Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing

Phone: (708) 431-4572 Fax: (773) 424-7574 5448 S Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60638

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing is a waterproofing contractor which provides waterproofing and foundation work for commercial, industrial, and municipal customers. This company serves downtown Chicago and the surrounding areas, including Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Park Ridge, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Des Plaines, Berwyn, Cicero, Franklin Park, Schiller Park, Melrose Park, Elmwood Park, Oak Park, Stickney, Evergreen Park, Oak Lawn, Summit, Lyons, Riverside, Rosemont, Morton Grove, Elk Grove Village, Wood Dale, and Bensenville. Services available from this company include epoxy or urethane injections, repair and replacement of expansion joints, coating and linin systems, concrete restoration and reinforcement repairs, and waterproof and membrane protection.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Garcia Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Garcia Jr., Owner
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Contractor - Crawl Space Concrete Contractors Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Concrete Pumping Service Basement - Contractors Drainage Contractors Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Waterproofing Contractors Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5448 S Archer Ave

    Chicago, IL 60638 (708) 431-4572


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hire the company to fix my foundation leaks issues I stated all my issues and problems with leaks the company proposal was to install membrane patches the job was done but not completed properly I'm still getting water in my basement from the same spots I contacted them and inform them that I was still getting water and the concrete had cracks in it we want back and forth it couldn't crack they didn't do anything wrong once that was over they came out to inspect the work he agreed to fix it took three weeks to do once done same problem contact them again no solution no call backs

Business Response: We are going to take care of client soon asap. Due to the demand we are real busy and haven't forgotten about him. Understand we don't run from our clients but take care of them properly. He has to be patient but will follow up with him this week after holiday. Thanks for your comment after a great price and job we did but we get with the client soon as possible. No problem thanks.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:this company not true on it's word I've have contacted them on many occasions and haven't got a word back beside give me a minute and never a call back I contacted them  Last on nov 17 and just getting a text on December 1 very sad plus I've gotten a  Second opinion on my foundation and was told I didn't have epoxy  injection like I was told plus they didn't go down far enough to fix the cracks at this point i would like a refund 


Carl *******

Business Response: We tried to go and rectify the leakage due to the fact hes on warranty and he has rejected our warranty. Its not our fault that he went with another company after paying us. We gave him a great price and he went with it. Will face our problems and rectify them. His insults and intimidating with false accusations is wrong! 

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had foundation repair September 23, 2015. Three (3) days later I noticed the sealant on the north west side of the building had sunk in. I called the owner, Robert and told him. He wanted to know if water was coming in. I told him there had not been any rain so I wouldn't know until it rained. I called Robert about three (3) weeks later and asked him when was he coming to remove the 2x4's he used for the cement. He acted like he didn't want to be bothered. He was very curt. He stated he would come out that Wednesday or Thursday. He did not specify what date or time. I asked him if he had the address and he said yes I feel because he didn't want to come back because there was no money involved. I stayed home both days all day waiting for him, he never came or called me. I called him back last and the first words out of his mouth was we have been extremely busy but he would come out and remove the 2x4's and take care of the sealant, I asked him when and he said Saturday, November 7, 2015, I asked him what time and he said in the morning, I told him that was not good enough I needed a time, I told him he could between 9a.m. and 12:00 p.m., he never showed up or called. This is a matter that will take him less than 30 minutes. When he was trying to get my business there was not a problem and there should not be a problem now. I had him write in the proposal he would clean up everything that was not in my yard before he started the work. I will not refer him to anyone because he refuses to complete a very small simple job.

Desired Settlement: Just remove the 2x4's and just add more sealant where needed. This will only take a few minutes.

Business Response:

We at establishing firm foundations waterproofing are here to satisfy every client that we might have not satisfied. As for this property we have been trying to go and had just been out of area but nevertheless tomorrow 11/10/15 afternoon we will be going to complete what our client wants and what we need to do. We are thankful and greatful to do work at her property. Thank you sincerely 

Robert/owner of establishing firm foundations waterproofing inc.

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart