Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Safeguard Waterproofing - Ram Jack

Phone: (847) 678-8160 Fax: (630) 595-5377 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 Dominic Ct, Franklin Park, IL 60131 http://www.safeguardwaterproofing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safeguard Waterproofing - Ram Jack meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Safeguard Waterproofing - Ram Jack include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safeguard Waterproofing - Ram Jack
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 1979 Business started: 04/01/1978 Business started locally: 04/01/1978 Business incorporated 07/23/2001 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karen Kurka, Director of Operations Mr. John Walsh, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karen Kurka, Director of Operations
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Concrete Contractors Foundation Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)

Alternate Business Names
Ram Jack Co Safe-Guard Basement Technologies, Inc. Safe-guard Basement Waterprfng Safe-Guard Basement Waterproofing Co Safe-Guard Waterproofing/Ram Jack Illinois

Additional Locations

  • 400 Dominic Ct

    Franklin Park, IL 60131

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 25, 2014 Ram jack came out and did a repair on a water leakage problem that had been surveyed by *** ***** on June 6, 2014. After the contractors got here there was another $1000 added to bill saying pit that was already installed was not the proper one. Work continued and bill was paid in full. A heavy rain came on or about September 6, 2104. The water problem was reported to Ram **** September 8, 2014. The owner tried to state it was only condensation. Another rain came and I took pictures that it was water, not condensation around repair. On September 29, 2014 they finally sent a technician out to observe. The technician ******** observed pictures and did a test confirming water was still coming in. The repair was not done properly or extended out far enough. Tech stated repair of course was still under warranty and would have to go through Supervisor to be corrected. It is October 15, 2014 and we are once again having water in house and no one has contacted us to correct this problem.

Desired Settlement: To come and fix the repair correctly or refund money so we can have it done properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** Director Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@safeguardwaterproofing.com Upon arrival on X-XX-XX our service technician performed a water test and assessed the situation. The drain tile system installedwe installed is functioning properly.Water is coming in at the end of the system where no drain tile is installed - ie: they need more work. When this information was brought back into our office on X-XX-XX our sales consultant was informed to reach out to the customer and inform them that they would need more work, to have the system extended further, he left his contact info for the customer to return his call. Until today with the filling of the complaint we had not heard back from the customer. For the customers daughter to imply that the work was not done correctly is false. We secured a village permit and passed *********** This simply is a case where the customers did not want to remove carpeting and other items needed to install our system farther. It is now obvious that the drain tile will need to be extended. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because I was never contacted. First of all when the Technician left he stated it would be a while before I would be contacted back because the issue was with the job not being extended the proper distance it would have to go to his Supervisor and then *** ******** Supervisor since he was the Rep that did initial survey to plot the work that needed to be done. So to say he called next day is first lie. That is ridiculous to stay we did not want to remove carpet for further work when after repair was done and we still got water we removed carpet from entire room in one area before the Tech even came out so there is now nothing to remove so that is yet another lie. There were no calls to either number provided as can be proved by phone records until BBB got involved and they realized they couldn't evade their mistake any longer. I would like to see the Village Permit they claim they obtained, who was the Inspector that came and did inspection, when did he do inspection and where is the report stating it passed. To say we did not want work done is saying that we wanted to be living with mold from constant wet carpet, let an infant crawl around on damp carpet, and having a fall hazard for an 85 year old man on tile that gets flooded from rain water at night and you can't see it. That is ludicrous to say the least! It must be the old bait and switch as Mr. ***** had stated it wasn't when all of sudden when they were here to do work we need a another sump because he didn't know (even though he looked right at it like he did the exterior and interior of the house) the other was dirty water. Now they are calling both numbers given and either leaving a message or talking to a live person and getting their calls returned because they have actually called and left a message. *** came and now the work they did has to be dug up which is within the 3 Feet they guarantee to be free from water and extended for another $1500!This is the cost of the original job minus the pump! How can this be if original job is still under guarantee? They still cannot answer why or how Mr. ***** could not see that area for repair needed to longer from the beginning so all could be done at once instead being charged for two jobs. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He already determined what work needed to be done as explained in first response to him and said for me to get back to him and he would draw up contract. That is how I got the price of $1500. He also said his company would check drain spout to see if operating properly when doing the completion of job. I contacted him same day, supplied with e-mail and have not heard back from him until today. Are they going to do work especially that which is 3 feet from original repair to honor guarantee or not? Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/10/31) */ (SPAM) RE: BBB Complaint Case# 94521781 (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message ***** ***** <******@safeguardwaterproofing.com> Fri, Oct 31, 2014 at 11:43 AM To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********@bureaudata.com> I replied yesterday - we are waiting to hear back from the HO. ***** ***** Safeguard Waterproofing Ram Jack Illinois Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX www.RAMJACK.info ******@safeguardwaterproofing.com SGWP 0213 RamJackWhiteBG TRADEMARK

