BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Best Nest.Com

Phone: (513) 232-4225 Fax: (513) 232-4118 View Additional Phone Numbers 4000 McMann Road Suite 2, Cincinnati, OH 45245 http://www.bestnest.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bird feeders and other yard & garden products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Nest.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Nest.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Best Nest.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 13, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1999 in OH Business incorporated: 08/01/2001 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Woeste, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Woeste, President
Business Category

Bird Feeders & Houses Internet Shopping

Refund and Exchange Policy
Some of the complaints BBB has received are regarding the company's return policy.  If a customer wishes to return a product, including defective items, the customer must contact the company by phone to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) Number.  This number is to be written on the return shipping label.  Please note:  shipping charges are not refundable on returns or defective merchandise returned for a refund.  The company will ship a replacement item for missing or damaged items at no charge.  During checkout, all shipping charges, (sometimes described as "shipping savings" if the customer purchased an item that qualified for free or reduced shipping), are made known to the customer prior to entering payment information.  This shipping charge will be deducted from the refund amount when a customer returns a product.  Complete information concerning the company's return policies can be found on the company's website.
Alternate Business Names
BestNest.com
Industry Tips
Internet, Shopping on the

Additional Locations

  • 4000 McMann Road Suite 2

    Cincinnati, OH 45245 (513) 232-4225 (877) 562-1818

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 562-1818(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips from Bestnest.com and was charged $119.99 for the item. I received a shipment from BestNest.com, which my husband opened. He opened the very heavy bag of birdseed that was shipped and filled feeders. I quickly noticed the birds were not eating the seed, and that it looked different. I checked the bag and found that BestNest.com had shipped me seed that I had not ordered, nor had I ever ordered: a 50-lb bad of SAFFLOWER Seed. My wild birds will not eat it. I immediately contacted BestNest.com via email (I can send you the email chain and all photos/attachments if you want to read it), and sent them everything they asked for: a photo of the packing slip (which clearly show that a 50-lb bag of Medium SUNFLOWER chips was supposed to be shipped to me), my receipt showing that I ordered a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips and was charged $199.99 for it; a photo of the wrongly shipped Safflower birdseed; a photo of the *** shipping label; and 2 photos of writing on the shipping cardboard box. I offered to return the birdseed I received; BestNest.com refused. They have also refused to send the 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips that I ordered, and for which I paid $119.99. They also have not refunded the $119.99 birdseed price to me, the price for the Medium Sunflower Chips I did not receive. To make matters worse, the 50-lb Safflower Burdseed is $30 less than the 50-lb Medium Sunflower Chips (which is $89.99). So even if I had wanted to keep the Safflower Seed (which I do not and did not order), BestNest.com would be overcharging me $30!! This is theft from BestNest.com on so many levels. I have also lodged a dispute with ******** ******* regarding stopping payment for this item. I do not want the item; I want the $119.99 purchase priced refunded immediately. I will never do business with BestNest.com again.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $119.99 purchase price for the 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips Birdseed that I ordered from BestNest.com, but never received, and the company refuses to send me.

Business Response: Typically, if a customer receives an incorrect item, the item is picked up and replaced at no charge.  In this particular case, the incorrect item was used and unable to be picked up and exchanged.  We offered the customer a credit of $59.58 for the inconvenience or a replacement of the intended item at a reduced cost of $60.41.  We had not yet heard back from the customer on which resolution the customer preferred.  Given the customer's desire not to continue business, we will issue a partial credit of $59.58.

 
BestNest

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau of Cincinnati:

I have reviewed the response made by BestNest.com in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  Very simply, I ordered a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chips birdseed from BestNest.com; I paid $119.99 for the birdseed with my ******** ******* card.  BestNest.com has refused to ship the Medium Sunflower Chip birdseed to me, for which they charged me $119.99.  Simply put, that is theft on the part of BestNest.com; failure to ship the birdseed I ordered is 100% the fault of BestNest.com.  Now they say they will offer a "partial credit" for the birdseed I never received?  Partial credit?  That is outrageous.  For all I know, by the word "credit" they may me "store credit" with BestNest.com.

The only fair and lawful resolution is full refund of the $119.99 purchase price to my ******** ******* card.  I refuse to pay one penny for an item - in this case a 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chip birdseed - I did not receive.  I have launched a payment dispute with ******** *******; attached is information I provided to them regarding my communications with BestNest.com.  I will not consider this matter resolved until ******** ******* notifies me that the $119.99 purchase price has been fully refunded.

If necessary, I will notify the Hamilton County, Ohio District Attorney's Office and the Ohio State Attorney General's Office about BestNest.com's theft of customer funds.  Based on my review of online complaints about the company, I am not the only person who has experienced this type of problem with BestNest.com.

