BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2004

Pella Windows & Doors Inc.

Phone: (800) 422-2219Fax: (815) 391-3220View Additional Phone Numbers4301 - 11th St, RockfordIL 61109-3027 Send email to Pella Windows & Doors Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2004

BBB has determined that Pella Windows & Doors Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pella Windows & Doors Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pella Windows & Doors Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased windows from Pella that have air infiltration since installation. Installed 9/27/10. Salesman ***** ********* I requested that they come on windy days to feel the air blowing in, they said they could come by preset appointment and hope that it was windy. Repair call #XXXXX on 11/29/10, they couldn't feel the air coming in (there wasn't any wind) so they pulled the holes in the tracking; this didn't work. Repair call #XXXXX on 1/9/12, they couldn't feel the air coming in (there wasn't any wind) so they caulked the holes in the tracking; this didn't work. Repair call #XXXXX on 1/20/12, they couldn't feel the air coming in (there wasn't any wind) so they installed enhancement kit; this didn't work. I dealt with the problem because I was unable to continue taking time off from work to be home for the repair calls. Repair call #XXXXX on 1/6/13 which is the second day of the deep freeze with wind chills of -47; the wind blowing in my bedrooms was so cold that I slept in the livingroom. I called for repair and was told I would be responsible to pay for fix. They said even though my complaint was in proir to end of warrantee, I would be responsible.

Desired Settlement
I want windows that are sealed from wind and air infiltration, and I don't expect to pay for repairing windows that have leaked since installation.

Business Response
Customer is being contacted to schedule a service tech visit at no charge to the customer. At that time the service tech will determine if there are any product repair issues needing addressed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Pella is stating that they will send a service tech to determine if there are product issues needing to be addressed...at no charge to me. I want them to state that there will be no charge to repair the problem that has existed since installation. They do not say anything about correcting the problem...at no charge to me.

Final Business Response
Pella will send out a service tech for a evaluation at no charge to the customer. At the conclusion of the evaluation, the customer will be contacted with the results from the visit. At that point there will be discusion of the next steps. No further work will be done until agreed upon with the customer. At this point there can't be a conclusion of if or if not there are going to be any charges until the original evaluation which is at not charge to the customer.

12/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pella installed Pella window, +/- April 2012.

Window leaked in February 2013. One man came out to look at it; did nothing but tell me there was nothing wrong.

Second leak (larger this time) was in October 2013. Received call from Pella installer saying they would be out in 1 month! They were scheduled for 8 November and when I called to find out when they were coming, they told me that they were not scheduled for 8 November and that we were not on their list. I have called the corporate number, the local number. I have spoken to the Chicago regional Pella area and now they are to come out and inspect it next week.

I have made it clear that I want it fixed, not just inspected.

Desired Settlement
They must correct the window issue. Window was hazing/fogging up in February; probably a bad window and a bad installation job. You can still see the marks from the water inside the window and on the window. I have photos and video of the leak from February.

Business Response
There was confusion between the scheduling department and the customer on the date of the appointment. Because of the confusion we were able to get someone out within 3 days to look at the customers concern. The customers concerns were not a result of Pella product or installation. The issue is because of some siding issues. It was explained to the customer and they understood. The customer's next step was to have the siding issue taken care of.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not only time confusion with scheduling department occurred. Matter of fact for initial installation, Pella rescheduled because they could not meet their schedule.
The window never leaked before Pella replaced it with their product, now we have water that runs down the window into our house. Also, old window never had a haze on the outside. Pella reported that this was from the siding issue. At time of install, Pella should have mentioned the problem on the side of the house that touches the window. If they would have done that, this would not be a problem that they believe is all our problem, today. They tell us to get it fixed. Our independent contractor tells us that they should have fixed or reported it to us the day that they were here.
We need to replace 2 more doors and 11 windows. I probably will not call Pella again due to this situation.

Final Business Response
Field Specialist visited the home and showed the customer that there was a siding issue not a window or window installation issue. Customer agreed and is contacting a siding company to address the issue.

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered the windows with a delivery date of Nov. 4th. I was called by the salesman to say that he ordered the window incorrectly and had to reorder the window. He told me that someone would call and tell me a new install date, no one called.

When I called the company, after being hung up on and having to recall, someone finally called me back they said the window was arriving on Nov. 1st with an install date of Nov. 4.

On Nov. 1 I was called and told the window was not on the truck. They don't know where the window is and will have to track it down next week. The window is paid for and they don't know where it is? I am doubtful that they even have made the correct window and the salesman has not called me back to discuss my concerns.

Desired Settlement
I want the money refunded, so that I can get a new company to replace the window.

Business Response
We have closely reviewed this matter internally. Ms. ******'s window experienced a delay in manufacturing and we missed the original installation date. Several from our office have been in contact (specicifally her sales representative **** ****** **** and **** ****** (project coordinator for Ms. ******) have notified Ms. ****** that her window will be installed on Monday, November 18th. We regret the delay but Ms. ****** seems satisfied with where things stand today.

NOTE FROM THE BBB:
Please hold off on your response pending the scheduled installation date. Please update us as to the outcome.

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted for replacement of a front entry door with side lights, an elliptical window and a rear entry door. On the day of installation, the rear door was installed to my satisfaction. The elliptical window did not appear to be correct and the exterior trim was not curved to the same shape as the window so the material was sent back to the factory for review. After waiting 5 weeks for a solution, I cancelled the order because there was no delivery date in sight.