10/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with safeguard to do an interior membrane waterproofing for the basement utility room at my property **** W ******* in Chicago. The sales rep *** ****** provided me with a contract on July 7th in the amount of $650.00 we then arranged a work date of July 31st. In order for the work to be done I needed to remove the water heaters from the room to allow access to the wall and floor. I contracted with my plumber to remove and reinstall water heaters in the amount of $400.00 the work was performed and everything was ready on service day. Safeguards technician Fernando arrived at 8AM on the 31st t do the work contracted. His first comment on seeing the job was that someone messed up that the price for the work was too low but he would see. After opening the floor Fernando called his office and stopped work saying the sales rep was on his way. *** ****** the sales rep arrived and said that he was not sure what the problem was maybe Fernando was overwhelmed since it was a large job and he was by himself. After *** spoke to the office he said he was informed that the work being done was below their minimum price for the job, that the drain tile was located further from the wall than he thought but that he was surprised nothing was mentioned on prior work the company had done for me at the same address. *** informed me that they were going to pull off the job that it would cost more than contracted. *** said it would cost n additional $600 or they would walk. In order to keep work going I agreed unhappily to pay $475. *** left and ******** started work again but after 20 more minutes he stopped and said he was being pulled off the job. *** came back and I let him know that I was being financially injured that not only was he demanding more than the contracted amount but in walking off the job I was out $400 for my plumber. *** said their was nothing he could do and they would patch my floor. ******** used quick set concrete creating a patch about 1 inch thick as a replacement for my 4 inch reinforced slab that was removed.