Thank you,

**** *****




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I will not accept a partial refund of $59.58 to my ******** ******* Card for a $119.99 50-lb bag of Medium Sunflower Chip birdseed that I ordered and paid for, but which BestNest.com never shipped to me.  I offered to return the 50-lb bag of Safflower Chips - that I never ordered, and have never ordered from them, but that Bestnest.com shipped to me - if they would send me a *** label; Bestnest.com refused.  I have thrown the Safflower birdseed away; I did not order it, and did not want it.  This matter is entirely the fault of Bestnest.com.

The only acceptable resolution of this matter is to refund the full $119.99 Medium Sunflower Ship birdssed purchase price to my ******** ******* card; anything less amounts to theft on the part of Bestnest.com.  Moreover, I request that this complaint not be closed out; the payment dispute I filed with ******** ******* remains pending, and is separate from my complaint with the Cincinnati Better Business Bureau.  The public has right to know about BestNest.com's theft from customers.  This company certainly does not deserve an A+ BBB Rating.

 
Regards,

**** *****




Business Response: We have processed a partial credit to the customer for the order for the seed that she received incorrectly and used.  We could not pick up and exchange the item as it had been used.  Unfortunately, there is nothing more we can do in this case.  We will address the issue through the customer's credit card dispute.    

Consumer Response:

Hi Tammy:  As I left on your voice mail, I have had extensive business obligations and travel over the past  2 weeks, so have not been able to address this issue.  I have read your email, will gather the information requested and respond within the next 2 days.

I prefer to keep all communication via written record (email and postal/***/*** **)) other an telephone so I have a complete, indisputable, and accurate file.  Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Ms. Hasselbeck:

 

You recently requested additional information from me regarding the subject complaint ******** submitted on June 28, 2014.  I will not address the additional information you request, as ******** ******* has favorably resolved this matter on my behalf.

 

As I informed you, I lodged a disputed charge complaint with ******** ******* concurrent with my BBB complaint.  Going through my mail this morning, I found a letter from ******** ******* dated July 27 generally stating:

 

Thank you for contacting us about the charge(s) that appeared on your ******** ******* Card statement from BESTNEST.COM.  We contacted BESTNEST.COM for you to give them the opportunity to provide any additional information.  As of today, they have not given us the information we need to resolve the matter.  Therefore, we will issues a credit to your account …

 

Thank you for the attention you have given this matter.  At this time I do not believe there is anything more you can do for me, given the favorable resolution from ******** *******.  However, I strongly believe the behavior of Best Nest warrants public notification on your website, and downgrade of their current A+ BBB rating.  Best Nest refused to refund the purchase price for birdseed I ordered, was charged for, but that they never shipped.  That is theft by Best Nest, plain and simple.  In their last bit of communication with you, the company has the audacity to state that my actions are the reason they cannot refund the purchase price.  Lastly, Best Nest blew off ******** *******, clearly never responding to the disputed charge complaint.

 

No ethical, law abiding business would operate as Best Nest does.  

 

Very truly yours,  

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received bird feeder domes 2 each from 2 separate manufacturers that were damaged so can not use them as mother's day gifts. I am forced to pay to return them even though I am not at all to blame for the damage. All I did was order them and pay for them. The box was in perfect condition - the items were damaged when the order was filled. Due to the size of the items and the oversized box, I had to pay $33.52 to return about  $100.00 worth of merchandise. Even the *** store was surprised at their return policy. The customer should not be held responsible when it has nothing to do with me - I do not like being victimized in what is clearly a one sided profit deal. I am very dissatisfied - I believe I my  return shipping cost  should be refunded to me.

 I received bird feeder domes 2 each from 2 separate manufacturers that were damaged so can not use them as mother's day gifts. I am forced to pay to return them even though I am not at all to blame for the damage. All I did was order them and pay for them. The box was in perfect condition - the items were damaged when the order was filled. Due to the size of the items and the oversized box, I had to pay $33.52 to return about  $100.00 worth of merchandise. Even the *** store was surprised at their return policy. The customer should not be held responsible when it has nothing to do with me - I do not like being victimized in what is clearly a one sided profit deal. I am very dissatisfied - I believe I my  return shipping cost  should be refunded to me.

