BBB Accredited Business since

Best Nest.Com

Phone: (513) 232-4225 Fax: (513) 232-4118 View Additional Phone Numbers 4000 McMann Road Suite 2, Cincinnati, OH 45245 http://www.bestnest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bird feeders and other yard & garden products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Nest.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Nest.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Best Nest.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1999 in OH Business incorporated 08/01/2001 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Woeste, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Woeste, President
Business Category

Bird Feeders & Houses Internet Shopping

Refund and Exchange Policy
Some of the complaints BBB has received are regarding the company's return policy.  If a customer wishes to return a product, including defective items, the customer must contact the company by phone to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) Number.  This number is to be written on the return shipping label.  Please note:  shipping charges are not refundable on returns or defective merchandise returned for a refund.  The company will ship a replacement item for missing or damaged items at no charge.  During checkout, all shipping charges, (sometimes described as "shipping savings" if the customer purchased an item that qualified for free or reduced shipping), are made known to the customer prior to entering payment information.  This shipping charge will be deducted from the refund amount when a customer returns a product.  Complete information concerning the company's return policies can be found on the company's website.
Alternate Business Names
BestNest.com
Industry Tips
Internet, Shopping on the

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Best Nest.Com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4000 McMann Road Suite 2

    Cincinnati, OH 45245 (513) 232-4225 (877) 562-1818

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered two purple martin houses from BestNest, there were pieces missing in order to put the houses together. I emailed BestNest on the 29th of April regarding the missing pieces. I was told they would be shipped out and would receive them by May 6th at the latest. I emailed BestNest on the 6th and told them I did not receive the missing pieces. They explained to me that there was an issue with the manufacturer and I would receive them by the 11th. The 11th came and went and no replacement parts. The manufacturer is located 50 miles from where I'm located. I took the initiative to contact the manufacturer, ***** ******* Products in ************* ******** in attempt to receive my replacement parts but they also seem to fail at providing assistance through their customer service line.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund.

Consumer Response:

I have been in contact with the President of ***** *******, the manufacturer of the product in which BestNest carries. It is my assumption that I will be receiving replacement parts hopefully soon.  Please close as resolved at this time.

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: We do apologize that the customer's package arrived missing pieces.  We immediately notified the manufacturer of this shortage and began working on the customer's replacements.  Please note that we do not have parts in stock and were unable to send them directly.  The manufacturer assured us that parts would be sent to the customer for receipt by 5/6.  Unfortunately, there was unforeseen delays in shipping.  With our continued support, the parts were shipped overnight to the customer and is out for delivery today under *** tracking number ******************.  We would also like to note that the customer's listed purchase items and prices are incorrect.  The customer purchased Heath 18-Room Deluxe Purple Martin House Packages (versus 24) at a purchase price of $169.99 each.  

12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased an item from this company and it did not fit, so I paid for shipping and insurance to have the item sent back to the company. the item was not used, and was sent back in the original box. I requested that they just refund my credit card for my refund. then I received an email from them saying that they refunded our money in a gift certificate, so i emailed them back to tell them that i did not want a gift certificate because there was nothing that i needed from them. they emailed me back to tell me that they were sorry but they can not credit my credit card now because they already processed a gift certificate. I called them personally and told them again that i did not want their gift certificate and that i wanted to talk to a manager. I was told that they were really busy and that I probably wouldn't here from anyone until next week or so. I work 86 hours a week and i work darn hard for my money and i don't like people playing with my money. I did what i was suppose to do, now they need to.

Desired Settlement: i would like the outcome to be a full refund of my money.

Business Response:

The customer returned an item without obtaining authorization to do so.  In accordance with our returns policy, the returns department issued the customer an in-store credit.  Our return policy is listed on the website, during checkout, and shipped on the packing slip with every order.  This customer actually returned the packing slip with writing on it.  The customer called and began yelling at our customer service agent without letting them speak.  The customer disconnected the call.  The portion of the return policy that pertains to this situation appears below:

"Unauthorized returns or items returned used, damaged, or not in their original condition and packaging may result in a delayed refund, partial refund, in-store credit, or refusal of the returned items."

The customer is welcome to use the in-store credit or pass it on to someone else.  There is nothing further to offer the customer at this time.

8/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips from Bestnest.com and was charged $119.99 for the item. I received a shipment from BestNest.com, which my husband opened. He opened the very heavy bag of birdseed that was shipped and filled feeders. I quickly noticed the birds were not eating the seed, and that it looked different. I checked the bag and found that BestNest.com had shipped me seed that I had not ordered, nor had I ever ordered: a 50-lb bad of SAFFLOWER Seed. My wild birds will not eat it. I immediately contacted BestNest.com via email (I can send you the email chain and all photos/attachments if you want to read it), and sent them everything they asked for: a photo of the packing slip (which clearly show that a 50-lb bag of Medium SUNFLOWER chips was supposed to be shipped to me), my receipt showing that I ordered a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips and was charged $199.99 for it; a photo of the wrongly shipped Safflower birdseed; a photo of the *** shipping label; and 2 photos of writing on the shipping cardboard box. I offered to return the birdseed I received; BestNest.com refused. They have also refused to send the 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips that I ordered, and for which I paid $119.99. They also have not refunded the $119.99 birdseed price to me, the price for the Medium Sunflower Chips I did not receive. To make matters worse, the 50-lb Safflower Burdseed is $30 less than the 50-lb Medium Sunflower Chips (which is $89.99). So even if I had wanted to keep the Safflower Seed (which I do not and did not order), BestNest.com would be overcharging me $30!! This is theft from BestNest.com on so many levels. I have also lodged a dispute with ******** ******* regarding stopping payment for this item. I do not want the item; I want the $119.99 purchase priced refunded immediately. I will never do business with BestNest.com again.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $119.99 purchase price for the 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips Birdseed that I ordered from BestNest.com, but never received, and the company refuses to send me.

Business Response: Typically, if a customer receives an incorrect item, the item is picked up and replaced at no charge.  In this particular case, the incorrect item was used and unable to be picked up and exchanged.  We offered the customer a credit of $59.58 for the inconvenience or a replacement of the intended item at a reduced cost of $60.41.  We had not yet heard back from the customer on which resolution the customer preferred.  Given the customer's desire not to continue business, we will issue a partial credit of $59.58.

 
BestNest

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau of Cincinnati:

I have reviewed the response made by BestNest.com in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  Very simply, I ordered a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips birdseed from BestNest.com; I paid $119.99 for the birdseed with my ******** ******* card.  BestNest.com has refused to ship the Medium Sunflower Chip birdseed to me, for which they charged me $119.99.  Simply put, that is theft on the part of BestNest.com; failure to ship the birdseed I ordered is 100% the fault of BestNest.com.  Now they say they will offer a "partial credit" for the birdseed I never received?  Partial credit?  That is outrageous.  For all I know, by the word "credit" they may me "store credit" with BestNest.com.

The only fair and lawful resolution is full refund of the $119.99 purchase price to my ******** ******* card.  I refuse to pay one penny for an item - in this case a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chip birdseed - I did not receive.  I have launched a payment dispute with ******** *******; attached is information I provided to them regarding my communications with BestNest.com.  I will not consider this matter resolved until ******** ******* notifies me that the $119.99 purchase price has been fully refunded.

If necessary, I will notify the Hamilton County, Ohio District Attorney's Office and the Ohio State Attorney General's Office about BestNest.com's theft of customer funds.  Based on my review of online complaints about the company, I am not the only person who has experienced this type of problem with BestNest.com.

Thank you,

**** *****




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I will not accept a partial refund of $59.58 to my ******** ******* Card for a $119.99 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chip birdseed that I ordered and paid for, but which BestNest.com never shipped to me.  I offered to return the 50-lb bag of Safflower Chips - that I never ordered, and have never ordered from them, but that Bestnest.com shipped to me - if they would send me a *** label; Bestnest.com refused.  I have thrown the Safflower birdseed away; I did not order it, and did not want it.  This matter is entirely the fault of Bestnest.com.

The only acceptable resolution of this matter is to refund the full $119.99 Medium Sunflower Ship birdssed purchase price to my ******** ******* card; anything less amounts to theft on the part of Bestnest.com.  Moreover, I request that this complaint not be closed out; the payment dispute I filed with ******** ******* remains pending, and is separate from my complaint with the Cincinnati Better Business Bureau.  The public has right to know about BestNest.com's theft from customers.  This company certainly does not deserve an A+ BBB Rating.

 
Regards,

**** *****




Business Response: We have processed a partial credit to the customer for the order for the seed that she received incorrectly and used.  We could not pick up and exchange the item as it had been used.  Unfortunately, there is nothing more we can do in this case.  We will address the issue through the customer's credit card dispute.    

