BBB Accredited Business since

Window World of Joliet

Phone: (815) 729-3100 Fax: (815) 729-3103 1504 Essington Rd, Joliet, IL 60435 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of Joliet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of Joliet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Window World of Joliet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 11, 2011 Business started: 01/18/2010 Business started locally: 01/18/2010 Business incorporated 01/18/2010 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Brian Hopkins, Owner Mr. Scott Williamson, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Brian Hopkins, Owner
Related Businesses
Window World of Rockford
Number of Employees


Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Doors - Vinyl Windows Windows - Vinyl Siding Contractors Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Window World of Joliet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1504 Essington Rd

    Joliet, IL 60435 (815) 729-3100


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchase a exterior back door from them last year 2014 in August. We told the sales person we were upset with our door and he guarantee that the new door wouldn't leak. we also want to put in a dog door, that sales person contacted ****** *** and said that ****** *** would only guarantee the hold for the dog door f they cut it, so we hired them. Since it was installed late of 2014 this door has been leaking. They have been out more then 4 times trying to fix it and nothing. The last time they blamed the dog door, we had to show them that the dog door is sealed that no water will leak anywhere. So they then set out *** there head installer and he caulk the bottom of the door again. Now that my floors are rotting and my home smells like mildew and mold is going they keep give me the round around. I have put in new floors because the salesperson guarantee the door from leaking and now I have to replace the floor by the door, which can't be done till the leak is fixed and with the amount of rain we have been getting the entire house smells due to the leak of the exterior door. Either we want our money back and be paid for the damage to the floor or we want them to redo the door. Because exterior door should not allow water in.

Desired Settlement: We want either a refund so we can hire someone to correct the problem before theres black mold under by floors or we want a completely new door installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *****, VP Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****** We have been to the clients house several times to review and attempt resolution. Upon receipt of this latest concern, we engaged the door manufacturer to send and meet the owner of the store at the home. We made some adjustments and sealed an additional point. Our tech was asked to come back when convenient for the customer to make one other adjustment and that will be done tomorrow. This should resolve any remaining concern about leaks under normal rain events. We have made an offer of financial resolution due to the circumstance and expect to reach both a complete resolution this week. We appreciate their patience and their desire to work with us to get this issue settled and working as designed.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted them to replace our old and rotting wood windows and doors with vinyl. We wanted everything to look the same as it did before, but using vinyl instead of wood. We paid extra to have the wood-look on the inside. We wanted what we already had but in vinyl for easier maintenance. The main issue, that really created an adverse relationship with *****, the owner, was when the fiberglass (they don't come in vinyl) patio doors were installed. (These new doors did NOT look like the patio doors we wanted to replace. (I mentioned this to the installers but to no avail. They just wanted to finish so they could get paid). The wood (in this case fiberglass) to glass ratio was much different than the pictures shown to us in the brochure from *********** The doors in the brochure would have been fine. What we were NOT told was that the doors we needed had to be narrower than the one I was shown in the brochure. Apparently when they narrowed the doors, ****** *** adjusts by making the glass area 5 inches narrower on all three doors! My lake front view was lessened by a total of 15 inches across and a few inches in length. These were not like the patio doors we were replacing! Being the main view of the lake it's very important to us. The difference made us feel like we were looking through the windows of the Lake County Jail, narrow and tall. This is an exaggeration of course but it was the first thing I thought of. The doors were misrepresented from the beginning. I only found out about this glass size being narrower because after the fact I called around to ***** and ********** themselves. The sizes are listed in the ordering book. I WAS NEVER GIVEN THIS INFORMATION FROM WINDOW WORLD AT ALL OR I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED THE DOORS! I wanted to return the doors but I didn't get what I wanted. I was told this would not happen because they are custom doors. But it was not my fault! Why should we, the customer, have to suffer the consequences? After this incident things got very uncomfortable with *****. The casings (trim?) we agreed to in the beginning were supposed to be, or look like, the same as the old trim. But when it came time for the trim we were presented with was a cheap, pine, gel-coated trim that was extremely blotchy. It was not even close to what we had. *****, from Window World Rockford, IL resolved that issue. It was an outstanding job. He understood what we wanted whereas ***** started to argue that what he tried to put was the same as what we had, or this was what they normally use. Another broken promise was that we were told, by *****, that we could use our existing blinds which we factored in the price when we decided to go with Window World. Not needing to by new blinds was a big savings. But the quarter round they put inside the casing (trim?) prevented us from doing so. On his word, we spent the money and sent all our blinds, 21 in all, to be cleaned and replaced after the project was done. If the quarter round had not been used it would have been possible. So now we have 21 clean blinds but no where to hang them. We have not paid window world in full according to *****. We would be ***** to just settle for a refund of the doors and we would complete the rest of the project ourselves. We would have to find new patio doors somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: Refund of patio doors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/23) */ This project was installed 1/15/14 We provided service at her house on the following dates: 2/24/14, 3/6/14, 3/31/14, 4/7/14 to accommodate her subjective criticismsm without hesitation . In fact , we made four attempts for her at no cost to appease her color concerns on the interior at our expense. On 2/24/14 , ***** ********** spoke to the homeowner and indicated that , while we have made no error on our documents or in process, we understand her position and have learned what we might review in better detail for future customers, that said, a resolution was proposed with regard to the outstanding balance. On numerous occasions the customer rejected the interior trim, which we offered multiple options including an exact match squared off extension jamb which would have worked with her blinds but she choose not to use that after we trucked it on from out of state for her. Additionally , she signed off on her documents relating to the contract. The paperwork clearly states that we are not responsible for her blinds. She had the option of mounting her blinds outside the pocket in any number of other options. She made her own decisions on those issues . We explicitly stay away from responsibility for interior blinds for exactly this reason, these are personal not practical objective decisions in many cases and the customer knows their needs in that regard better than we do. We provided the windows as described in the contract, period. And she is happy with the windows. The door issues related to glass size have never been mentioned in any document during the sale or on any contract documents.. The literature makes no reference to glass and had the customer verbally referenced the fact that she had wanted to be sure to keep the same glass size we would have made every effort to make sure that it was ordered that way if possible for the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3001, 12, 2015/04/10) */ I don't understand how my instructions to keep everything the same as I have but in vinyl, or in the case of the patio doors fiberglass, would be interpreted as less glass on the window that best showcases our lakefront view. In this case there is a total of 15"X 65" area of glass that I LOST. It's the equivalent to the size of one of the glass panes we have now! I have made many calls about this situation. I called ***** because they sell ********** doors. I was told that when the doors are made smaller, the glass is the part that gets changed to a smaller size, not the "wood" area. That is why the door in the brochure the Window World showed me as an example of the door I was getting had the proportions of my old patio doors. Of course when I called ********** I was told that they "just make the doors" and Window World was responsible. I called Window World corporate office and was given the same response. I also was told to by the Window Office in Peoria to call the people that actually put the doors together. There were more suggestions coming from Window Word's office but it was just a runaround. Then no returned phone calls, no return emails, nothing! Why am I, the customer, responsible for the actions and mistakes I didn't make? I'm not privy to the ordering process. I leave it up to the professionals. So when I told them I wanted everything the same, just in a different, easy to care for material, I meant it! There was a window brought in that was not the same as my old one but we kept it because we liked it. Now the patio doors have moisture in between the double panes on 2 of the panels. They won't come out because I refuse to pay the remaining balance of the doors I don't want and they won't take back. They won't come out for the windows either. They have to put in the correct inner molding so I can put up my blinds. I was going to let this go, but there are nail pops under a window they put in our bedroom. We were going patch it ourselves but now we want them to do it. There is nothing I can do with the patio doors I have now. They will have to be replaced. I will have to pay again for new doors and an installer. It's very nice that ***** has learned a lesson from this for the future. Why are we paying the price for his lesson? Shouldn't they pay for their own mistakes?

