Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Perma-Seal Basement Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 8
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

37 Customer Reviews on Perma-Seal Basement Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 30
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 37

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 04/08/1982 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Chicago Department of Public Health
333 S. State Street, Chicago IL 60604
Phone Number: (312) 747-9884

Type of Entity


Business Management
BBB Contact
Contact Information
Principal: BBB Contact
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Basement - Remodeling Ejectors Flood Control Equipment Water Leak Detection Waterproofing Materials Air Quality Service Glass - Block Insulation Materials Water Heaters - Dealers Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Egress Water Mitigation Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Water & Sewer Line Protection Contractor - Crawl Space Basement Waterproofing Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Basement - Contractors Drainage Contractors Sump Pump Contractors Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Waterproofing Contractors Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, check and cash
Service Area
Alternate Business Names
Perma Seal Waterproofing Perma-Seal Foundation Repair Svc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Perma-Seal Basement Systems, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 513 Rogers Street

    Downers Grove, IL 60515 (800) 421-7325


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before digging out my basement in 2011, I had Permaseal provide me with waterproofing options to prevent any water damage after the basement was finished. I spared no expense on waterproofing the basement, spending over $8k on drain tile, sump pump, liners for my crawlspace, etc.. At no time did the salesman suggest any other options that would ensure that my basement would be adequately waterproofed. Since then, I have finished the basement. During the deluge on July 23rd, water was seeping into the basement from the bottom of the stairwell. It travelled under the wood floorboards to the drain in the utility room. I immediately called Permaseal and left an urgent message to return my call ASAP. My next call was to ******* ****** to remove the water from the floor and walls and dry out the basement. Holes had to be cut in my drywall, baseboards were torn out, and drying equipment was in place for 4 days to dry everything. That cost $2050. I have not yet begun to repair anything, but that will only add to the cost of this unfortunate incident. I never received a return call back from my initial call on 7/23. I had to call again on 7/25 and wait a week and a half for a site manager to come inspect the damage. The site manager was not able to determine why my basement flooded on 7/23 and I had to make another appt with a site engineer - earliest available on 8/29. When I scheduled that appt I spoke to the scheduler about getting my water removal expenses reimbursed. She said she would look into it and get back to me, but I have not heard back. The response from Permaseal when I have an issue with their WARRANTIED PRODUCT has been slow and apathetic. This is not the case when they are trying to sell you something - they are much more responsive and available to meet right away. I would NOT recommend Permaseal to a friend or neighbor. They were not available when I needed them most and they are NOT living up to their Product Warranty.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like $2050 reimbursement to remove the water in my "waterproofed" basement. Second, I would like immediate attention to resolving what is causing the flooding in my basement, including being available before and after normal work hours so I don't have to take off any more time from work to get this resolved. Waiting weeks between visits to escalate the matter to higher ranks is completely unacceptable.

Business Response: We have been fortunate to discover the source of our client's seepage issues, which we've discussed with our valued client.  While technically not treated by Perma-Seal in our original proposal, the area in question will be addressed pro bono by Perma-Seal on a upcoming service appointment.  At the same time, for a charge, Perma-Seal will also address, at our clients request, unrelated crawl space seepage issues, which were never addressed during the original installation.  Altogether, we are confident we can provide our client with the solutions they are asking for and we look forward to their continued satisfaction with us for as long as they own the home. 

8/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response:

We've spoken to our valued client and apologized for the delay.  Her refund was processed 8/25 and returned via her credit card. It should take 3-5 days to process. 



*** ***********

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will be monitoring my credit card account for the refund.  


*** ******

7/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a house in 2014 and the address is **** ** **** ****upon living here for about 5 months i smelled moldy smell.So i called PermA Seal.They sent out their salesman named *** *******,And he introduced himself as a saleman and qualified specialist in this area of profession.So *** looked around the house went under one side of the house crawl space.and upon looking on the other side of the house he could not fit in that area because it was too small to fit after *** looked around and took pictures because either him or I could not fit on one side of crawl space to the house.So we sat down with me.And explained what needed to be done.He told me that one side would have machine called Sani-Dry air Dehumidification and air purification to help reduce/prevent humidity,odors and mold.A discharge line.And clean space encapsulation system applied to floors and walls. And also a 1/2 HP Zoeller 98 pump,ultra III Battery operated sump pump. and *** also said the other side needed to opened up more.And one side of the wall had to be cut open to connect the sump pump to both sides so upon lookin at ALL that needed to be said and done,It was going to cost over 15 Thousand dollars to get done.So i had it all financed.Upon approval with finance company.All work was done on MAY 27,28,and 29 of 2015.When the crew came out they came to me sayin that had complication.They said where they had to cut the wall it was too close to the pipes.And they could not connect the sump pump to other side because of no elecrticity outlet.The crew manager said it would be another 1100 hundred or so to install electricity outlets.So they called their boss because my sales Rep *** ******* was on i had to wait another week for work to be done.So upon this happening.I told them the work was financed and they will have to solve the problem within what i paid already.So another contract was drawn up.and seven months down the line.I had a flood.and they came and change the pump.But the sani dry was Damaged.

Desired Settlement: continued from above.And they took the sani dry out of my property on DEC 31 of 2015.and it was gone till Feb 5 of 2016.and was brought back with out my knowledge.and the blower motor was i called the company and they said they were going to find i waited and few days later they called me and said they were coming out to repair sani dry. and i asked the lady if it was covered under the warranty.she said yes and they were coming out Feb24to fix it.buti had to pay 250.00 dollars

Business Response:

The Perma-Seal company and Mr. ****** reached a mutually agreeable solution to his situation.  Everyone is happy now.

2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perma-Seal installed the waterproof system for our basement on 10/22 and 10/23/2015. After the first rain several days later the new concrete was wet. We contacted our sales representative via email. He responded that he would contact the company. No response from the company until a third email was sent. On 11/24, two guys came and couldn't tell us the issue. They just said that the main office would call us in a couple of days. As of 12/1/2015, no call. I have pictures of the basement if necessary. We don't understand how the waterproof system installed allowed water to enter the house via the wet concrete. I can't believe that improper work goes this long unsettled by a company that has a A+ rating on BBB. By the way, is what was commented on during the sales pitch.

Desired Settlement: We want the work done properly and ASAP. I want to put my basement back together before the next Holiday.

Business Response: As with all new concrete, it is recommended that you lightly "mist" the new concrete once a day for three days.  Doing this will help the concrete cure properly and retard the excessive cracking. The curing process of concrete indoors can take as long as 30-90 days. During this time, excess water is evaporating up through the concrete. This “sweating” of the concrete will increase during rainfall or whenever a lot of water is running in the system. This condensation may even amount to a pool of water, such as you see when windows sweat during very hot or cold days. We have been in contact with our client and have reached an agreeable solution.  

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 10975039

I am rejecting this response because the alternative is to accept and close the case.  I don't want this case to appear as closed.  There should be a third option that the complaint is being considered by client and business owner. Karen sent me an agreement letter on January 14, 2016 and I responded with the requested pictures of the uncovered equipment.  I have not heard back from her since.


