This business is not BBB accredited.

Oak Creek Campground, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (859) 485-9131 Fax: (859) 485-9006 13329 Oak Creek Rd, Verona, KY 41092 http://www.oakcreekcampground.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers campground services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oak Creek Campground, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oak Creek Campground, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 1996 Business started: 07/17/1998 in KY Business incorporated 07/17/1998 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sharon McDonald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon McDonald, President
Business Category

Campgrounds & RV Parks


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13329 Oak Creek Rd

    Verona, KY 41092 (859) 485-9131

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 161

    Walton, KY 41094

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday evening August 19, 2013, I spoke with a gentleman at the Oak Creek Campground, requesting my camping reservations be cancelled for the nights of August 23 and August 24. He took my information, and stated to me that it would be taken care of. I said thank you so much for your help. I noticed on August 28, 2013 that the campground had charged me 40.00. I called the campground to inquire what the charge was for and she told me it was a cancellation charge. Their website states that you must cancel within 72 hours to avoid a cancellation fee. As you can see by the dates, I cancelled the reservations within the 72 hour timeframe. The lady told me their was no cancellation posted and I did not have a cancellation number, therefore, I did not make the cancellation. Thus the 40.00 charge. She stated to me that the 40.00 was the charge for one nights reservation, and that I should be happy I was not charged for the 2nd night. I told her the gentleman I spoke to did not give me a cancellation number. She stated she didn't have a cancellation number, so she could not help me out. the 40.00 was sticking. One night of camping is only 30.00, not 40.00, and I feel I should not have to pay anything since I cancelled within the timeframe specified. I could not be responsible for the gentleman not giving me a cancellation number. I am filing a Dispute Form with *** Bank for the 40.00 charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the Oak Creek Campground to stand behind their cancellation policy and refund my 40.00 cancellation fee.

Business Response: Re: ID *******

To whom it may concern:

We did speak with the person regarding this complaint and explained why there was a charge and we had not been contacted to cancel. We have three systems in place for our reservations so that if one goes down or something is misplaced it Is always caught. We use computer reservations software as well as a paper reservation binder; also a paper reservation ticket is started for each new reservation, In the event of a cancellation all of these are noted with either no show, called before 72 hour, or called after 72 hour, in this case there were no notes on this customer's reservation on any system which has never happened before.

At least one would have been noted right away had we cancelled the reservation over the phone before the 72 hour window.  The customer was charged $40.00 due to the amount of people that the site had been reserved for; our base rate is $30.00 plus $2.50 for additional adults and $1.50 for additional children. We have been in operation for aver 44 years and with our systems in place have never had an issue before. We accept cancellations even after our 72 hour policy based on a customer's situation if possible with the exception of Holidays, special event weekends, or things such as acts of god or weather, Had we received a call to cancel before the date of their stay we would have been able to take care of it for the customer, none of our systems were noted therefor no cancellation was made and we charged the customer for the site.

Thank you,

****** ********

Oak Creek Campground

###-###-####