Desired Settlement: See above

Business Response: The customer decided not to have the scratched items replaced at no charge and decided to return them.  Clearly stated in our return policy on the website and shipment packing list, we do not have a restocking fee but we cannot refund shipping and handling charges.  This is not a profit center as we have paid for the items to be shipped and delivered to the customer.  FedEx does not reimburse a shipment when a customer decides not to keep an item. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response: I ordered several items - most of which are fine. The acrylic bird domes I ordered were damaged and since the huge shipping box was NOT damaged, I concluded that they were sent to me in scratched, flawed condition. They said that they never sell "seconds" and that they would replace them. My problem is: why weren't perfect ones sent in the first place. They have a policy that the customer must pay to return items - my policy has always been (as most businesses also) I do not pay to return items I received that were damaged. I kept all of the heavier items but the size of the box was to accommodate two of the squirrel proof domes so had to be re-used for my return. I paid over $33.00 to return slightly over $100.00 worth of damaged merchandise that weighed almost nothing.  My total order was well over $300.00 - I kept 10 other items. My problem is that this business is the only one I've ever encountered who assumes no responsibility for what they ship to the consumer. I can't believe that the two companies involved - Arundale and Aspects - both reputable Made in USA companies would be pleased with what I received to fill my order. Best Nest did offer replacements but again, why weren't the perfect "replacements" sent in my original order. And what was I supposed to do about the huge box  of defective goods in my laundry room? And what if the second shipment was damaged as well -  both would need to be returned.  - at my expense?My trust factor is ruined with this company and their refusal to be held accountable. I have thrown "good money after bad" and it has to be addressed. They act as though this is a standard internet business return policy and they don't care what I think about it because it is stated in their return policy. All I want is for them to credit my $33.52 and  the price I paid for the items returned and accept the return as part of doing business. I know that the manufacturers involved would either credit the items back to Best Nest or replace them to Best Nest. They want their vendors to be happy. They would be held accountable because they are proud of the merchandise they ship to their vendors unless the merchandise was sold to them with the knowledge it had damage. I am in no way responsible for what they sent to me. The condition it is in should be perfect thus eliminating the need for my dissatisfaction -  we wouldn't be having this correspondence. On their website, one customer had the shipping TO HER deducted as well - that hopefully is not part of the deal - a return of unsatisfactory merchandise is ultimately the responsibility of the sender and their self serving policy should not protect them from delivering what the customer has ordered and paid for. There are a lot of internet businesses with sound business practice and great customer support - Best Nest should be aware that unhappy customers are the best advertising available.

Business Response:

We do not sell seconds or known factory defects to any customer.  Of course it is possible for an occasional plastic item to have a scratch that passes visual inspection prior to shipping.  It is not reasonable to assume that every item is scratched and therefore not wish to have the item replaced free of charge.  Some companies do have policies of "free returns" which they build into their purchase prices and fine print.  BestNest features a straightforward, upfront manner with no fine print.  This section of our return policy appears in bold lettering.  Surely a customer buying from a brick and mortar store wouldn't suggest that the store come pick up an item that a customer wishes to return.  In the same manner, BestNest cannot simply absorb shipping costs when a customer changes their mind about an item.  We offered a free replacement of scratched items that in their very nature of use will become scratched (squirrel baffles - after a short period of use, squirrels claws will leave small scratches over the entire surface that they can reach.) These items are not broken and are suitable for use; yet we offered to replace them.  This appears to be a scenario where the customer has decided to return items and would simply like someone else to cover their freight.  There is nothing further we can offer the customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

I am insulted that they have shifted the focus from taking responsibility for damage by saying that it would just get damaged anyway. That is not a valid reason.  To compare the situation to expecting a brick & mortar store to pick up my purchase is ridiculous - I chose to do business with them via the internet - we live in **** ******* of small town *********. *** **** is the only option  - I do not shop at ******* so I do a lot of internet shopping. This is the first time I have ever gone to this length to try to fight for my rights as a consumer. This is the only internet business to take such an anti consumer stand and just assume that I changed my mind.  I don't know what kind of customer service training has been taught at Best Nest but the customer appears to never be right and nasty comments are the defense. Bad publicity....I want my $33.52 back - no further problems - Best Nest has taken a stand that is ridiculous - $33.52 in customer satisfaction is a small investment for a business - a huge loss to an unhappy customer. This matter sounds like there is no closure - hopefully the BBB will reflect this in the evaluation of Best Nest.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although Best Nest has my correct address, and the previous order (******) was shipped to the correct address, this order (******) was shipped to an incorrect address. I have gone to the address they shipped to, trying to get the order but the occupants won't even answer the door. I've left notes to but they haven't contacted me. After all my efforts failed I contacted Best Nest. Their response was "Thank you for taking an interest in BestNest. We will always use the information that is provided on the order for the shipping information, and will not look at any previous orders for determining where it should go. We are showing that under your login for us, the address of **** ***** ***** is listed. You may want to check the auto-fill settings on your web browser and see if it is updating information with your old address. This would be the most likely scenario. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance. Thank you for contacting us here at BestNest.". I live on a fixed income and this was a large purchase. I'd just like the bird seed.

Desired Settlement: Please send me the bird seed.

Business Response: The customer placed an order on 11/30 without using our customer service call center.  The order was shipped on 12/2 and shows delivered on 12/6.  The customer was sent an order confirmation at the time the order was placed and shipping confirmation after the order had been sent.  BestNest could not have known that the customer did not intend to ship the order to the address filled into the shipping address fields.  It is not uncommon for customers to have multiple shipping addresses.  The customer did not notify BestNest of a discrepancy with the address or delivery until 12/29.  With the length of time waited to contact and the delivery having been made to a valid address entered by the customer, BestNest has no recourse with the shipping company or otherwise.  We do apologize for the inconvenience, however, we cannot be held responsible for shipping an order to a valid address a customer enters on an order.

 
BestNest

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an item from BestNest.com, the item that was delivered was poorly packaged and a rattle came from inside the box. I opened the box and looked inside and without removing the product, I could see that I was dissatisfied. I called BestNest.com immediately and requested a return authorization. I followed the return procedures exactly as per requested. I returned the item and shipped the product back in the original package. Upon item arrival back to BestNest.com they accused me of scratching the item, therefore, will not give me a refund. I find this to be in poor judgment and an excuse to not give me a refund. The item was never removed from the original package, so hence, I am not aware of what they are talking about. To pliantly accuse the customer of lying seems to be not a successful way to win your customer over. I am reporting this to the BBB on a matter of principle and would like other consumers to be aware. DO NOT purchase anything from BestNest.com !

Desired Settlement: A refund in the amount of $67.99 for item.

Business Response:

After reviewing the customer's comments and all correspondence pertaining to the order, it was never suggested or implied that the customer was lying or dishonest.  Typically, a customer will notify of any damage to an item prior to returning.  This allows BestNest to followup with the shipping company on any shipping damages that occurred.  Once an item has been shipped back to us, the shipping company will no longer grant claims to anyone but the shipper (in this case the customer).  The returns department felt that the damage to the item was significant enough that BestNest could not restock and sell the item to another customer.  For this reason, the customer was notified (with images) to file a claim with the shipper used on the return.  Because the customer never removed the item from packaging, there is no way to tell in which shipping the damage occurred.  As a sign of good faith, we will credit the customer for the return.  Shipping and handling charges are not refundable.

BestNest

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BestNest says it sells quality merchandise and cares about customers. After 40 days in service, my bird-feeder failed. I believe it was defective when sold and took this number of days to fail. I was required to contact the manufacturer for resolution. BestNest refused to handle this matter for me.I attempted to escalate this matter through management and Customer Service refused; in fact, blocked my attempts to contact higher levels of management. Usually, matters such as this can be settled satisfactorily. Hence, my point about customer care.

Desired Settlement: I want BestNest to return my money because it did not care about resolving my problem and did not resolve it. I was forced to contact the manufacturer. I don't need a middleman then and can buy direct with better results and customer care. I want BestNest to review its website statements that are inaccurate and correct them. I want Customer Service to allow me to speak with management.

Business Response:

The customer called on 7/25 to indicate that their feeder's perch had become disconnected overnight.  The customer service agent taking the call was, in fact, the customer service manager.  The item was purchased outside of the 30 day return window but was still covered under a manufacturer warranty.  The customer was offered the manufacturer contact information and became irate and disconnected the call.  The customer service manager called the contact number on the order and spoke with the customer's wife.  We again offered the manufacturer contact and warranty information.  We later received a voicemail from the customer indicating that the manufacturer will replace the item to the customer once they receive the customer's item back.  The customer does not wish to send the item back to the manufacturer, however, and has filed this claim instead.  The manufacturer deals directly with warranty claims on their items.  BestNest would be the "middle man" in terms of manufacturer warranty replacements.  It is common practice in warranty replacements of all kinds for the customer to return the item to the manufacturer.  There is nothing further for BestNest to review in this case.  The customer may simply ship their unit to the manufacturer for a replacement.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BestNest.Com blamed me for the problem.  Then suggested that a racoon caused the damage.  This company does not care about customers,  contrary to the website claim.  I want to speak with the president of the company,  please.

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response: Certainly, the customer was not blamed for the perch on his bird feeder becoming detached.  A raccoon, on the other hand, is a typical culprit for bird feeder damage and not an outlandish suggestion given the customer's claim that the perch became detached overnight.  We do everything we can to service our customers in a respectful, straightforward manner.  We facilitated a warranty claim for the customer with the manufacturer.  The manufacturer has agreed to take the item back and replace it.  There is nothing further that we can offer the customer in this case.


BestNest 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I know what I heard from Customer Service and how it was said,  indeed the context of it all.    Telling me what I heard is indicative of their approach to customers.  I again am requesting a phone call with the president of the company.

With respect to their business model, they simply do not understand that the customer is always right.

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response: With a replacement unit already being approved for the customer, there is nothing further we can add to a resolution.  The president of the company is not currently involved with customer service issues on an individual basis.  This policy nor the warranty replacement policy is not independent to BestNest's business model.


BestNest

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UNFAIR (UNCONSTITUTIONAL & JUST PLAIN MEAN) RETURN POLICY: Sent an item that was damaged prior to shipment. Required customer to exchange for duplicate item or customer would be forced to pay shipping charges to return the damaged item that was damaged before it was placed in the box - customer had no fault in this. NO OPTION of BestNest agreeing to pay return shipping and issuing a refund. Customer FORCED into a continual loop of bad purchases. CHOICES should be given to the customer whether they want to repeat a disappointing transaction or not. The only fair solution is that BestNest send a call tag to pick up this damaged item and OFFER A CHOICE of a replacement or refund. The customer should not have to be forced into something, or penalized in any way for something that was not their fault.