Dorothy *****

Business Response:

Perma-Seal is working with Mr. and Mrs. ***** on a resolution, which we hope to achieve very soon.


1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $3,000 to have a dual sump pump system installed to prevent flooding in crawl space and lower level of residence (11/2015). On 12-28-2015 crawl space flooded. Crew was sent out and blamed flooding on seepage. I personally was in crawl space and watched water level rise over sump pit and flood crawl space. Pumps that were installed could not keep up with amount of water and flooding was not due to seepage.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem so I will not have to concern myself with any flooding issues from this point on.

Business Response: We went out to clients home to assess the situation and it was determined that our client needs a larger pumping capacity to handle the amount of water he is getting in the crawlspace.  He are awaiting a return call from our client in regards to moving forward with a larger pump.

12/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 19th, 2015 ************** came out and sold us a system that we guaranteed the basement would never flood again. He said we would trench out the down spouts with a high grade tube (which he did not provide when it was installed) and he had a battery back up system that would run the sump pumps so we would not have to worry about the power going out. At the time we had three sump pumps running in two pits. The entire system when***** was done would have to zoeller pumps one we had and one he sold us at an inflated price. we also had to hire and electrician to run a dedicated outlet for the sump pits. The workers came out did the work and did not explain how the system worked and left. ***** lead us to believe that the battery backup came with a 24 hour on call service - which we found later to be a lie. The first heavy rain fall the power went out and the basememnt started to flood within minutes. The battery backup he suppled was running but for only one pump not the two like we were told. I tried to call*****, no answer, tried to call permaseal I was told to leave a message that would get back to me during normal business hours. We explained to***** extensively that we knew we a had drain tile problem and we got a lot of water in the pits and we were trying to keep the basement dry while we figured out how to handled the drain tile issue.***** guaranteed us we could put our generator and hoses away.***** seemed more interested in rushing to write the contact and counting his commission than listening to what we were trying to tell him. The next business day I called corporate and called***** and they all acted like it was no big deal. ***** was too much of a coward to call me so he called my husband and acted like a totally different person than the person who came over the night we signed the contract and handed him a check for over 1700 dollars for the down payment. I did call guy suggested before I filed the complaint and he was on vacation and handed me off to some woman who than handed me off to some else. The long and the short of it is they will not take the battery back up back and give us cash they. They say they want 2600 dollars more for a second battery back system to run the second pump which is what we thought the one could do. The trenching in the back yard is now constantly flooded and stinks were it never did before. The pipes outside the foundation make a puddle against the foundation and they have now since come out once disconnected the one outlet took our piping and have it above ground leading into a swail in our backyard. The battery back we do have was found to be malfunctioning and they replaced the charger but, we will still flood because it does not run the second pump like promised. the came out and replaced the charger August 7th. 2015 but, would not tell us when they would be out to complete the work - they said they were to busy. I told them again pick their crap up and give me the money back and the refused. ***** told us that we would have a better system than a whole house generator and it would be cheaper which is a lie. We called the electrician that put in the outlet and he said he could give us a whole house generator for 4500 and it would run other things besides the sump pump. the last time the workers were out they said it is too wet to fix the trenching and have not been back since july 10th. I have called and they refuse to give me a date or a time. My husband and I have both taken off work and My husband has lost overtime hours which is irreplaceable. We are out over 8700 dollars for which they already have their money for because we went thru finance company to afford the over priced shotty work they did. Please help us resolve this matter. I have told them just give me the money so I can fix the damage they have done and I will go away but, they refuse. I feel that we were taken advantage of***** knew we had just gotten our tax return too & despare

Desired Settlement: I want the money that we are out so that we can hire some to fix the problems they have caused and seek alternative battery back up systems for our sump pumps that run the whole system like originally promised. what ************* said and what he delivered are two entirely different things and I believe he used a bait and switch method. He knew my husband and I were exhausted because we would stay awake when it rained so we could hook up the gas generator with the pipes out the window, he knew we had just gotten our tax return and we were desperate to get the basement to stop flooding. I would have had more respect for him if he told us he wss sorry he could not help us but, instead they scammed us and took the money and ran and refuse to give any refund or come out and fix the mess they have caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ************** Manager Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ******** Perma-Seal and its client have decided on a mutually agreeable solution and our client is happy now. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I AM NOT HAPPY - THEY WILL NOT RETURN MY PHONE CALLS AND HAVE DONE NOTHING TO FIX THE PROBLEM OF THE SMELLY MARSH OR THE DISCONNECTED PIPE THAT IS NOW ABOVE GROUND RUNNING INTO THE SWAIL IN THE BACKYARD. I AM FAR FROM HAPPY! PERMA SEAL NEEDS TO TAKE OWNERSHIP OF THIS MISTAKE AND QUIT MAKING EXCUESES. THEY KNOW THEY ARE WRONG AND THEY WILL NOT FIX THE PROBLEM WITHOUT ME PUTTING OUT MORE MONEY! SO NOT HAPPY! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ************** Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** Perma-Seal and our client have reached an agreement.

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Permaseal installed system on June 2013, while installing they cracked main sewer pipe and covered it up. A week later we had sewer water coming from drain in basement. We called Permaseal and they after several hours n the phone they finally came in to fix it, breaking up the floor again. We also hired an electrician through the company to add a breaker box for the system. During the install he missed several appointments, and then installed it above the washer which was against village code. Also we always test our home for radon, and after Permaseal installed it our Radon levels spike to unhealthy levels. Radon remidiation company said it was due to the open french drain Permaseal installed. Sales person Robert NEVER mentioned the possibility of Radon escaping through drain tile. Today June 15th 2015 we had heavy rain in Chicago. The system did not work, we have had same seepage as before.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of some sort. We are tired of dealing with this company. They have been a headache to deal with from the beginning. Their customer service is appalling. To get someone out for service in the event of large thunderstorms is close to impossible. They misinformed us about their products. They did not care about our health. They did not inform us about asbestos and radon (in which we had both). Our basement still has the same amount of water seeping in as when we didn't have the system. It was an extremely expensive product in which we see no benefits. It not acceptable to have a $6000+ product in our home that does not help

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ Contact Name and Title: Karen********* Manager Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ********************** Perma-Seal and its client are currently working on an agreeable solution and our client is satisfied now.