Consumer Response:

Hi Tammy:  As I left on your voice mail, I have had extensive business obligations and travel over the past  2 weeks, so have not been able to address this issue.  I have read your email, will gather the information requested and respond within the next 2 days.

I prefer to keep all communication via written record (email and postal/***/*** **)) other an telephone so I have a complete, indisputable, and accurate file.  Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Ms. Hasselbeck:

 

You recently requested additional information from me regarding the subject complaint ******** submitted on June 28, 2014.  I will not address the additional information you request, as ******** ******* has favorably resolved this matter on my behalf.

 

As I informed you, I lodged a disputed charge complaint with ******** ******* concurrent with my BBB complaint.  Going through my mail this morning, I found a letter from ******** ******* dated July 27 generally stating:

 

Thank you for contacting us about the charge(s) that appeared on your ******** ******* Card statement from BESTNEST.COM.  We contacted BESTNEST.COM for you to give them the opportunity to provide any additional information.  As of today, they have not given us the information we need to resolve the matter.  Therefore, we will issues a credit to your account …

 

Thank you for the attention you have given this matter.  At this time I do not believe there is anything more you can do for me, given the favorable resolution from ******** *******.  However, I strongly believe the behavior of Best Nest warrants public notification on your website, and downgrade of their current A+ BBB rating.  Best Nest refused to refund the purchase price for birdseed I ordered, was charged for, but that they never shipped.  That is theft by Best Nest, plain and simple.  In their last bit of communication with you, the company has the audacity to state that my actions are the reason they cannot refund the purchase price.  Lastly, Best Nest blew off ******** *******, clearly never responding to the disputed charge complaint.

 

No ethical, law abiding business would operate as Best Nest does.  

 

Very truly yours,  

**** *****

 

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received bird feeder domes 2 each from 2 separate manufacturers that were damaged so can not use them as mother's day gifts. I am forced to pay to return them even though I am not at all to blame for the damage. All I did was order them and pay for them. The box was in perfect condition - the items were damaged when the order was filled. Due to the size of the items and the oversized box, I had to pay $33.52 to return about  $100.00 worth of merchandise. Even the *** store was surprised at their return policy. The customer should not be held responsible when it has nothing to do with me - I do not like being victimized in what is clearly a one sided profit deal. I am very dissatisfied - I believe I my  return shipping cost  should be refunded to me.

 I received bird feeder domes 2 each from 2 separate manufacturers that were damaged so can not use them as mother's day gifts. I am forced to pay to return them even though I am not at all to blame for the damage. All I did was order them and pay for them. The box was in perfect condition - the items were damaged when the order was filled. Due to the size of the items and the oversized box, I had to pay $33.52 to return about  $100.00 worth of merchandise. Even the *** store was surprised at their return policy. The customer should not be held responsible when it has nothing to do with me - I do not like being victimized in what is clearly a one sided profit deal. I am very dissatisfied - I believe I my  return shipping cost  should be refunded to me.

Desired Settlement: See above

Business Response: The customer decided not to have the scratched items replaced at no charge and decided to return them.  Clearly stated in our return policy on the website and shipment packing list, we do not have a restocking fee but we cannot refund shipping and handling charges.  This is not a profit center as we have paid for the items to be shipped and delivered to the customer.  FedEx does not reimburse a shipment when a customer decides not to keep an item. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response: I ordered several items - most of which are fine. The acrylic bird domes I ordered were damaged and since the huge shipping box was NOT damaged, I concluded that they were sent to me in scratched, flawed condition. They said that they never sell "seconds" and that they would replace them. My problem is: why weren't perfect ones sent in the first place. They have a policy that the customer must pay to return items - my policy has always been (as most businesses also) I do not pay to return items I received that were damaged. I kept all of the heavier items but the size of the box was to accommodate two of the squirrel proof domes so had to be re-used for my return. I paid over $33.00 to return slightly over $100.00 worth of damaged merchandise that weighed almost nothing.  My total order was well over $300.00 - I kept 10 other items. My problem is that this business is the only one I've ever encountered who assumes no responsibility for what they ship to the consumer. I can't believe that the two companies involved - Arundale and Aspects - both reputable Made in USA companies would be pleased with what I received to fill my order. Best Nest did offer replacements but again, why weren't the perfect "replacements" sent in my original order. And what was I supposed to do about the huge box  of defective goods in my laundry room? And what if the second shipment was damaged as well -  both would need to be returned.  - at my expense?My trust factor is ruined with this company and their refusal to be held accountable. I have thrown "good money after bad" and it has to be addressed. They act as though this is a standard internet business return policy and they don't care what I think about it because it is stated in their return policy. All I want is for them to credit my $33.52 and  the price I paid for the items returned and accept the return as part of doing business. I know that the manufacturers involved would either credit the items back to Best Nest or replace them to Best Nest. They want their vendors to be happy. They would be held accountable because they are proud of the merchandise they ship to their vendors unless the merchandise was sold to them with the knowledge it had damage. I am in no way responsible for what they sent to me. The condition it is in should be perfect thus eliminating the need for my dissatisfaction -  we wouldn't be having this correspondence. On their website, one customer had the shipping TO HER deducted as well - that hopefully is not part of the deal - a return of unsatisfactory merchandise is ultimately the responsibility of the sender and their self serving policy should not protect them from delivering what the customer has ordered and paid for. There are a lot of internet businesses with sound business practice and great customer support - Best Nest should be aware that unhappy customers are the best advertising available.