Desired Settlement: I request that the company perform the work specified in the contract for the price quoted and pay my plumber to remove and reinstall water heaters.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@safeguardwaterproofing.com Unfortunately, we are unable to see through concrete to see what's below! The terms and conditions are clearly written on our contract; should the job cancel or if previous unknown conditions are discovered, SGWP/Ram Jack Illinois reserves the right to cancel contract, restore the job site and refund deposit less any out of pocket expense SGWP/Ram Jack Illinois incurs. While it is true we've done this type of work for this customer previously the conditions on that section of the home were different under the floor than in this area, and the job simply couldn't be installed properly as written. An alternative method of repair was proposed after the floor was opened, the customer refused the option. At that point the floor was closed and a refund was issued. Prepping the work site is the customer's responsibility - they need to have the area clear of any and all obstacles, as well as personal items. Any cost involved with that is incurred by the home owner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The conditions of area contracted are in fact exactly the same as prior conditions on previous work and as described in the drawing on contract. The alternative method of repair that was proposed was that I pay more money. Your representative *** ****** determined the additional cost and I agreed on the amount. I even asked for the *** to have *** in your office call me if she needed my credit card number. ******** resumed work until being pulled off later. Additionally the floor was not repaired to the original thickness as it was prior to work. I acted in good faith agreeing to pay an additional cost with the understanding that the job would be completed that day. *** even said that maybe they would not be able to complete that day but could come back. I agreed as long as the work behind and under where my water heaters are located was finished so I would not incur and additional cost. *** said he understood. When ******** was called off the job and *** came back I said I thought we had an understanding and that in pulling off the job I was going to be financially injured. *** did contact me a few weeks later to arrange to come back and do the job for the original contract price plus the additional 475.00. I asked him to pay to have my water heaters removed and reinstalled. *** said he did not have authority to that so I asked him to have the owner call me so we could discuss the situation, but to date I ave not received a call from him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Attached is the copy of the contract provided by Safeguard as requested. On July 31st when the technician stopped work and the sales rep was called in order to assess the situation in my basement no alternative method of repair was offered. The solution offered and verbally accepted by me at that time was for me to pay an additional $475.00 to cover additional materials needed to complete the job. The sales rep and I agreed that the technician would try to complete the entire job that day but at the minimum would complete the work underneath where my water heaters were located. It was also agreed that if they were not able to complete the entire job that they would come back at a later date to finish the work. I also offered my assistance in removing rubble generated or carrying materials from the truck. Your sales rep offered this solution and it was accepted we shook hands and I offered to make immediate payment via my credit card. On your sales reps word your technician went back to work and clearly stated that he intended to finish the area underneath where my water heaters would be installed. It is my contention that a modification to the contract was made verbally and accepted. That your sales reps offer of an additional charge my acceptance and us shaking hands shows we have an oral agreement. That your technician continuing work shows acceptance of the new terms. I am unclear as to what the unknown conditions were. The drawing on page 3 of your contract clearly indicates where the floor was to be removed and the clean shield installed. As per the contract my water heaters were removed and access was given a my expense Safeguard failed to do the work as contracted. Additionally Safeguard did not restore the job site to its original condition. According to your technician he repaired my floor with a 1 inch thick patch my original floor is 4 inch thick concrete with reinforcing mesh. I contend that there is a significant difference in the strength of the floor after your repair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/10/15) */ SGWP - Ram Jack stands by our previous reply. We are not interested in having any further dialog regarding this issue. Mr ******** does not want to pay the fair price for the needed repairs. The terms and conditions are clearly written on our contract; should the job cancel or if previous unknown conditions are discovered, SGWP/Ram Jack Illinois reserves the right to cancel contract, restore the job site and refund deposit less any out of pocket expense SGWP/Ram Jack Illinois incurs. While it is true we've done this type of work for this customer previously the conditions on that section of the home were different under the floor than in this area, and the job simply couldn't be installed properly as written. An alternative method of repair was proposed after the floor was opened, the customer refused the option. At that point the floor was closed and a refund was issued. Prepping the work site is the customer's responsibility - they need to have the area clear of any and all obstacles, as well as personal items. Any cost involved with that is incurred by the home owner.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 holes were discovered today X-XX-XX at each side of a basement block window where concrete and foundation membrane meet.The job Safeguard performed in Oct 2012.This has been causing water to enter my basement.Water began leaking in this area soon after they left.I assumed they did their part and it had to now be a window issue above where they worked.Upon having my window repaired for water leak by someone else these 2 holes were discovered,when the siding was removed.It was not the window.It was a result from the Safeguard job.When contacting Safeguard I was not looking for any compensation for window repair.That was my doing,no problem. I contacted Safeguard, because of the warranty, to fix these 2 deep holes approx 6-8 inches long,1/4-1/2 inch diameter. Also because they have better quality materials to repair then I can buy at a big box store,plus to inspect area to ensure everything is ok,the work they did and specialize in and did in this specific spot.Via phone,Safeguard-"***"(XXX-XXX-XXXX)told me to buy caulk at a store and to do it myself. The manner in which he spoke to me(condescending) was not very professional,especially after spending $6393.00,with a 10 year warranty,which now means nothing.This was probably a 30 min service call and little cost to them!This caused me to raise my voice out of frustration, I could not believe a customer being treated this way.I have even recommended this company to other people as well.He then accused me of profanity which did not happen and he then ended the call.This is the first time in my 24 years of owning a home i have ever filed a complaint with BBB or anyone else.I am just looking for my warranty to be honored.Thank you for your time in this matter and I will honor your findings on this issue.Yours truly, **** ********

