Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gilkey Window Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 229-2340 Fax: (708) 229-2344 View Additional Phone Numbers 10160 Virginia Ave, Chicago Ridge, IL 60415 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gilkey Window Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gilkey Window Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1978 Business started locally: 03/01/1978
Business Management
Mr. Michael Gilkey, President Mr. Dave Canino, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Gilkey, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Doors - Repair Siding Contractors Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Additional Information

Gilkey Window Co. has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Dave Canino at 708-369-3314.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Gilkey Window Co. will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.

Additional Locations

  • 10160 Virginia Ave

    Chicago Ridge, IL 60415

  • 467 W Northwest Hwy

    Palatine, IL 60067


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Project Number: XXXXXX Customer ID: CHXXXXX Install team arrived on 4/11/14 to replace four windows. While taking out old trim and windows, a considerable amount of drywall was damaged (at the time, unbeknownst to buyers). Workers put up new trim around damaged drywall, leaving 1"-2" gaps between the trim and wall around two of the windows. Gilkey deposited $3,279 check (paid in full) on 4/15/14. The total cost of this job to the buyer was $4,685 (remaining monies $1,406 for this job had been paid on the contract date, which was 2/27/14). Buyers were unable to get Gilkey to come back and inspect damage for almost two months (6/2/14). Gilkey inspector (****) immediately agreed it was a terrible job and said it would be fixed. After weeks of un-returned phone calls, appointments were set up and repeatedly resulted in no-shows from Gilkey (7/9, 7/11, 7/12). Buyers were told multiple times "we'll call in a day or two and set up a new time" and there would be no follow through on Gilkey's part. It has now been 14 weeks and no repairs or acceptable explanations have been offered by the company. We are extremely disappointed in this service and are struggling to understand how Gilkey Windows have an A+ rating with the BBB, when we have been treated so poorly. Not to mention we are very unsatisfied with a home improvement that was not cheap from a company that is supposed to be reputable.

Desired Settlement: We want our windows and trim installed properly. We want the damage incurred by the Gilkey employees fixed. If Gilkey cares about their customers like they claim they do, we feel they should offer some type of refund for this mess. What they have put us through is not the work of a company that is ranked A+ through the BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, G/M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@******.com This customer's windows were installed in April of 2014. At that time we were paid in full and understood the job to be complete. On May 29th, 2014 the customer contacted us at Gilkey to come out and look at the interior trim that we installed around the new windows. Our installation manager, **** ******* called the customer and they agrred upon an inspection date of June 2nd, 2014.At that inspection **** explained why the trim was installed the way it was and offered an option for us to re-install the windows and re-trim the windows to better meet the customer's expectation. The customer agreed to this and was told we would contact him with a date to come back out and do the work. The work was scheduled for Wednesday 7/9/14 in the afternoon. The customer was informed that day that the installer was running behind schedule and he said he fully understood. We asked to re-schedule for 7/11/14 and was told by the customer that this was his anniversary and we should reschedule for another day. The followup with this customer was scheduled for 7/18/14. Our installation team , accompanied by our operations manager, ****** *******, arrived at the customer's home and re-installed the windows to what we beleive meets with our customer's expectations.There is a followup visit for ****** to return to the home on Tuesday, 7/22/14. This is a repeat customer to ****** Window and our sole goal is to get this matter resolved and to service our customer in the future.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gilkey removed a new storm door we purchased from them multiple times. During this process, they scratched the door, the paint on the door and warped it. Their workman also punched a hole in the door trim. Their service manager came out and looked at the door and agreed last fall to replace it. We have been waiting for over 2 months now for them to replace the door. We have a scheduled appt and then Gilkey called and said the guy could not come because his fuel pump went out on this truck. That was over 3 weeks ago. I have called numerous times since and spoke to Barb in service to be told, I am leaving messages for the service guy to call you. To date, no one from Gilkey has called.

Desired Settlement: Either they replace the door NOW or refund the money for the door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** G/M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@******.com We at ****** have contacted the customer and made arrangements to install a new storm door this Saturday, 05/31/2014. It is planned that an installation professional will install the new door and an installation manager will do a final inspection. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gilkey Window Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)