Business Response:

We do not sell seconds or known factory defects to any customer.  Of course it is possible for an occasional plastic item to have a scratch that passes visual inspection prior to shipping.  It is not reasonable to assume that every item is scratched and therefore not wish to have the item replaced free of charge.  Some companies do have policies of "free returns" which they build into their purchase prices and fine print.  BestNest features a straightforward, upfront manner with no fine print.  This section of our return policy appears in bold lettering.  Surely a customer buying from a brick and mortar store wouldn't suggest that the store come pick up an item that a customer wishes to return.  In the same manner, BestNest cannot simply absorb shipping costs when a customer changes their mind about an item.  We offered a free replacement of scratched items that in their very nature of use will become scratched (squirrel baffles - after a short period of use, squirrels claws will leave small scratches over the entire surface that they can reach.) These items are not broken and are suitable for use; yet we offered to replace them.  This appears to be a scenario where the customer has decided to return items and would simply like someone else to cover their freight.  There is nothing further we can offer the customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

I am insulted that they have shifted the focus from taking responsibility for damage by saying that it would just get damaged anyway. That is not a valid reason.  To compare the situation to expecting a brick & mortar store to pick up my purchase is ridiculous - I chose to do business with them via the internet - we live in **** ******* of small town *********. *** **** is the only option  - I do not shop at ******* so I do a lot of internet shopping. This is the first time I have ever gone to this length to try to fight for my rights as a consumer. This is the only internet business to take such an anti consumer stand and just assume that I changed my mind.  I don't know what kind of customer service training has been taught at Best Nest but the customer appears to never be right and nasty comments are the defense. Bad publicity....I want my $33.52 back - no further problems - Best Nest has taken a stand that is ridiculous - $33.52 in customer satisfaction is a small investment for a business - a huge loss to an unhappy customer. This matter sounds like there is no closure - hopefully the BBB will reflect this in the evaluation of Best Nest.

1/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although Best Nest has my correct address, and the previous order (******) was shipped to the correct address, this order (******) was shipped to an incorrect address. I have gone to the address they shipped to, trying to get the order but the occupants won't even answer the door. I've left notes to but they haven't contacted me. After all my efforts failed I contacted Best Nest. Their response was "Thank you for taking an interest in BestNest. We will always use the information that is provided on the order for the shipping information, and will not look at any previous orders for determining where it should go. We are showing that under your login for us, the address of **** ***** ***** is listed. You may want to check the auto-fill settings on your web browser and see if it is updating information with your old address. This would be the most likely scenario. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance. Thank you for contacting us here at BestNest.". I live on a fixed income and this was a large purchase. I'd just like the bird seed.

Desired Settlement: Please send me the bird seed.

Business Response: The customer placed an order on 11/30 without using our customer service call center.  The order was shipped on 12/2 and shows delivered on 12/6.  The customer was sent an order confirmation at the time the order was placed and shipping confirmation after the order had been sent.  BestNest could not have known that the customer did not intend to ship the order to the address filled into the shipping address fields.  It is not uncommon for customers to have multiple shipping addresses.  The customer did not notify BestNest of a discrepancy with the address or delivery until 12/29.  With the length of time waited to contact and the delivery having been made to a valid address entered by the customer, BestNest has no recourse with the shipping company or otherwise.  We do apologize for the inconvenience, however, we cannot be held responsible for shipping an order to a valid address a customer enters on an order.