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to come out and caulk the two holes and inspect the area at this one window, to make sure this is all that is needed to repair water leak.The siding remains off, so they have easy access to the problem spot.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** Dir Sales Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@safeguardwaterproofing.com We we're contacted by Mr. ******** on X-XX-XX regarding 2 holes next to his window. Mr. ******** told us that he had his window replaced and found these two holes as a result of taking down siding around the window at that time. As I tried to explain to Mr. ******** our membrane process does carry a 10 year warranty. However our contract clearly states that all concrete work carries a 1 year general construction warranty. Being that it was not discovered until almost 2 years until after the project was completed AND he removed a window AND some siding was removed, it's clear this would not be something that was done by us. Unfortunately Mr. ******** did want to hear this. He did raise his voice, became rude and used profanity. I have also attached the contract clearly showing concrete warranty information as listed above. Kindly close this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Safeguard Rep *** did not listen to my explanation to why it took the amount of time it did for me to call him regarding this matter.They preformed the job in Oct 2012.I did not discover the leak to spring of 2013.I then assumed it had to be coming from roof or window above the area.Last fall i was finally able to have the window replaced and roof inspected.The water leak continued and last week the person inspecting the window discovered these 2 holes behind the membrane that was installed by safeguard.Unfortunately ***'s mind was made up before placing call to me that he would not fix the 2 holes.You would think after spending $6300+, he would at least send a serviceman to see if in fact it was or was not their responsibility.Had this been done, i would have accepted their opinion.How can he make a determination without someone inspecting it.This matter is not ready to be closed.***'s arrogance in this matter does not help.It would probably be best to have some else from this company help resolve this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/08/25) */ I suggest that Mr. ******** find another contractor to work with. He is verbally aggressive and has a hot temper; I don't believe that a good working relationship is possible. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Today, Fri 8/22/14 I had a scheduled appointment For a safeguard Rep.(***) to come over to my house at 9am to evaluate my leak issue.At 945 I called to find out if they were coming out. I spoke with Director/***** who verified my appointment yesterday. She stated they "forgot" and were estimating some other job.She said they could come out between 12 & 2pm.I cannot be here at that time.I already cancelled a appointment to be here at 9am today.Their was apparently no intention of calling me,they just "forgot". Now ***** states I am yelling at her. I may be raising my voice in frustration but not yelling.She now starts with the why 2 years later which was already explained to her last week. Last time I spoke with her I conveyed that I felt it was not from their job initially and had my roof inspected (6 years old)first and then had my glass block window replaced before realizing it might be from there job.My last attempt to repair leak was last month with another contractor.This is when I realized it may be a Safeguard issue. That is why I am calling 2 yrs later.I conveyed this to ***** last week in which I thought we had a good conversation.I signed a contract with them with a 10 yr warranty, 1 yr for concrete.It is not a concrete issue,that leaves me with 8 yr warranty remaining.If they would have just come out and inspected objectively,and show me it is not a warranty issue, I would have paid for repair.I proposed to ***** that I get it repaired from someone else and they can pay for it.I understand why she declined that,but what am I to do to now get a fair evaluation on my situation? Thank you for hearing my side of situation. **** ********

6/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter ***** called to cancel contract and the sales manager was extremely unwilling to refund my deposit. According to the Consumer Rights pamphlet given, a "starting date and estimated completion date must be given and our contract had that line left blank."

