Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

B & F Foundation Repair LLC

Phone: (708) 474-0202 Fax: (708) 474-0407 20430 Burnham Ave, Lynwood, IL 60411 http://www.bffoundationrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B & F Foundation Repair LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B & F Foundation Repair LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B & F Foundation Repair LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 2009 Business started: 04/01/1985 Business started locally: 04/01/1985 Business incorporated 03/06/2009 in IN
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jon Bannister, Owner Frances Bannister, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Bannister, Owner
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)


Additional Locations

  • 20430 Burnham Ave

    Lynwood, IL 60411 (708) 474-0202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: B&F did work on our basement 5 years ago for $18,700. They installed drain tile, sump pump, reinforced bowing walls with steel beams and applied an epoxy mortar on the walls. We want to remodel our basement, but the framer was afraid to start because he was concerned about the mold growing because we have so much water sitting in our wall and the steels beams are bowing more because the walls are starting to cave. The epoxy mortar is crumbling off of the walls and falling on the floor because the walls are bowing. I contacted the company and they came out and looked at it and told me nothing was wrong with the basement. I can send pictures to show the water spots in the walls and the bowing steel beams and the exopy falling off the walls. The work done in the basement was supposed to come with a lifetime guarantee but the company refused to do anything to repair our crumbling walls before we start our basement remodel.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to fix the water issues in our basement and reinforce the east and west wall so that they don't continue to bow more and reapply an epoxy mortar on both walls.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Water spots - We installed inside drain which is to direct water to the sump pump. When I made by inspection I found not water or evidence of any water or mole. Evident that the drain tile is working properly. The original propsal was to install I-beams under pressure to keep the walls from further bowing. We did not propose to straignten the walls.Beams were installed under pressusre and purposely bent to fit the bowed walls to keep from further bowing.Cracking plaster is never guranteed. When Mrs. ***** took possession of the home we had to make an insection and told her that there is a fee of $200 for the transfer of the guarantee. She refused to pay, therefore the guarantee that she has in here possession was never authorized by B & F. She added her name on the guarantee. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/11/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First and foremost, foremost is spelled with an e. Secondly, just because you decide to change your company name does allow you to relinquish your contractual responsibilities to previous clients. Thirdly, when have I ever refused a home inspection? I had a home inspection a month ago which is what brought about this claim to BBB. Someone from your company came to my house to inspect the basement and told me that B&F wasn't responsible anymore since you changed your name and then he walked out of the basement and out of the house. Completely unprofessional. I have sent over the proposal, the warranty transfer and the letter confirmation from my lawyer. I have continually, since I bought the house in 2008, requested a warranty description from B&F which I have never received. BBB, I'm asking you to step in here because all we keep doing is going back and forth and the only thing I'm getting is excuses and false accusations from B&F. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2013/11/13) */ We did not just change the name. B & F Construction closed the business. The warranty sent to your atty. was signed by the previous owner. Your claim is against B & F Construction and not B & F Foundation Repair, LLC. The offer made by B & F Foundation Repair, LLC, to have an a licensed home inspector inspect the work performed was a kind gesture and in no way is accepting any responsibilty. I explained the situation to BBB about the closing of B & F Construction. Proposal submitted for the work clearly shows B & F Construction, which is no more. Thanks for correcting my spelling.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called B & F Repair to repair a single crack in our basement wall, price quoted $325.00. We were to have the area exposed (drywall removed) for the repair. Contractor arrived, needed more wall removed, he removed some 2 x 4's, and some drywall, 6 minutes later - he was ready to repair, additional upcharge $75.00. A little over an hour later, he said he was done with the repair, HOWEVER, the crack did not take as much materials as he thought it should have and not to cover up the area until we had a rain or two to make sure it was still not leaking. He told me that if it was still leaking, he would return and try again, our repair was guaranteed. It took nearly 2 weeks for the rain - it kept missing us. When it finally rained, the crack leaked - nearly as much as what it originally had. We called and have left 5 messages in the past 2 weeks on the answering machine, no one has returned any of our calls. I have left my name, address and the nature of my need. We are also awaiting putting our home on the market and cannot do so until this crack is fixed - properly, and then drywall and painting to put the bathroom back into usable appealing condition. It would be detrimental to our home selling to place our home on the market in this state.

Desired Settlement: We need the business to return immediately to properly repair our wall - without leaks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@yahoo.com This is the first that we heard regarding Ms. ******'s complaint. She claims that she called at least 5 times - I show no record of receiving any calls as I keep a log of all incoming calls. Nevertheless, *** the ***** is looking into this matter. He called Ms. ****** and left a message. We will continue to persue this matter. Will keep you up-dated. Rest assured the problem will be resolved. Thank you. -------------------------------------------------- 8/23/14 additional info from business: As if mentioned before we were not aware of any problems. However, since then the owner has left 3 messages with Mrs. ****** to make an appointment to come out to see what the problem is, if any. We have NOT received a call back from her. Still waiting .... Thank you. *** *********. NOTE FROM THE BBB: In an effort to expedite the resolution of your complaint, please contact the business as requested. Please confirm that this has been done and update us as to the outcome of the conversation. ***** ****** ********* ************ ******** BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois ------------------------------------------------- 8//26/13 additional info from business: B & F Foundation Repair has today, 8/26/2013 fixed the problem that the ******'s were complaining about. Problem has been taken care of. *** ********* - *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on B & F Foundation Repair LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)