Desired Settlement: CALL TAG AND FULL REFUND.

Business Response:

Customer placed an order on the evening of 7/17.  Her order was shipped on 7/18.  Customer contacted BestNest on 7/23 indicating that the top of one of her items was damaged.  The customer indicated it appeared to be damaged (bent) prior to painting.  Our policies were explained to the customer.  If the customer wished to have the item replaced (the damaged portion), we could replace it at no additional cost to the customer.  If the customer wished to return, she may do so; but return credits do not include shipping charges.  Upon speaking with a manager, the customer indicated that she wished to have a replacement.  By the end of business on 7/23, the manager left a message for the customer indicating that a replacement piece is being shipped from the manufacturer.  As BestNest does not manufacture this item and it is preboxed from the manufacturer, we would have no way of knowing that this "defect" existed prior to customer contact.  This customer has ordered 4 times previously with no incidence.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not "wish" to have a replacement piece sent, I was FORCED to.  After receiving a damaged item my choice would have been to not take a chance on a duplicate item from the same manufacturer.  In order to do this, the policy at  Best Nest insisted that I pay all return shipping charges (this is a big item), or comply with their demands of accepting a duplicate.  It was only later in the day that I was notified that I would actually not be getting a new item but rather they were sending me a replacement part which I will have to install or pay someone to do so.

 

The Best Nest return policy when applied to a damaged item not the buyers fault, is unfair, unkind, and unconstitutional.  Once I received a very damaged item I should have been given choices that would have best benefitted my needs, not Best Nest needs.  And certainly I should not have been required to pay out any more monies towards a transaction that had gone wrong in order to receive satisfactory resolution.

 

As was referenced in the Best Nest reply, I have ordered from Best Nest before.  That, in itself, should have tilted the scales in my direction to work with me towards a kind and fair resolution.  Apparently, customers (old or new) do not really mean much to the staff at Best Nest.  However, since this company represents your community, I respectfully ask that the Cincinnati Better Business Bureau extend all efforts to resolve this issue in my favor. 

 

I request a call tag for this item and a full refund.

 

Regards,

 ********* ******

 

 

Business Response:

The customer was not forced in any way to received a replacement.  We will make good on the order and get the customer an item without defect.  There was no way we could have known about the "defect" prior to shipment.   The replacement piece being sent to the customer is a piece easily changed out; that would likely be removed for thorough routine cleaning.  We do not feel that a customer's decision to return an item has any bearing on an item being damaged, since we offer replacements at no additional cost.  As such, returns of any kind will be subject to no restocking fee; but be credited minus the shipping costs.  There is nothing unfair, unkind, or unconstitutional about our polices.  The customer is presented with options that they may evaluate to determine which best suit their needs.  In the event of a return, BestNest does not profit; but simply recoups monies paid for delivery to third party shipping companies.  Certainly, anyone can understand that a small percentage of damages or defects will occur, our willingness to make it right at no additional cost to the customer (a replacement or replacement piece) should not be considered unfair.  A copy of our return and damage defect policy appears below and is listed on the website and included on every packing slip with every order:

 

Return Policy

We strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction by providing top quality products. We realize, however, that sometimes an item is not exactly what you expected. If you wish to return an item within 30 days of your purchase, you may do so and receive a credit toward the purchase of another item or a refund of the purchase price. If you received an item as a gift, you may return it within 30 days of gift receipt. All returned items must be unused in original condition and original packaging. Personalized, food, or chemical items may not be returned or exchanged. Shipping charges are not refundable. If you return an item that qualified for free or reduced shipping, any shipping savings will be deducted from the refund amount. If you wish to return an item, please contact us by phone at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####. Please provide us your name, order number, and the item you wish to return. We will then issue you an RMA number that must be written on the return shipping label. Please insure and track any returned packages. Credits will be made upon receiving and examining returned items. Unauthorized returns or items returned used, damaged, or not in their original condition and packaging may result in a delayed refund, partial refund, in-store credit, or refusal of the returned items.


Damages & Missing Items

If you have received an item that has been damaged or are missing items from your order, contact us by phone at ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### within 5 business days of receipt. Keep all items, boxes, and packing material shipped to you for inspection. You will need to provide us a description of the damage to the item as well as the condition of any packaging. In the event that an order contains damaged or defective items for which a customer does not wish a replacement, the customer will be responsible for returning the items according to the return policy. For missing items, please make sure you have removed all packing material from the shipping box to confirm that the item was not hidden from view. Sometimes small items such as books are shipped inside other items to protect them during shipping. If your order required multiple boxes to ship, it may be helpful to check the tracking information to confirm that all packages have been delivered. The missing item tracking procedure typically takes 7-14 business days to complete and consists of an inventory level verification, package weight verification, and carrier investigation. You may or may not be contacted by the package carrier (ie UPS, FedEx) during this time.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The bottom line in customer service is to provide options that work best for the customer.  For BestNest to assume that my wanting to return a manufactured damaged item as having nothing to do with reasons to return is presumptious.... or perhaps they are mind readers, and I was not aware of that. 

 

I will never look at this bird feeder again without knowing the damage it arrived with or the unfair treatment I received from this company.  I will be donating it, along with the replacement part (if and when it arrives) and let another person with a fresh view try to repair it.  There is nothing wrong with offering  choice to return the defective item at no cost to the customer.  But the key word here is "choice".  All of the choices that BestNest offered were best suited for them, and not the customer.  BestNest is the front line runner for any and all of their suppliers.  To not take the burden of responsibility in the event that a customer is harmed in any way by the supplier's neglect, is simply wrong and a paramount bad business manuever. 

 

Whatever revenue your city benefitted from in my purchases from this company has ceased.  That includes my Ranch, employees, and numerous personal and business associates.  I am sending a mass email out regarding this issue to everyone I know, and then anyone they know, etc.  Many individuals will think at least twice before shopping at BestNest.  At this difficult financial time in our Country's history, it is the companies with the best customer service policies that will prevail.  Companies that endorse meanness, pettiness, and selfishness - all working against a customer's best interest - will not stand through this economic crisis.

 

A very sad ending to what could have been a simple solution.  Mr. **** at BestNest needs a review seminar in customer service skills.  To get his heels so dug in about a relatively small amount of money was immature and egocentric.  Trust me, the loss of sales caused by this will far exceed any return shipping label.

 

Regards,

********* ******

*************** *** **** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Second complaint regarding this issue: Originally seller was unwilling to send a call tag to pick up a defective item and forced me, the customer, to either 1) send the item back at my own expense, or 2) accept a replacement part. Having no win/win choice, I was coerced to choose the non-choice of a replacement part. Not only have I received the wrong part, it is defective as well. Once again, I requested that a call tag be sent to pick all of the defective items and once again, that option was refused by ****. Instead, he said he would have the manufacturer send yet another shipment. I am not sure if I am the only one here that can see how ridiculous this is getting, but my stand is this - the customer should not have to run the front line and take the hits with any Best Nest supplier. Best Nest contracts with their suppliers and should be the ones handling customer service situations rather that forcing their customers to. I do not have a relationship with their suppliers... they do. My relationship is with Best Nest, not whoever they contract merchandise from. Being forced to keep a defective item against my will, or having to be financially burdened to return the item at my expense is wrong and unfair. In addition, I am now being told that I may not speak to anyone else regarding this issue. I have asked several times to work with another Best Nest representative, but **** continues to deny me that right and says I can only talk to him. Once again, I request that I receive a call tag so I can return this item for credit and now, since this problem continues to escalate, I want to speak to someone else in charge at Best Nest. Surely, **** has a manager/owner that supervises him and will handle issues beyond ****'s capabilities... and who could consider other fair options of resolution. Why would they deny me that right? I really feel like Best Nest is now holding me and my monies hostage and this problem keeps getting worse.
Desired Settlement
CALL TAG AND FULL REFUND and DIRECT CONTACT WITH ZACK'S BOSS.

 

Regards,

********* ******

 

 

Business Response:

As per the return policy listed in the last company response,  all returns are handled in the same manner.  If the item is damaged, defective, or even in perfect condition; shipping and handling charges are not refundable.  BestNest is working with the manufacturer of the item to get the customer a replacement of the defective piece.  We do apologize that the customer received the wrong replacement piece; the correct piece should now be in transit to the customer.  BestNest does not carry replacement parts for this item, which is the reason (also that it was defective out of the box) that BestNest is not shipping directly.  We have not coerced or forced her into any one option; the options that are available to her have been available from the first call.  She may receive an item in new, unused condition or she may return it in accordance with the return policy.  The customer service manager is the highest point of call escalation.  Just as a customer who purchases an item from a physical store would need to drive back to the store to make a return; customers must return a package to BestNest in order to receive credit for the return.   

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a squirrel proof feeder from Bestnest.com. I assumed it was squirrel proof because I searched their website using that criteria and this feeder popped up. I hung the feeder on a hook and a pole and the squirrels had a good lunch. I took it down, cleaned it and called BN to return it. They refuse to take it back because it's used. They also stated after the product description on line is a note stating you may need an additional baffle to keep the squirrels out. I didn't see this but if it's represented as squirrel proof why should I need additional merchandise to make it squirrel proof and pay more money for a baffle that may or may not work. This item was misrepresented online. It's not squirrel proof without additional equipment. They won't take it back because it's "USED". How do you know if it works or not if you don't put up and try it. They didn't care, put all the blame on me for not catching the baffle info and upset me in the process. They know this feeder doesn't work with out a baffle. They've had this problem before or they wouldn't have the all important (disclaimer in my opinion) note (which I didn't see when I ordered it) under the product description. I want a refund. The product is misrepresented as squirrel proof and doesn't perform as such. Perhaps they should sell the feeder and baffle together and avoid complaints.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. I want a credit to my charge card.

Consumer Response:

Feeder is called **** *** ****** ****** ****** **** Bird Feeder*** ******* and the ad or online description can be viewed on Bestnest.com. I just typed in the search area' bird feeder squirrel proof" and that feeder and several others popped up.
* ******

Business Response:

The customer placed an order online (not through customer service) on 5/23.  The order was shipped the same day to the customer.  On 5/29 customer service received a phone call from the customer stating that the feeder was pole mounted and is not squirrel proof.  The customer requested an RMA to return the feeder.  Our return policy clearly states that only unused products are eligible for return.  The product description of the feeder purchased clearly states that when the product is pole mounted (this product is predominantly hung, but has a pole-mount feature), it may require the use of a baffle below the feeder to squirrel proof. A copy of the description appears below:  Clearly, this item is better suited for squirrel proofing from above, given that its dome is the method of squirrel proofing.  We do regret that the customer missed our note on the product description, however, we are not able to take the product back as a resalable item due to this oversight.

 




**** *** ****** ****** ****** **** Bird Feeder
The **** *** ****** ****** ****** **** Bird Feeder features a generous 16" diameter squirrel guard for maximum protection against squirrels and weather. When hung properly, squirrels will be unable to reach your seed past this large copper colored plastic dome. The feeder has three separate feeder tubes that feature a combined capacity of over 6 quarts and twelve feeding ports. Six of the feeding ports have individual perches to accommodate smaller perching birds, while the other six feeding ports are perfectly placed above the copper colored plastic seed tray for larger birds. Attract a wide variety of birds by offering three different types of seed at once. The seed ports may also be altered to accommodate different types of seed. Use the open port for large seed, or close the port, allowing it to only dispense thistle seed. The clear acrylic feeder tubes keep the seed level visible and the plastic feeder dome unscrews quickly and easily for cleaning and filling. An integrated seed funnel makes filling the feeder tubes simple and mess-free. The 10" plastic seed tray has a quick release mechanism that simplifies cleaning. The feeder is made of durable plastic and copper that will endure the elements season after season. The copper acquires a beautiful patina as it ages. This feeder may be hung or pole mounted using any pole with a 1" outside diameter (not included). One year limited warranty. 

Note: A squirrel baffle may be necessary to squirrel proof this feeder when pole mounted. 

Birds that use this feeder:
  • blackbirds, bluebirds, cardinals, chickadees, doves, finches, flickers, goldfinches, grackles, grosbeaks, jays, juncos, kinglets, mockingbirds, nuthatches, redpolls, siskins, sparrows, starlings, titmice, towhees, woodpeckers, and wrens 
Seed or Feed Options: cracked corn, mixed seed, peanut chunks, safflower seed, sunflower kernels, sunflower seed, and thistle
Capacity: 6.67 qts., 10 lbs.; 12 ports
Dimensions: 2.5" dia. tubes, 16" dia. dome, 24"H
Mounting: may be hung or pole mounted
Construction: metal, plastic
Mfg. Warranty: 1 year limited warranty
Brand:****Item Number:*******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9060747, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 This is the same thing they told me verbally.  Their return policy is a catch 22.  You don't know if the product works unless you use it.  I feel strongly the product is misrepresented.  It represents it as squirrel proof but it isn't unless you but additional equipment.  They should sell the baffle with the feeder because you apparently do need it to keep squirrels away.  Of course I don't know if the baffle will work or not.  If I buy it I have to "USE" it to see if it works rendering it non returnable.  Catch 22. If I had purchased this at a ***** or**** ***** this wouldn't be an issue.  They value their customers and their return business.

I would like contact info for the manufacturer.  I'm sure Bestnest would be happy to provide that since they just want to wash their hands of the issue. 

I am in no way satisfied with the outcome.  I can't understand why the BBB gives them AAA rating.  I'm trying to remember the stats.  Was it 23 complaints and 11 unresolved? 

Business Response: The product in questions absolutely works as advertised, provided it is installed properly.  Obviously, if a squirrel can simply climb a pole and reach the feed tray; it will need a baffle to squirrel proof when pole mounting.  Likewise, if it is hung within reach of a branch or shepherd's pole; the squirrels will use it.  The large dome of the feeder is designed to prevent squirrels from climbing down a hanger and reaching the seed.  Of the thousands of this model feeder sold, this has not been theme or repeated concern.  Simply by looking at the image of the item, most customers can deduce if it will work in their application.  For all other customers, we have customer service agents available to answer questions 9-5 est monday-friday.  The manufacturer of the item is Woodstream Mfr 800-800-1819.  It is not a matter of "washing our hands" of the situation, but acting in a fair, reasonable manner in accordance with the return policy.  The return policy is online, during checkout, and appears on every order's packing slip.  Any questions or concerns of the return policy could have been asked prior to placing an order or using any item.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

 ***** ******

 

 

 The resolution isn't satisfactory to me but I just don't want to deal with this any longer. I'll try contacting the manufacturer.  Thank you for your help.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Receiving merchandise from Best Nest was a nightmare. The order was made on November 4th to be used for the bases of centerpieces for a December destination wedding. When ordering it was noted 7-10 business days for shipping. Throughout the month of November the order was in limbo. The same standard message was given from customer service. They had 7 in stock but would not send them as a partial order until they had the other 8. The items in stock would have to be cancelled and reordered according to their policy. Several times I called I was told they would send a message to find out information and would call me within a few days. Never received a call. In early December I started to have great concern and ended up ordering 8 alternate (3 times the original item's cost)items and within 2-3 hours I received a message that the original 15 were in stock. Immediately I contacted Best Nest and was told they would not stop the order of the alternate items. OK, I was stuck and left paying the cost difference. Days later I was told they were still holding all of the merchandise. customer service knew all along time was a huge factor. 5 days later they still had not sent anything! When I called they said they were waiting to ship. Time was running out, the florist was on hold but Best nest would only use standard shipping even though I had been explaining all along the element of the wedding date. When they finally arrived items delivered were bent and missing. They did agree to ship replacements but would only to use standard shipping. They did not arrive in time. Supervisor of Customer service was extremely rude, condescending, non-accommodating.

Desired Settlement: Due to the circumstances of my being unable to cancel the alternate more expensive order attempted a few hours after ordering At that time Best Nest did have the original items in stock. The extensive amount of time and effort on my part for Best Nest to actually fulfill the order and replacements. The extreme amount of aggravation, disappointment and rudeness that I incurred as a result of this order. I would like to request that Best Nest refund the difference of $330.

Business Response: The customer placed an order for items that were out of stock.  While we make every effort to fulfill items ina  timely manner, we do not always receive items from the manufacturers according to a set time frame (ie delays in shipping, production issues, etc).  This is not individual to BestNest, but is common for the retail market as a whole.  The customer decided to fill her order with substitute items.  We did not offer to expedite any packages, but the customer is always welcome to do so at their expense.  Expeditied shipping is an exorbitant expense that most companies cannot absorb if they are offering competitive pricing.  We cannot credit the customer for a difference in cost from her original choice and her replacement choice. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Best Nest has proven to me to be company that is totally unconcerned with their customers.  After being treated so badly through the six week long process of dealing with Best Nest to receive an order of merchandise, the rudeness of their supervisor of customer service, and their unwillingness to compromise, they have once again not shown the slightest concern for their customer. Through their mismanagement in delivering merchandise, not notifying customers, and unwillingness to make allowances and accommodations the merchandise arrived too late for a wedding. Their many policies are in place to cover themselves.  I was never informed of the option to pay for an upgrade in delivery service but just the same would have expected as a goodwill gesture Best nest would have offered this themselves.  The latest responses of Best Nest continues to lack any appreciation for customer dissatisfaction. No one from Best Nest has ever even apologized. Best Nest is a very badly managed company that I never would recommend.   
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: Again, we do regret the occasional bad estimate given by a manufacturer for the delivery of goods to BestNest.  We do our very best to control aspects of stocking estimates.  All orders placed for in stock items, generally ship the same day.  After discovering our error in shipping, we notified the customer that we could ship the same day to either her florist directly or her address.  It took two days for the customer to notify BestNest of where she would like the missing items sent.  After the two day hiatus, she wished for us to expedite the shipping at our expense.  Unfortunately, expedited shipping is an exorbitant luxury we were not able to offer the customer in this instance.  Certainly, all unused merchandise is eligible for return under 30 days from the order date.  The customer never contacted BestNest to make a return. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Any of the records reviewed will note....The stated response by Best Nest that in stock items are shipped within the same day of ordering does not fit with the fact that it took over a month from the original order for me to receive the items that were in stock and were being held until the complete order was in stock.  Best Nest did, however, inform me of this when I attempted to cancel the more expensive option a few hours after that order was placed instead of notifying me that the original order was in stock and available.  Just as well I did not receive a notification from Best Nest as they state where it took me 2 days to reply.  Copies of these could be forwarded if they are available.  I was not offered the option of paying for expedited delivery.  If the claim of Best Nest's concern of  the cost of shipping it should be understood that the cost of shipping of the returned items on my part should be realized as well.  Best Nest's responses and policies proven to have little to no Customer concern. 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: Our typical return grace period is 30 days from receipt of goods, however, we will extend that period for this instance. BestNest will extend a refund for items which the customer returns, provided that they are new and unused.  Shipping and handling charges are never refundable. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  The Best Nest Company's response is not acceptable per my complaint.  The complaint remains unresolved.  Attempting to resolve this on my own lead only to rude, uncooperative, unreasonable replies.  Thank you for the opportunity to address this through the BBB. 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/6/2011 Delivery Issues
9/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1