BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used vehicle sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Hyundai North meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Superior Hyundai North include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Hyundai North include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Hyundai North
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 31, 1988 Business started: 09/15/2000 in OH Business incorporated: 09/15/2000 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dealer Licensing Division Ohio Motor Vehicles
4300 Kimberly Parkway , Columbus OH 43232
http://ohioautodealers.com/
Phone Number: 614-752-7636
Fax Number: 614-752-7220

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Betagole, President Mr. Doug Butt, General Manager Mr. Steve Massie, Vice President Mr. Vince Prop, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Betagole, President
Principal: Mr. Doug Butt, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Vince Prop, Vice President
Related Businesses
Mike Albert Fleet Solutions Superior Acura Superior Honda Superior Hyundai South Superior Automotive Group Superior Kia
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Superior Motors North, LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying a New Car Buying a Used Car Car Repairs Car, New or Used, Buying

Additional Locations

  • 5665 Dixie Highway

    Fairfield, OH 45014 (513) 870-9800 (877) 208-5091 (866) 595-0628

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 595-0628(Phone)
  • (877) 208-5091(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE purchased a car in 6/2013, first payment due 8/1/13. Payment was made by mail with the coupon that they sent us along with the check. They received the check debited it out of our account then somehow someone dropped the ball on not posting it towards our account. The company has hounded us for almost a month. We called the bank and had them send in the information to the fax number that Hyundai provided where it had been paid and still they continue to send letters. We were told at one point that it was received and being reviewed. I followed up on account a couple of days later and was advised that they in fact did not receive anything. I know that I will never do business with this company again. I think its sad due to the sales people being so kind and helpful. The collections department need a little more training. Horrible horrible company!

Desired Settlement: Apologize and post payment to the account.

Business Response:

Our General Manager contacted Ms. ******** upon receipt by us of this complaint today, she indicated that she had just gotten off of the phone with a representative from her lending institution who had just informed her that they corrected their error and applied her payment to her account.  Although she realized that this problem was not originated by the Dealership, she had gotten more and more frustrated by the failure of her lender to remedy the situation and was attempting to get the attention of someone to help her. We appreciate her business and look forward to a continuing relationship with her and her husband.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My grandson was looking to purchase a 2011 Hyundai Sonata Limited,he visited Superior Hyundai North,and talked to a **** *******.At that time he didn't discuss price,and or present his trade in vehicle,(a 1997 ***** *******) He then visited another Hyundai dealership,and he was quoted a price on a 2011 Hyundai Limited,which was written,the difference between the 2011 Hyundai,and his car including the taxes and title fees was $17,798.00*****(the Salesperson)said Oh!dont buy there,we can meet or beat the deal,I agreed and told my grandson I would rather for him to buy in ***************So she filled out the paper work,and I filled out a customer statement(CREDIT STATEMENT)which***** said that she would not submitt this,as I told her that if the figures are agreeable,I could pay cash for the car. Low,and behold the deal couldn't be met,so my grandson and I went to the other dealership to purchase the car he was quoted on,and guess what,it had been sold. Now there are two Issues here.#1 the salesperson was attempting to use what is termed as (BAIT AND SWITCH)tactics,saying that she,or they could meet the other dealers price.#2 the credit statement was submitted,as I have been receiving calls from other lending institutions. Looking to here from you:**** *******

Desired Settlement: Would like to purchase the 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited with the same equiptment that was shown to my grandson for the @17,798.00 including the taxes and title fees,including his trade.

Business Response:

*** ***** has had multiple interactions with different upper management personnel in our organization but has only corresponded via email. He made it clear to us that he had been a professional in our industry for some time. We feel that his summarization of the situation is incomplete and does not represent the entire circumstance. It is not our desire to play this out in a public forum. **** ***** General Manager, reached out to him via phone to discuss the situation. He has not returned his call. We believe, under the circumstances, that it is in the best interests of both parties for *** ***** and his grandson to continue their search for a vehicle elsewhere.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

******the message from the business(Superior Hyundai North) is a far cry from the truth.
 
#1.The only person in management that I contacted via e-mail was ***** ******,and he never responded.
 
#2***** ****,their general manager never contacted me by phone,nor any other means of communication, to discuss this issue. My phone # ###-###-#### or ###-###-####
 
#3.The sales rep(***** ********) suggested that my grandson,and I fill out a customer statement,that (WOULD NOT) be submitted until I gave them the OK,as I told her that I could pay cash for the unit,A 2011 Hyundai Sonata Limited,which the total amount was to be $17,780.00 plus his trade in,a 1997 ***** ******* This difference included all fees and the taxes
 
#4.The dealership took it upon themselves(WITHOUT MY PERMISSION) to submit the customer statement,causing 6,or 7 inquires to show up on my credit report.
 
Bottom line is this,they are taking a cavalier attitude regarding this issue,and as the famous indian warrior would say,(THEY SPEAK WITH FORK TUNG)
 
Thank you:**** *******

 

 

 

Business Response:

After receiving the response from *** ****** **** **** contacted *** ***** on his mobile number as provided. They discussed the situation and resolved the matter to the mutual satisfaction of each person.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2012 hyundai elantra in march was told it would get between 29 and 40 mpg . it doesnt get no where near that . 33 best ive gotten on highway . they have admitted they made false advertisment and offered compensation in annul gas mileage . i want them to take car back and they refuse .I want a car that got 40 miles per gallon and the knowingly sold me car that didnt get that . as a consumer and tax payer i should be satisfied . they lied to me . please get me satisfaction . im willing to pay for what time ive had the car . i know i wont be able to sale it when im ready to . this was in the paper. thank you ***** ** **********

Desired Settlement: for them to take the car back and give me a fair amount i paid 2000.00 down and 370.00 per month since april . what ever fair compensation is . you decide , Im ok with that . I have contacted ******* ****** office and were advised to you

Business Response:

 

Hyundai Motor America, the manufacturer, has acknowledged the issue and taken proactive steps based on actual tests to address the issue. The steps to take are determined as follows. The actual difference in mileage is based on the specific model is noted at the web site.

 

The process for obtaining your compensation for the fuel mileage discrepancy is : Go to the web site: www.hyundaimpginfo.com to register your vehicle. Return to the nearest Hyundai Dealer service department to initiate a claim and verify miles driven.   A debit card will be mailed out in approximately 1 week with the amount of money based on miles driven.   i.e.      15000 divided by 40 mpg   =  375 gallons of gas             15000 divided by  38 mpg  =  395 gallons of gas                                               net difference of 20 gallons of gas x  $3.85  =  $77.00                                               plus 15 % Good Will adjustment                      $11.55                                                                      Total reimbursement               $88.55fuel prices will be determined by the Goverment published prices for 2012 in the area where the car was driven 

This process can be repeated every year that the original owner owns the card.

 

We as a Hyundai Dealer are not willing to offer a settlement beyond the equitable offer made by the Manufacturer as determined in the example above.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently was in the market to purchase a 2013 Hyundai Sonata from this dealership. I met with the sales rep and test drove the car. Over the next few days, the sales rep and I exchanged emails and negotiated to a final price of $21.5K which I have in writing. I came up to the dealership to purchase the car and she met with her general manager prior to having me sign for the car and they increased the price to $22.6K. I told them I wasn't interested in the price increase and left. I called the GM the following day and he told me that a mistake was made and that they never offered that price. I told him that I had it in writing from his email and he said that it was a mistake. He wasn't willing to offer his commitment on $21.5K and now all the manufacturer incentives have expired for the month of November and I missed my opportunity to purchase this car at a reasonable price.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to purchase the car from this dealership, however I would like Hyundai Corporate to offer the same incentives from October into November.

Business Response:

*** ******** had multiple interactions with our Sales Representative. He indicated that he had a firm offer from another Hyundai dealer. Our Sales Representative indicated that we would sell him the car for $21,500 but he would have to legitimize the offer from the other Hyundai dealer with a signed commitment from that dealer. He was unable to produce the signed commitment indicating to our Sales Manager that he really did not have a signed offer but that “it is how he negotiates”. As a result, we were not willing to finalize a sale to him at that price.

His ask that Hyundai Motor America, the manufacturer, continue the same incentives for November that were offered in October is outside the scope of our control.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The last statement made by the dealer is inaccurate. They never asked for a signed commitment from the other dealer in order to sell the car for $21,500. I've attached a letter that clearly states their final number is $21,500 without any conditions.

 

Regards,

**** ********

 

Consumer Response: Not sure why the other dealer offer is important. The Hyundai Superioir North dealer made the $21.5k offer without seeing the offer from the other dealer. Agree?

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought certified preowned vehicle from them in 2010. Had a warranty issue that they tried lying they fixed, then lied that they could fix it. Needless to say they had my car for 8 weeks and the problem was never fixed. The customer service was horrible and after they were telling me they were firing people for their mistakes. I dont' want to hear anyone losing their job. Plus they said they fixed something, fixed it again, and tried recharging me for that. I went in personally and the GM wouldn't do anything except try to make more money off of me.

Desired Settlement: I went to this dealership and paid good money for a car, then turned around and bought and extra warranty to help cover the car. I talked to the GM the day I picked up the car about trading it in, however I didn't want to get hosed again. I want to trade my car in for a new one, but the GM wouldn't budge on 3000 worth of extra accessories his dealership had put into the car. I shouldn't be penalized for the car not working properly and their incompetence and terrible service.

Consumer Response: I attempted to trade in Car (the one they can't fix) in for new car.  I attempted to trade in car and pay additional $5000 for a new car, that way I wouldn't rid myself of the problem that they couldn't fix.  They countered with 8 grand more plus trade in, but GM said they couldn't take a loss on it, or in other words, they wanted to make a profit, again.  Didn't see how that was fair especially if I would have to run my credit again and go through all the hassles like tags/plates etc, when I didn't do anything wrong and they can't hold up their end of the bargain.  At this point, it's obvious they can't fix it.  I would want to trade in for a NEW vehicle with minimal cost to myself, otherwise i just want people to know so that don't suffer the same misfortunes we did from this dealership.

Business Response: *** *** *** ******** brought their vehicle in approximately two months ago for service. Unfortunately, the problem with their vehicle was not managed and handled in a timely manner. We did an extremely poor job of managing their expectation. This issue was escalated to the General Manager* **** ****. Knowing how unhappy they were with their vehicle, *** **** offered them a discounted deal on another vehicle. The ********* were interested in a new Santa Fe. The specific vehicle discussed was a certain model with the specific factory options  for that model. There were no “dealer installed options" as *** ******** implies. At no time during the discussion with *** **** did the subject of “unwanted accessories” come up.   They insisted on an additional $3,000 discount  on that specific vehicle which we were not willing to do* *** ********** assertion that we “lied” about fixing the problem is a strong one. We cannot address accurately the interaction that she had with her initial point of contact. We can say that as an Organization, we do not condone or encourage that type of behavior. *** ****, upon being made aware of the situation, acknowledged the problem and made a good faith effort to address their desire to purchase a new vehicle. *** **** stands by his original offer and would suggest that another Hyundai dealer would not be willing to match the same offer made by *** **** to the *********.   In summary, we are disappointed in our team’s handling of this situation, but have a difference of opinion with *** ******** regarding an appropriate remedy for their situation. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We never requested a new Santa Fe, we requested a new Sonata.  Actually it was a 2012 that they had on their lot with heated seats and a package that Superior Hyundai  put on the car to sell it.  In their own personal car inventory book, which was laid out in front of us, an amount of approximately 2700 was listed in pen next to the typed info of the car.  After looking into it, the car had post manufacturer additions put on totaling approximately 2700, however previously the car was listed for less.  The general manager's exact comment was "well I can't take a loss on the vehicle", which means he has to make a profit.  He even made the comment "I can't really negotiate because I'm not a sales rep". However, no compensation would be made to us for our time, gas, useless warranty purchase, running our credit and financing all to obtain the a replacement car in question.  We, the consumer, we're again, taking a loss.  What the GM and this dealership failed to recognize is this not another sale, but a reparation for the original sale they had made.

