BBB Accredited Business since

Illinois Energy Windows & Siding, Inc.

Phone: (630) 627-9200 Fax: (630) 629-6079 430 Ogden Ave, Lisle, IL 60532 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Illinois Energy Windows & Siding, Inc. is a window, door, and siding contractor that specializes in energy saving products. This business is located in Lisle, IL, and serves the western Chicago suburbs including Wheaton, Glen Ellyn, Downers Grove, Lombard, Oak Brook, Westmont, West Chicago, Warrenville, Winfield, La Grange, Hinsdale, Darien, Naperville, Woodridge, Bolingbrook, St. Charles, Oswego, Joliet, Romeoville, Lockport, Orland Park, Cicero, Oak Lawn, Oak Park, and Elmhurst. This company provides windows and doors, gutters and downspouts, insulation contracting, siding contracting, and provide energy saving solutions.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Illinois Energy Windows & Siding, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Illinois Energy Windows & Siding, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Illinois Energy Windows & Siding, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated 02/07/2002 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David K. Sonner, President Ms. Jeannine Berg, Finance Manager Brian Campbell, Co owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jeannine Berg, Finance Manager
Principal: Mr. David K. Sonner, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Doors - Vinyl Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Contractor - Insulation Siding Contractors Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Illinois Energy Windows & Siding, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 430 Ogden Ave

    Lisle, IL 60532 (630) 627-9200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have purchased windows from the Illinois Energy Window & Siding, Inc approximately 5/2/12. We had problems with the front window having moisture and ice on the inside of the window (inside house. This window was replaced after many attempts to have them come out and replace window. We do have pictures of these incidences. They finally came out and replaced the window. After the second window was placed, we then had the same problem with moisture on the window and when it rained, the rain was inside the window frame. We also have picture of this. We contacted the company and they would not return our phone calls. After many attempts we reached the receptionist and gave her this information. She forwarded this information and we did not hear back from them again. Another attempt was made and spoke with the owner who stated "what do you want me to do about it?" We told him they need to replace this window and we would like a whole new window, not just a new part of the window. The owner stated he cannot do anything about it as it is an anomaly. After more phone calls, we were told they ordered a new replacement window and will call us when it comes in. We again did not hear from them for quite a while. Again, my husband called and was finally told "Oh the window is in but we cannot install it until 11/20/14. We made the appointment for them to install the window on 11/20/14 between 9-10 A.M. On 11/20/14, my husband received a call from the office stating they will not be able to replace the window today as "it broke while they were loading it on the truck." This company informed us at the initial purchase that they guarantee their windows and their company also guarantees that their windows do not break. So how is it possible that this particular window broke while being loaded on the truck. We have no idea when the new window will be available to be installed. They did not give us a new date of when we can expect the next window. Please help us with this matter. Product_Or_Service: Windows