 
BestNest

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an item from BestNest.com, the item that was delivered was poorly packaged and a rattle came from inside the box. I opened the box and looked inside and without removing the product, I could see that I was dissatisfied. I called BestNest.com immediately and requested a return authorization. I followed the return procedures exactly as per requested. I returned the item and shipped the product back in the original package. Upon item arrival back to BestNest.com they accused me of scratching the item, therefore, will not give me a refund. I find this to be in poor judgment and an excuse to not give me a refund. The item was never removed from the original package, so hence, I am not aware of what they are talking about. To pliantly accuse the customer of lying seems to be not a successful way to win your customer over. I am reporting this to the BBB on a matter of principle and would like other consumers to be aware. DO NOT purchase anything from BestNest.com !

Desired Settlement: A refund in the amount of $67.99 for item.

Business Response:

After reviewing the customer's comments and all correspondence pertaining to the order, it was never suggested or implied that the customer was lying or dishonest.  Typically, a customer will notify of any damage to an item prior to returning.  This allows BestNest to followup with the shipping company on any shipping damages that occurred.  Once an item has been shipped back to us, the shipping company will no longer grant claims to anyone but the shipper (in this case the customer).  The returns department felt that the damage to the item was significant enough that BestNest could not restock and sell the item to another customer.  For this reason, the customer was notified (with images) to file a claim with the shipper used on the return.  Because the customer never removed the item from packaging, there is no way to tell in which shipping the damage occurred.  As a sign of good faith, we will credit the customer for the return.  Shipping and handling charges are not refundable.

BestNest

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BestNest says it sells quality merchandise and cares about customers. After 40 days in service, my bird-feeder failed. I believe it was defective when sold and took this number of days to fail. I was required to contact the manufacturer for resolution. BestNest refused to handle this matter for me.I attempted to escalate this matter through management and Customer Service refused; in fact, blocked my attempts to contact higher levels of management. Usually, matters such as this can be settled satisfactorily. Hence, my point about customer care.

Desired Settlement: I want BestNest to return my money because it did not care about resolving my problem and did not resolve it. I was forced to contact the manufacturer. I don't need a middleman then and can buy direct with better results and customer care. I want BestNest to review its website statements that are inaccurate and correct them. I want Customer Service to allow me to speak with management.

Business Response:

The customer called on 7/25 to indicate that their feeder's perch had become disconnected overnight.  The customer service agent taking the call was, in fact, the customer service manager.  The item was purchased outside of the 30 day return window but was still covered under a manufacturer warranty.  The customer was offered the manufacturer contact information and became irate and disconnected the call.  The customer service manager called the contact number on the order and spoke with the customer's wife.  We again offered the manufacturer contact and warranty information.  We later received a voicemail from the customer indicating that the manufacturer will replace the item to the customer once they receive the customer's item back.  The customer does not wish to send the item back to the manufacturer, however, and has filed this claim instead.  The manufacturer deals directly with warranty claims on their items.  BestNest would be the "middle man" in terms of manufacturer warranty replacements.  It is common practice in warranty replacements of all kinds for the customer to return the item to the manufacturer.  There is nothing further for BestNest to review in this case.  The customer may simply ship their unit to the manufacturer for a replacement.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BestNest.Com blamed me for the problem.  Then suggested that a racoon caused the damage.  This company does not care about customers,  contrary to the website claim.  I want to speak with the president of the company,  please.

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response: Certainly, the customer was not blamed for the perch on his bird feeder becoming detached.  A raccoon, on the other hand, is a typical culprit for bird feeder damage and not an outlandish suggestion given the customer's claim that the perch became detached overnight.  We do everything we can to service our customers in a respectful, straightforward manner.  We facilitated a warranty claim for the customer with the manufacturer.  The manufacturer has agreed to take the item back and replace it.  There is nothing further that we can offer the customer in this case.


BestNest 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I know what I heard from Customer Service and how it was said,  indeed the context of it all.    Telling me what I heard is indicative of their approach to customers.  I again am requesting a phone call with the president of the company.

With respect to their business model, they simply do not understand that the customer is always right.

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response: With a replacement unit already being approved for the customer, there is nothing further we can add to a resolution.  The president of the company is not currently involved with customer service issues on an individual basis.  This policy nor the warranty replacement policy is not independent to BestNest's business model.


BestNest

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

**** *****