BBB Accredited Business since

American Window and Siding, Inc.

Phone: (630) 324-0515 Fax: (815) 788-0368 1202 75th St  #114, Downers Grove, IL 60516

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Window and Siding, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Window and Siding, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Window and Siding, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 2009 Business started: 04/04/1992 Business started locally: 04/04/1992 Business incorporated 10/09/2009 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Donald Dirkes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Dirkes, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Stone Setting Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Carpenters Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Additional Locations

  • 1202 75th St

    Downers Grove, IL 60516


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******, the owner of American Window & Siding, was contracted by us to install new Windows and a sliding door for our porch. ****** subcontracted ***** to do the install. The windows were installed fine, but the sliding door was not. We had to call ****** after the initial install because ***** left jagged sharp edges exposed and did a poor caulking job on the double sliding door. The caulking on the windows was just as poor, but the windows were at least sealed. It took almost 2 weeks to get ***** back out to fix the jagged edges and put the proper coverings for the door. Two weeks ago, we had water leaking from under the door into our dining area and leaking to our garage below. Our Insurance adjuster came out and said there was over $1,600.00 in damages. We were charged a $500.00 deductable. When we contacted ******, he scheduled ***** to return. ***** was supposed to arrive Monday 2/24 but delayed arrival until 10:00 on 2/26. ***** didn't arrive until 11:30am. When we contacted ****** he downplayed the issue and said that ***** would fix the problem on 2/26. ***** put expanding foam under 1/2 of the door and put a foam strip. He then poorly caulked the outside of the door. My wife took pictures from the outside of the door and you can see a 1 inch gap from the base of the door to the floor. Easily able to see inside our home. He did not do anything to seal the interior of the base of the door. In both instances, the jagged edges and this seal issue, ****** did not show he was overly concerned with the quality of work we received and did not show us that he was dedicated to getting it fixed or resolved in a timely manner. ****** did not come out to see the damage in either instance even though we requested that he come and see. This entire experience has resulted in monetary damage and stress with having to deal with hiring contractors to come out as well as filing a home owners insurance claim. I do not feel as though American Windows & Siding deserves an A+ rating with this type of service rendered.

Desired Settlement: We would like American Window & Siding to pay for the damages caused due to the negligent installation of our sliding door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When the drip cap was replaced, all leaking stopped coming into the home. The installation of the drip cap was absolutely successful. The HOA had it in their plans to replace all of the roofs in our association anyway, and so the timing of it was coincidental. In addition, the prior leaks never once affected our patio door. This, to me, indicates a different problem. This particular complaint stems from ice that had built up at the base of the patio door. Once that ice melted, the leaking had stopped and the floor dried up. According to AWS's response, ***** states that it is their procedure "to lay a bead of caulk between the subfloor and the patio prevent water from entering in under the door track." While this may be their procedure, it was not done when this door was installed. ***** was sent out after we had incurred the damages, at which time he inserted both the expanding foam insulation (another step that was missed during the installation)as well as the caulk sealant. We have had a separate personal contractor confirm the source of the leak as coming from inadequate installation of the patio door. In addition, our homeowner's insurance adjuster independently confirmed the same. The point of this complaint is that regardless of where the water came from to cause the ice build up, it should not have entered the home. THERE WAS NO CAULK IN PLACE to keep the moisture out until ***** had come out, post leak, to correct it. I do not agree with the notion that leaks is a direct result of a roofing issues, as we have not had any leaking at all since the roof was replaced. But were going off of the visual evidence. Attached is a photo of the base of the patio door, before it was corrected, which depicts the patio door and the gap containing the backerrod foam cord. Note that there is no bead of caulk to seal out moisture. Therefore, it makes sense that a proper installation of the door would have prevented the melting ice from gaining access into our home. Final Business Response /* (4000, 37, 2014/06/18) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Accepting the response would indicate that we were happy with the way the business has handled the resolution of this complaint. Was the problem corrected? Yes. It was even resolved in a timely manner. The installer was very polite every time he came out. So not everything about our experience has been negative. But the response we were looking for as a result of what happened was a simple and respectful "sorry" for the trouble and stress this has caused. The door was improperly installed, and it caused us over $1600 in monetary damages. Can I consider this BBB thread resolved? Yes, but unfortunately I cannot say that we have been happy with the quality of services provided. And the attempted financial recovery by our insurance agency is now beyond our control. But to say that nothing can be done to make us happy is false. Just admit to the mistake and apologize...That's really all this boils down to. I hope that AWS can learn from this occurrence and know that when errors are made by this business's employees, as few as I'm sure they are, they allow themselves room to admit errors and use the experience to help the company grow. I know that this sale is not the way AWS typically handles themselves with their customers. And for that reason, we won't be relaying the details of this complaint to the person who referred them to us. I'm just saddened that we have been accused of being impossible to please, when the services provided were poorly completed upon installation.

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service