Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Almighty Rooter Sewer & Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 284-6616 Fax: 17085960332 View Additional Phone Numbers 11015 S Kedzie Ave, Chicago, IL 60655

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Almighty Rooter Sewer & Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Almighty Rooter Sewer & Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 1998 Business started: 06/06/1986 in IL Business started locally: 06/06/1986 Business incorporated 06/28/2001 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Patrick Denison, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Denison, Operations Manager
Business Category

Contractors-Water & Sewer Drainage Contractors Sump Pump Contractors Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Pumping Contractors Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Flood Control Equipment Grease Pumping Sewer Cleaner Vacuum Service Water Heaters - Dealers Pumps - Service & Repair Sewer Pipe Vacuum Pumps Water and Sewer Line and Related Structures Construction (NAICS: 237110)

Alternate Business Names
Almighty Plumbing and HVAC Long Life Sewer

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Almighty Rooter Sewer & Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11015 S Kedzie Ave

    Chicago, IL 60655

  • 16858 Lathrop Ave STE 1

    Harvey, IL 60426

  • 3055 W. 111th St. Ste. 1 North

    Chicago, IL 60655


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service started 11-27-2013, called Almighty Rooter and told them we had solid human waste coming out of the ground next to the house and running down the neighbor's driveway. They started to rod and said problem was with the pipe and rod wouldn't go through. *** said they had to dig to the pipe and replace it. Total estimate given for repair included replacing the pipe, installing a 6 inch clean-out,and excavating and replacing the concrete removed. This work was to be followed by additional rodding with a camera to check the flow of waste.Bill for this contracted work was paid in the amount of $6400, check #****. After doing part of initial work they tried to rod toward the street some more and claimed they had to dig and replace the next section of pipe also since it was still not flowing right. The rep showed me a video and I saw roots only by pipe connections. He told me this pipe now had to be replaced because the roots "can't be removed from the pipe". (I thought it could have been rodded but since they are the pros and not knowing better we were forced to go with what they said we needed.) In addition, a much larger section of the sidewalk, from my porch steps to the public sidewalk, had to be removed to get to the second pipes he claimed needed replacing. *** told me that the tree in the parkway in front of my house was making our pipes block up,and that the city wouldn't do anything about the pipes the city is responsible for until "there is absolutely no issues with the pipes on the private property side of the sidewalk". Believing him we went ahead and told him to do them. Before replacing the second set of pipe I asked how much MORE it was going to cost because we had already spent $6400.00 to replace the first set of pipe which didn't fix the problem. He then asked me a weird question before giving me a price which was "What do I do for a living".(Ihat should have been a red flag because why would he ask that? What does a persons job or how much he makes have to do with what a plumbing job would cost to do? Aren't there set fees for certain jobs?)We were then quoted an additional $4500, but they told us they would now no longer be responsible for repairing the sidewalk. When they were digging further and replacing the second length of pipe, they approached my wife again to let her know that the work would be pointless unless they continued to rod and replace in a third direction towards the driveway. She stated that we had borrowed every penny of repair and had no other funds. They said they "hoped" the problem would be taken care of enough for us to get the right water drainage and repeatedly stressed more work might be needed. Before second leg of work was completed, Almighty Rooter called the city to send out inspectors. Inspector came to authorize before they would send out a city crew to dig out the public sidewalk to get to the pipe under it. When a second inspector came to check the city work he said "The pipe under the public side walk was most likely the problem the whole time". The inspector stated they see problems with roots all the time but they usually don't have problems with roots very far away from the tree. Some of our pipe Almighty Rooter replaced were distanced 25 feet away from tree. We feel that Almighty Rooter did unnecessary pipe replacement, and that with their experience should have done a much better job of troubleshooting our blockage. We also feel that they purposely left us in a position with no alternatives for second opinions as they tore up our front yard. Due to my wife being disabled, I had to make multiple trips home from my job to inspect the work being done, each time being told "additional work"and funds would be needed. Cost to replace the first pipe was $6400.00 The charge to replace the second was $4500.00 for a total of $10,900.00. Not to include the $850.00 we had to pay to replace our front sidewalk from the porch to the public sidewalk.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking $2000.00 towards the initial estimate due to the fact that the pipe was found not to be broken and $850.00 that was paid to replace the sidewalk from our porch to the public sidewalk. It was originally contracted that any concrete removed would be included in the initial price but as the job became bigger *** came back and said they would need another $2000.00 to replace all the concrete removed which we had to refuse.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/28) */ When we initially came out to the job there was water coming up from the side of the house from the cleanout. I explained to the customer we would need to rod the line from this access. We then attempted to rod the line from the access and the line would not clear we could not get the rod through. We then explained to the customer we would need to dig the line up where the rod was getting stuck. The customer agreed and then we began to dig the next day. We then dug down to the pipe and when we dug down and opened the pipe the pipe was packed with roots. We then rodded the line going back towards the house and the line was open from the house to that point now. We then attempted to rod the line towards the street and the rod would not go through the line was now backed up going out towards the street. We could not clear the line at all. So we said we would have to dig more of the line up, they then agreed that yes they would need to have it dug up also so we then started digging that part of the line up. We dug that pipe up and the elbow at the bottom of the pipe was full of roots which was necessary to dig. So then we rodded the line to the street we were able to get the small cutter through but we could not get a 3" cutter through because of all the roots in the line, I explained to the customer that we could leave it but would not recommend due to the fact that line was so packed with roots. I explained that we could dig the line up to the city property and then city would be responsible for anything after that point and the customer said ok go and dig the rest of the line up. So we dug the line up to the city property every pipe was full of roots and had to be done. We then camera'd the line out from that point to the city side and found a problem on the city property and the city had to come out and fix there problem which they did. I told the customer if the line backed up at all before the city came out we would come out and rod it for free we would. It backed up one time before the city fixed there problem and we came out for free and jetted the line to clear the line for them at no charge. As for the concrete i explained to the customer we could replace the concrete no problem but were not concrete layers and it may not look as good if a concrete layer did it. I did not charge anything extra for the concrete. Ever since the city came out and fixed there problem they have no had any problems and the line is spotless and clear now. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree with this response as some statements were inaccurate and some issues were not addressed. When they tried to rod to the street it would not go through because there was a 90 degree turn in the pipe which they discovered after they told me it was blocked at that point and they had to dig. I was shown a camera shot of the inside of the pipe at that point and saw there was only roots by the connections . The pipe was not totally packed and I asked why couldn't they just cut out the roots and they said the pipes had to be replaced. I previously had other plumbers come out and they were able to rod out those roots so why couldn't they do it too? They being the pros told me they had to dig and replace the pipe and as they went further they still couldn't get the rod thru and they discovered another 90 degree turn at which point the rod wouldn't pass the turn I believe because of the turn. I still didn't see pipe totally packed full of roots just some by the connections. They dug down about 7 feet to get to the next turn in the pipe at which point they said the pipes there were packed with roots which I wasn't shown a camera video. .According to the city of Chicago web site dealing with trees and drain pipes tree roots do not go down in the ground that far. Each time I was called at work or forced to drive home, the job kept growing larger. This, despite assurances at every step that "this will totally take care of problem." As the job grew larger, the warnings from the plumber about what the city would require us to do escalated and we ended up bullied into going along with their demands so we could have running water. Since we were caring for a critically ill family member in our home this was a necessity. And Almighty Router knew this. I truly believe the pipes could have been rodded and didn't need to be removed. Visits and comments from city workers hinted at strongly at this. We did what the pros told us and were taken advantage of. One time before the city of Chicago came to fix their pipe the plumbers did come out to get it flowing. The free jetting that was done was done totally on the other side of the house in pipes that had no problems just some grease build up. These were the pipe they also wanted us to let them replace but we told them no. On invoice XXXXXX it says "we will replace any concrete we break out". We had to find someone that would replace it for us. In their response they said we weren't charged for the concrete. As can be seen on original estimate the concrete was just included as part of the job. It was later that they said it would be a couple thousand more to replace it and we said absolutely no. The issue of asking what I do for a living was not addressed . I still would like an answer why I was asked that question and what bearing it had on the cost. The issue of the inspector saying the pipe under the sidewalk was most likely the problem the whole time was not addressed either. Why would the inspector volunteer that info unless he has had previous experience with this type of problem? We believe are being generous only asking for the cost to replace the concrete be covered $850.00 and another $2000.00 to defray Expenses for unnecssary work that was done and other work we were overcharged for. The job should have been done for a lot less including replacing the concrete. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2015/07/22) */ We have sent out a check for 425.00. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 31, 2015/08/05) */ The company responded by offering a small refund of money. We decided to just settle the claim

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had sewer clay tiles replaced X-XX-XX with 1st yr rodding free by *** *************** #XXXXX amount $2,000.00. I have been trying to get sewer line prodded since June 2014 with no luck. I keep getting the run around.

Desired Settlement: Sewer line rodded

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/30) */ The technicin went back out to the house and completed ms *****'s request.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Almighty Rooter Sewer & Plumbing
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart