BBB Accredited Business since

Renewal by Andersen

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 486-4040 Fax: (847) 486-4010 2300 Ridge Dr, Glenview, IL 60025 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.renewalbyandersen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Renewal by Andersen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Renewal by Andersen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Renewal by Andersen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 07, 1999 Business started: 02/01/2001 Business started locally: 02/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Scott Grider Mrs. Mary Landwer, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Scott Grider
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Home Improvements Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Renewal by Andersen has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2 Yorktown Convenience Center

    Lombard, IL 60148

  • 2300 Ridge Dr

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 486-4040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not try to use the blind until I wanted to wash my windows after the harsh winter. The service man tried to fix it, but could not, & told me I waited too long to call. I called the office, & was told they would do nothing to resolve my complaint. After ordering all my windows, this was the way I was treated. If I have to replace the one blind, I'll have to replace four to match. These blinds are about 17 years old. What can I do? Please help!

Desired Settlement: Either fix if they can, or replace all four blinds so they match.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/16) */ We have reached out directly to the customer and have determined next steps in resolving her concerns.

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** the saleswoman for Andersen asked if we were interested in window or door replacement. I said I wasn't interested at this time, she then became distraught over me constantly telling her how I am not interested in any of their services. She then started looking at my door and asked if this door had a permit to be installed which started to agitate me and I took her flyer with her name with the coupon.

Desired Settlement: To leave me alone at my own house. If I were interested in any repairs I would contact somebody.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/24) */ I sincerely apologize for your experience. We pride ourselves on providing homeowners with the best experience and I'm sorry this was not the case for you. Our door-to-door representatives are licensed and have permits to be in neighborhoods, however, if you are interested in being placed on our Do Not Solicit list, please send us your address to **********@andersencorp.com or call us XXX-XXX-XXXX. Again, I apologize and appreciate your feedback and consideration. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Wanting to not be disturbed by solicitation was my desired result. As far as I'm concerned the conflict is resolved under the condition that they don't knock on my door. Thank You

3/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past few years (during our harsh winters) we have had ice build up inside our house on our Andersen Replacement Windows. One year the service guy came out and changes the rubber strips that are supposed to seal the windows. The next year the ice was worse. Last year he came out and caulked the frame. He also told us the problem was our curtains were too think and impeded the air flow. He suggested we purchase new curtains, which I did. This year we have ice again. I called and scheduled a service person to come out today at 10:00 a.m. No one arrived by 10:30 a.m. so I called to find out what happened. I left a message as no one answered. I tried to follow-up with the corporate office, but each time I was told the only thing to do was call the same number and leave a message. I'm out of options here. I've tried for years to get them to honor the warranty. I'm trying to work with them, but they just keep throwing it back on me. New curtains? I'm not talking about a draft. I have an actual ice build up. I have photos, but they just act like they see it all the time. I want them to refund out money so I can purchase new windows to replace the trash we bought form Andersen Replacement Windows.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund what we paid for the windows. I want to purchase new windows to replace the trash we bought from them. I can't live with ice on my bedroom windows.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/03/30) */ *****, ******** <**************@andersencorp.com> Mon, Mar 30, 2015 at 12:57 PM To: ********* *******" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Cc: ****** ******* <********@chicago.bbb.org>, ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> ******* Warranty service was performed on 3/20 for ***** *******. We left a follow message with the customer on 3/26 to make sure all concerns were resolved. As of today, we have not heard back from the customer. Regards, ******** ***** Service Quality Assurance Specialist Renewal by Andersen Corporation XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 13, 2015/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not receive a follow-up message. The main problem with closing this complaint is I won't know until next winter if the repairs worked. I only have problems when we have a few days of bitter cold weather. I supposed the best I can say is I will put this on hold until we see if the repairs worked next winter.

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During 2009 and 2010 I spent almost $22000.00 for windows from this company. In 2011 I twice requested service on windows leaking on the inside of my home. It took a couple of service technician reviews as well as a manager review to finally schedule the "reinstallation" of the windows to stop the damage inside my home. In 2014 these same windows and others need service as the exterior wood framing and trim is so water damaged that the trim, exterior sheathing, insulation, and interior sheetrock needs replacing. The original installer that was here on May 8, 2014 to remove the exterior window capping (for a fee of $350.00) and became fully aware of the rotted wood (he pulled some off). On May 19, 2014 an independent contractor reviewed the damage and advised me the damage was caused by poor window installation. On May 25, 2014 an insurance claims adjuster inspected the entire exterior of my home and stated the damage was caused by improper window installation and denied the insurance claim. On May 29, 2014 a RBA service technician reviewed the damages and stated he would contact his manager the same afternoon to arrange another review as this was a "bad situation." Since that time my calls and emails to RBA have either been ignored or answered by "we're trying to coordinate schedules." I was last informed that I would receive status of the resolution by June 10. I'm still waiting. In the meantime every time it causes more damage.