12/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased windows in July of 2014. We attempted to get approximate date for installation. Claimed windows would be on a certain date and that they would call back for installation. A week goes by w/no call. Told by sales rep at the time of sale that it would be 6 to 8 weeks to receive windows and he wrote this on contract. When I spoke w/him registering my complaint about timing, he was very rude and stated that he told me it would take 8 to 10 weeks from order date. Now the windows are installed but missing parts and a tear in one of the screens. The installer(*******)was very polite and pleasant to deal with notified the office of these issues. Nothing happened. It took a complaint call and still nothing. I email the company stating that I was tired of being lied to. Received email back from someone saying that they would call me by phone. No call, another lie and very poor customer service. Installer came out to repair leaking windows. He had a fit that the part and screen that was supposed to be sent to us was never received. Someone from his office instructed to him to go locally and buy screen and do repair on site. This was done. The missing part that he informed the office still has not received. ******* ordered the missing part again on the 16th. We have yet to receive the part. I called this morning at 8:30 am requesting a call back. It is now 11:45 and no call back. I can not and will not recommend this company for window replacement. Please handle my complaint using your standard procedures.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Resolve the issue and inform others regarding Very Poor Customer Relations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/06) */ In response to Mr ****** complaint. We sold the job on July 23rd and at that time the salesman put 6-8 weeks for an install. Mr ****** called angry at the 6 week mark of the 6-8 weeks looking for his windows, at which time we told Mr ****** generally we run 8-10 weeks. We told Mr ****** that we call when the windows arrive to set the install and the reason he hadn't heard from us yet is that we didn't have the windows. Mr ****** immediately called us liars and hung up on the office staff. At that time 8-10 weeks was the normal time for us. We accommodated Mr ****** and got his windows installed 2 days past the 8 week mark. The day of the installation, the installer stated that he was missing a part for the window, and the screen needed to be replaced. Also, Following the installation, the homeowner had additional exterior finishing to perform per his own design requests that work was done by the homeowner after we left the jobsite. The office ordered those pieces that same day. Again, we call to let the customer know the status when the items arrive. The pieces came in 2-3 weeks later and were mailed to the homeowners house. In the meantime we sent the installer back to the house because Mr ****** said the windows were leaking. At that time we hadn't received the screen yet, so I asked the installer to screen on site. It wasn't told to the office that the one part that was mailed to him was incorrect until weeks after, and immediately we set up a service for the business owner to personally bring the parts to Mr ******. The business owner during his visit showed Mr ****** that there was a significant gap above the openings with his added work and he needed to seal or flash above his work and add exterior trim to ensure better chance of water not infiltrating behind his casing and getting behind the wall. Mr ****** acknowledged that he missed that detail and needed to perform that work and had missed doing that before the visit. We have completely satisfied our end of the contracted services, and all stated issues have been addressed and completed. In response to Mr ****** stating that he had consistently reached out and didn't get a response, Mr ****** was reaching out through our corporate email system rather than a direct phone call to our Joliet office and that is what caused a lag time, and that is why there wasn't an immediate call back. We make every effort to address any and all concerns in a timely fashion, when the concerns are submitted through correct systems. The business owner offered to review circumstances in detail and contact him following the visit to see how we may improve communication where deficiencies may have occurred during his experience. He rejected that offer of closure and then files this report. He is still covered under warranty and we will maintain and honor our contract regardless. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) More lies but I do not expect anything different from this company. They will say anything to CTA. The significant gap he reference to has NOTHING TO WITH THE LEAK and he pointed this out to me on his customer complaint call. The significant gap is less than 1/32" The leaking was not caused by this gap and he knows this.His claim was that the style of window is subject to this form of leak. He admitted to this. I pointed out to him that when we receive freezing rain and freezes that the area that leak will expand and become worse. He agreed but had no resolution for a inferior design. I also pointed out to him that the window salesman did a disservice to us by not recommending changes to installation to prevent visual interference looking out of our porch. He attempted shift the blame back on me. No apology, just blame shift. I will not release Window World from any liability until we go through winter weather. The windows have a defect design or they would not leak where they do. Period! Windows should not leak. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/11/21) */ I, as the business owner, reviewed the installation and communication timeline . I met with the owner and installed the missing weep cover . The customer is under our lifetime warranty and has rights to repair for any items on the window that he or any other warranty holder may have in this case. While he may have a difference of opinion on construction and window engineering than the plant, it is our experience with swing and clean windows, that the window in question is operating normally and did not allow water in past the frame. The customer provided and installed his own casing and sealant outside of our frame to complete his installation as he requested . This work was not sealed properly and appears to have contributed to a minor leak below the slider on one side. On a standard installation , we would have supplied and installed adjacent trim, casing and sealant. While on site, I directed the customer to missing sealant above heads of these openings . The customer acknowledged he failed to seal that on his work and I mentioned that he would likely have leak g and or freeze/thaw issues resulting from such a void. He then indicated he would address those opening which he was responsible for. We will be here for them should need arise for corrective action on our product or work. -***** *******

10/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** ****** the Homeowners Association where I live required that we use Window World in Joliet to replace all of the windows in our townhomes. When I first called Window World, they told me they did not need to visit my home to take window measurements. They could tell what sized windows just by driving by. I told them that was not true and arranged an appointment to have the windows delivered. They did so. When the installers arrived to install the windows on 7/5/14, they had the wrong size window for the second bedroom, and they did not have the wood with them to finish the interior trim.They returned to install the den window on 8/3/14 to install the window and trim. A few days later I noticed that the window screens in both bedrooms had large gaps on each side. That explained the bugs I had been getting in the house. They returned with new screens on 8/8/14 which still left gaps on each side.They returned today 9/20/14, and the screens still do not fit properly.I paid $3414.00 for these windows, and Window World has yet to get them correct. Product_Or_Service: Windows and Screens

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Replace the window screens with screens that fit properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: 815.******** Contact Email: ****** n response to Ms ********'s Claims: We went to the ******** residence on 4/30/14 to give Ms ******* a Quote which she signed and put a 50% deposit down. On 7/5/14 we installed 3 windows and one patio door with plans to install the 4th window on another date due to a salesman error in that he ordered the wrong size window. We returned on 8/3/14 and installed the remaining window and some wood stops. The customer was satisfied with the work and signed the completion and made the final payment. On 8/7/14 Ms ******** contacted the office stating that two screens did not fit properly. We processed a remake order that day for two new screens based on the factory sizes for the particular windows. On 8/29/14 we made a return visit to install the new screens, the customer called back that day and said that the screens again did not fit properly. The installer said they were 1/16th too small On 9/18 we again returned to replace the screens which again didn't fit, we asked the installer to take measurements and report to us exact sizes needed. We placed the order that day with the sizes that were needed. On 9/25 the service tech brought the reordered screens to Ms ********'s residence. One of the two fit to her satisfaction, we reordered the smaller one and expect to have it in within the next week at which time we will bring to Ms ********** residence and install. XXX-XXX-XXXX Window world of Joliet

4/2/2013 Delivery Issues