Desired Settlement: All I want is the $8,000.00 for work not done yet.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2014/06/06) */ From: ***** ******-***** <********@sbcglobal.net> Date: Thu, Jun 5, 2014 at 2:18 PM Subject: RE: Case #94500498 - ****** ******.vs.Safeguard Waterproofing-Ram Jack To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> I did try calling about one week ago and yes I would like to dismiss the case. We have amicably resolved or issue and they will be coming to my home tomorrow to discuss the work they will start next week. Should you still need to contact me please call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** (****** ******'s daughter, I care for her and I have power of attorney) Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 23, 2013 Safeguard Waterproofing company came to our home ***** N. ****** Ave) for an estimate and assessment of our basement. We have had an ongoing issue with water seepage. ******* ***** came in for an assessment and possible seepage location/problem detection, but due to the drywalls covering where the water was seeping in from he could not assess clearly what the problem was nor give us an accurate estimate until he knew for sure what was going on. He advised us to take all the walls down around the perimeter to further assess the situation. We did as told and scheduled a return appointment. On October 31, 2013, ******* ***** came back to determine what exactly and where exactly the water was seeping in from now that the walls were down as requested. He then said that we needed to install a "drain tile" around the perimeter of the basement and for warranty issues we must also include a better sump pump with a back up sum pump. He quoted us at $7,960.00. Since they offered financing options, price was reasonable and we were getting an assessment from an expert, we agreed to hire them for the home improvement of our basement. I included a copy of the contract as well as the "home improvement plan" he designed of what needed to be done to repair the basement and waterproof it. We gave him a $2,000.00 deposit in cash. He scheduled his workers to come start the work about a month and a half later. His workers arrived in the morning and were here no more than 1 hour. They began to dig a small hole (picture included with complaint) and shortly thereafter called my husband and *** over to advise them that they can no longer complete the waterproofing plan as stated in contract due to "house structure was unstable". *** came over to see what the problem was. He then told us that we needed a "four inch thick cement wall" built around the perimeter of our basement in order to make the house stable and be able to complete the waterproofing as agreed. He then quoted us an additional $10,000. At this point, when he told us that we said absolutely not. We can not afford that and that it was not part of the contract nor was that even assessed the day of the inspection when he wrote the contract up. The foundation is clearly visible with no obstruction to its viewing. so there's no excuse as to how he didn't see nor assess that the day of the inspection. Had he assessed the foundation problem and given us an estimate of $17,960.00 we would have never signed a contract nor wasted their time in coming to do the work that we couldn't afford. He then said we would get a refund of our deposit money since he couldn't complete the work based on the incidental findings that were not assessed during inspection. We then were sent a check refund of $1,100.00 (picture included). I was highly upset and my husband and I called to speak to *** who was I believe the sales rep or manager. He claimed the best he can do was refund us another $600.00 and keep $300 because he needed some compensation for gas, the workers coming out (which they were there no longer than 1 hour) and the permit. We did receive the check but I'm still not happy with the outcome. I believe as a business owner he should be held liable for any error or mistake an employee makes. That's the part of owning a business, not every time is it going to be a win-win situation. It was not our fault that the problem was not assessed the day of or else we would have never signed a contract or wasted their time in coming out. They should be held fully accountable and refund us our full deposit amount. Why should we have to pay for their mistakes? Had they completed the work in the agreement we could have committed to payment but its not our fault that they could not do what they agreed to do because of an error on their behalf, we should not be held liable for that. The owner should take full responsibility for the loss. I shouldn't have to pay for their gas etc. like he said.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the remaining balance of $300.00 still owed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *****, President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@safeguardwaterproofing.com On 12/12/13 we dispatched a crew to install an interior drain tile system. Upon removing some of the concrete floor our foreman determined that the footing of the home stopped at the top of the basement floor elevation - this is NOT normal. As soon as this was discovered the consultant and management were dispatched to assess the situation and determine a course of action. It was determined that a structural curb would need to be installed prior to a drain tile. The curb is necessary to avoid undermining the foundation and causing a hazardous situation. We provided an estimate for adding a curb and patched the holes. The homeowner asked for some time to decide if they wanted to proceed - we agreed to give them some time. In the meantime, the homeowner contacted original contractor who "rehabbed" this house. The previous contractor agreed to correct the work at no cost. At this time the homeowner requested that the contract with us be cancelled. We cancelled the contract and refunded all the deposit minus the cost to obtain the permit with the City of Chicago We did not bill for the test holes that determined the inferior "rehab" work done. We did not bill for the time management spent educating the homeowner on the way to solve the problem. Our contract was for $10,700.00 and now the homeowner is getting the work done at no cost by another contractor, based on the knowledge we were able to provide the homeowner. I am glad we were able help the homeowner avoid a potentially hazardous situation. I am shocked that this unwarranted complaint has been filed. Final Consumer Response /* (4252, 13, 2014/02/13) */ Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94486404 (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message ****** ******* <*****************@yahoo.com> Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 11:29 AM To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> That's fine, I'm willing to proceed. So you'll contact them and let them know, correct? Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android Final Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/02/25) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case# 94486404 (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message ***** ***** <******@safeguardwaterproofing.com> Mon, Feb 24, 2014 at 12:52 PM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org Cc: ***** ***** <******@safeguardwaterproofing.com> We agree to arbitration as well. We will need to do this via conference call. Please confirm. Thank you. ***** ***** Safeguard Waterproofing Ram Jack Illinois Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX www.RAMJACK.info ******@safeguardwaterproofing.com

1/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed the contract for the basement drain tile system 7/23/13 which totaled $ 5864. Paid 20% deposit of $1164 on 7/23/13 which brought remaining balance to $4700 due upon completion. Safe Guard began the work on 10/19/13. During the excavation, Safe Guard broke the water line in 3 places so we had to shut the water off and have a plumbing crew fix this line which resulted in us paying $625.00 which was paid in full 10/19/13. When the plumbers fixed the line and went to turn on the water, they had noticed that the sewer lines were also damaged in the bathroom and the laundry room. The Safe Guard crew made no mention of this to us so I sent an urgent email to the owner the evening of 10/19/13. The morning of 10/20/13 the Safe Guard crew and director *** arrived at our location and told us they would fix all of the things that they broke. However, *** did say that they need to hide the repairs from the inspector who happened to show up 30 minutes later. During the inspection, the inspector noticed all of the things that Safe Guard attempted to hide. The job did not pass ********** because of the plumbing damage. Because the Safe Guard are not licensed plumbers, they decided that we are responsible for the damage. There is a blurb in the contact that states the company takes precaution but are not responsible for damage. However, it is clear precaution was not taken and this was pure negligence. After numerous attempts to work with the owner and director regarding the damage, we submitted the final payment of $2415.00 which was the difference of the total amount due and the plumbing damaged of $2285. After numerous threatening phone calls to my husband and I, the rejected the final payment of $2415 and filed a mechanic's lien claim on our property for $4450. While they did credit $250 for damage, it is no where close to what we had to pay out of pocket to the plumbing company.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is they pay for the damage that they caused which was $2,285.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@comcast.net The clause on our contract is clearly written in English (see below) and is not a blurb. Un-fortunately on a rear occasions various types of plumbing/drain lines can be damaged when removing a concrete floor to install an interior drain tile system. We are as cautious as possible but our lack of having x-ray vision simply makes it impossible to know exactly where lines are located. When any line is damaged we notify the customer immediately so they can arrange for repairs. In this case while the damage to the water line was un-fortunate, the other drain lines were unprofessionally installed prior to our opening the floor. I personally spoke to the customer within minutes of the damage to the water line and the uncovering of the other lines I informed them we would not be paying for any damage according to the terms of our contract. It's simply a crime that unscrupulous consumers like this can ruin a solid reputation of hard working people/companies like ours. The final job has passed ******* inspection. I would at this time like to demand full payment of the total amount due! Regards ****** ******* Director of Sales/Marketing *SGWP agrees to take precautions not to damage underground wiring, radiant heat, sprinkler systems, drain lines, water lines, sewage disposal systems, oil lines, gas lines, conduits or any other installations in areas of excavation, grading, paving, or construction but assumes no liability if damage occurs, nor the responsibility for removal, relocation or replacement of same. In the event Municipality requires upgrade or replacement of utilities, cost for such work is not included in our contract. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Tim committed to fixing the problems but changed his mind after the inspector uncovered the plumbing damage which the crew was instructed to hide. We are being completely being reasonable and honest to the fullest. We would not be home owners if we did not pay our bills. Inspite your company going as far as calling my husband "Un-educated" during a phone conversation, I refuse to stoop to your name calling, unprofessional level. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/16) */ Precaution was taken. *** was quick to offer fix the issue because that is how we do business, we fix problems! This homeowner is unreasonable and dishonest and apparently doesn't feel he needs to pay his bills. We demand payment in full now.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Safeguard Waterproofing - Ram Jack
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)