6/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 7,2015 Perma-Seal did drain tile work in my basement to resolve a seepage issue. The seepage was a small amount of water that would seep in around the stairs and along the walls. They were also to install a sump pump stand and clean the debris and sediment from the pumps. During the process the worker informed me that my sump pump was not working PROPERLY and asked if I wanted to buy a sump pump from them for $495.00. I told them no because I wanted to get a 2nd opinion because my sump pump was working until they came. They completed the job about 5:30pm on May 7,2015.A week later on May 12,2015 there is a foot of water in my basement. After paying Perma-Seal $4545.94 I should not have any water in my basement. I noticed that there was a sump pump in the middle of my basement floor. The Perma-Seal worker never installed my sump pump back in the pit subsequently causing a foot of water in my basement. My sump pump was operating to keep water out of my basement until Perma-Seal came trying to sell me a $495.00 sump pump.The lack of workmanship is unacceptable. The worker should have put back my sump pump the way that he found it. He should not have been negligent and left the sump pump in the middle of my basement floor. Because of Perma-Seal's negligence I have been extremely inconvenienced. Not only did I just pay them $4545.94 to have a dry basement; the foot of water damaged my hot water tank. When contacting Customer Service I have been getting the run around. They sent a technician out on May 14,2015. He could not explain why the original sump pump was left out and not put back in. I was forced to purchase a sump pump from Perma-Seal that day because there was nothing that Perma-Seal would do. The total cost for that sump pump was $336.00. My hot water tank is now damaged and will not light. Perma-Seal said there is nothing that they can do but offer me a 10% discount off of one of their hot water tanks.This has been a nightmare!! Account_Number: XXXXXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like my hot water tank fixed or replaced at the expense of Perma-seal. If they would have put my original sump pump back in and I would have gotten water, it would have been my responsibility. However, Perma Seal's worker was negligent by not putting my sump pump back in, holding them liable for the damage to my hot water tank. I should not be out of any more money because of their carelessness.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** Perma-Seal and its client have decided on a mutually agreeable solution and our client is happy now. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ***** ******* was notified of my complaint. She promptly resolved the situation.

4/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: For ****** came out in September to fix a crack and a void in the foundation neither one was fixed properly water was still coming in they came back a second time and fix the crack void still leaking they came back a third time void still leaking they said they are done they are not going to do anything else

Desired Settlement: I want the problem fixed as promised

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** We spoke to our client and we are currently working on solutions for his concern. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** had called and left a message (never talked to her) she said they were working on it and would let me know what they came up with. She called on the 19th haven't heard from her since. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The first time perma seal came out to repair the crack and the void. Everything was supposedly repaired until the next rainfall. We had more water, so the second time coming to our home they claimed it was coming from the beam pocket which was where the original crack went into and continued through the pocket. This was the SAME crack, no courtesies were givenit wasnt repaired in full the first time. The third time with rainfall again water again coming from the "repaired" void. This is when a salesperson came outnot a repair technician to sell us more services instead of repairing the original -still unfixed problem. Now someone is coming to look at and/or reair the form void. Leaving claim open until further notice. will be updating bbb after april 4. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/03/25) */ Hello, I have been in contact with Mr. ****** and we have agreed to come out to his home on 4/4/15 to perform a water test to find out exactly where the water was coming into his crawl space. Thanks *****

2/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10-21-13, I had Perma-Seal install drain tiles in the finished portion of my basement and had it connect to the drain pipe where my water-pumps were.After Perma-Seal completed their work they showed me their work which consisted of a layer of wet concrete which I was told would dry in a few days. Later that year I got some water in my basement because Perma-Seal had unplugged the pump which is behind a finished portion of the basement. The water reached into the newly carpeted finished areal. I called Perma-Seal and complained but was told that I signed off that everything was in working order. I don't know how I would know the pipes were in working order because I wasn't supposed to get near them due to the wet cement. Last night, my basement got water again. This time it was restricted to the finished portion of the basement only next to the areas where Perma-Seal had installed the drain tiles. In other words, the drain tiles didn't do what it was supposed to do. When the workmen showed up there were three guys. I was told that one of there workers didn't show up today but they would still finish by the end of the day. When they were finished I had to convince one of the workmen that he was the one who took off a basement door of it's hinges. There was also a pipe going over a drain which he had to re-install. Product_Or_Service: 4'' pvc drain tiles along the basement int Account_Number: Est # 3*************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like them to do something that will prevent water from coming into the basement without ripping up the carpeting and the drain tiles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ I spoke to *** who is upset he got more water during the early July storm. He wants us to figure out why without ripping up his new carpet. Previously an unplugged pump led to water seepage. Recently he indicated that the discharge line might be too close to the home, which could lead to water recycling and more seepage. We did not install his pumps or discharge lines but we will be happy to inspect them. We scheduled a service call for July 18 for us to go out and investigate the situation to determine the best solution. Our client is happy with this approach. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was contacted by Perma-seal after I filed my complaint. I again explained my problem and they had scheduled time to come out to my house to check out the problem. They reported that I was happy with this. I wasn't happy. It was their responsibility to check why their system wasn't working. And since it was during normal business hours I had to take time off from work to meet with them. When they got to my house they poured water down one of the window wells. Water wasn't draining fast enough for them and they concluded that reason I got water in the basement was that when we had a major storm, the window well filled up past the drain pipe and came in through the window. When perma-seal poured the water in my window well, the water settled at least 3 inches below the bottom of the window. Shortly after they left, all the water in the window well had drained. I still got water on my floors even though the water never reached the window. It's pretty obvious that they looked for any excuse to not claim responsibility for poor workmanship. This may be an isolated incident but the fact that they won't claim responsibility shows it's not a reliable company. What is the purpose of a warranty if they won't stand behind it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/01) */ *** and I spoke about Perma-Seal's need to see behind his paneled wall, which needs to be removed. He's not ready for us to come back to look at the area to determine the seepage issue (which could be related or unrelated to our work), but he said he'll call me when he's ready. Consumer Response /* (4***, 16, 2014/11/25) */ had gotten another contractor to resolve my problem. When I went to the case link it said it was closed. But there was also a link to add additional information. Will that additional information be part of my complaint filed. I had contacted both US waterproofing and my plumber, both who said the system permaseal installed should have kept the water from my basement. I want to convey what happened, what I was told by them and the final resolution. Thanks *** ***** *** *** ****** LLC ************ Road Suite *** ******* IL ***** Direct - (847) ******** Fax - (847)******** Cell - (847) ******** ******************* 1/13/15 info from consumer: After PermaSeal made their last set of additional recommendations since I was still getting water in my basement. I called up US Waterproofing and had one of their representatives come to my house. I explained the problem of still getting water in my basement after PermaSeal installed the drain tiles in my basement. The man opened a built-in cabinet in my basement and saw the kind of system that was put in and told me that, it should have stopped the water leakage. He said there was nothing he could do but suggested I call a plumber. I called my plumber and explained the same thing I explained to US Waterproofing. He also looked in the built-in cabinet at were the ceiling and floor meet and saw the system PermaSeal had put in and also told me that system should have stopped the water from coming into my house. He told me he could dig-up the drain tiles on the outside and check those and could grade the dirt away from the house. He dug up the drain tiles outside and found a large piece of concrete lodged in the tiles. He removed it, covered the drain tiles up, graded the dirt around the house. He charged me less than $500 and for the rest of the rainy season I didn't get water in my basement. What the plumber did was not suggested by the "experts" at PermaSeal. I've gotten calls for an annual check-up/cleaning of the drain tiles which would run a couple hundred dollars a year but it would be for a system that doesn't work. I don't know if the crew that came to my house was in over there heads since they were one man short for the job or there aren't sufficient quality controls at the company but I'm not at all satisfied with the work that had been done or the initial responses I've received whenever I've called to complain about water coming in my basement after the indoor drain tiles were installed. I had water in my basement five times after they completed their work and I don't know the future negative affect of what the drain tiles will due in the future if they're not maintained. But I won't pay to maintain an inoperative system. Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/01/22) */ FW: BBB Complaint Case# 94507818 (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 7 messages *** *********** <************> Fri, *** 9, 2015 at 3:40 PM To: ********* *****" <*******> *****, Our client had written that he "had gotten another contractor to resolve my problem. When I went to the case link it said it was closed. But there was also a link to add additional information. Will that additional information be part of my complaint filed. I had contacted both US waterproofing and my plumber, both who said the system permaseal installed should have kept the water from my basement. I want to convey what happened, what I was told by them and the final resolution." It was not clear to us that a response was required since our client said he simply wanted "to convey what happened". It's not clear how his contractor resolved his problem but we're pleased to know that our client now longer has any problems. We were also willing to help resolve his problem but we needed to wait until he removed his paneling so that we could see what his problem was Regards, *** Consumer Response /* (4***, 22, 2015/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My Plumber didn't need to take the paneling off the wall to identify or fix the problem. In addition, both US Waterproofing and my Plumber said the work that PermaSeal had performed should have prevented the particular water issue I was having. Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2015/02/03) */ Perma-Seal and Mr. **** have agreed that at this time there is nothing that he wants from Perma-Seal at this time. Consumer Response /* (4***, 28, 2015/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's more like I don't trust them to do anything else.

