BBB Accredited Business since

Cover Up Window Wells, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 267-4242 Fax: (630) 681-8717 6n257 Robert Ct, Medinah, IL 60157 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cover Up Window Wells, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cover Up Window Wells, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cover Up Window Wells, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 01/16/2008 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Kate Ludera, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kate Ludera, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Windows - Wells & Covers Guards - Door & Window Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were mailed a flyer for a window well cover. I called to inquire about the size for our window well, I was told it was normal. I expected to be charged for a normal window well cover. Once installed I received an invoice for almost $60 more than quoted for a normal window well cover and called to ask. They stated it was a super size that we had installed. I should have been told that prior to installation and I would have declined the service. They have 100% money back guarantee on the flyer. I would like them to remove the window well cover as I will get one elsewhere. I received a call today that stated if I do not call them today they are reporting me to a collection agency for non payment and they are putting a lien on my home. I feel this is threatening as they cannot put a lien on my home. I want them to honor their 100% satisfaction guarantee and take back their well cover or honor the price we were told. I also want an apology for the rude phone call I received.

Desired Settlement: either remove it and quit calling me or honor the price for the normal size cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 15, 2013/12/06) */ A window well cover order was placed by ***** ***** back in June 2013. He provided the size of his window well, 46x37 and was given a price of $184.00 total. We contacted this customer several times regarding making his payment, with no response until now when is wife is making a complain that she was charged the wrong amount. Her husband placed an order with us, and if he would have a problem with the price quoted, he would not order this custom cover. It is obvious ****** ***** simply does not want to pay for the product her husband ordered. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/12/09) */ Per ***** ***** the price quoted was not the price charged. We have only received one phone call and one invoice. Once we received the invoice we contacted your business to dispute the amount. The "regular" size was the price quoted. I no longer have the flyer that was mailed but it was closer to $120 for the regular size. After the threatening phone call to put a lien against my house, which you can't do, I asked for you to take the window well cover back as I do not want it for price you billed us since the price was not the same as it was quoted. I don't want your product as the quality is poor and your business ethic is poor. I have asked for you to make arrangements with me to pick up the cover but in 3 months I have not been contacted. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of the consumer's signed contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2013/12/30) */ We do not refer to custom covers as being a normal size. As written on our postcards next sizes and pricing, customer is responsible for measuring well size and will be charged based on size of well covers built. Customer provided measurement of 47x36, which falls into supersize window well, and was given a price for that size, and order was placed. Before custom cover is made, each well is remeasured on site, and size provided by this customer when placing the order was the same. Customer received multiple invoices and phone calls to pay for the product ordered, but did not honor to pay for our service. After several months, company decided to go through collection service, and only then the customer decided to complain about our product. Each cover is custom made on site and is not returnable. It is obvious, this customer does not want to pay. We are an ethical company, and this is a first time we came across such a complain.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Phone order placed for Basement Window Well covers and ladder on `8/5/13 with total price given for install on 8/14/13. Called on 8/14/13 that installation of window well covers would be done 8/15/13. When asked about ladder, company rep seemed surprised. 8/15/13- Installation performed 8/15/13 of Window Well covers only. ~8/19/13 Company called, with difficulty on their end finding evidence of the ladder order. Told that ladder needs to be ordered and will be sent. 9/5/13 Receive bill dated 8/26/13 with payment due date of 9/9/13, with a $30 late charge if not paid on time. 9/6/13 called company asking for delivery date of ladder and questioning the short payment period. Told that they would not charge a late fee, with a new invoice to be included when the ladder arrives. Company unable to provider ladder tracking number. Told that Manager would call me back. With no response received from Company, called back on 9/12/13. Told that ladder would arrive 9/16/13 and that I would need to install. Referred to their invoice indicating free installation, with company agreeing to install. Again reminded company that I would like to discuss with management billing/ordering concerns, told none available and would receive call back. Ladder installed on 9/16/13. Included invoice date of 9/9/13 with payment due date of 9/26/13. As of 9/19/13 I have not been contacted by management regarding my concerns.

Desired Settlement: Communication from company management that they will improve their customer communication and billing practices, allowing adequate time for customer payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 17, 2013/12/06) */ Our custom service person apologized for being late with delivering the ladder. As any business, we have issues with the company supplying us the ladders, hence the late delivery. The customer was told he does not have to pay until the ladder arrives.