BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (847) 844-1300 Fax: (847) 428-4281 120 Prairie Lake Rd Ste D, East Dundee, IL 60118 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WellExpert meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WellExpert include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on WellExpert
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2005 Business started: 03/24/2000 Business started locally: 03/24/2000 Business incorporated 03/24/2000 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Scaletta, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Scaletta, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Egress Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Alternate Business Names
Scenic Window Wells, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 120 Prairie Lake Rd Ste D

    East Dundee, IL 60118


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We requested a quote from the Company for window well covers. We provided measurements and information. They gave us a quote of $202.80, we hired them, and they performed the work. This morning we received an email from them stating that they had charged our credit card for $260.40 - a 28% increase. The amount had not been agreed upon. They had not informed us that the agreed upon price would increase between the time they performed the work and charged the credit card. As such, It is my contention that they fraudulently charged my credit card. When I confronted them, they said that the increase was due to more materials being required than previously estimated. Although this seems reasonable in practice, I have two serious complaints: - No one from the company contacted us to tell us of the price increase PRIOR to charging my cards. No one called and told us the reason for the price increase, they only sent a receipt after the fact - most likely they hoped we would not notice the difference. - I find it very suspicious that they offered us a lower price and then suddenly increased the price because they "needed more materials." I am very curious to know if the Better Business Bureau has had complaints like this in the past. It seems very suspicious that they may be low-balling their bids in order to get the work past the point of no return and then suddenly requiring extra materials. An honest business practice would be to estimate high and then surprise with a discount if necessary. However, they surely know we are getting multiple quotes and trying to use that to their advantage. When I confronted the company about it, their representative was very rude.

Desired Settlement: I would like the extra amount they charged me refunded. I would appreciate contact from a customer representative of the Company or the manager.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****** We gave the customer a quote based on her measurements of 36x16. Our quotes are given based on the customers measurements of the well. When we come out to do the work we do a re-measure and custom build the covers right on-site. We do not come out just to measure the wells. We scheduled her order according to her measurements. And emailed the order confirmation to her. Which clearly states the terms and conditions: "Order Confirmation - Terms & Conditions are outlined below - PLEASE READ Based on the phone order you have placed we will be at your home on the install date shown below to custom fabricate window well covers. Since all of our work is custom, window covers are not returnable. Examples of our work can be seen on our website at Pricing is based on the information you provided and is shown below. Should actual sizing differ, pricing will be adjusted accordingly. Moreover, WellExpert reserves the right to complete the work without any additional notification to the customer and charge customer the adjusted amount. Payment is requires upon completion of the work. If the job is canceled for any reason on the scheduled install day, a $75 cancelation fee will be charged." When we arrived on site her wells were clearly considerably larger and her covers needed to be cut from 52x26 cut sheet and not the 40x18 as originally quoted. The covers were fabricated and she was charged for the larger cut sheet and we continued to honor the 40% off discount as originally quoted. The charges were then processed to her card. We emailed her the paid receipt. The customer needs to read the terms and conditions, and should have measured her entire well. We do not "low-ball" quotes, often times we refund customers as their wells are sometimes smaller than they originally anticipate. We also do not estimate "high". We estimate for accuracy assuming the customer is always giving us as accurate information as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The measurements provided were accurate based on the information on the company's website. Our representative asked for the make-up of our well, and we clearly told him brick (we have the email where we state the well was made of brick). It was the fact that the well was made of bricks that increased the size of the material needed. Because this is not an area of expertise for us, we had no way of knowing that the size of the bricks could alter the bid. But our rep would have known that and did not follow up and request for us to measure the bricks. Furthermore, the additional costs were 28% of the original quote. Our decision to use the business was based on the quoted price. If our rep had asked for us to re-measure because of the use of bricks, the quote would have been higher. As the customer, we were not able to make a completely informed decision as to whether the price they offered was ultimately the least expensive. Finally, the business is not addressing their lack of customer service, which has been our main concern. At no time did they inform us about the additional costs until AFTER our credit card had been charged. They had the opportunity to inform us the day the covers were installed, or upon the first business day after, or even to call us before they charged our card, go over the bill, and ask if we had any questions. I feel that they took liberties with the credit card number we entrusted them with. When we explained our dissatisfaction to the business, they responded that they were rated "A+" with the Better Business Bureau. Based on our experience, I would say that rating is misleading. We paid the higher charge in full because they threatened to put a lien on our house, and we do not contest the quality of the covers they installed. We are concerned at their treatment of customers and the fact that they raise their prices only after the work is done, and we want other potential customers to understand what they are getting in to. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/11/20) */ 11/19/14 The customer is correct in stating that the size of the well did differ due to the brick encasement. The customer refused to participate in a phone conversation regarding the well. The customer was indeed quoted a low price and knew it was low and it is for that reason they booked the job and chose not to participate in conversation knowing the brick encasement would come up. We will refund the $40 dollars and will make a notation in our system not to do business with them in the future.

9/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service