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We would like the window replaced. Winter is coming and we don't want to have all this moisture and ice in the house. We need this done quickly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/13) */ Dear Mrs. ********, I am sorry that you are displeased with our service. I am the type of owner that when my team does something wrong I am the first one to own up to it. I have looked into your service records and I see that we have been out e few times to service you since your installation. This is of course after my company had been paid. Are company gives a lifetime warranty on both parts and labor. It appears that we have kept our word and have honored our warranty. I am sorry that you have had upset but we have been there to take care of your concerns. In the window industry there is not a defect in glass if moisture is not inbetween the window pains. People will experience moisture in the interior glass pain of a home or exterior glass pain due to environment and humidity. My understanding is that you never had moisture in between the glass pains. In good faith as of yesterday we have replaced this glass pack on this window for you, for the second time. As far as the water in the home reference. It was not coming in the home it was simply in your three part slider track because it was clogged. Finally regarding my business partner responding to you in the past. You said that he said " you issue is an anomaly and what do you want me to do about it. I believe you may have misunderstood him based upon the conversation I had with him about that. I hope that you done continue to have any further concerns. Thank you for your business ***** ******** Co- owner Illinois energy Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to claim activity report on 12/15/14, there are inconsistencies with the company's response. First of all, paragraph one states, "they provided service since the installation but only after they were paid." They were paid when the windows were first installed two and one-half years ago. I understand that there would be some concerns with the moisture issue on the outside of the window, but when the one window in the middle has moisture and the other two windows does not have moisture, there is an issue with said window. As far as I am concerned, the previous windows were in the house for 19 years with no said issue of moisture on the outside. NEVER ON THE OUTSIDE. As referenced to the water inside the slider track, there was nothing clogging anything (weep holes)according to the tech. Service tech cut notches in ends to help with water drainage that has never happened prior to second window being installed, which means the first two years were fine with the water issue. Please explain that. As for said comment with phone conversation with owner, as far as being "an anomaly and what do you want me to do about it" is accurate because the phone call was recorded. I did not misunderstand anything that was said. On December 11, 2014 when new middle glass section was replaced for the second time, we will see in the near future when the weather changes or rains to see if there is any condensation or water in the slider track. Until then, we will monitor any changes. This response is per my husband, **** ******** who has been dealing with these issues since day one. Until we have complete 100% satisfaction of these said issues, this complaint will be ongoing until it is resolved. If you have any questions, I will be more than happy to have a sit down with the service techs **** and ******* and owners to see if we can come to an agreement of this said issue. Sincerely, **** and ***** ******** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/01/01) */ **** & *****, Thank you for your further response regarding this matter. I want you to be assured that we do everything within our power to satisfy our customers expectations. We are committed to honor our word and warranties that we give our customers. There is a very small percentage that no matter what we do we can't satisfy them. However, Illinois energy will go the extra mile to try and resolve any customers problems. In your case i see we have replaced your glass 2 times, reinstalled a window, retrimmed, and reinsulated a window. My last response was very direct because based upon what you had said it had appeared that my company had not been helping you without having to chase us. When I looked into our service records and spoke to the service team. I believed that was not the case. In fact we had 4-5 different service records on your project. Every time which we responded and the services were closed. When you had filed this complaint with the BBB we had an open service of which we are replacing the middle glass pack on your 3 part slider window for the second time due to condensation on the exterior glass surface. The morning of the service we had called to reschedule because the glass had broken in transport. your comment in this complaint was that "our windows aren' t supposed to break.". i I don't believe anyone from my company would ever say our windows don't break, especially glass in transport to a customers home. These type of things happen. Windows and parts will break. We just warranty them if they do. My comments in the last response about our company coming out after we were paid in full was merely a reminder of how the remodeling industry works. Most companies offer a lifetime manufacturer guarantee filled with loopholes. They also will cover their installation for 1 year, and give you free service for 1 year. After the 1 year period is up they will charge you for every service call, $100-$1,000. Even if the issues were due to installation defects they will charge you. This type of warranty would be with approximately 95% of the window companies out there. Based upon what I see there have been some issues with your job as I had referenced above. We agree with our customers that we never want any issues with our windows, service, or installation. However as hard as we try there sometimes are issues. Our company is always committed to resolve further issues even after our jobs are completed and paid. I guess I am trying to set the record straight. We wish you didn't have issues, but you did. In response to your issues we had tried to service you on more that one occasion. The reality is you are not pleased with the result. I also would like to state again that the rule in the industry is that if there is not condensation in between the window pains that it truly is not a defect. In fact I could send you a whole 10 page packet documented from a scientific perspective of why sometimes people get condensation on the interior or exterior glass surface of a thermal pain window. You had referenced that the previous window had never had that issue. However it is not that simple. Your old center picture window may not have been as efficient as our thermal pain. You also have a box window where as this window is protruding out of the home approximately 8-12 inches. Sometimes humidity can get trapped in these type of openings when a window is efficient the reaction can be moisture on exterior or interior glass surfaces. We do see this in garden windows because they protrude out from homes and are in kitchens where there is a lot of humidity. I am concerned that you still will have the same issues even with replacing this glass pack system again. I believe it has something to do with how the humidity is reacting in this room with this window. You aren't having the same problem with your other windows and I want you to be confident that this doesn't happen on all people's windows. It usually is only the protruding windows where humidity gets trapped. Picture windows will react differently than normal size windows because they are so large. I would like you to understand what you are asking of my company which is simply replace the window. If you go to a doctor and discover a problem with a specific part or problem they would focus on that problem. if you had a clogged artery they would unclog your artery not give you a heart transplant. I don't believe that your whole window was defective and needed replacing. i believe that replacing the glass was the right course of action to see if it gets better. As far as solutions. I am committed to try and resolve this further if this problem should still be a concern. If there are further issues we will come out and try to identify the source of condensation and understand your humidifier if you have one. We could explore insulating the base of your window outside. I would also be proud to come out with my service manger to discuss any further if necessary. Please also feel free to call me at the main office number with any further concerns or solutions to this problem. Sincerely, ***** ******** Co-Owner Illinois energy windows & siding inc.