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 24, 2014, ***** ******** representative from Permaseal visited our home for an initial evaluation of our basement. Our request for the visit was because our crawlspace had water leaking and the basement was leaking worse (large puddles). We asked for a thorough assessment of what was needed to solve any and all problems in their entirely, expressing that we wanted to finish the basement and, obviously, wanted no water leaking, anywhere. The solution presented was costly ($15,100.77), but we went forward because we felt this cost was worth it for a "solution." The suggested work was done on June 26 and 27, 2014; this entailed a relatively large job that included work on the perimeter of the home and repairs on the inside (crawlspace and basement). Unfortunately, the proposed solution to the problem DID NOT solve the problem. Within 2 days of the completion of the work, we had water in the crawl space and puddles in the basement. It has been a tremendous struggle working with this company once they failed to complete the initial project adequately. We have been patient. **** ******* came out on multiple occasions after this (trying to figure out where the water was coming from and why their 'solution' did not work). He saw the water and puddles and acknowledged the continued problem. He notified managers, but nobody acted for months. The initial salesman, ***** ******* sold us a solution for our water issues. In his words, email message dated 5/25/XXXX X:XXam, "Thanks again for meeting with me yesterday and a BIG thanks for being sooo polite and lady like and not ripping my head off or kicking me out of your house when I was explaining the estimate to you and you saw the total. I feel bad being the bearer of bad news, but I know you realize I'm just trying to implement a system that will give you a peace of mind(after we do the work ,of course) every time it rains." Finally in September, we were contacted indicating that someone would come out to assess the mess AGAIN. A voice mail message was left, telling us the day, rather than a phone call setting up a day that was convenient for us. However, given the over 2 month delay already, We just took what was offered. We requested that the original foreman (******) be the person who came out and was assured he would be. Why start over? He knew the job and knew the work conducted to attempt to fix the problem. On September 10, ****, showed up, not ******, and immediately begin indicating that the initial consultation excluded some very glaring issues in the basement. He was confused as to why Pete did not suggest more than tie-rod work in the basement. Among other issues he pointed out, he found 9 cracks in the basement walls (they were not new, but Pete neglected to point them out). **** provided a quote for $2,757 for additional work. We were livid, as we paid for a solution that would "give us peace of mind every time it rains." In our continued frustration, we were about to file a complaint with BBB. However, we followed a suggestion on the website that recommended contacting *** *********** as a first resort in lieu of a BBB complaint. On September 10, 2014, we sent a very detailed message to *** S. that included the entire email string and account of events from the onset. In addition, we sent him photographs of the basement taken post-completion of the work that clearly depicted the massive amounts of water that continued to leak in the basement and crawlspace. In essence, the communication with *** S. was useless, he simply gave us additional names to reach out to (now we needed to contact "sales" to find out why ***** screwed up). This is not our responsibility. None-the-less, we contacted **** ********* who came out to look at the mess himself. **** schedule crawl work to correct pervious errors for October 25, 2014. PermaSeal confirmed the night before and canceled at 8:10AM October 25, 2014. Beyond FRUSTRATING!

Desired Settlement: REFUND and GET OUT TO OUR HOME and COMPLETE the BACKFILL WORK as CONTRACTED. WE HAVE LARGE HOLES IN OUR BACK YARD DUE TO SHOTTY and INCOMPLETE PERMASEAL WORK! As stated, we have discussed our problem with *** *********** who is a Director at Perma-Seal & plays a role with the BBB. Due to his incompetence we do not want him working on our BBB case. He was not prepared during our first call with him. He promised to call us afterwards and missed the date of his promised call. Eventually he got back to us but did not have any answers. Perma-Seal has been very difficult and frustrating to work with. After their work failed, we were told how busy they were and they'd eventually get to us. Once they have your money they no longer stand behind their product. We have sent numerous emails to **** ********** *** *********** and Peter Perisin regarding our issue and really feel that they could care less. The bottom line is that there was a serious oversight in the assessment of the solution. That is not the responsibility of the customer. Further, this problem was identified in May of 2014 and to date (October 25, 2014), we have a basement full of water and a partially fixed crawlspace. Because the work that Permaseal did incorrectly is under warranty - after much prodding, the company did agree to come out and make additional repairs to the crawlspace (after **** ********* saw the mess with his own eyes). **** personally scheduled, with our agreement, for October 25, 2014. A confirmation call was received on 10/24 and then at the last minute on 10/25 - we received a call (voice mail) that the work needed to be cancelled and rescheduled. The biggest issue is the neglected portion of the solution. Pete clearly messed up on his initial estimate. He did not included several things that multiple individuals after him identified as clearly being needed done in the basement. Now, Permaseal is saying that this is not their problem. Why? Because it isn't under warranty. If you NEGLECTED TO DO the correct work - how can it be under warranty? **** B. gave us an additional estimate of $4,160.00 for the work Permaseal neglected to point out as part of the entire solution. We don't wish to pay out more money. To rectify this, it is our request that Perma-Seal refund the amount of $12,169.77. We will pay for the sub-pumps (that were part of the initial work) but should not have to pay for work that wasn't completed and failed. We don't care to pay for additional work since Perma-Seal doesn't stand by their promise. They also need to get out and backfill, per the contract, our window wells. Perma-Seals literally leaves a mess of your home, we have water, ruined boxes and items, and mold/mildew odor in our home. It is horrible and we regret choosing Perma-Seal. We'd rather find a water-proofing company that is competent and not just a marketing company who doesn't follow through. I expect to see my refund mid November 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/06) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Dir Admin Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ While we do not believe that we did anything wrong by way of waterproofing the basement, we are sorry about the experience that our client has trying to communicate with us. We have been working diligently with **** to understand how we can help, and have finally arrived at what we believe is a mutually agreeable solution.

10/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The laborers were ordered by their supervisor, **** (I think it was his name) to patch the 4 inch concrete floor with only 2 inches of mortar/topping mix, along with 2 additional inches of gravel. With the 30 years of residential experience I have, I saw a scam occurring in my home. They were trying to do substandard work, by not pouring 4 inches of concrete with aggregrate stone. I immediately ordered them to stop. Their supervisor said they always patch the floors in this manner. This is not in a workmanship style of repair was my complaint. After he checked with their office, he sent his men to a local big box store, and they poured the aggregrate concrete mix. The mixture was mixed with way too much water, and only was surface floated. Water covered the top layer, in turn weakening the mixture. They left before finishing the concrete. I asked them about finishing it, but they said they were done. I now have a 14 foot by 24 inch patch that is covered with portland cement and sand dust, that tracks dust through the basement to the upstairs. I have tried washing it down twice with water, but since the concrete was poured with too much water, the dust seeps to the surface after the surface dries. I am renting the home out now, and my tenants' children cannot use the basement. The dust goes all over. Also the washer and dryer are in the basement, so dust gets tracked upstairs when the they are used. This is a scam of Permaseal to both try and use a topping compound 2 inches thick, and when busted, pouring concrete with way too much water, just to get in and get out a.s.a.p. I need them to come out and replace the concrete as it was before they tried to replace it.

Desired Settlement: Remove and replace the concrete with a hardened, troweled finish surface.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ We have left several messages for *** and are waiting for a call back.

10/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought a house last year. Perma-Seal had done work in the basement for the previous owners and we were told it was under warranty. We got water in the basement last winter in the area with the P-S patch. I called P-S and they said they would come out for free. The P-S employee barely spoke English. He looked at the basement, but did nothing, and could not say anything or answer any questions. He tried to charge me $85. I told him I thought it was free and he said ok and left. I got an invoice for $85 in the mail. I called P-S and left a detailed voicemail message, but no one called me back. I then got a letter and an invoice for $85. The letter threatened to send the case to collections, to void our warranty and that we would be liable for collection and/or attorney fees.

Desired Settlement: I want Perma-Seal to stop trying to bill me for work that never occurred. On their stationary, Perma-Seal claims to have an A+ rating and I do not think it is deserved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Dir. Bus. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ We resolved the matter to our client's satisfaction and apologized for the miscommunication with our accounting department.

10/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February I had a dry track system installed in my basement,with it being wet. I noticed it was leaking,the first service call was 4/29/14. I was told the floor was to wet for it to be fixed. I asked if they had any way to dry the floor so it could be fixed,I was told there is nothing they can do that I need to put fans and get it dry.They rescheduled for 5/12/14 again I was told it was to wet and nothing could be done and that I needed to speak to a site manager. A site manager came and did an inspection, I was told that they probably used the wrong adhesive in the first place and they will come back out with the correct one. I asked about the floor being wet and was told that they have torches and things they can use to dry it. I told him that I was not satisfied with the product and wanted a refund. He told me to give them a chance to fix it. They had several chances to fix it and I was told nothing could be done now they had ways of fixing it after months of trying to get them to do something. They came out on 7/7/14 to fix it again. The system was still leaking,they came out again on 9/15/14 to fix it. It was still not fixed they were out again 9/29/14 I told them I wanted my money back that I was tired of dealing with this issue. I have called several times to discuss this matter with no results. I also have been trying to get my money back from the start of this for a bubbler pot they also installed and does not work the way I was told it would work. I want to get my money back for the product that does not work this has been going on for several months now and I have given them plenty of chances to get this fixed.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the dry track that was installed in my basement that does not work. After several months it is still not fixed. I also want a refund for the bubbler pot in my front lawn that does not work the way I was told it was suppose to work by the sales rep who came out to my house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/15) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Dir. Bus. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ Perma-Seal and its client have decided on a mutually agreeable solution and our client is happy now.

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started this process in December, when we had Perma Seal person out to look at our basement water issues... As a result an exterior crack was dug and repaired in January and an old interior crack was apparently re done. When they assessed the old interior crack they did not repair all the issues as the water was coming from more than one source. We had been trying to get them back since March and when someone did come out, we were told to remove ceiling tiles, carpet and wallboard prior to reassessment... All was removed...and then we called to reschedule...That was a task in itself...After many calls and disconnections we were finally scheduled for repair. Of course they were here this morning and insisted that this was a new problem...I am certain it was half of the same problem that was not assessed properly to begin with...the same area... So after wasting my time for over 2 hours again, wasting the perma-seal employees time, and after having spent over $1600 I still have water in the same area... You offer no goodwill or customer service... Instead you choose to charge me $900 more to fix the 2nd part of the same area that should have been addressed back in Dec/January. I will need to hire someone else to do this repair. I am disgusted by your work ethics and will never recommend or attempt to use Perma Seal I tried to call the telephone number on the BBB website for your company and left a message and I also tried the email as well to find out id was not a good email address.

Desired Settlement: At lease 50% refund to compensate us needing to get this repaired by another contractor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/29) */ Contact Name and Title: Director of Admin. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ Perma-Seal and our valued client reached an understanding about how to move forward in a mutually agreeable way. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would prefer to wait until I have received the agreed to check and gift card before I release this complaint.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Perma-Seal in Jan. 2013. We have a raised ranch home and have had flooding and water problems for years. A salesman, **** ******* contacted us and came to our home to discuss a solution. A plan and contract was set up and signed on 3/29/2013. We had to rip up $5000 of ceramic tile, remove drywall, remove base board from our downstairs family room, bedroom and laundry area. Perma-Seal took out the old drain tile (had to jack hammer into the foundation)put in new tile, a another ejector sump pump with a smart pak. The cost for Perma - Seal was $6307. We had to hire a handy man to fix the walls and the baseboards another $4000. We were assured that this was going to fix our flooding problem so we had carpet put down at a cost of $1500. We were wrong. The first time we flooded again was June 30, 2014. Not to much damage but the reason we flooded was that the smart pak and the pumps were not working correct. Perma Seal came out and said sorry but not to much damage and removed the Smart Pak. About $600 in damage. Then on Aug 23, 2014 we had a bad flood about 3 t 4 inches of flood water in the house. The new carpet was trashed, the garage flooded also. We lost about $7000 worth of furniture, carpeting, and various items. We do not have any flood insurance because no insurance company will insure us anymore. We contacted **** ****** and his response was he flooded too. Perma Seal solution too our flooding problem did not work so their Guarantee is worthless. Perma Seal was out today X-XX-XXXX to check the pumps. He said they are working and left. I know *** ******* sits on the Board of the BBB and I think this is conflict of interest. My family is at the end of our rope and we are trying to decide if we can still live on our home or has Perma Seal forced us to move. Account_Number: XXXXXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like Perma Seal to repay us for our losses due to not fixing our water problems. We have spent all our savings and tax refunds to get our home livable and now we are forced to probably move because no one would purchase this house. We feel the $12,000 would help us replace items lost and move to a new home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ We scheduled a 9/30 site inspection with a Production Manager to help resolve our client's concerns.