Desired Settlement: The company should repair my home so it is in the same condition it was before they installed the new windows. That requires the removal of the current windows, replacement of all the exterior framing, sheathing, insulation and wood trim, proper reinstallation of windows, and repair of the interior sheetrock. They should also refund the $350.00 is paid to have the window capping removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/09) */ Dear Ms. ******* I am writing in response to your email dated June 13, 2014. Since receiving your email Renewal by Andersen scheduled a return visit review to determine any necessary steps to ensure no water infiltration is possible from the window installation Renewal by Andersen is responsible for installing. We have also refunded ***** ****** $350.00 previously charged for service call as she requested. When our crew returned to the home the exterior of two window openings the master bedroom and a bump-out bay consisting of three windows were removed and evaluated. The master bedroom had some presence of a water leakage and after further exploring the leak source was identified to be above the scope of work Renewal by Andersen initially completed. I shared this finding with ***** ****** and felt confident she fully understood. Since all exterior trim was removed we installed new flashing, ice and water shield, new cedar trim boards and caulking around the perimeter of the window unit to ensure no possible water infiltration. The bump-out bay area windows also had the presence of water leakage also determined to be coming from above our scope of work and I discussed the evidence supporting these findings with ***** ******. When our service was completed on 16 June I am confident there is no water leakage from the windows and that other source of water leakage was identified and discussed with *****. ***** was seeking out other contractors to make additional repairs and I offered to meet with them to discuss our findings. She would have to schedule any such meetings. All work completed is documented and supported with pictures detailing each step in our efforts to ensure no water infiltration from the window installation. I trust that this letter will be a sufficient response to your request. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly. Regards, ***** ****** Renewal by Andersen Installation Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) see attached PDF Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/07/20) */ Dear Ms.*******: I am writing in response to your email dated June 13, 2014. When the windows were installed each window was shimmed and secured into the rough opening. Around the perimeter of the each window low expanding closed cell foam insulation was injected, exterior aluminum trim specifically fitted to each opening applied and caulked. When Renewal by Andersen returned to her home on June 16, 2014 the existing exterior cedar trim boards were removed from the top of the windows revealing water entry evidence above the 1st floor bay area windows resulting in water leaking at the point of the siding trim boards typically called a frieze board trim into the window rough opening from above the windows. As a result, once the water entered into the rough opening it eventually traveled to the lower sill area of the rough opening and causing water damage to the sill and knee wall area below. The water leak resulting in damage was not caused by the Renewal by Andersen windows or installation and will have to be corrected prior to any further window adjustments or application of aluminum trim and caulking. I felt this was effectively communicated to ***** on the 16th. I also committed to ***** to meet with her contractor to ensure a smooth complete transaction with this repair. To date no scheduled meeting has occurred. Once the water damaged exterior is finished Renewal by Andersen agreed to return and apply new aluminum trim and caulking to the bay/bump-out window. All work completed is documented and supported with pictures two attached below detailing the area the water is leaking into the window area. I trust that this letter will be a sufficient response to your request. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly. Regards, ***** ****** Renewal by Andersen Installation Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have pictures showing the original installation. These pictures show the windows were not actually shimmed nor was low expanding closed cell foam insulation injected. I have had 4 different contractors review the window installation and all have pointed out how the original installation was not done in a manner which would protect my home from damage. As I stated in my previous response I have hired a contractor to perform repairs and retrofit the Renewal by Andersen windows. This includes applying new aluminum trim and caulking to the bay/bump-out window. I do not plan to have any further contact with Renewal by Andersen, Chicago.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase date Jan.10, 2014. Sales rep. ******* ******** Installation manager ***** ******. Technical measurer Blaire. Payment amount $24,035. 12mo credit. Paid $10,000 to date. March 20, 2014 Shutter Co. paid to remove existing custom shutters. March 21&22 Andersen Renewal installed 13 new windows and 1 patio door. Three windows installed did not match existing windows and were not what was ordered. Existing trim was removed and replaced. All trim had to be painted/stained before shutter company returns to reinstall shutters March 25. Shutters do not fit. Shutter company unable to reinstall. We literally live in a "fish bowl" for several months. All Trim had to be removed, replaced, painted and stained again. We made ourselves available for installation dates, shutter removal, reinstall dates and twice for inspection since first inspection did not pass. Inspection March 25 does not pass. March 28 re-inspection passes. Custom made existing shutters were guaranteed to fit over replacement windows per Sale Rep. and Tech. Measurer. This was a major concern which we addressed multiple times with Andersen Renewal. Andersen contacted and sent Blaire to take photographs on April 18. Lost time and wages again. April 30 Sunburst removes shutters once again. *** 7 Andersen schedules to replace all trim and half circle trim in "hope" that shutters will fit. Andersen arrives *** 7 without window trim and half circle trim. Sends staff to home depot to purchase correct trim but needs to return AGAIN (more time and lost wages at our expenses) because half circle trim needs to me made and had not been done although we were told it was. Trim replaced but in the process damage to walls in living room was done. *** 8 Andersen sends painter to repair and paint damages. Painter unable to match paint due to living room was professionally painted in a faux finish. Spoke with ***** installation supervisor who said he would contact paint supervisor and return call that afternoon and never did. Thursday, *** 8 left voice mail with headquarters. Monday *** 10 left another voice mail with headquarters. Call returned after 2 vm's. *** 10 shutters scheduled to re re-installed. Andersen offers to pay for re-installation so we literally have to live in "fish bowl". Another window needs to be replaced (wrong color) Anderson thinks it can be done from the outside so shutter does not have to be removed again. *** 10 shutters reinstalled but because half circle trim was not ready and not replaced CUSTOM shutters had to be CUT and RIGGED. Bedroom now has light leaks. Living room has sawed shutters. Another window installed was incorrect color. *** 10 spoke with paint supervisor. *** 15 Painter #2 arrives to repatch wall damage. One window had 2 different color handles and another window had no handle at all. *** 19 meet with ***** ******. Window handles have been amended. Still waiting on shutter to be removed AGAIN, window to be replaced, wall and paint damage repair. Our intentions was never to contact the BBB. We are just at our wits end. Multiple errors have been made. Corrections have been sought but sloppy and all at our time and expense. Phone just rang. Andersen! Saved by the bell? No. Wants to install window Sunday? Really?? Sunday? Then still need to sched. painter? I asked it be done at same time. We have been beyond flexible and patient. Andersen can not give me back my time but they can give me back my money. I challenge their integrity.

Desired Settlement: Apology & refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@andersencorp.com Dear Ms. Mendez: I am writing in response to your email dated June 30, 2014. I sincerely apologize to Mr. and Mrs. ***** for the lengthy delays and issues they encountered during their window and patio door replacement project. There were several errors that caused the delay in finishing their project. However, to date everything is corrected and the job is complete. Since I became involved with this project I assured Mr. and Mrs. ***** that Renewal by Andersen would be responsible for any costs associated with removing and replacing the shutters, window trim painting and the faux finish on the family room walls. I also assured them that we would be respectful of their time while completing this work which involved multiple skilled trades. Mr. ***** and I discussed several scheduling opportunities for replacing the window, one of which was Sunday, and he was very open and agreeable. On July 1, 2014 I talked with Mrs. ***** and she agreed that the project was complete. On July 3, Renewal by Andersen issued Mr. and Mrs. ***** a refund crediting their account in the amount of $2,035.00. This is in addition to the costs we have already paid associated with removing and replacing the shutters, window trim painting and the faux finish on the family room walls. I trust that this letter will be a sufficient response to your request. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly. Regards, ***** ****** Renewal by Andersen Installation Manager

7/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 4 windows from Renewal by Andersen. In 2007, I had wonderful service, so I ordered more windows; this time for the upstairs. My walls are white. When the windows were intalled, 1 was white as I ordered, and 3 were tan (iight brown) on the inside. The outside, all of the windows were white as I ordered. I tried to get the installers to come back so that I could show them. They gathered the mats and stuff and took off. I called my sales person, ***** ******* She was to come out to check the instal. last Saturday but did not. I had to call my painter to come in and paint the trim to the white that should have been in the first place; 2 coats. My painter came down and told me that the windows were never calked, and that I had to pay extra for him to do this. Who does not calk windows? Now, I had to pay my painter $200. to paint the trim white, calk, etc. *** of Andersen knows about this. I sent a copy of the hand writte bill that my painter made out.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Besides the $200. that I had to pay out unneccessarly, Renewal by Andersen stated online that if a person buys 4 windows, they get one free. This was not offered to me. Considering how my damage that my painter had to fix and bad service from sales rep., *****, I am asking that they should get a bad rep. from BBB and certainly made the $200. plus to me. There financial people ******** are not the brightest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***, General Mana Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@andersencorp.com Thank you in advance. We actually did caulk the windows and did provide the customer the $200 refund that they requested. This was all done back on 6/26/14. Our advertising was for buy 4 get one free. The free window was for the lowest cost item. The discounts we provided to the customer were greater than the ONE free window. The issue was resolved on 6/26/14 and according to the customer they were satisfied with the resolution.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract to purchase windows on 11/14/13. I drove to Renewal by Anderson's showroom and canceled my order on 11/16/13. The cancelation document was signed by ************. A downpayment of $**** was charged to my Discover Card. I talked to **********, sales manager for Renewal, and stated I wished to have my refund processed. He stated he would have someone from the office process and that it would take a few days to show up. The contract I signed stipulated that the refund would be processed within 10 business days. That timeframe has been exceeded.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my downpayment

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***, GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@andersencorp.com The customer did cancel their order with us and a refund was done on their discover card on 12/5/13 for $******* NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response until after you check with your credit card provider to confirm the credit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Refund was received