When I communicated my decision and request for refund I was told it would be at least another 4 weeks for delivery and installation which I declined. I paid 50% upon delivery and was charged $5,121.16. The rear door was $1,128.83 and I am not disputing that charge. I was told by Andrew Thomas the Sales Consultant that I would be refunded $3,992.33 in 7 to 10 days. I have contacted him twice to follow up. Both times he said he would with no further response.

I left a message for **********, Sales Manager. His voicemail said he would return on 9/4/2013. He did not return my call on that date or by 4:25 on 9/5/2013. Today makes 40 days with no refund. I have shown enough patience.

Desired Settlement
An immediate refund of $3,992.33, not next week or next month. You had my money for over 75 days without me having the product I expected.

Business Response
We were unable to successfully produce an odd shaped window after several attempts at our factory. There was an oversight in our finance department which was the cause of the delay. The delay of payment was not intentional. We have refunded the customer of $3,992.33. as of 9/17/2013.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business has provided full refund of my order.

Final Business Response
We made a mistake and the credit to the customer was short $20.33. After receving this notification the refund has been processed (actually for a total of $30.00 and receipt e-mailed to the customer for his records. Thanks

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April 4th, a replacement casement window was installed over my sink. The installers notified me upon completion of job that the handle did not turn freely, but would get bound by water faucet. They pointed out that the original style,which opened with the window swinging out the other way did not have this problem. I immediately contacted the sales rep,who requested I send a photo which I did. He said he would help.

On May 1st, I contacted the sales rep again and I also called Pella to log a service request. I explained that I thought I had the wrong style of window put in. Referencing the sales agreement, I saw it had "left" and "right" written in and scratched out, in a confusing manner. He again said by e-mail that he would help. On May 31st, I sent another e-mail to the sales rep. He called me, and I explained my position again. He again promised to help. On June 3rd, he asked me to resend the photo from two months prior, which I did. He replied by e-mail that he was talking to his manager and that I would be contacted by the end of that week. I was never contacted. After 2 months and several prompts to the company, my issue has not been resolved. They continue to promise to address my situation and then do nothing, over and over. My position is that the customer relies on the sales rep to specify a product that will work as intended. The product does not work as intended because the handle is not operable in the manner intended. The opening of the window was reversed from the original style. A window that opens the same way as the original should have been specified and installed.

Desired Settlement
I would like a window installed whose handle does not hit the sink fixtures when operating. I believe that a window which opens the same way as the original would satisfy this requirement.

Business Response
Our customer Mr ******** is unhappy with the hardware on the casement window unti over his kitchen sink. We did not provide a timely solution but below is the communication from our sales rep ****** ****** to Mr. ********.

From: ******, ******
Sent: Tuesday, June 24, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '****** R. ********'
Subject: RE: updated papaerwork

Hi ******,

I'm very sorry for the poor service I have given you with regards to your issue with the handle. This is not how I show appreciation for a customer who has trusted me to assist them with their project. That being said, I'm now back and in a better position to be better responsive to your request.

Now as for your issues, I have spoken to my manager and the following is a link to handle options that Pella believes should properly address your concerns. Please take a look and I will respond asap.

http://www.blainewindow.com/index.php

****** ******
Pella Sales Consultant
Direct XXX-XXX -XXXX

Thank you - **** ******** General Manager Pella Products Inc.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Note that no actual commitment to repair or replace anything has been made. The business merely sent a web address, which seems like a minimal effort after deferring action and discussion for nearly 3 months.
I believe the hardware functions at intended and the wrong window was specified. Modifying the handle is a band-aid that makes it obvious to a prospective buyer of the home that a mistake was made. Based on prior conversation, I infer that the business's position is that they are trying to cut their losses by going with the cheapest possible work-around. The matter may have to remain unresolved. Thank you BBB for forcing a response.

Final Business Response
Our Sales Manager **** ****** contacted Mr. ******** this afternoon in an effort to resolve the concern over the operation/configuration of the window in question. Pella has offered splitting the remaining balance due in order to end amicably. Mr ******** politely said that he is still entertaining offers of having another company come in and replace the product and he wasn't prepared to make that decision today. We would like to put this matter to rest and ensure that our customer is satisfied. Thanks


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Resolution is rejected on the following counts:
1) The response by the business does not include a committment to resolve the problem. It is informational only.
2) The response infoms the customer of a work-around to the original problem and not a solution to the problem itself.

The original issue remains, that the business specified a product that was not a good fit for the customer's needs. The problem was compounded by a lack of responsiveness.

A proper solution to the issue at hand would be a replacement of the window with one that is specified properly. Systemic solutions would include training for employees on technical aspects of the companies offerings, and on improving customer service.

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Home Centers, Doors - Patio, Home Improvements, Doors - Installation, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Storm Windows & Doors, Windows, Doors, Doors - Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/24/1989Business started: 01/09/1974
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1960, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ross Macneill (General Manager)Ms. Heidi Mannetter (Asst. Manager, Chicago)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Home Centers, Doors - Patio, Home Improvements, Doors - Installation, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Storm Windows & Doors, Windows, Doors, Doors - Repair

Alternate Business Names
Pella Products, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pella Windows & Doors Inc.

4301 - 11th St

Rockford, IL 61109-3027

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4301 - 11th St 

    Rockford, IL 61109-3027

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pella Windows & Doors Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (641) 621-6446
  • (815) 231-5105
  • (641) 621-3269
  • (815) 231-5134
  • (630) 682-4500

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (815) 231-5105
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.