Secondly, lies were made.  The vehicle originally had work done 3 weeks previous to this to fix another problem.  At the time, we requested to pay for a vehicle realignment or balance/rotation.  4 weeks later after I've returned the car to the dealership again saying the problem has not been fixed, the technician called and told me they had fixed the car, it was a vehicle alignment or balance/rotation problem and they fixed this, so my problem would be resolved.  This was a lie to pacify us and get us out of their hair for 2 reasons.  1.)  The car only had the problem when it was stopped, not rolling, so I don't know how fixing my alignment or balancing a tire would correct this  2.)  Because we had just paid for this same exact procedure 3 weeks before, so how in 3 weeks with maybe 200 miles of drive broken?   The car wasn't fixed, but it was convenient way to say the issue had been resolved. 

In closing, I have the same problem with the same car, from the same dealership, who sold me the worthless warranty, and then held my car for over 2 months, and lied to us several times and never called us about it.  Their response is factually incorrect and we do not accept their offer since it would again put us at a loss.

Regards,

******* ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told i had to get Gap Insurance to obtain loan. After i got home and read contract, It said not nessacary to obtain credit.

Desired Settlement: Want full amount of Gap insurance ($499)credited to account

Business Response: GAP Insurance was cancelled and proceeds applied to the outstanding loan balance by the lender.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Elantra a week ago and after I was told everything was good 5 days later I am informed i need a cosigner because the bank isn't going to give the dealership the money. Why in the **** would i be able to leave the dealership with a brand new car and they not have proper payment. Now i'm trying to return it for all the hassle and annoyance/added stress, and they are being very uncooperative. The dealership now is trying to string me along instead looking for more banks which adds drive time and if they come up short with the loan how much am i really going to get back of my $5k downpayment? The salesman tries to talk over me and not listen to my concerns yet he is the one i'm stuck talking to most of the time to resolve this issue. Superior Hyundai is more concerned with getting stuff off their lot than helping the customer.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit in full back and i'll return the car in its pristine condition.

Business Response: *** ****** returned the vehicle and we refunded him his deposit as he requested.

Consumer Response:

They did resolve part of my complaint, but i still want this to stand as they conned me into thinking i had a bank to give me a loan without a cosigner, let me drive it off the lot, keep it for a week just about, and then ask for it back.  All this resulted in a huge disadvantage for myself having to find rides to work when i believed i was good with the new car.  I think were all adults and its pretty irresponsible or unprofessional to give someone a car without the for sure backing of a bank.  Its honestly seems like a scam and i'm glad i got away from them, but I will not take this complaint down.




Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a ******* ******* On August 16, 2009. The car has a spoiler on the back on the car that was on it when we bought the car. Now the clear coat is peeling off and the paint looks really bad on the spoiler. Well I took it to them and found out the paint is only covered for 3years 36,000 miles which ever comes first. I get that but my husband is a Disabled American Veteran which was medically retired from the Air Force in May 2011 while he was on active duty he was going to the base every day and now the car has est. 51,000 miles on it that was racked up due to having to drive back and forth to Dayton Air Force base for medical issues that he had gotten from being in the military. I am not asking for nothing more than to take care of this defective in the paint on the spoiler you can't tell me mileage had anything to do with a paint defect. They have been very rude and not helpful and we were never told that there was only 3 years on paint. We were told 5 years 60,000 for most things with it going to 10 years a 100,000 miles why is a defect in the paint only covered to 36,000 or 3 years.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to take care of the spoiler to prime it and paint it and then clear coat it. This a defect in the paint and clear coat nothing we did caused this. This should be taken care of.

Business Response: **** ****, General Manager, was unaware of this situation until this contact. He reached out to **** *****. She has an appointment with us on Wednesday, June 20 at 8:30 am to have the spoiler repainted as requested.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** *****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2011 ****** on April 22, 2012. Salesman/financer, ******, informed us by the following Wednesday, April 25th, we would have all accessories associated with sale - floor mats, additional key, and key fob. I still do not have everything as promised. As of now, I can't get a return call. My messages fall on deaf ears.They made the sale, got their commission, and they're done.

Desired Settlement: Would like Superior Hyundai to fulfill its part of the sale and send what was promised - send a key fob for my purchase.

Business Response: *** ******* was promised these items as part of his purchase. **** ****, General Manager, contacted him on May 8. Apologized for the mixup. Verified that *** ******* had received all of the promised items except for the key fob. We over-nighted the extra key fob on 5/10. *** **** left a message on 5/14 with *** ******* to verify receipt of the package. We are awaiting confirmation from *** *******.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

******* *******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1