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience with Perma-Seal has been a DISASTER. On July 6th 2010, I signed a contract with Perma-SSeal to install 2 drain wells, a new sump pump aand a backup sump pump. I was hoping to attain peace of mind. In Aug 2010 it was install by 2 very unprofessional technicians. One year later in Aug 2011, heavy storm hit, my sump pump died the backup didn't go off, and we experience several inches of rain water in the basement. The tech that came out to put in a new pump clearly stated "the backup was installed incorrectly and that's why it didn't kick-on." I halso had a supv who came out and took pictures and agreed it was a sloppy job. He sent out another tech to "clean things up." This included installing a cover, cleaning cement residue on cold water pipes, etc. The water caused me to throw out many items. The only reimbursement I request was $875 for relatively new carpeting (which was reduced from actual cost due to a couple years of use). I thought this was extremely reasonable given that I wasn't requesting any additional reimbursement for all the other loses. I won't go into the fact that out of concern for potential mold, I removed and replaced all the drywall. I was dealing with a manager name **** (XXX-XXX-XXXX). Basically, he refused to acknowledge any wrong doing on perma-seal's part. While he asked about my desired reimbursement, the only thing he offered was a free inspection a year later. Then on 8/26/14 during the rain, the primary sump pump goes out AGAIN. It had to be replaced (just a few days beyond 3 yrs from last install). Given all that I've been through I asked for reduced cost for new pump. They credited my bill $50. I am extremely disappointed with Perma-Seal. Dealing with them has been very expensive and more importantly I have a whole less confidence in my water protection set-up. I now worry a lot MORE when there is a heavy rain.

Desired Settlement: I would like my original reimbursement request of $875 be reconsidered given all I've been through.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: Driector of Bus. Dev. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ *** and I spoke and agreed on an approach to his frustrations that he feels is satisfactory.

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having problems with my basement flooding so I called permaseal out to come and take a look and to give me an estimate on what my issue's were and how much it would cost to have them to repair my problems. So the salesman that came out provided us with the problems and what the solutions would be and how much it would cost us.My family and I decided to let permaseal do the work by installing us a drain tile system in July 2013. Once the contractors got to my home they immediately noticed that I did not have the correct sump pump and wanted to sell me one, but because their salesman **** that came out and spent practically 2 hours looking at everything in my home related to the work I needed to have done and giving us the demostration on what I needed and why they would be the perfect company to do the job, failed to notice that I needed a differenent type of pump to go with he drain tile system I was getting they ended up having to throw the pump in for no charge, so once the work was completed, I paid someone to completely remodule my basement as well as purchased ne furniture, however I am still getting water in my basement. I contacted permaseal and they sent someone out to see if I was still getting water had anything to do with the work they did and the first thing that the guy they sent out said was that the drain tile pole on the exterior of the house was too short it should have been longer and that they should have also installed another underground pump to go along with the system they installed that would take the water away from my house when it rained, so instead they put some bendable hoses from Home Depot or Menards on the exterior pump, however that is not working, we are still getting water every time it rains and I paid permaseal practically every dime we had to prevent me from getting water. I was told the only room in my basement that would possibly get water is the bathroom since I was not having my bathtub removed so that they could dig in there. This is totally and completely unacceptable, I was guaranteed if I purchased the package they offered me I would not have any problems with water,I am getting water everytime it rains so what I want to know is, exactly what did we pay for, we spend money preparing for them to do the work, we paid them to do the work and we paid to have the basement remodeled as well as bought new furniture,so were talking about thousands of dollars we spent and my basement is still floodong

Desired Settlement: I would like Permaseal to come back and complete the job that they started, I would like for them to install the underground pump that I was told I needed, by the represenative they sent back out to see why we were still getting water.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Dir.Bus. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ ******* and I had a very pleasant conversation about how we're going to resolve her issues. She is quite happy now.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 24th 2014, The job was done but the workers did not clean up the floor...leaving gravel, dirt and concrete all over the work space so that we could not put our basement back together in working order. One pass ** clean socks made them completely filthy. The workers transferred debris out a window and cracked our pavers and left chunks of concrete flooring, & rocks in the clean mulch. The dumpster wasn't picked up the next day as promised. We called the office and they didn't know anything about it. When they came several days later (when we were not home, nor notified), we found rocks all over the driveway. The driveway was cracked/ big chunks chipped off at the expansion joints, and two long drag marks from the dumpster scratched our driveway. ("before" photos have been taken by me and sent to **** *****, and another rep. came out and took photos after we had the debris swept away by our paid crew) The line from the humidifier (drain) was installed wrong...the line was put in uphill so it would backflow. ******** says the big white pvc drain was put in too high. He is correcting it now. I have made many calls/emails to customer service to no resolution. **** ***** sent me a $25 Lowes gift card for my "inconvenience". That was insulting! We have spent three hours using a shop vac to clean up the basement ourselves, in addition one hour of scrubbing the floors on my hands and knees to get the floor clean. We have not emptied the shop vac to prove how much debris was left behind. ***, a rep from Hammond(?)Indiana stopped by, was very nice (but they are all nice) and assured me action, he took pictures and was sympathetic. I asked that he send a cleaning crew over for the basement. He said he'd contact the dumpster company to fix the problem. He failed to call back in the next two days he promised. When I called the office before 9AM, receptionist said he was there but busy. I didn't hear back for another five hours. Then he asked if I heard from the dumpster company because he hadn't. Since I don't have a relationship with the dumpster people and *** said he was taking care of it, it showed he could not follow through on his promise. I have not heard from *** since. On Friday August 8th, I called the office to ask when Permaseal is going to do anything to complete the job they left undone. Receptionist was polite and vague. I told her she needs to get me a clean up crew here. She told me August 20th. I told her one month later is not okay. We paid $6915.00 for a professional job and this is 100% unprofessional. After being put on hold again, she tells me Monday Aug. 11th. That we'd get a call on Saturday confirming the time. They called and confirmed 7-9 Monday. This morning at 7:25 AM I called asking where the guy ******** is. ***** stated "he should probably be there soon". I asked "Probably? How do you know?" Rosie says "Because our office is in Elk Grove Village." pause "But wait a sec.," on hold again. "Actually you are scheduled between 9 and 3". I reminded her of the confirmation call on Saturday for 7-9. "We're busy, you'll be the second customer" ***** announces. Not okay with us, as we scheduled our life around what was convenient for Permaseal on Saturday. After being on hold again, ***** stated the guys would arrive within the hour. That is the one and only promise kept so far. As of this complaint, I don't know if the job will be done properly. Our anger and frustration ruined many days and nights for us. As of writing this it is August 11th. We have logged much time listening to the recorded promises in the past three weeks. Lots of promises, no action, and passing the buck. For $7000 I'd expect what I paid for. I have fought tooth and nail to have any conversation with Permaseal. 8/22/14 info from consumer: *** from Permaseal called me and we spoke on the phone Thursday, Aug 21. He listened to my complaint and said he would call me back by this upcoming Monday with their offer to compensate us.

Desired Settlement: We expect the job to be completed properly without anymore stress. We think that having to wait three weeks to put the basement back into usable condition, damage to the driveway, paying a crew to clean the rocks off the driveway, spending four hours of our own professional time cleaning dust, dirt, gravel and concrete, and still have to pick out the concrete from the side yard, compensation for broken pavers (that are not made anymore) should be substantial. That does not even take our stress level and frustration into account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/22) */ We have engaged in dialogue with our valued client to resolve the issues in her complaint. This will take a little more time, but we expect to have it resolved by sometime next week. *** *********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *** S. told me he would call me on Friday (today) but not later than Monday, not "sometime next week." It is yet another disappointment.

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage was done to drywall while installing basement windows. I spoke to Perma-Seal and compensation of $150 was agreed to. However, I still haven't received payment and the fixes exceeded the original agreed it amount since Perma-Seal didn't provide a solid option in coming back out to fix the damage. They pushed overall compensation instead of such. Costs have almost come to $300 to fix such between labor and material in fixing such.

Desired Settlement: With the time and material plus delays in finishing my basement, I'd like to seek $300 plus dollars. This should have been rectified the week it occurred instead of dragging on for weeks on end. I've been told twice that the check has been cut but it's a different story every time I call.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ Perma-Seal did offer to have our on-staff trim carpenter make the drywall repairs, but Mr. ****** declined this offer. Instead, as Mr. ****** acknowledges, he and the Perma-Seal company reached an oral agreement for compensation in the amount of $150, which was mailed on July 18,2014 and validated by his deposit of our check #XXXXX on 7/24/14 (see attached). We believe that we have met our contractual and compensatory obligations to Mr. ******.

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 4/24 scheduled an appointment to have perma-seals plumber camera and video main sewer line,the plumber showed up but did not camera the line.i called **** ******* he told me he would call me back never did Product_Or_Service: tv/video main sewer line Order_Number: XXXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my 200 dollars back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***********, Dir. Bus Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ Perma-Seal apologizes for the miscommunication between our consultant and our valued client. It was our impression that he wanted to pursue another project we quoted him, and use his $200 toward the work. Today we issued a refund of all of his money. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2010, Perma-seal was asked to give an estimate on how much it would cost to fix two cracks on the same wall from the outside. The salesman, ***** ****** stated that it would not be necessary to seal them from the outside and that he recommends a resin inject from the inside. I specifically told him that I wanted it fixed from the outside and he continued to push the resin stating that it would fix the problem. The entire basement was gutted and all exterior walls were exposed at this time. We informed ***** that we had planned on remodeling the basement and wanted a permanent solution to the water coming in from the cracks. He continued to state that the resin was the best option. No other options were presented to me at that time. He did not give me any other choices. He drew up a contract and issued it to me on 7/26/10 that stated the work to be done and that the cracks were guaranteed for life. The cracks were sealed. The basement remained unfinished. Then in December 2012, the crack started leaking. Perma-seal was called to come fix it. The technician removed the old patch and water came pouring in. My son-in-law questioned him about trying to inject resin as water was pouring in. The technician assured him that it was okay to do even though my son-in-law who works in construction knew this wasn't going to work. The technician continued to work even though water was still coming in. After this was fixed, we then remodeled the basement based on Perma-seal stating that it is fixed and would not be a problem. No other options were given to us when they came to fix the crack even though the basement was still unfinished. After the entire basement had been refinished, the crack began leaking again in March of 2013. We had to wait till 5/16/13 for an appointment, meanwhile our newly finished basement is getting ruined by the water. The technician yet again said that the resin would fix it and continued on with the same technique that was done at the previous two visits. Again, no other options were given to us at that time. Now most recently, after the snow and big warm up on 1/10/14, the water started up again in the basement as the snow melted. *** ******* came to look at the water on 1/15/14. He stated that he would talk to the owner and get back to me. I had to call him and he stated that he needed to come back and look again. He came on 1/20/14 and asked me what I would like done to fix the situation. I stated that I wanted it now fixed from the outside like I had asked for from the beginning since the crack is guaranteed for life and obviously fixing it from the inside is clearly not working. He said that would be expensive and he would talk with the owner and the owner would call me later. The owner did call that day and refused to assist us. He offered a $500 discount off of a $8600 dollar job to fix it from the outside which doesn't even cover the initial cost of getting the cracks fixed. He said we could tear up the new basement that we put in so that he could do more work on the walls and ground. He was not willing to take into consideration that we just spent thousands on remodeling the basement based on his company's recommendations. His only offer was to sell us more product and services at a very high cost and not taking into consideration the thousands spent on the remodel that would have to be torn out.

Desired Settlement: Since the cracks are guaranteed for life and obviously were not fixed after 3 attempts based on their recommendation to do the resin, I would like the cracks to be fixed from the outside at no cost other than the permit that would be needed. My home has been damaged, my family's life has been disrupted, and I am beyond frustrated. The company should have listened to the customer on what I would like done and gone with my wishes while the basement was unfinished. After several attempts to fix it, the company should have made further suggestions/recommendations while the basement was still unfinished. Now, after the fourth round of leaks, it is obvious that their previous work was worthless and I would like a different and permanent solution to the problem. Perma-Seal are supposedly employed with professionals. That is their responsibility to know when something different needs to be done. Their poor choices have caused further damage in my home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******, Client Rel. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Mrs. *********, We apologize for the experience that you've had. It's unfortunate that the initial crack repairs failed. While it's rare when our initial crack repair fails, we understand how frustrating it can be when it does. Fortunately, you've chosen a reputable company which provides a lifetime guarantee on their crack repair work. We were happy you allowed us to schedule the cross-injection service work, which we have a high degree of confidence in. This should permanently resolve these seepage issues. We want to sincerely thank you for your understanding and patience with us throughout this process. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/03/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) On 2/28/14 I spoke with ** about having the cracks repaired from the outside. I told him that I was happy that one of the cracks would be fixed from the outside. However, I discussed with him that I wanted the second crack repaired from the outside as well due to the fact that the other crack failed five times. I mentioned that it is a matter of economics for both them and me. He continued to decline to fix the second crack stating, "It is not our policy to repair the crack unless it is leaking and it is not leaking now." I stated that I did not want to schedule the repair immediately for the following reasons. 1. The ground was/is frozen. 2. The air conditioning unit has to be moved in order for them to repair. It was/is covered in snow and the company will not move it until the snow melts. 3. The concrete cannot be repaired in cold temperatures. 4. The last mechanic to fix the crack stated that the second crack would not hold. Therefore, we want to wait till the snow melts and we have had a few good spring rains to see if it will leak. This will allow for both cracks to be repaired at the same time just as ** has promised. ** agreed and said that I could call when the time was right. I asked who I should call and he said to either call him or *** and he would make sure there was no problem with scheduling. At this point, I am agreeing to 50% of what ** has offered. While I am happy with the decision to fix one crack from the outside, I am not happy with the decision to not fix the second crack at the same time. Their refusal to repair the other crack at the same time makes no sense. They are sending a crew and bobcat to tear everything up and it will cost us approximately $500 to $600 to have the air conditioner moved and put back. When the other crack repair does not hold (not only our opinion but the opinion of a Permaseal mechanic), they will have to send another crew and another bobcat. It will then cost us another $500-$600 to have the air conditioner moved for the second time. When this occurs, I will ask to either have this complaint re-opened or file a new complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/05) */ We have reached back out to Mrs. ********* after our production manager **** ******** came out to inspect the cracks. We were prepared to set an appointment to fix the leaking crack from the outside. However, Mrs. ********* requested we wait until the spring to see if the second crack is going to leak; in which case we will repair both cracks from the outside.

3/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/1-2/2013 sump pump work was performed. Promised to clean, but on 8/2 i would told that Perma-Seal stated they could not remove debris. So, I did not pay them. A Manager, *** came out to inspect the condition of debris everywhere and not cleaned up by installers and discovered sump pump was not working. Sent Cy out to repair. I noticed water seepage and ******** was out 1/23/14. At that time I spoke to him about the Check Valve, not being installed since the drain pipe is in the toilet stack, he state "It was beneath the pump" and I also asked why the red flashing light was blinking on the battery, "He stated it would go out." While cleaning my basement, I found the installation instruction booklet, as well as some of their work equipment left behind. The booklet show a check valve should be installed above sump pump. I had someone else to come inspect and was told that the check valve was necessary to keep sewage from backing up into pump drain. After many calls and conversation with Rosie, I resolved to pay the balance owed and choke it up as ONE BIG BAD MISTAKE IN HAVING THEM IN MY HOME. It was agreed that $400 would be deducted from the balanced owed to compensate for clean up. During the week 2/3/2014 a Mrs. ****** called, I informed her that a cashier check was mailed and also discussed the red light still flashing on the battery and my frustration with the service provided by Perma-Seal. She stated that another crew could be sent out, and I informed her that I was skeptical about having Perma-Seal in my home again. They messed up my basement security door, left gravel behind garage, cut pipe on my front lawn (lawn light connection), poured gravel and cement on my lawn in the backyard. No one took the time to explain the operation of the pump, when I called about this issue, I was sent installation instructions and trouble shooting, which I did not understand until someone else explained them. To end I am stuck with a Pump that is not working and installed poorly, according to other professionals who inspected. After spending close to $9,000+, I can't afford to have more work done at this time to get the pump operating. All I can say is this has been a living nightmare and I have picture to remind me not to refer Perma-Seal to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I paid to have a sump pump installed to keep water out of my basement. I just want a pump that work and compensation for a broken security door. I have paid to have the lawn repaired and the gravel cleaned from behind the garage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******* Client Rel. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Mrs. ******, We apologize for the experience that you had with our company. You can have peace of mind that you have contracted with a company that cares deeply about you and all its clients. We're happy we could schedule a service call with you to inspect your battery charger to see why the red light is flashing. Please be confident that Perma-Seal will continue to honor your warranty so that if a problem should arise, we will be there to service your issue. We also apologize for the debris that we did not clean up and for damaging your security door and we hope that the small credit for your expenses made you feel better. Cordially, ** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Perma-Seal sent some out today to check the pump. I am satisfied with the instructions given and now know what to do if the problem occurs again. ***took the time to check the pump and was very professional in his explanation and demonstration of the operation of both the pump and battery. I now, for the first time since 8/2/13, have knowledge of what to do when there is a flashing light or beep. Thanks *** I also thank the Better Business Bureau and Ed for their assistance and expedient response to my problem.

2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a consultation and signed a work agreement for a job to be performed in March. This was approved with Perma-Seal to be financed by a third party that they had a contract with. The workers where not able to perform the job in March due to changes so a new assesment was done. A new job # and quote with a higher amount due was scheduled for June. The job was completed in June and Perma-Seal was to process the balance with the financing comp. They incorrectly processed the amount due for the 1st job that they didnt perform, resulting in an additional balance due. I was never aware of this mistake, as I NEVER received a bill. I started receiving phone calls from a rep stating I owed money.

Desired Settlement: Perma-Seal made the mistake of processing an incorrect amount with the financing comp. I have still never received a bill yet phone calls from Lorna are still coming in from Perma-Seal. As a customer, this is not appropriate customer service, and as a collector, it is illegal to call someone for an amount due if you have NEVER SENT A BILL. Perma-Seal should waive the small balance of 741.00+ due since they made the mistake of processing an incorrect amount for the job. Customer referral is the best way to get business and of now, I am an unsatified, repeat customer that will never refer a client to Perma-Seal again. I did not make a mistake of not paying a bill. I made the mistake of answering the phone and speaking to a rep about a balance that I didnt know existed since I am paying the finance comp every month for the 8k+ that was processed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******* Client Rel. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Mrs. *********, we want to apologize for this experience. One of our core values is to seek to improve our clients' experience. It was unfortunate that the lender terminated the funding program for which you originally applied. As a consequence, this eliminated the option of increasing your loan amount, which was required when you opted to do the larger project. Therefore, Perma-Seal has waived the difference of $747 between the larger project and the financing amount for which you were originally approved. Credit had already been made to your account by our accounting department by the time you issued your BBB inquiry. Your inquiry could have been avoided, therefore, if our company had acted more promptly to notify you of the credit that we had issued. We are training our office staff and consultants so that something like this doesn't happen again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: During 2010, I had Perma-Seal perform work on my basement, which included putting in a 1/2 horsepower sump pump, with back-up pump, trenches along the perimeter of the basement, all to prevent the basement from flooding. This work total to approx. USA $6k. On Thursday, April 18, 2013, I was awaken btw 4:30 - 5am, due to the sump pump alarm going off. This was the beginning of a two-day ordeal where I had to take two days off from work to stay in the house and deal with this. What resulted was constant water coming in the basement from the trenches and now the basement cracks that had now form from the work that Perma-Seal had performed. I had at times, two additional submersible sump pumps going because the water would not stop coming into the basement. On day two, when my neighbors basements are drying out, I was still running my additional pump because water was still coming into the basement. It was not until day three that I was able to turn off the additional pump and start cleaning out the basement. I contacted Perma-Seal, who sent out a certified foundation consultant and (later) a service technician. The service technician arrived at my home looking as though he had just rolled out of bed, and did nothing more than pop the lid of the sump pump to test that it was working and go outside to verify that the hoses were connected. Upon leaving, the service technician told me that his supervisor will contact me. This did not happen in a timely manner as I ended up contacting the office and waiting for the supervisor to contact me back. When he did, it was to sell an additional product. I have a job that required me to travel. I feel that I have been left with a basement that will always flood because of the work that Perma-Seal performed, and I might not be home to put in the additional sump pumps that would prevent water from ruining my furnace, washer and dryer. I submit this compliant so that there is a record on file. The next incident will result in me seeking advice from legal counsel. I have pictures and video of the ordeal. Product_Or_Service: in-ground sump pump, with battery back-up, etc.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) What I want is peace of mind that my basement will not flood. And, I do not feel that I should have to pay more money, to Perma-Seal, in order to make this happen. As 'The Proven Solutions' experts, I would expect that they would do what's necessary to honor their commitment to their customers and correct this issue. Or, provide me with a refund so that I can hire another company to correct this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ We left 2 messages for ******** about our desire to set up a site inspection with one of our Senior Production Managers in order to assess her situation and determine the best resolution.

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

37 Customer Reviews on Perma-Seal Basement Systems, Inc.
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart