BBB Accredited Business since

Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing

Phone: (708) 431-4572 Fax: (708) 235-0257 5480 S Archer Ave Apt 1A, Chicago, IL 60638

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing is a waterproofing contractor which provides waterproofing and foundation work for commercial, industrial, and municipal customers. This company serves downtown Chicago and the surrounding areas, including Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Park Ridge, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Des Plaines, Berwyn, Cicero, Franklin Park, Schiller Park, Melrose Park, Elmwood Park, Oak Park, Stickney, Evergreen Park, Oak Lawn, Summit, Lyons, Riverside, Rosemont, Morton Grove, Elk Grove Village, Wood Dale, and Bensenville. Services available from this company include epoxy or urethane injections, repair and replacement of expansion joints, coating and linin systems, concrete restoration and reinforcement repairs, and waterproof and membrane protection.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Establishing Firm Foundation Waterproofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Garcia Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Garcia Jr., Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Contractor - Crawl Space Concrete Contractors Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Concrete Pumping Service Basement - Contractors Drainage Contractors Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Waterproofing Contractors Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)

Additional Locations

  • 5480 S Archer Ave Apt 1A

    Chicago, IL 60638 (708) 431-4572


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7-15-13 ******,from establishing firm foundations came to my home we discuss the repairs I needed which consisted of moisture wrap, 2part drain tile system, concrete repair. I indicated August 2, 2013 good time to start. ****** the owner stated in order for him to get started I would have to give him half down I did $2,000. However he would be going out of town with family, upon his return he would start on my basement. I have contact him several time by phone and txt he always tells me he will call me back, 2weeks ago his sister called a said he couldn't talk. I told her I do not want to talk to her I don't you and to have ESTFirmfd. to call me. No Word, No work, I do not have .50 to give away. I don't work I have to save any little money I get. I want my money back something please help! My god daughter contacted **** too.

Desired Settlement: My money back, no work has been started and now its getting cold so they would not be able to do the work, I would be afraid for them to do the work seeing they have no loyalty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ (SPAM) RE: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message Establishing Firm Foundations Waterproofing <*****************> Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 7:16 PM Reply-To: Establishing Firm Foundations Waterproofing <*****************> To: *********** When we received the down payment we were ready to start job but ****** with all do respect she stoped us twice from starting. We Were waiting on her patiently and didn't want to prolong job. Weare an honest company and don't appreciate that ms ****** got another contractor to do job when we had a sighned contract.I was in a bad accident and I didn't receive no call or letters indicating that she wanted to start job. I did speak with her on sunday and explaining my accident. We had set up for us to meet Tuesday and go over another problem she had in garage floor and she was going to have us do it. We comprise our initial work for another because the client chooses to get another contractor when nomatter the weather foundation work is done anytime. We are still able to resolve this in a professional way and come to an understanding on sighed contract. Thank you ******. ****** ****** jr. XXXXX ****** dr. (Unit 8) X-XXX-XXX-XXXX phone Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2013/12/24) */ Established foundation has taken over 6 month to contact me. I have indicated by mail,phone that January 15,2014 is to long to wait. if he is a business he should have this type of funds put aside or never have taken customer money. I'm a senior and have little income. "I can't wait until his business get better". It is not my fault. Please indicate to this busy by December 28,2013 is the latest or I will contact Lisa Madigan ( Attorney General Office). Final Business Response /* (1001, 18, 2013/12/18) */ Ms.***** 1 message Establishing Firm Foundations Waterproofing <*****************> Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 11:58 AM Reply-To: Establishing Firm Foundations Waterproofing <*****************> To: ******* We have giving ms ***** half off the money. Unfortunately we haven't had much work and at this time were not available to give the rest till January 15. Were honest and ms ***** will get the rest as work progressively grows. Thank you for understanding our situation of a small business. Thank you ****** ****** jr. XXXXX ****** dr. (Unit 8) X-XXX-XXX-XXXX phone Business Response /* (1001, 30, 2014/03/03) */ From: e-firmfoundations Date: Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 2:43 PM Subject: Ms.****** To: ***** We have spoken to ***** and *** about situation concerning ms.*****. As of last month we have resolved this issue and money has been giving back in full to ms.*****. We thank you bbb. For being on top of this and having patience with us. Thank you Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note(r) 3 Consumer Response /* (450, 32, 2014/03/03) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: ******, returned all funds to Ms. M. *****. She is very satisfaction with your services and Established Foundation Thank you Job well done ****** ***** Consumer Response /* (450, 33, 2014/03/03) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Consumer Response /* (450, 34, 2014/03/03) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed contract with Establishing Firm Foundations on September 8, 2011. The work started approximately September 14, 2011hired this company to insure I wouldn't get water in my basement. I had drain tiles installed around the perimeter walls of the basement, sewer check valve and sump pump system installed. I started noticing a crack in my basement floor that started last year. I called ****** who is the owner of the company. After several calls and getting my family involved he came out and called himself repairing the crack. He poured some white liquid in the crack and put some type of concrete mix on top of it. He stated this would repair the crack and I wouldn't have any more problems with it. Now again have a crack more worse and bigger than before. I sent ****** pictures of the crack on September 5, 2013 asking him to please call to let me know when we could fix this once and for all. I didn't get any response. I called on September 6 and tried to leave a message but could not. I called again on September 9 and was able to leave a message but still no returned call. I've had other issues with this owner with the new sump pump not working and having it replaced 3 times. This is the worst ever. I need help!!!! My basement floor is cracked open!!!!! I want it fixed correctly to not have this problem again. I've had two other contractors tell me that the floor was not leveled when the materials ( rocks and gravel) was replaced which is what's causing the crack. -------------------------------------------------- Complaint #XXXXXXXX 1 message ***************** <*****************> Fri, Oct 4, 2013 at 9:18 AM To: "*******" <*******> I did here from the owner's sister and someone came and cemented the area for a second time. I have not heard from the owner. Sent from my iPhone

Desired Settlement: I want it repaired correctly or refund the cost for me to have it repaired myself!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***************** We are getting ahold of cliet to rectify the concrete solution. We are not a company that don't come back to jobs. Thank you and look forward of resolving this situation.

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues