiable pictures instead of clear ones, I see no reason for another visit. I paid for a chimney cleaning & inspection and I will assume he at least performed that. I am attaching the pictures he sent me.

Regards,
***** ******

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I made a number of phone calls and one return visit from a company spokesman regarding a sloppy masonry-mortar repair job, Chimney Works promised they would return and resolve my complaint regarding the masonry cracks, which have the potential for water leakage. That was almost 12 months of expectation and no follow-up. The job was contracted for on June 19, 2014, and paid for. Their ad claims they are specialist in masonry brick repair. For example, "Specialist in Masonry and Brick Repair."

Desired Settlement: Replace mortar cracks as promised in contract.

Business Response: I am responding to the complaint by Mr ******* regarding the crack by his side garage door. We used a grinder to grind a linear crack that was aprox one foot in total length and then filled the crack with mortar. The crack reopened due to settling. I explained this to Mr. ******* and told him that I would fix it again free of charge but it would happen again due to the fact that it seperated. There is nothing messy about this work and it is an insult to throw complaints that say otherwise. I did not have to fix this for free but I did offer to do so but now wish I would not have. I am now reluctant to do anything because as previously stated this will happen again due to garage slab that has slight movement to it. My fault is that I did not fix a free repair in a timely manner. We will call Mr. ******* and attempt to schedule someone out to regrind the crack and tuckpoint with mortar. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *******


Complaint ******** not resolved

Inbox
x

***************

11:00 AM (44 minutes ago)
tome
Complaint has not been resolved. Promise was made by Chimney Works (*****) to repair poor masonry work on May 10 at 1:00PM. BUT NEVER SHOWED UP. STILL WATING.
 
****** ** ******* 


Business Response:  They repair in question is to a small stack on the side of home due to the settling of the garage . I explained to Mr. ******* that this was a free repair with no warranty  and that the crack could reappear at any time.  The crack reappeared and I told Mr. ******* that we would fix at zero cost even though we had already fulfilled our obligation . Mr. ******* called in October of last year and the weather was not conducive to do the work so when I forgot to call him in the spring he complaint to the Better Business Bureau that the timing for the repeat free repair was not up to his standards .  In the meantime we have contacted Mr. ******* to get out to his home and repair it once again for free.Due to the nature settling cracks there is no way to warrant such a repair which was explained.  Because I do care for customers and Mr. ******* we will resolve this at no charge.

 Thank you 
 ***** *** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]Update on complaint re Chimney Works, Harrison, OH:

 
                Re: ID ********
 
The complaint has not been resolved as promised by Chimney Works as of June 16, 2015. Contrary, as stated by Chimney Works, there was no follow up on a resolution since October 2014. Since last October four promises were made and never fulfilled. Chimney Work should not have accepted the job and money if it lacked the ability to perform the job as indicated in their contract. As stated in their weekly ad, they are "Specialist in Masonry and Brick Repair."
 
****** ** *******  

Regards,

****** *******

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a complaint with a company called Chimney Works & Rocky Mountain Stoves with an address of 9110 Dry Fork Road, Harrison Ohio 45030 and a phone number of 513-367-5620 for the reason that both of the entire jobs that I'd hired them for would have been a disaster had I not gotten involved directly with the sub contractors and also for the time it took for completion. First, I'd enquired with Chimney Works initially to rebuild my chimney and while at my home to give me an estimate, Mr. Millard Ledford had learned that I was also in the market for a roof replacement on my detached garage. Which he eventually supplied an estimate for those repairs as well. During this consultation, Mr. Ledford had stated that it is Chimney Works practice to "price match" or in fact beat any competitors written estimate. So due to the fact of their BBB accreditation and their "price match" practices, I'd decided to sign a written contract with Chimney Works for both of my projects on 7/1/13 with the work to be completed within 30 days. After signing both of the contracts, I'd went on and had other estimates given which I'd already had scheduled before signing the contracts with Chimney Works. Both of which I'd been given better prices. But when I'd enquired about the "price match guarantee", it was all impossible to match those prices even after several written estimates, and phone calls back and forth between companies to ensure that they were offering a comparable service as requested by Mr. Millard Ledford. In other words, their "price match guarantee" isn't worth the paper that it's written on. It seemed as if he was looking for any loophole that he could find as to not honor his guarantee, which in fact, he did not. Secondly, both of my projects required special modifications. All of which were either ignored, forgotten and or not conveyed to the sub contractors. Had I not taken time off of work to oversee the progress of the projects, my requested modifications would not have been performed as agreed upon which would have resulted in a completely unsatisfactory job. In fact, one of the special requests (replacement chimney cap) was a complete disaster due to lack of communication and lack of following detailed requests. Resulting in extensive time delays, and unnecessary wear and tear on my newer roof on my home from excessive amounts of traffic on my roof from having to do the job twice. And also from lack of protection for my roof, which the chimney sub contractors assured me that they would use, but in fact did not use. I am certain this has shortened the life span of my roof of my home. This is not the only overlooked detail, but is the only one that I did not stop before it was to late, due to the fact that they'd showed up and installed the chimney cap without my knowledge. So there was no way that I could overt this disaster. The details of the mistakes made are many and I will go into further detail if requested. But probably more important is the fact that the job is still uncompleted! I'm still awaiting the waterproofing of my nearly $8000.00 chimney job and we're almost 4 months into this mess. Did they forget that too? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, **** ****** **** ******** ****** *** ********* **** ***** ************ ************************

Desired Settlement: I believe that Chimney Works should honor their "price match" offer, finish the job and offer some type of settlement for the undue stress, wear and tear on my roof caused by the situation and lack of protection stated in my complaint.

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

Thank you for taking the time to list your concerns. When we meet with you to discuss the needs on your chimney, we discussed what you would like done. During our conversation, you brought up the fact that the barn had a continual leak and you were planning to have a new roof put on the barn soon. You had proposals for two different ways that would attempt to fix the roof; however, in each, the leaky design would remain the same. We came up with a new design that would provide a permanent solution to fix the old faulty design. This new design would also increase the barns curb appeal and over all value. The design and product we provided was not only better than the others proposed to you, but we even did it for a better price! We provided the best design with the best products for the best price and the project only took two days,. When we completed the roof, we talked on the phone and you said you loved it!

When we proposed the chimney project, we measured the square footage and discussed specifics that needed to be done. You made the stone selections within the next few days and we ordered the material. The lead time had been discussed that it would take 2-3 weeks to receive the stone for the chimney. Our foreman did need clarification on exactly what was needed on a couple things on the chimney, but this is not out of the norm based on the different levels and chase hole in the chimney. After the material had been ordered, we talked about another estimate you had received. The estimate you received on the chimney was less than ours; however, their written estimate did not include the proper square footage, nor did it mention the metal lathe needed for the chimney in order to get the proper bond to painted masonry. Stone could have been installed directly on to the painted surface for less, however, we would never want to give you an inferior product that will cause major problems later. When the chimney was complete, you and I discussed the work and you said you loved the chimney.

During that time, you requested a change order where you wanted limestone as the cap. We looked at examples and pictures and you made the selection. We ordered the limestone at that time which took another three weeks to receive the material. When we installed the cap, the crew did not rock face the limestone cap as you had requested. We also discussed shortening the legs and couple punch list items, This was our mistake and I had the guys go back and make the change to address all issues. A short time later, we called to ask for payment for the change order. We didn't receive a phone call back. Instead, we received this concern from the BBB. The remaining balance owed to Chimney Works for the work completed is $1,100. Please contact us to discuss payment arrangements.

If you need further clarification, please contact me at chimneyworks@gmail.com.
Thank you,

Millard Ledford

Consumer Response:

After reading Mr. Ledfords response to my complaint letter, I noticed that Mr. Ledford omitted to acknowledge  several of my complaints which are the main purpose for contacting the BBB. If you read both of the letters and take note, you'll agree that he ignored the fact that the chimney still hasn't been waterproofed. He clearly stated the importance of this waterproofing before cold weather so that moisture couldn't seep into the mortar, freeze and crack the mortar.  As we all know, it's too late for that and I can only assume that some damage has occurred due to their neglecting to waterproof the job as promised.

Secondly, he omitted to respond to the excessive wear and tear of the roof of my house due to the lack of communication which resulted in the job having to be performed twice. Both times,unprotected as promised. 

Thirdly, He spoke of the price differences in the jobs. Contrary to what he'd stated, I did indeed get lower estimates for the roof job. If he took the time to read my letter, he'd notice that the complaint isn't about the roof.
 As far as the chimney price difference and price match problem, He had me call Vonderhaar and clarify some of the details of my estimate with them. After speaking with Kurk Vonderhaar, who is the owner and the person who gave me the estimate, he clarified that indeed they would use the metal lathe and that they did include the corners (Mr. Ledford's square footage point) and made it very clear to me that the job would be completed with complete quality and no shortcuts like Mr. Ledford claims. Again, he was looking for any way not to honor the price match guarantee. In fact, he'd stated that there was no way that he could match that price and that his company was "loosing money" and that he was working for free on this job. If indeed that is the case, it re-iterates my point of him not doing his job well.

At no point did he state that I'd have to take time off work to be the foreman of these jobs. Had I not, both jobs would not have been performed as I instructed to Mr. Ledford at the time of sale. I find Mr. Ledfords lack of communication with his sub contractors and lack of attention to detail less than unsatisfactory. You can see his lack of attention to detail in the fact that he didn't address the fact that the job is still not completed! He only asks for payment for a job that is not completed!

Due to the fact that they've neglected to do the waterproofing before the harsh winter freeze, I now am asking for a full refund of the price of the chimney job. I feel this is necessary due to the fact that after hearing how important the waterproofing is and seeing the pictures of the damage that comes with neglecting to waterproof that Mr. Ledford showed me, I believe that my chimney job will soon fail.

Again, thank you for giving me a chance to respond. If needed, I can forward any of the estimates spoken about in this letter.

Consumer Response:

Here are the documents that you requested. I've also included a few pictures depicting the chimney cap that was installed incorrectly, the chimney cap after the correction also showing a worker on the roof with the roof shingles unprotected and a picture showing the chute that I requested to be removed and covered up that was ignored by Mr. Ledford which I spoke of in both of my previous letters. Please note that in the "before repair" picture the lack of finished edges of the chimney cap stone and the extended height of the pillars supporting the stone, which not only leave the opening of the chimney exposed to the elements, but look disproportionate as well. 
 I also included the literature of the Chimney Saver waterproofing that I also spoke of in both of my letters, that still to date has not been applied to the chimney.  If you read the literature, you'll learn of it's importance and why I'm requesting a full refund due to the fact that it wasn't applied before the freezing weather. I do indeed question the life span of this job due to the neglect.

It just dawned on me to include some pictures of comparable stone chimney caps that Mr. Ledford had sent me pictures of. This shows what I was expecting the job to turn out like and substantiates my complaint.  

Thanks again, 

**** ******

Business Response:

Hi Mr. ******,

Thank you for responding to our prior discussion. I apologize if I have not clearly communicated the details about the Stone, its installation and the warranty that is included. The stone we installed is Dutch Quality stone. This stone has a 50yr limited warranty on the stone and was installed and treated to Dutch Quality standards to fulfill the 50 year warranty period. If you sell your home, the warranty is transferable up to 15 years. In addition, we included a 2 year labor warranty with the work performed on your home..

To clarify, The work outlined for your home was completed months ago and no further work is needed. This should alleviate any concerns on the longevity of your chimney.

As for the wear and tear to your roof, one extra trip was performed to rock face your limestone. We want all customers to be pleased with the experience we provide. With the concerns you've expressed, we are willing to reduce the remaining balance by $800. This will take the final bill from $1,200 down to $400. Please mail the remaining balance to **** *** **** *** ********* ** ******

If you have any further questions or clarifications, feel free to contact me at chimneyworks5gmail.com.

Thank you,

Millard Ledford Chimney Works

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

To whom it may concern,

If you review all correspondence between myself and Chimney Works, you'll clearly see that I've made many points and or complaints that continue to be ignored. Primarily the fact that the job still hasn't been waterproofed. During my last correspondence I even attached the pamphlet provided by Chimney Works pointing out the importance of the waterproofing....BEFORE FIRST FREEZE!

So, I'm going to try to be as short and blunt as possible so that this cannot be ignored again.

Any thing short of a hefty refund AND the installation of the agreed waterproofing that I've already paid for will result in an unsatisfactory outcome. Mr. Ledford only spoke of the warranty implied, but forgive me for feeling that his warranty isn't worth the paper that it's written on. Especially considering all of the rhetoric it's taken thus far to try to get the waterproofing installed. 

I believe that I forgot to mention in my prior letters that when I attempted to speak with a manager and or owner of Chimney Works about my concerns, my calls were always diverted to Mr. Ledford who sugar coated the matter. Just as he's tried in every correspondence through the BBB. For this reason I've chose to only communicate through the BBB instead of with Mr. Ledford, as he requested.

Thank you,

**** ******