6/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 31st 2014 my Husband and I were approached by a door-to-door sales representative of Illinois Energy Windows and Siding Inc. After reviewing the product quality, color, and pricing the representative presented, we agreed it was what we wanted and signed a contract for "siding using 5 1/2 in corner post." At that time, we gave the representative a check for $3,000.00 as a deposit to re-side our home. On April 7th another representative was sent to our home by Illinois Energy Windows and Siding Inc. This representative was supposed to take final measurements of our home to order the product. However, upon his arrival he spoke with my Husband and informed us that the siding with 5 1/2 in corner post, which we had ordered, did not exist in that color, nor was it even an option from the manufacturer. His statement to us was that the sales rep we had met earlier "lives in a fantasy world and he (the measurement rep) lives in the real world." At that time my Husband informed him that if the product we had selected was not available, or did not even exist, that we would no longer like to pursue re-siding our home with their company. The measurement rep said we would need to contact the sales rep again before we could take any further action. We proceeded to contact the sales rep we had originally spoken with at our home and he requested that we meet again at our home, which we agreed to. At that time, he showed us a different product, in a different color, which had a 3 1/2 in corner post. My Husband and I looked over the new product they were offering and told the rep we did not like the new product and found the quality to be lesser than our original choice as well. We told the rep we would like to cancel our order, because the product they were offering was materially different from what we agreed too, and that it was not a suitable replacement. At that point, the rep became more aggressive in his responses, and told us we were bound by the contract we signed, and if we wished to cancel their company "had dealt with people like us before" and they would sue us to hold us to the contracted work. As the sales rep would not cancel our contract and refund our deposit, he left at that point telling us that his boss would contact us. On April 15th at 8:30pm the owner of the company contacted my Husband at work. At that time, he attempted to solicit another meeting at our home. He requested that we consider a different product, and when my Husband once again asked to cancel the contract the owner began reciting language from the contract to my Husband to reinforce his position that we were bound to this contract. My Husband informed him he was at work and could not review the contract in detail at that time. He then agreed to another call the next day after discussing the conversation with his wife. After my Husband and I again discussed the product they proposed for replacement, we found it to be unsatisfactory and not at all what we were promised in the original sale. My Husband called back to the owner on April 16th at approximately 1:00pm. During that conversation, my Husband informed the owner we did not find his substitution satisfactory. We once again sought to cancel the contract and receive a refund of our deposit. My Husband explained to the owner all that had transpired and said after the material misrepresentation and legal threats, we no longer were comfortable doing business with their company. The owner insisted that we were legally bound to this contract despite their material misrepresentation, because in the fine print they had the right to substitute product. At that point, my Husband and the owner agreed they had reached an impasse, and the owner informed us he would be seeking legal representation on the matter. That was our last discussion with any representative of Illinois Energy Windows and Siding Inc.

Desired Settlement: We would just like our deposit back and the contract voided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Co-Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Illinois Energy Windows and Siding (IEWS) understands the customers concerns as we are homeowners as well. We understand how hard the decision can be to move forward with a project. In this case the representations by the customer are not accurate. The customer was happy with the original agreement. The customer decided to move forward with work, and put $3,000 down as an initial payment for the work for the project. It is important to note that the customer chose a very specialized and specific product for the construction and re-siding of their home. In this case, the customer chose a 5 1/2" Traditional Insulated Vinyl one-piece corner post in a Slate color and a wood grain finish. In the process of measuring for materials for the construction and ordering materials, IEWS learned that the manufacturer could not fabricate a one piece 5 1/2" Traditional Insulated Vinyl one-piece corner post in a Slate color with a wood grain finish chosen by the customer. Upon further investigation and in an attempt to provide such a product to the customer, IEWS discovered that no manufacturer will fabricate this style for the Slate color in the 5 1/2" size. Instead we offered 4 other possible solutions to construct and create a corner post for the customer's home in the Slate color they desired for the project. This included constructing a 5 1/2" corner post with better quality materials than the customer desired with no additional charges. In fact, one alternative option included wrapping the corner posts with a PVC aluminum coil product to create a 5 1/2" post in the same color and style the client initially chose for their work on their home. This PVC aluminum coil product matched the same product and Slate color the client wanted on all their windows. Thus, the same material type, style and in the Slate color could be used around all windows and on the corners. However, the client would not agree to any of the proposals, which is understandable, especially when certain products that were believed by the parties to be initially available are not available to complete the work. Therefore, the customer wants to cancel the contract because the exact specific product that the client desired for the corner of the house, in a specialty color is not available. We learned after the contract was signed that no manufacturer will fabricate one of the customer's chosen products in the specialty color the client desired for their home. In this case, the part does not exist in the chosen color and therefore, in order to have new siding on their home the client will have to use another available options. Either way, IEWS would do a beautiful job for this customer as we have done on many homes in Chicagoland for many years. We are passionate about our work and making our customers happy. This does not impact our commitment to have the work completed or performed under the contract and to the customer's satisfaction. In closing, Illinois Energy Windows and Siding, Inc would be willing to use the BBB Mediation or Arbitration if the customers would like to. We will wait for their reply. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We appreciate the options suggested by IEWS. We feel confident that IEWS would do a beautiful job. We really fell in love with the Slate 5 1/2" corner post and after we discovered it was not available, we decided not to proceed with the work. We know other options are available and we may need to go with one of them in the future. At this time however, we would appreciate having the work cancelled and if and when the 5 1/2" Slate corner post is available, we would strongly reconsider later. We request that the BBB withdraw, dismiss and discharge our complaint against IEWS. This issue is resolved with IEWS. We will not take any other action with respect to this complaint against IEWS. Thank you.

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service