Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chicago Window Pros

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 308-9050 Fax: (847) 572-1333 1 Northfield Plz Ste 300, Northfield, IL 60093 http://www.chicagowindowpros.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Window Pros meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chicago Window Pros include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Window Pros
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2002 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 02/04/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Gast, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Gast, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Sunrooms Doors Windows Kitchen Remodeling Gutters & Downspouts Siding Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Remodeling Pros D and G of Illinois, Inc. DG Home Remodeling

Additional Locations

  • 1 Northfield Plz Ste 300

    Northfield, IL 60093

  • 1273 Deerfield Pkwy

    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 (888) 308-9050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the worst window company ever they sold me windows and brought the wrong ones. They refused to make it right by getting the correct ones! The ones they brought they said take these or nothing. They installed them, now they all leak and the lifetime warranty I have they don't even answer the phone!? Please help!!

Desired Settlement: Refund my full purchase amount $9700 or we will have to pursue other options for this matter!! ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ Please be advised that we have pictures and emails that document everything we are saying in this response. Chicago Window pros entered into a contract with Mr. ***** on May 4th 2012 to install 12 window units into his home. The windows were to be natural wood on the inside and black on the outside. Price was $9425. It was explaned to Mr ***** that these windows would not come stained and staining would have to be done by him. Also the stone that he was installing by his men (he owns Master Tech HVAC and per his own words were master carpenters)would have to be set behind the opening so that there would be enough room for exterior capping when the windows went in. There was a contract change on May 9th 2012 explaning that the manufacturer could not build eyebrow windows and that they would have to be half circles black on the inside and outside. We would do the framing and casing at no additional charge as long as he provided the material which he agreed to at 9:21 pm that same day. Install started around the 27th of june and immediately we incurred problems because the stone was set past the jamb. Mr ***** became irrate and said that we never said the stone had to be set where we did. To make Mr ***** happy we agreeded to have the stone removed so that the windows would go in at a cost of $725. Not that we should have but we will always try and make lemonade out of lemons. Windows were installed and Mr ***** was not have with the way our installers caulked his windows. We explained to him that a heavy bead of caulk was necessary since it is right next to stone. Over time a thin bead would separate and possible leakage might occur. He told us that our guys didn't know what they were doing and that his guys were going to recaulk and that he was holding back an additional $1250. At this point since we can't force someone to pay us we agreed to pay this ridiculous amount so that we could walk away from this and avoid court. Appox 3 weeks later Mr ***** called us and said his living room windows were leaking. We immediately came out and noticed that there was water stains on the wood and that our original caulk was still on the windows. In front of Mr ***** and his "foreman" we sprayed water around every single window and none of them leaked. We allowed them to spray as well. After 15 min of continuous spraying from a hose they agreed that the water leakage was not coming from the windows. When we were in the room in question we noticed water damage on the ceiling (which we took pictures of) and advised that in our opinion the water was coming in from the roof. We also asked why the windows were not stained which would void the warranty and we also advised him not to remove our caulk. This was done on or about July XX XXXX. In the almost year and half since we installed his windows we have no clue what he and his master carpenters have done to our installation. If he indeed removed our caulk and put a thinner bead down it is possible that water could seep in. More than likely the cause is from his roof or possibly shoddy installation of the stone. Nevertheless we will come out and look at his problem as soon as he pays us the $1250 he charged us. Also if it is determined that if he indeed replaced our caulk, there will be an additional charge to remove and replace his. As for the wood on the windows if he had just stained them like he was supposed to water stains would not have occured. Please let us know if you need us to send the emails and pictures to document what we have stated. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is a bunch of lies. I have a paid in full receipt. and a lifetime warranty on the installation and labor!? The reason we did have to redo the caulking was because there was huge gaps where water was getting in as their rep saw when he was here and said that's going to happen when you spray it like that! There is a crack inside the house which was created during the construction process however the entire exterior of the house was completely remodeled and sealed before they ever started their work. So no sorry there is no leak in the house only the one caused by their shotty craftsmanship and lack of skill!!! They need to do something to make this right or like already stated we will have to take further action. They never answer the phone and never call back. The only other acceptable resolution will be to give me the 6 new windows that are leaking and we will take care of the rest and no further action would be taken. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/22) */ Mr ***** is the only one who is lying in this matter. Our sales rep was the one that sprayed the windows with Mr ***** and is foreman and will testify that no water came in at that time. He is also the one that took pictures of water damage in the ceiling on the opposite corner of where the windows were installed, proving there was water leakage coming from the roof. By Mr *****'s response he did tamper with our installation by recaulking the windows. We cannot be held reponsible for actions that he has done for the past year and a half. If he wants we will come out and remove his caulk job and recaulk his windows the way we did it before. The charge for this will be $1500 payable before we do this since he has never given us any reason to trust him. After work is done we will take a video of the windows not leaking and submit this to the bbb. Again we have pictures and emails to document everything we have said and are prepared to go to court if Mr ***** wants to "take further action" Please consider this our final response in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Window Pros
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)