BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Weed Man Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Weed Man Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Weed Man Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 10/10/2008 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Agriculture
100 W Randolph St, Ste 10-700, Chicago IL 60601
www.agr.state.il.us
Phone Number: (800) 582-0468

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shane Griffith, Owner Ms. Tammy Key, President Mr. Andy Kurth, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Griffith, Owner
Business Category

Weed Control Service Fertilizers Pest Control Services Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
Weed Man Rockford
Products & Services

This company offers:
Lawn Fertilization
Surface Insect Control
Weed Control Service
Mechanical Core Lawn Aeration
Preventive White Grub Control
Eliminate White Grubs
Crabgrass Control
Seeding
Mole Control
Organic Lawn Dressing


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Weed Man Chicago has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10546 N. Second St.

    Machesney Park, IL 61115

  • 1275 Anvil Rd

    Machesney Park, IL 61115

  • 555 Plate Drive #9&10

    East Dundee, IL 60118 (866) 987-9333

  • 563 Commonwealth Dr Ste 1100

    East Dundee, IL 60118 (815) 282-0410

  • 830 Seton Ct Ste 1

    Wheeling, IL 60090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife told me that some lawn company came out while I was at work and performed some lawn work at our address. I thought that they had the wrong house and didn't think much of it until they called and said I owed them $168. I told them that I never agreed to any services with them and when I asked them to show me a contract that I had signed agreeing to the work, they could not produce anything. They then said that they would accept a payment for half the amount and clear the account but once again, I told them that I had never talked to anyone at Weed Man nor had I agreed to any services. They then said they'd call me again and then sent the account to collections. Once again, I had never spoken to anyone at Weed Man prior to their attempts to collect on the account and have never signed any agreement or contact with them and I don't know how they got my name or number.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to clear this account and withdraw it from collections.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/17) */ Dear Mr. *****, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. As a company we never have the intention of doing a service that we do not believe was ordered as this has no gain for us or our clients. After reviewing your file I have constructed the following timeline related to your account with Weed Man. Weed Man employs several local High School students every Spring to help us get the word out regarding our business. A student representing our company visited your home on April 30th where he received your name and phone number. On May 2nd a representative at our local office spoke with Mrs. ***** and entered into an order agreement. At this point, Weed Man was provided with an email address to which we sent a confirmation of the order agreement. An internal note was recorded stating that the homeowner intended to prepay for services by check. On May 7th services were rendered at the property. On June 11th services were rendered at the property again. On both visits bills addressed to you were left behind, along with detailed notes regarding the applications performed and the health of the lawn. On June 26th a phone call was placed to your home regarding the overdue account. By our records, no attempt was ever made to contact our office after these three points of contact to alert us that our service was not welcome. On July 9th a Weed Man manager visited the property to inspect the progress to date and was informed by Mrs. ***** that no service was wanted, at which point we cancelled all remaining scheduled services. On August 28th we received a phone call from Mr. ***** saying that he never spoke with Weed Man, does not want service, and did not plan on paying for services rendered. Mr. ***** also said that he called us 1 hour after placing an order and cancelled, though no record of this phone call exists in our data management software. Our local representative asked what number was called to cancel the order and was told that Mr. ***** did not recall, and then our representative reported being hung up on. On October 29th we placed a call to the property regarding the overdue account and spoke with Mrs. *****. At this time Mrs. ***** agreed to pay for 1/3 of the services rendered. We were then informed that there were two *********** living at the household, both Mr. ***** and his father Mr. ******* Our representative was then informed that Mr. ****** had wanted the lawn care, not Mr. *****, and that Mr. ****** would follow up with us in the morning. No record of a follow up call is recorded. Weed Man sincerely apologize for the confusion in this situation. However, our records do indicate that a member of the household ordered lawn care service from our company. Please give us a call at XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss a positive resolution for both parties. Sincerely, Weed Man